DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4– 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, et. al. (US2005064268A1)., in view of Fujiwara, et. al. (US2020194753A1), Fukuda, et. al. (US2023098629A1), and as further evidenced by M. Forrest, 12 - Rubber and chemical migration into food, Karen A. Barnes, C. Richard Sinclair, D.H. Watson, Chemical Migration and Food Contact Materials, 2007, Pages 271-301] (attached with the prior Non-Final action).
Regarding Claim 1, Cho teaches a cell assembly comprising a cell stack (fuel cell stack 11) in which a plurality of cells are stacked (“[0030] fuel cell stack includes membrane-electrode assemblies and separators alternately stacked to form a fuel cell stack 11”); a first end plate attached to a first side surface of the cell stack (“[0030] End plates 12a and 12b are respectively mounted to both ends of the fuel cell stack 11”); a second end plate attached to a second side surface of the cell stack opposite the first side surface (see above, wherein the first end plate is 12a and the second end plate 12b). Cho at Fig. 1, [0030].
Figs. 1 and 2 of Cho, depicting the end plates 12a and 12b, and the first and second band members 21 and 22.
Fig. 3-4 of Cho.
Regarding the term “and a first band member surrounding a circumference of the cell stack, wherein a partial area of the first band member surrounds an outer surface of the second end plate,” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “a circumference” does not require the entirety of the circumference of the cell stack 100. This is because the present specification at [0049] states “the first band member 300 is configured to surround an entirety of three surfaces of a circumference of the cell stack 100 in the horizontal direction “W” and surround a portion of the remaining surface of the circumference of the cell stack 100 in the horizontal direction “W.” Specification at [0049-50], Fig. 1-2. Furthermore, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, the second band member 400 also may have a substantially bent U shape, and opposite ends of the U shape may be bent inwards,” and Fig. 1 and 2 indicate that midway through one face of the stack, the first band 300 terminates. Id.
For this reason, Fig. 1, and 3-4, of Cho teach “a first band member surrounding a circumference of the cell stack, wherein a partial area of the first band member surrounds an outer surface of the second end plate.” Cho at Fig. 1, 3-4.
Cho is silent as to “an elastic member provided in a space between the first band member and the second end plate.”
Fujiwara teaches a power storage device 8, having bind bars 21 connected to end plates 20, which apply compressive force via a series of compression springs 30 “serving as a compression springs for serving as a pressurizing unit for pressurizing the battery laminate,” and applying a “[0031] more uniform compressive force” along the pressing plate 31. Fujiwara at [0017, 31-34], Fig. 2. Between the stack, Fujiwara discloses spacers 22, which comprise elastic members 24, which are disposed between the batteries of the power storage device 8. Id. Regarding “an elastic member,” compression springs are elastic devices; elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape. M. Forrest, p. 271. While the pressing plate 31 is not referred to as an end plate, it’s location at the terminus of the cell assembly indicates that it is an end plate. Fujiwara at Fig. 2. Finally, Fujiwara teaches “[0018] In this embodiment, the two bind bars 21 are mounted over the pair of end plates 20 . That is, the pair of end plates 20 are connected by the two bind bars 21 . Specifically, respective first ends of the bind bars 21 are fastened to one of the end plates 20 , respective second ends of the bind bars 21 are fastened to the other end plate 20 , and the predetermined fastening pressure acts on the battery laminate 10 by the end plates 20 . Fastening power of the bind bars 21 to the end plates 20 is adjusted, so that the fastening pressure can be changed.” Id. at [0018].
Fig. 2 of Fujiwara.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that it comprises an elastic member (the compressive springs 30 of Fujiwara) disposed between the first band member of Cho and the second end plate of Cho, because Fujiwara teaches this provides a benefit to more uniform pressing force and controllable pressure upon the cell stack, and because Fujiwara teaches an elastic member (the compressive springs) between an outer securing member (the end plate 20 of Fujiwara) and an end plate (pressing plate 31).
However, modified Cho is silent as to “wherein the elastic member has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding towards the second end plate and second protruding areas protruding towards the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction, and wherein the space between the first band member and the second end plate comprises i) a space between the first protruding areas and the first band member, and ii) a space between the second protruding areas and the second end plate.”
Fukuda teaches an end plate 20, having a “pressing surface,” having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, wherein the bead region 26 is “filled with insulating member 28 such as resin or rubber.” Fukuda at [0052-54, 67], Fig. 4. Fukuda also teaches a spacer 17 composed of insulating resin, separating the end plate from the battery cell stack 10. Id. at Fig. 43, Fig. 2. Fukuda teaches “[0048] by constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.” Id. at [0048].
