DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 6A and 6B disclose a plurality of shaded boxes which obscure the text in each box when scanned. Applicant is advised to submit a replacement drawing removing the shading in order for the text to become more clearly visible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUURINEN et al. (US 2015/0357861 A1, hereinafter MUURINEN) in view of LIN et al. (US 2024/0186836 A1, hereinafter LIN).
Regarding claims 1 and 16 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MUURINEN discloses a wireless charger, comprising:
a plurality of coils (See Fig.2B, Items#205A and 205B Pars.17 and 27 disclose two charging areas supporting different charging protocols. Par.17 discloses the 2 charging areas comprise a first coil comprising 3-6 rounds of wire for charging a receiving device using a first standard and a second coil comprising 20 rounds of wire for charging a receiving device at a second standard. Par.31 discloses a charging standard or a version of a standards [Qi 1.1 VS another version] may be different from one area to another),;
a power source (See Fig.4A, discloses a DC-AC converter, it is inherent that the converter receives power from a power source. Par.48, also discloses a battery for powering various circuits);
a power converter coupled to the power source and the plurality of coils (See Fig.4A, Item#605, discloses a DC-AC converter [inherently coupled to the power source providing DC power input] and to the plurality of coils 610 [WLC transmitters 205A and 205B of Fig.2B]);
a processing system including a processor (See Fig.4A, Item#615A and Par.41, disclose a controller for controlling operations of wireless charging power transmitter 405); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (Fig.4A discloses a controller for performing wireless charging and Pars.22, 24 and 26, disclose wireless charging power transmitter determines the compatibility of the charge receiving device with the charging protocol/standard of the charging area. It is inherent that the processor comprises a memory to store the program instructions), the operations comprising:
scanning each of the plurality of coils for a flow of electrical current (See Par.23, discloses applying an analog ping and measuring resulting current in the coil to determine placement of a charging receiving device on the surface);
determining from the scanning, placement of a first device above a first coil of the plurality of coils, wherein the first coil comprises a first coil type (See Pars.23-24, disclose detecting placement of an electronic device on a charging area comprising a charging coil, Par.17 and Fig.2B, disclose that areas 295 and 297 support different charging protocols/standards);
receiving identification information from the first device (See Pars.16 and 35, disclose that after a device is detected, a digital ping is transmitted to the receiving device and the device responds by sending packets identifying the receiver);
determining from the identification information whether the first coil type matches a first charging configuration of the first device (See Pars.22-26, disclose evaluating the response from the receiver to determine if the receiving device is compatible with a charging area 295 or 297); and
responsive to the determining that the first device needs to be placed on a second coil of the plurality of coils, generating a first message, wherein the second coil comprises a second coil type that differs from the first coil type (See Pars.35 and 39, disclose providing an indication to the user that the receiving device should be moved to a different area that is compatible with the receiving device standard/protocol. Par.20 discloses the indicator may be a message or visual indication).
However, MUURINEN does not disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of coils overlaps another coil of the plurality of coils.
LIN discloses a wireless charger comprising a plurality of coils, wherein at least one of the plurality of coils overlaps another coil of the plurality of coils (See Fig.5, Items#202a, 202b and 302c, disclose a plurality of coils. Pars.28-29, disclose the coils are different and the third coil supports a different version of the Qi standard. Fig.5 discloses coil 302c overlaps with the coils 202a and 202b).
MUURINEN and LIN are analogous art since they both deal with wireless chargers for charging a plurality of devices using different standards.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN with the teachings of LIN by using overlapping power transmitter coils for the benefit of ensuring there are no charging blind areas on the charging surface.
Regarding claim 2, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the identification information is received based on a modulation of the flow of electrical current (See MUURINEN, Pars.5 and 22, disclose the receiver responds to the ping via load modulation. The examiner explains that modulating the load on the receiver side modulates the current on the transmitter side which is then decoded by the transmitter to interpret the compatibility message).
Regarding claim 3, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the first coil type of the first coil is configured for charging a second device having a second charging configuration, the second charging configuration differing from the first charging configuration of the first device (See MUURINEN, Pars.17-19 and Par.31, disclose the receiving device may comprise receivers which are compatible with different charging standards or versions of a standard), and wherein the identification information includes data to match the second coil type of the second coil to the first charging configuration of the first device (See MUURINEN, See Pars.16 and 35, disclose that after a device is detected, a digital ping is transmitted to the receiving device and the device responds by sending packets identifying the receiver. Par.22 also discloses that identification information may be communicated back from the receiver to the charger via load modulation).
