Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faber US 3,157,150 in view of Stainbrook US 3,280,784 and Weis US 5,685,542.
Figure 1- Faber Figure 3
Regarding claim 1, Faber teaches a dock line management device comprising:
a base having a mount 9, the mount configured to be connected to and stationary with respect to a fixed structure 6; and
a tube 15, having a distal end and a hollow interior disposed to receive a dock line, pivotally connected to mount, allowing substantially vertical movement of the distal end of the tube relative to the mount.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2- Stainbrook Figure 2)]
Faber does not teach a rotating member being rotatable with respect to the mount, allowing rotation of the tube relative to the mount about a substantially vertical axis. Stainbrook teaches a dock line management device comprising a base 11 having a mount 12 and a rotating member 13, the mount configured to be connected to and stationary with respect to a fixed structure 10, and the rotating member being rotatable with respect to the mount, allowing rotation of the tube 23 relative to the mount about a substantially vertical axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a rotating member of the base mounting as taught by Stainbrook in order to enable the device to rotate in the horizontal plane, and therefore be useful with a wider range of craft and scenarios. Note that as modified, the tube is configured to be movable about the substantially vertical axis and the distal end is movable substantially vertically at the same time during use.
Faber does not teach a strut connected to the tube and connected to the base, for dampening the vertical movement of the tube. Weis teaches a swing arm device which comprises a base 16, a tube 46 pivotally connected to the base, and a strut 14 connected to the tube and connected to the base, for dampening the vertical movement of the tube. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Figure 3- Weis Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Faber (and Stainbrook and Weis) also teaches a mounting cleat 8 for connection of the tube to the base and (as modified) for connection of the strut to the base. Alternatively, Weis also teaches that the strut 14 is connected via a mounting cleat 124. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut and mounting cleat as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 2. Faber (and Stainbrook and Weis) also teaches that the mounting cleat 8 has a raised flap 10 with an aperture therein for attachment to the strut (as modified). Alternatively, Weis also teaches that the mounting cleat 124 has a raised flap 122 with an aperture therein for attachment to the strut 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut and mounting cleat as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 4, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Faber also teaches that the tube 15 has an outer tube and an inner tube which are fixedly attached to each other (column 2, lines 42-48).
Regarding claim 5, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Faber also teaches that the tube 15 has an outer tube and an inner tube which are telescopically connected to each other (column 2, lines 42-48).
Regarding claim 6, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Stainbrook also teaches that the base 11 further includes a rotating dowel 16 for connection of the rotating member 13 to the mount 12.
Regarding claim 7, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Weis also teaches a slip collar 190 disposed about the tube 46 and movable relative thereto, and connected to the strut. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut and slip collar as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 8, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claims 1, 2 and 3. Claim 8 recites the same limitations disclosed in claims 1-3 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Stainbrook also teaches a rotating dowel 6 connected to the rotating member 13 and in engagement with the mounting plate 12.
Regarding claim 10, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Claim 10 recites the same limitations disclosed in claim 4 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Claim 11 recites the same limitations disclosed in claim 7 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, Faber teaches a dock line management device comprising:
a base having a mount 9, the mount configured to be connected to and stationary with respect to a fixed structure 6; and
a tube 15, having a distal end and a hollow interior disposed to receive a dock line, pivotally connected to mount at a pivot point, allowing substantially vertical movement of the distal end of the tube relative to the mount.
Faber does not teach a rotating member being rotatable with respect to the mount, allowing rotation of the tube relative to the mount about a substantially vertical axis. Stainbrook teaches a dock line management device comprising a base 11 having a mount 12 and a rotating member 13, the mount configured to be connected to and stationary with respect to a fixed structure 10, and the rotating member being rotatable with respect to the mount, allowing rotation of the tube 23 relative to the mount about a substantially vertical axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a rotating member of the base mounting as taught by Stainbrook in order to enable the device to rotate in the horizontal plane, and therefore be useful with a wider range of craft and scenarios. Note that as modified, the tube is configured to be movable about the substantially vertical axis and the distal end is movable substantially vertically at the same time during use.
Faber does not teach a strut connected to the tube and connected to the base, for dampening the vertical movement of the tube, or a slip collar connected to the strut in engagement with the tube, the slip collar being movable with respect to the tube when the tube is moved about the pivot point. Weis teaches a swing arm device which comprises a base 16, a tube 46 pivotally connected to the base, and a strut 14 connected to the tube and connected to the base, for dampening the vertical movement of the tube, a slip collar 190 connected to the strut in engagement with the tube, the slip collar being movable with respect to the tube when the tube is moved about the pivot point. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 13, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Faber (and Stainbrook and Weis) also teaches a mounting cleat 8 for connection of the tube to the base and (as modified) for connection of the strut to the base, the mounting cleat 8 having a raised flap 10 with an aperture therein for attachment to the strut (as modified). Alternatively, Weis also teaches that the mounting cleat 124 has a raised flap 122 with an aperture therein for attachment to the strut 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut and mounting cleat as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 14, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Faber also teaches that the tube 15 has an outer tube and an inner tube which are telescopically connected to each other (column 2, lines 42-48).