Regarding the term “an elastic member,” elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape; rubbers are elastic materials. See, e.g. “A rubber can be defined as a material which at room temperature can be stretched to at least twice its original length and, on release of the stress, rapidly returns to its original length,” M. Forrest, p. 271. For this reason, the end plate 20 of Fukuda is an “elastic member.”
Fig. 2 of Fukuda.
Fig. 4 of Fukuda.
Fukuda (as applied to modified Cho) teaches the elastic member (end plate 20) has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding toward the second end plate (pressing portions 25) and second protruding areas (bead portions 26) protruding toward the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction (see Fig. 2 and 4). Fukuda at Fig. 2 and 4.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, wherein the elastic member between the first band member and the second end plate of Cho comprises an end plate 20 of Fukuda rubber plate having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, such that “the elastic member has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding towards the second end plate and second protruding areas protruding towards the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction, and wherein the space between the first band member and the second end plate comprises i) a space between the first protruding areas and the first band member, and ii) a space between the second protruding areas and the second end plate,” because Fukuda teaches a benefit to “[0048] constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, [such that] malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.”
Claim 1 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Cho.
Because Fukuda teaches that its protruding regions alternate across a line of symmetry, Fukuda teaches a thickness of the first protruding areas and a thickness of the second protruding areas correspond to each other. Fukuda at Fig. 4.
Claim 4 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Cho.
Because Fukuda at Fig. 4 teaches that its protruding regions alternate across a line of symmetry (forming a square wave like structure), Fukuda teaches a shape and a size of the first protruding areas and a shape and a size of the second protruding areas correspond to each other. Fukuda at Fig. 4.
Claim 5 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Cho.
Fukuda teaches the pressing surface 25 C meets the inset insulating member 28, which forms a portion which is recessed inward relative to the pressing surface 25C. Fukuda at Fig. 8. Further, Fukuda teaches “[0055] In the case of molding end plate 20 with sheet metal, end plate 20 including bead region 26 has a shape having a space near battery cell 1 . Therefore, as in power supply device 400 according to a fourth exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 13 , end surface spacer 17 D is preferably disposed between battery cell 1 and end plate 20 D. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 13 , end surface spacer 17 D has protrusion 17 d that protrudes toward the recess (the back surface of bead region 26 D) of end plate 20 D to allow battery cell 1 and end plate 20 D to transfer the force therebetween over the entire surface.” Id. at [0055].
Fig. 8 and 13 of Fukuda.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the end plate of Cho to comprise recessed areas recessed inward are provided on a surface of the second end plate facing the elastic member as in Fukuda, and wherein portions of the first protruding areas are accommodated in the recessed areas, because Fukuda teaches a benefit to suppressing deformation.
Claim 6 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 6. Claim 6 is obvious over modified Cho.
Fukuda teaches the curvature of the protruding areas may vary, as in Fig. 6B and 7, showing the protruding areas may be larger or smaller according to use. However, these embodiments are not applied to the insulating plate as shown. The variance of the size of the protruding areas of end plate 20, however, indicates that the radius of curvature of the recessed areas in the vertical direction would not modify the operation of the device of Fukuda.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery of modified Cho, a radius of curvature of the recessed areas in the vertical direction is larger than a radius of curvature of the first protruding areas in the vertical direction, because changes in shape are obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant, such as a container; here, because the insulating material is malleable and the pressing and bead portions are variable in shape, the configuration would not change the operation of the device.
Claim 7 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 10, Cho teaches a cell assembly comprising: a cell stack (fuel cell stack 11) in which a plurality of cells are stacked (“[0030] fuel cell stack includes membrane-electrode assemblies and separators alternately stacked to form a fuel cell stack 11”); a first end plate attached to a first side surface of the cell stack (“[0030] End plates 12a and 12b are respectively mounted to both ends of the fuel cell stack 11”); a second end plate attached to a second side surface of the cell stack opposite the first side surface (see above, wherein the first end plate is 12a and the second end plate 12b). Cho at Fig. 1, [0030]
Here, “horizontal” under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a relative term of orientation, that includes a parallelepiped shape in a xz plane, such as the extension of the first band 21 of Cho in Fig. 1. Cho at Fig. 1, [0031]. Similarly, lengthwise would be met by, for example, the “U-shape” of the first band 21 (see [0032] of Cho), because it teaches a parallel piped shape extending roughly perpendicularly to the horizontal direction (as previously claimed) in the same plane. For this reason, Cho teaches a first band member surrounding a circumference of the cell stack in a horizontal direction, wherein a first lengthwise end of the first band member is fixedly coupled to a first lengthwise end of the first end plate, and a second lengthwise end of the first band member opposite the first lengthwise end of the first band member is fixedly coupled to a second lengthwise end of the first end plate opposite the first lengthwise end of the first end plate, and wherein a partial area of the first band member surrounds an outer surface of the second end plate. Cho at Fig. 1.