Regarding claim 4, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a user interface, wherein the first message is presented at the user interface of the wireless charger, and wherein the first message instructs a user of the first device to move the first device to the second coil (See MUURINEN Pars.35 and 39, disclose providing an indication to the user that the receiving device should be moved to a different area that is compatible with the receiving device standard/protocol. Par.20 also discloses the indicator may be a message or visual indication. Fig.2A, also discloses displaying a message that positioning is “not ok” and highlighting an area to where the device 114 should be moved).
Regarding claim 5, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein the user interface comprises a display unit located on the wireless charger (See MUURINEN, Figs.1 and 2A, and Par.20,disclose the charger comprising an interface to display message 199 and Fig.2A and Pars.34-35, disclose area 295 is illuminated using an identifying color), and wherein the display unit comprises a liquid crystal display (See MUURINEN, Figs.1 and 2A and Par.20, disclose messages 199 and 299 are displayed on a user interface. The user interface is interpreted as a display i.e. LCD), a plurality of light emitting diodes (See MUURINEN, Par.35 and Fig.2A, Item#295, also disclose using light to highlight an area that the device needs to be moved to in order to be charged), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 6, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the operations further comprise detecting, from the scanning, placement of the first device above the second coil (See MUURINEN, Par.23, discloses applying an analog ping and measuring resulting current in the coil to determine placement of a charging receiving device on the surface) and initiating a charging process via the second coil to charge the first device (See Par.41, discloses providing power to primary coil to charge wireless power receiver 114).
Regarding claim 9, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, However, MUURINEN and LIN as applied to claim 1 do not disclose further comprising a ferrite plane, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of coils is placed on an upper surface of the ferrite plane.
LIN further discloses the wireless charger comprising a ferrite plane, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of coils is placed on an upper surface of the ferrite plane (See Figs.2-5, Item#201 and Pars.27 and 35, disclose a ferrite sheet at the bottom, coils 202a and 202b are placed on the ferrite sheet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN as applied to claim 1 with the further teachings of LIN by placing the coils on an upper surface of a ferrite plan for the benefit of steering, directing, containing, or shielding other device components from magnetic flux associated with operation of the wireless power transfer coils (See Par.27).
Regarding claim 17, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the method of claim 16 as discussed above, wherein the operations further comprise activating, by the processing system, power charging of the receiver coil responsive to detecting placement of the device in the different position (See MUURINEN, Par.27, discloses receiving an indication that a compatible charging area exists. It is understood that once the device is moved to the indicated compatible area, a message as shown in Fig.1 is generated and charging is commenced by providing power to coil 610 [Fig.4] in response to the messages received at the transmitter side), and reducing, by the processing system, power charging of the receiver coil responsive to detecting no change in placement of the receiver coil upon the transmitter coil (See MUURINEN, Par.29, discloses terminating the charging process when the device is not moved during a time period).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUURINEN in view of LIN and in further view of OSHIMI et al. (US 2010/0201315 A1, hereinafter OSHIMI).
Regarding claim 7, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 6 as discussed above, However, MUURINEN and LIN do not disclose wherein the operations further comprise: detecting from the charging process a sub-optimal placement of the first device above the second coil; and generating a second message, the second message instructing a user of the first device to change placement of the first device above the second coil.
OSHIMI discloses detecting from the charging process a sub-optimal placement of the first device above the second coil (See Fig.6, Step#S24 and Pars.115 and 133, disclose comparing feeding current with a predetermined value to evaluate alignment/misalignment); and
generating a second message, the second message instructing a user of the first device to change placement of the first device above the second coil (See Fig.6, Step#S28-29 and Par.135, disclose determining that the placement of the receiving device is inappropriate/misaligned and Step#S29 discloses notifying the user when position is deemed inappropriate).
MUURINEN, LIN and OSHIMI are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN with the teachings of OSHIMI by adding alignment evaluations steps for the benefit of improving charging efficiency by ensuring that the receiver is properly aligned with the matching charging area.