Regarding claim 15, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. Stainbrook also teaches that the base 11 further includes a rotating dowel 16 for connection of the rotating member 13 to the mount 12.
Regarding claim 16, Faber, Stainbrook and Weis teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 12. As modified, the tube 15 is configured to be movable about the substantially vertical axis and movable substantially vertically at the same time during use.
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faber US 3,157,150 in view of Stainbrook US 3,280,784 and Knutsen US 10,723,416.
Regarding claim 1, Faber teaches a dock line management device comprising:
a base having a mount 9, the mount configured to be connected to and stationary with respect to a fixed structure 6; and
a tube 15, having a distal end and a hollow interior disposed to receive a dock line, pivotally connected to mount, allowing substantially vertical movement of the distal end of the tube relative to the mount.
Faber does not teach a rotating member being rotatable with respect to the mount, allowing rotation of the tube relative to the mount about a substantially vertical axis. Stainbrook teaches a dock line management device comprising a base 11 having a mount 12 and a rotating member 13, the mount configured to be connected to and stationary with respect to a fixed structure 10, and the rotating member being rotatable with respect to the mount, allowing rotation of the tube 23 relative to the mount about a substantially vertical axis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a rotating member of the base mounting as taught by Stainbrook in order to enable the device to rotate in the horizontal plane, and therefore be useful with a wider range of craft and scenarios. Note that as modified, the tube is configured to be movable about the substantially vertical axis and the distal end is movable substantially vertically at the same time during use.
Faber does not teach a strut connected to the tube and connected to the base, for dampening the vertical movement of the tube. Knutsen teaches a mooring arm for a watercraft which comprises a base 31, a tube 46 pivotally connected to the base, and a strut 36 connected to the tube and connected to the base, for dampening the vertical movement of the tube. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut as taught by Knutsen in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Figure 4- Knutsen Figure 5
Regarding claim 2, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Faber (and Stainbrook) also teaches a mounting cleat 8 for connection of the tube to the base and (as modified) for connection of the strut to the base. Alternatively, Weis also teaches that the strut 14 is connected via a mounting cleat 124. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut and mounting cleat as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 2. Faber (and Stainbrook) also teaches that the mounting cleat 8 has a raised flap 10 with an aperture therein for attachment to the strut (as modified). Alternatively, Weis also teaches that the mounting cleat 124 has a raised flap 122 with an aperture therein for attachment to the strut 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the line management device of Faber with a damper strut and mounting cleat as taught by Weis in order to stabilize the pivoting tube, making operation safer and more predictable.
Regarding claim 4, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Faber also teaches that the tube 15 has an outer tube and an inner tube which are fixedly attached to each other (column 2, lines 42-48).
Regarding claim 5, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Faber also teaches that the tube 15 has an outer tube and an inner tube which are telescopically connected to each other (column 2, lines 42-48).
Regarding claim 6, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Stainbrook also teaches that the base 11 further includes a rotating dowel 16 for connection of the rotating member 13 to the mount 12.
Regarding claim 8, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claims 1, 2 and 3. Claim 8 recites the same limitations disclosed in claims 1-3 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Stainbrook also teaches a rotating dowel 6 connected to the rotating member 13 and in engagement with the mounting plate 12.
Regarding claim 10, Faber, Stainbrook and Knutsen teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 8. Claim 10 recites the same limitations disclosed in claim 4 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Weis is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both Faber and Wies teach an arm affixed pivotally coupled to a base at one end while the other end remains unrestricted, with a resilient member connecting the base and the arm for biasing the arm into a desired position. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would concluded that the configuration taught by Weis is reasonably pertinent to the devices of Faber and the current invention.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the applicant argues that none of the references teach movement of a tube about a substantially vertical axis and at the same time having a distal end being able to move substantially vertically. First, please note that this is possible with the device of Stainbrook- while the pivotal motion of the arm 23 can optionally be locked by bolt 26, the distal end moving vertically while the base is rotated about the vertical axis is possible when the bolt is not locked. But more importantly, there is nothing about the device as taught that would prevent this simultaneous motion. The tube of Faber is free to move vertically while the base of Stainbrook is free to rotate about the vertical axis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC BURGESS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615