Cho is silent as to “an elastic member provided in a space between the first band member and the second end plate.”
Fujiwara teaches a power storage device 8, having bind bars 21 connected to end plates 20, which apply compressive force via a series of compression springs 30 “serving as a compression springs for serving as a pressurizing unit for pressurizing the battery laminate,” and applying a “[0031] more uniform compressive force” along the pressing plate 31. Fujiwara at [0017, 31-34], Fig. 2. Between the stack, Fujiwara discloses spacers 22, which comprise elastic members 24, which are disposed between the batteries of the power storage device 8. Id. Regarding “an elastic member,” compression springs are elastic devices; elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape. M. Forrest, p. 271. While the pressing plate 31 is not referred to as an end plate, it’s location at the terminus of the cell assembly indicates that it is an end plate. Fujiwara at Fig. 2. Finally, Fujiwara teaches “[0018] In this embodiment, the two bind bars 21 are mounted over the pair of end plates 20 . That is, the pair of end plates 20 are connected by the two bind bars 21 . Specifically, respective first ends of the bind bars 21 are fastened to one of the end plates 20 , respective second ends of the bind bars 21 are fastened to the other end plate 20 , and the predetermined fastening pressure acts on the battery laminate 10 by the end plates 20 . Fastening power of the bind bars 21 to the end plates 20 is adjusted, so that the fastening pressure can be changed.” Id. at [0018].
Fig. 2 of Fujiwara.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that it comprises an elastic member (the compressive springs 30 of Fujiwara) disposed between the first band member of Cho and the second end plate of Cho, because Fujiwara teaches this provides a benefit to more uniform pressing force and controllable pressure upon the cell stack, and because Fujiwara teaches an elastic member (the compressive springs) between an outer securing member (the end plate 20 of Fujiwara) and an end plate (pressing plate 31).
However, modified Cho is silent as to “wherein the elastic member has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding towards the second end plate and second protruding areas protruding towards the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction, and wherein the space between the first band member and the second end plate comprises i) a space between the first protruding areas and the first band member, and ii) a space between the second protruding areas and the second end plate.”
Fukuda teaches an end plate 20, having a “pressing surface,” having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, wherein the bead region 26 is “filled with insulating member 28 such as resin or rubber.” Fukuda at [0052-54, 67], Fig. 4. Fukuda also teaches a spacer 17 composed of insulating resin, separating the end plate from the battery cell stack 10. Id. at Fig. 43, Fig. 2. Fukuda teaches “[0048] by constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.” Id. at [0048].
Regarding the term “an elastic member,” elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape; rubbers are elastic materials. See, e.g. “A rubber can be defined as a material which at room temperature can be stretched to at least twice its original length and, on release of the stress, rapidly returns to its original length,” M. Forrest, p. 271. For this reason, the end plate 20 of Fukuda is an “elastic member.”
Fig. 2 of Fukuda.
Fig. 4 of Fukuda.
Fukuda (as applied to modified Cho) teaches the elastic member (end plate 20) has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding toward the second end plate (pressing portions 25) and second protruding areas (bead portions 26) protruding toward the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction (see Fig. 2 and 4). Fukuda at Fig. 2 and 4.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, wherein the elastic member between the first band member and the second end plate of Cho comprises an end plate 20 of Fukuda rubber plate having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, such that “the elastic member has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding towards the second end plate and second protruding areas protruding towards the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction, and wherein the space between the first band member and the second end plate comprises i) a space between the first protruding areas and the first band member, and ii) a space between the second protruding areas and the second end plate,” because Fukuda teaches a benefit to “[0048] constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, [such that] malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.”
Claim 10 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho teaches first and second fastening bands 21 and 22. Cho at [0030 – 33], Fig. 1-2. If the first band member is designated as the first fastening band 21, the second band member is the second fastening band 22. Because Fig. 2 shows the second band member on the “top” (although no relative dimensions are stated textually, Fig. 2 shows the band member on the top from the vantage point of the figure), Cho teaches a second band member surrounding an upper surface, the first side surface or the second side surface, and a lower surface of the cell stack, wherein the first band member and the second band member cross each other on the first side surface or the second side surface of the cell stack.
Claim 11 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho teaches a first and second end plate, and a first and second band member respectively. Cho at [0030 – 35], Fig. 1. Within another embodiment, Cho teaches fifth and sixth fastening bands, which both have ends disposed upon the first end plate 12a. Cho at Fig. 7.