Claim(s) 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUURINEN in view of LIN and in further view of WAGMAN et al. (US 2015/0303699 A1, hereinafter WAGMAN).
Regarding claim 8, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, However, MUURINEN and LIN do not disclose further comprising an indentation on a top surface of the second coil, the indentation accommodating a protrusion in a first surface of the first device to guide placement of the first device above the second coil.
WAGMAN discloses a wireless charger comprising indentation on a top surface of the second coil (See Fig.4, Par.49, disclose the top surface 106 of charger 102, the top surface comprising an indentation following the shape of a charge receiver), the indentation accommodating a protrusion in a first surface of the first device to guide placement of the first device above the second coil (See Fig.4 and Par.49, disclose the charger indented surface accommodates the protrusion/convex shape of the charge receiver).
MUURINEN, LIN and WAGMAN are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN with the teachings of WAGMAN by adding a protrusion and indentation to the charging assembly for the benefit improving the charging efficiency by guiding the charge receiving device into alignment with the charging device.
Regarding claim 11, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 1 as discussed above, However MUURINEN and LIN as applied to claim 1 do not disclose further comprising an array of magnets having an alignment configuration to guide placement of the first device over the second coil.
LIN further discloses an array of magnets having an alignment configuration to guide placement of the first device over the second coil (See Fig.5, Item#303).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN as applied to claim 1 with the further teachings of LIN by adding an array of magnets around one of the coils for the benefit of guiding the electronic device into coupling with the charger.
Regarding claim 12, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the array of magnets having the alignment configuration comprises a partial circumference around the second coil (See LIN, Par.29 discloses the magnet may be discontinuous i.e. surrounding partial circumference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN with the further teachings of LIN by using a partial circumference magnetic ring for the benefit of reducing eddy currents (See LIN Par.37).
Regarding claim 13, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 11 as discussed above, However MUURINEN and LIN do not explicitly disclose wherein the array of magnets comprises neodymium magnets.
However, the examiner explains that neodymium magnets are well known in the art and that it would have be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN by using neodymium magnets for the benefit of reducing the weight of the device by using neodymium magnets which offer higher attraction strength at a smaller size.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MUURINEN in view of LIN and in further view of SONG et al. (US 2021/0305848 A1, hereinafter SONG).
Regarding claim 10, MUURINEN and LIN disclose the wireless charger of claim 9 as discussed above, However, MUURINEN and LIN as applied to claim 9 do not disclose wherein the first coil comprises a first non-magnetic coil of a first shape positioned on the ferrite plane; the first coil also comprises a second non-magnetic coil of a second shape, overlapping the first non-magnetic coil in a top view; and the second coil comprises a third magnetic coil of a third shape, overlapping the second non-magnetic coil in a top view.
LIN further discloses a wireless charger wherein the first coil comprises a first non-magnetic coil of a first shape positioned on the ferrite plane (See Figs.2-85, Item#202a);
the first coil also comprises a second non-magnetic coil of a second shape (See Figs.2-5, Item#202); and
the second coil comprises a third magnetic coil of a third shape, overlapping the second non-magnetic coil in a top view (See Figs.2-5, Item#302c, disclose a third coil overlapping coils 202a and 202b).
However, MUURINEN and LIN do not disclose the second coil overlapping the first coil in a top view.
SONG discloses a charger comprising a plurality of non-magnetic wireless charging coils, the non-magnetic coils overlapping one another in a top view (See Fig.4 and Par.119, disclose the coils overlap one another).
MUURINEN, LIN and SONG are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MUURINEN and LIN with the teachings of SONG by arranging the second non-magnetic coil to overlap the first non-magnetic coil for the benefit of eliminating any wireless charging blind spots.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The prior art does not disclose “…a plurality of ferrite magnets; a ferrite wall; an array of magnets… wherein the array of magnets is positioned around a first partial circumference of the magnetic transmitter coil to guide placement of a receiver coil of a device over the magnetic transmitter coil, wherein the plurality of ferrite magnets is each positioned along a second partial circumference of the magnetic transmitter coil opposite the array of magnets, and wherein the ferrite wall separates at least a portion of the magnetic transmitter coil from the array of magnets and the ferrite magnets.”
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859