Fig. 7 of Cho, showing the first end plate 12a and the two fastening bands (as well as two additional bands in a diagonal direction.
Cho teaches a first lengthwise end of the second band member is fixedly coupled to a first widthwise end of the first end plate, and a second lengthwise end of the second band member opposite the first lengthwise end of the second band member is fixedly coupled to a second widthwise end of the first end plate opposite the first widthwise end of the first end plate.
Claim 12 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is anticipated by Cho.
Cho is silent as to an elastic member. However, Fig. 1 of Cho shows the first and second bands approaching, but not crossing, one another, with the first band terminating close to the edges of the second band member.
Fukuda teaches end plate 20, having a “pressing surface,” having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, wherein the bead region 26 is “filled with insulating member 28 such as resin or rubber.” Fukuda at [0052-54, 67], Fig. 4. Fukuda also teaches a spacer 17 composed of insulating resin, separating the end plate from the battery cell stack 10. Id. at Fig. 43, Fig. 2. Fukuda teaches “By constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.” Id. at [0048]. Fukuda teaches bent covers 32 are formed by being bent in a u shape, and are flush with the bent portions of bent pieces 15d of the fastening members, providing insulative support and such that “each battery cell 1 can be maintained so as not to be displaced.” Id.at [0050].
Regarding the term “an elastic member,” elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape; rubbers are elastic materials. See, e.g. “A rubber can be defined as a material which at room temperature can be stretched to at least twice its original length and, on release of the stress, rapidly returns to its original length,” M. Forrest, 12 - Rubber and chemical migration into food, Karen A. Barnes, C. Richard Sinclair, D.H. Watson, Chemical Migration and Food Contact Materials, 2007, Pages 271-301 (attached with this action). For this reason, the end plate 20 of Fukuda is an “elastic member.” While the elastic member of Fukuda is not between a band member and an end plate, it’s disclosure of a spacer indicates it is known in the art that the placement of a spacer allows for insulation while still allowing the bead member to apply compressive force. Id.
Fig. 2 and 4 of Fukuda.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Cho, such that the second band member surrounds an outer surface of the first band member in an area in which the first band member and the second band member cross each other, because Fukuda teaches a benefit to preventing faults due to deformation, and because Fukuda’s disclosure of an elastic member (the end plate 20) attached to a spacer 17 indicates it is known that an elastic member may attack to a plate shaped member between it and the cell stack, i.e. the second end plate of Cho. Further, it would be obvious to modify Cho such that the first band member and the second band member to cross one another, because the bent portions of 15 and 30 within Fukuda overlap, providing benefits to insulation and resisting vibration and displacement.
Claim 13 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest.
Claims 8 –9, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie, et. al. (US2023118071A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho is silent as to a tie member.
Fujiwara teaches a bind bar which acts as a fastening bolt which tightens the compressive spring. Fujiwara at Fig. 2. However, this is not directly referred to as a “tie.”
Laramie teaches systems and methods for applying pressure to electrochemical devices, providing “pressure compensation due to, for example, expansion and/or contraction of an electrochemical cell during cycling.” Laramie at [0024]. Laramie teaches “[0082] The housing may comprise couplings that can be used to connect components of the housing and/or apply at least a portion of the anisotropic force. . . . In certain cases, the housing includes at least 2 couplings . . . the fastener may span from one end of the housing to another. Exemplary fasteners include, but are not limited to, a rod . . . a tie . . . a band, or combinations thereof. In some cases, applying a force via a solid plate comprises causing relative motion between one portion of the coupling (e.g., a nut) and a fastener of the coupling ).” Id. at [0082]. This indicates that, for example, a tie member which fixes a housing component to a band is taught by Laramie, and this would present a method of providing a benefit to pressure compensation.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that it comprises a tie member fixing the elastic member to the first band member as taught by Laramie, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation.
Claim 8 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 8. Claim 8 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho (as modified by Fukuda) teaches the elastic member(s) are disposed upon a first and second end plate, bound together by a first band member; the figures of Cho indicate these bands extend along at least four faces of the parallelepiped shape, indicating that the thickness direction of the band member and elastic member may be assigned the designation “a horizontal direction.”
Laramie teaches “[0082] The housing may comprise couplings that can be used to connect components of the housing and/or apply at least a portion of the anisotropic force. . . . In certain cases, the housing includes at least 2 couplings . . . the fastener may span from one end of the housing to another. Exemplary fasteners include, but are not limited to, a rod . . . a tie . . . a band, or combinations thereof. In some cases, applying a force via a solid plate comprises causing relative motion between one portion of the coupling (e.g., a nut) and a fastener of the coupling ).” Id. at [0082]. This indicates that, for example, a tie member which fixes a housing component to a band is taught by Laramie, and this would present a method of providing a benefit to pressure compensation. Laramie teaches a fastener passing through a coupling point, such as a bolt or rod, indicating this includes a member passing through a component at a coupling point.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that the tie member passes through the elastic member and the first band member in a horizontal direction, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation.
Claim 9 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 13. Claim 13 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho is silent as to a tie.
Fujiwara teaches a bind bar which acts as a fastening bolt which tightens the compressive spring. Fujiwara at Fig. 2. However, this is not directly referred to as a “tie.”
Laramie teaches systems and methods for applying pressure to electrochemical devices, providing “pressure compensation due to, for example, expansion and/or contraction of an electrochemical cell during cycling.” Laramie at [0024]. Laramie teaches “[0082] The housing may comprise couplings that can be used to connect components of the housing and/or apply at least a portion of the anisotropic force. . . . In certain cases, the housing includes at least 2 couplings . . . the fastener may span from one end of the housing to another. Exemplary fasteners include, but are not limited to, a rod . . . a tie . . . a band, or combinations thereof. In some cases, applying a force via a solid plate comprises causing relative motion between one portion of the coupling (e.g., a nut) and a fastener of the coupling ).” Id. at [0082]. This indicates that, for example, a tie member which fixes a housing component to a band is taught by Laramie, and this would present a method of providing a benefit to pressure compensation.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that it comprises a tie member fixing the elastic member to the first band member and the second band member as taught by Laramie, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation.
Claim 14 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 14. Claim 14 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho (as modified by Fukuda) teaches the elastic member(s) are disposed upon a first and second end plate, bound together by a first band member; the figures of Cho indicate these bands extend along at least four faces of the parallelepiped shape, indicating that the thickness direction of the band member and elastic member may be assigned the designation “a horizontal direction.”
Laramie teaches “[0082] The housing may comprise couplings that can be used to connect components of the housing and/or apply at least a portion of the anisotropic force. . . . In certain cases, the housing includes at least 2 couplings . . . the fastener may span from one end of the housing to another. Exemplary fasteners include, but are not limited to, a rod . . . a tie . . . a band, or combinations thereof. In some cases, applying a force via a solid plate comprises causing relative motion between one portion of the coupling (e.g., a nut) and a fastener of the coupling ).” Id. at [0082]. This indicates that, for example, a tie member which fixes a housing component to a band is taught by Laramie, and this would present a method of providing a benefit to pressure compensation. Laramie teaches fastener passing through a coupling point, such as a bolt or rod, indicating this includes a member passing through a component at a coupling point.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that the tie member passes through the elastic member, the first band member, and the second band member in the horizontal direction, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation.
Claim 15 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie.
Claims 16-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Kawatani, et. al. (US2013216869A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Cho.
Fukuda teaches an insulating resin OR rubber may be the elastic member, but is silent as to an elastic resin. Fukuda teaches the side panels of the battery pack may include insulating sheets 30, comprising “bent covers 32 . . . in a U shape”. Id. at Fig. 2, [0049].
Kawatani teaches a battery case 20, having an insulating block 74, having female side terminals 73, and formed of “an electrically insulating and elastic material such as rubber or resin.” Kawatani at [0091]. Further, this material permits the insulator to be “held between the front part . . . and the rear part . . . of the battery case 20, without using any fastening member as bolts or setscrews.” In other words, when utilized in a structure providing compression, i.e. pressure compensation, Kawatani teaches an elastic material provides the benefit of not needing to be bolted down.
Fig. 11 of Kawatani.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that areas of the first band member and the second band member which are bent along a shape of the cell stack are provided with a resin material having elasticity (i.e., the elastic member; Fukuda also provides an insulator beneath its sidewall members, which indicates that in addition, the bands themselves may comprise areas having a resin material having elasticity), because Kawatani teaches a benefit to an insulating, elastic material which does not require a fastening member such as bolts or screws, making this material suitable for the planar surfaces of modified Cho.
Claim 16 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Kawatani.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 relies upon
Modified Cho.
Cho teaches a first end plate, but is silent as to a through area within the plate. Cho teaches a fixed coupling point wherein the first band member is fixedly coupled to the first end plate. Cho at Fig. 1-2.
Kawatani at Fig. 11 teaches an insulator block 74, disposed upon a planar base portion of the battery case 20, comprises female side terminals 73 which accept male-side terminals 63. Kawatani at [0091]. These are “a through area communicating an outside and the cell stack provided in the first end plate.” However, Kawatani does not teach this through area is on an inner side of an area in which the first band member is fixedly coupled to the first end plate. Kawatani teaches its structure provides the benefit that “the durability of the battery case side terminals and of the vehicle body side terminals is enhanced.” Id. at [0013].
Fig. 11 of Kawatani.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell stack of modified Cho, such that a through area communicating an outside (female terminals 74 of Kawatani) and the cell stack provided in the first end plate (end plate 12a of Cho), wherein the through area is provided on a horizontally inner side of an area in which the first band member is fixedly coupled to the first end plate (see Fig. 2 of Cho, showing end plate 12a), because Kawatani teaches a benefit to durability of the terminals.
Claim 17 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Kawatani.
Claims 21-22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest, further in view of Betts, et. al. (US2013171545A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Claim 21 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over
Modified Cho.
Modified Cho is silent as to the elastic member is formed of a carbon fiber.
Betts teaches a cell stack, comprising end plate 260, wherein “[0047] In one example, each tab 310 is made by bending a conductive material member at a right angle. Exemplary conductive materials include copper and aluminum. In one example, tabs 310 are laminated with a dielectric layer 314 to electrically insulate tabs 310 and prevent electrical contact between tabs 310 and end plate. . . Surface 312 is in electrical contact with the first and last cells on the stack. This may be accomplished by first bonding with an electrically conductive adhesive to an electrically conductive planar portion 300B. Inside the fuel cell assembly, planar portion 300B is electrically coupled to the fuel cells to harvest electrons and to distribute these to connecting portion 300A which extends through an aperture in end plate 260 as described with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9. Surface 312 is in electrical contact with the fuel cells at the opposite ends of the stack . . in another example, surface 312 is placed into electrical contact with elastic, electrically conductive planar members 370. An example of an elastic, electrically conductive planar member is a carbon fiber paper such as SGL GDL 24.” In other words, the elastic, electrically planar member connects to the surface 312, preventing direct contact (strongly implying preventing a short circuit) between the tabs and the end plate, allowing the harvest and distribution of electrons from the cell stack.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell stack of modified Cho, such that it comprises the elastic member of modified Cho, but composed of carbon fiber as in Bett, because Bett teaches a benefit of electrical interconnection and harvest of electrons without unwanted connections between components.
Claim 21 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest, further in view of Bett.
Regarding Claim 22, Claim 22 relies upon Claim 10. Claim 10 is obvious over modified Cho.
Modified Cho is silent as to the elastic member is formed of a carbon fiber.
Betts teaches a cell stack, comprising end plate 260, wherein “[0047] In one example, each tab 310 is made by bending a conductive material member at a right angle. Exemplary conductive materials include copper and aluminum. In one example, tabs 310 are laminated with a dielectric layer 314 to electrically insulate tabs 310 and prevent electrical contact between tabs 310 and end plate. . . Surface 312 is in electrical contact with the first and last cells on the stack. This may be accomplished by first bonding with an electrically conductive adhesive to an electrically conductive planar portion 300B. Inside the fuel cell assembly, planar portion 300B is electrically coupled to the fuel cells to harvest electrons and to distribute these to connecting portion 300A which extends through an aperture in end plate 260 as described with reference to FIGS. 8 and 9. Surface 312 is in electrical contact with the fuel cells at the opposite ends of the stack . . in another example, surface 312 is placed into electrical contact with elastic, electrically conductive planar members 370. An example of an elastic, electrically conductive planar member is a carbon fiber paper such as SGL GDL 24.” In other words, the elastic, electrically planar member connects to the surface 312, preventing direct contact (strongly implying preventing a short circuit) between the tabs and the end plate, allowing the harvest and distribution of electrons from the cell stack.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell stack of modified Cho, such that it comprises the elastic member of modified Cho, but composed of carbon fiber as in Bett, because Bett teaches a benefit of electrical interconnection and harvest of electrons without unwanted connections between components.
Claim 22 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest, further in view of Bett.
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest, further in view of Meintschel, et. al. (US2012156537A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Cho teaches a cell assembly comprising: a cell stack (fuel cell stack 11) in which a plurality of cells are stacked (“[0030] fuel cell stack includes membrane-electrode assemblies and separators alternately stacked to form a fuel cell stack 11”); a first end plate attached to a first side surface of the cell stack (“[0030] End plates 12a and 12b are respectively mounted to both ends of the fuel cell stack 11”); a second end plate attached to a second side surface of the cell stack opposite the first side surface (see above, wherein the first end plate is 12a and the second end plate 12b). Cho at Fig. 1, [0030]
Here, “horizontal” under the broadest reasonable interpretation is a relative term of orientation, that includes a parallelepiped shape in a xz plane, such as the extension of the first band 21 of Cho in Fig. 1. Cho at Fig. 1, [0031]. Similarly, lengthwise would be met by, for example, the “U-shape” of the first band 21 (see [0032] of Cho), because it teaches a parallel piped shape extending roughly perpendicularly to the horizontal direction (as previously claimed) in the same plane. For this reason, Cho teaches a first band member surrounding a circumference of the cell stack in a horizontal direction, wherein a first lengthwise end of the first band member is fixedly coupled to a first lengthwise end of the first end plate, and a second lengthwise end of the first band member opposite the first lengthwise end of the first band member is fixedly coupled to a second lengthwise end of the first end plate opposite the first lengthwise end of the first end plate, and wherein a partial area of the first band member surrounds an outer surface of the second end plate. Cho at Fig. 1.
Cho is silent as to “an elastic member provided in a space between the first band member and the second end plate.”
Fujiwara teaches a power storage device 8, having bind bars 21 connected to end plates 20, which apply compressive force via a series of compression springs 30 “serving as a compression springs for serving as a pressurizing unit for pressurizing the battery laminate,” and applying a “[0031] more uniform compressive force” along the pressing plate 31. Fujiwara at [0017, 31-34], Fig. 2. Between the stack, Fujiwara discloses spacers 22, which comprise elastic members 24, which are disposed between the batteries of the power storage device 8. Id. Regarding “an elastic member,” compression springs are elastic devices; elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape. M. Forrest, p. 271. While the pressing plate 31 is not referred to as an end plate, it’s location at the terminus of the cell assembly indicates that it is an end plate. Fujiwara at Fig. 2. Finally, Fujiwara teaches “[0018] In this embodiment, the two bind bars 21 are mounted over the pair of end plates 20 . That is, the pair of end plates 20 are connected by the two bind bars 21 . Specifically, respective first ends of the bind bars 21 are fastened to one of the end plates 20 , respective second ends of the bind bars 21 are fastened to the other end plate 20 , and the predetermined fastening pressure acts on the battery laminate 10 by the end plates 20 . Fastening power of the bind bars 21 to the end plates 20 is adjusted, so that the fastening pressure can be changed.” Id. at [0018].
Fig. 2 of Fujiwara.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that it comprises an elastic member (the compressive springs 30 of Fujiwara) disposed between the first band member of Cho and the second end plate of Cho, because Fujiwara teaches this provides a benefit to more uniform pressing force and controllable pressure upon the cell stack, and because Fujiwara teaches an elastic member (the compressive springs) between an outer securing member (the end plate 20 of Fujiwara) and an end plate (pressing plate 31).
However, modified Cho is silent as to “wherein the elastic member has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding towards the second end plate and second protruding areas protruding towards the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction, and wherein the space between the first band member and the second end plate comprises i) a space between the first protruding areas and the first band member, and ii) a space between the second protruding areas and the second end plate.”
Fukuda teaches an end plate 20, having a “pressing surface,” having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, wherein the bead region 26 is “filled with insulating member 28 such as resin or rubber.” Fukuda at [0052-54, 67], Fig. 4. Fukuda also teaches a spacer 17 composed of insulating resin, separating the end plate from the battery cell stack 10. Id. at Fig. 43, Fig. 2. Fukuda teaches “[0048] by constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.” Id. at [0048].
Regarding the term “an elastic member,” elasticity is the property of materials to deform and then return to its original shape; rubbers are elastic materials. See, e.g. “A rubber can be defined as a material which at room temperature can be stretched to at least twice its original length and, on release of the stress, rapidly returns to its original length,” M. Forrest, p. 271. For this reason, the end plate 20 of Fukuda is an “elastic member.”
Fig. 2 of Fukuda.
Fig. 4 of Fukuda.
Fukuda (as applied to modified Cho) teaches the elastic member (end plate 20) has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding toward the second end plate (pressing portions 25) and second protruding areas (bead portions 26) protruding toward the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction (see Fig. 2 and 4). Fukuda at Fig. 2 and 4.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, wherein the elastic member between the first band member and the second end plate of Cho comprises an end plate 20 of Fukuda rubber plate having bead regions 26, pressing regions 25, and frame shape 21, such that “the elastic member has a shape in which first protruding areas protruding towards the second end plate and second protruding areas protruding towards the first band member are alternately disposed along a vertical direction, and wherein the space between the first band member and the second end plate comprises i) a space between the first protruding areas and the first band member, and ii) a space between the second protruding areas and the second end plate,” because Fukuda teaches a benefit to “[0048] constraining the plurality of battery cells 1 through end plates 20 and fastening members 15 that have high rigidity, [such that] malfunction or other faults caused by swelling, deformation, relative displacement, or vibration of battery cells 1 due to charging and discharging or degradation can be suppressed.”
However, modified Cho is silent as to a collector having a first side that is electrically connected to the cell stack and a second side that protrudes to the outside of the cell assembly;
Meintschel teaches an electrochemical energy storage device comprising a cell block 1, wherein “[0142] Lugs 52 are also shown there which are embodied in one piece with the end frames 18 , 20 , and by being bent away therefrom project in the stacking direction S. These lugs 52 serve as terminal connections of the cell block 1 . The lugs 52 have respectively one bore 54 , which can accommodate a connecting screw 58 . Further connecting means, such as a connecting lug 60 , can be attached by means of the connecting screw 58 . In this manner the cell block 1 can be connected to a supply network, e.g., an onboard power supply of a vehicle. A connection with suitably embodied seats in a housing can also be produced first, which housing has connection terminals for connection to a supply network. These lugs 52 with screws 58 or similar connection means can also be used to attach the cell block 1 in a battery housing. For instance, threaded sleeves located in the battery housing can be used, which accommodate the connecting screws 58 . In this manner a special power rail can be omitted.” Meintschel at [0142]. In other words, an extending connecting lug 60, as shown in Fig. 5, is a “collector having a first side that is electrically connected to the cell stack (the component contacting the connecting screw 58, and the lugs 52 connecting to the terminal connections) and a second side that protrudes to the outside of the cell assembly (i.e., the “[0142] supply network”). This provides the benefit of permitting the device to provide power to a vehicle power supply.
Fig. 5 of Meintschel.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that the cell assembly includes a collector (connecting lug 60 of Meintschel) having a first side that is electrically connected to the cell stack and a second side that protrudes to the outside of the cell assembly, because Meintschel teaches a benefit to allowing external connection to a power supply network.
Claim 23 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest, further in view of Meintschel.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, as evidenced by M. Forrest, and Meintschel, further in view of Laramie.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 24 relies upon Claim 23. Claim 23 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho is silent as to a tie.
Fujiwara teaches a bind bar which acts as a fastening bolt which tightens the compressive spring. Fujiwara at Fig. 2. However, this is not directly referred to as a “tie.”
Laramie teaches systems and methods for applying pressure to electrochemical devices, providing “pressure compensation due to, for example, expansion and/or contraction of an electrochemical cell during cycling.” Laramie at [0024]. Laramie teaches “[0082] The housing may comprise couplings that can be used to connect components of the housing and/or apply at least a portion of the anisotropic force. . . . In certain cases, the housing includes at least 2 couplings . . . the fastener may span from one end of the housing to another. Exemplary fasteners include, but are not limited to, a rod . . . a tie . . . a band, or combinations thereof. In some cases, applying a force via a solid plate comprises causing relative motion between one portion of the coupling (e.g., a nut) and a fastener of the coupling ).” Id. at [0082]. This indicates that, for example, a tie member which fixes a housing component to a band is taught by Laramie, and this would present a method of providing a benefit to pressure compensation.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that it comprises a tie member fixing the elastic member to the first band member as taught by Laramie, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation.
Claim 24 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie.
Regarding Claim 25, Claim 25 relies upon Claim 14. Claim 14 is obvious over modified Cho.
Cho (as modified by Fukuda) teaches the elastic member(s) are disposed upon a first and second end plate, bound together by a first band member; the figures of Cho indicate these bands extend along at least four faces of the parallelepiped shape, indicating that the thickness direction of the band member and elastic member may be assigned the designation “a horizontal direction.”
Laramie teaches “[0082] The housing may comprise couplings that can be used to connect components of the housing and/or apply at least a portion of the anisotropic force. . . . In certain cases, the housing includes at least 2 couplings . . . the fastener may span from one end of the housing to another. Exemplary fasteners include, but are not limited to, a rod . . . a tie . . . a band, or combinations thereof. In some cases, applying a force via a solid plate comprises causing relative motion between one portion of the coupling (e.g., a nut) and a fastener of the coupling ).” Id. at [0082]. This indicates that, for example, a tie member which fixes a housing component to a band is taught by Laramie, and this would present a method of providing a benefit to pressure compensation. Laramie teaches fastener passing through a coupling point, such as a bolt or rod, indicating this includes a member passing through a component at a coupling point.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the cell assembly of modified Cho, such that the tie member passes through the elastic member and the first band member in the horizontal direction because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation, because Laramie teaches this provides a benefit to pressure compensation.
Claim 25 is obvious over Cho, in view of Fujiwara and Fukuda, further in view of Laramie.
Response to Arguments
.Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17, 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725