DETAILED ACTION
This office action was written in response to the Applicant’s Remarks filed 9/2/26. Claims 1-13, 15, and 18-20 are pending and have been examined. Claim 14 was previously cancelled. Claims 16, 17, and 21 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcussen et al. (US 2015/0245640) in view of Mao et al. (CN 114190471 Machine Translation March 2022), Zhai et al. (US 2022/0049230), and Hansen et al. (US 2002/0160080).
Regarding Claims 1, 8-12: Marcussen discloses the enzyme granule composition containing a core unit and a protective coating [abstract; 0035-0042; 0168]. Marcussen discloses enzyme granules containing a homogenous mixture of at least two classes of enzymes and therefore discloses a co-granule [abstract; 0017; 0036; 0041; 0272]. Marcussen discloses that the enzyme granules can contain phytase and xylanase [0062; 0064; 0091; 0092; 0249]. Marcussen discloses that the active compounds are homogenously combined and that the active compounds include enzymes [0003; 0007; 0016; 0046; 0049]. Marcussen discloses enzymes as the active compound and discloses enzymes as forming the core of the granule [0010; 0016; 0045].
Marcussen does not explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 80% to 120% of the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in at least 90% of the other co-granules.
Marcussen does not disclose wherein the co-granules comprise a xylanase selected from the group consisting of polypeptides having at least 90% sequence identity to one or more of SEQ ID NO:19.
Marcussen does not disclose wherein the co-granules comprise a xylanase selected from the group consisting of polypeptides having at least 90% sequence identity to one or more of SEQ ID NO:1.
Mao discloses a composite enzyme composition containing xylanase and phytase [pg. 2 “Content of the Invention”]. Mao discloses the ratio of the enzymes in a composite enzyme preparation in xylanase, cellulase, maltogenic amylase, amylase, protease, the mass ratio of the phytase is (2-10): (1-5): (4-10): (2-5): (1-5): (5-10) [pg. 3, 3rd sentence]. Mao therefore discloses the ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10. Mao discloses including the enzyme composition in animal feed [abstract].
Zhai discloses a phytase Seq ID NO: 12 containing 100% sequence identity to Seq ID NO: 19 of the instant invention [pg. 16-17]. Zhai discloses using phytase in animal feed and feed additives [0006; 0046; 0278].
Hansen discloses a xylanase Seq ID NO:2 containing 100% sequence identity to Seq ID NO: 1 of the instant invention [pg. 16-17]. Hansen discloses using xylanase in animal feed and feed additives [abstract].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include the phytase of Zhai since it discloses it as beneficial for use in animal feed and animal feed additives.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include the xylanase of Hansen since it discloses it as beneficial for use in animal feed and animal feed additives.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include enzymes at the proportions disclosed in Mao in order to provide the enzymes in effective amounts according how they affect their substrates and that since the enzymes are homogenously distributed that the ratio would have been within the claimed ratio of the distribution of the enzymes throughout the granules.
Further, regarding the amounts of phytase and xylanase, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include amounts of the enzymes in relation to each other depending on the level of activity of the specific enzymes of the final composition. To vary the ratio of phytase and xylanase in the composition would be within theordinary ingenuity of one of ordinary skill in the art.
In Marcussen, the enzymes are homogenously distributed within a solution that contains the enzymes [0035-0041]. Marcussen defines a solution as a homogenous mixture of two or more substances [0017; 0123; 0124 a), b)]. Mao discloses ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10. Therefore it would have been obvious that the quantity of each enzyme in one co-granule is 80-120% of the quantity of the same enzyme in at least 90% of the co-granules in said composition since the homogenous distribution of the enzymes and their potential equal quantity in the composition would have lent them to be about equally distributed and the amounts distributed would have been similar.
Regarding the ratios alternatively, although Mao does not explicitly disclose a ratio of phytase: xylanase of at least 5:1, one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Mao overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding Claim 2: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen discloses carbohydrases, protease, lysozyme (muramidase), and combinations [0063; 0064].
Regarding Claim 3: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen further discloses amylases, mannanase, cellulase, β-glucanase, polygalacturonase, protease, lysozyme (muramidase) and combinations [0064; 0090; 0091].
Regarding Claim 4: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen discloses β-glucanase, and combinations [0091].
Regarding Claim 5: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen discloses endo 1,4-beta- xylanase and combinations [0064].
Regarding Claim 13: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen does not disclose wherein the ratio (wt./wt.) of the at least two classes of enzymes is at least 5:1.
Mao discloses a composite enzyme composition containing xylanase and phytase [pg. 2 “Content of the Invention”]. Mao discloses the ratio of the enzymes in a composite enzyme preparation in xylanase, cellulase, maltogenic amylase, amylase, protease, the mass ratio of the phytase is (2-10): (1-5): (4-10): (2-5): (1-5): (5-10) [pg. 3, 3rd sentence]. Mao therefore discloses the ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10. Mao discloses including the enzyme composition in animal feed [abstract]. Mao discloses at least a ratio of 5:1 by virtue of the ratio of the disclosure of a ratio of 10:2.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include enzymes at the proportions disclosed in Mao in order to provide the enzymes in effect amounts according how they affect their substrates.
Regarding the ratios alternatively, although Mao does not explicitly disclose a ratio of at least 5:1 one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Mao overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding Claim 15: Marcussen discloses enzyme granules as discussed in claim 1. Marcussen discloses adding the enzyme granules to animal feed [0239; 0240].
Regarding Claims 18 and 19: Marcussen discloses the enzyme granule composition containing a core unit and a protective coating [abstract; 0035-0042; 0168]. Marcussen discloses enzyme granules containing a homogenous mixture of at least two classes of enzymes and therefore a co-granule [abstract; 0017; 0036; 0041; 0272]. Marcussen discloses that the granule can be a single granule or several granules [0025]. Marcussen discloses the enzyme granules containing phytases and xylanase [0062; 0064; 0091; 0092; 0249]. Marcussen discloses that the active compounds are homogenously combined and that the active compounds include enzymes [0003; 0007; 0016; 0046; 0049]. The enzymes are homogenously distributed within the solution that contains the enzymes and therefore it would have been obvious that the quantity of each enzyme in one co-granule is 80-120% of the quantity of the same enzyme in at least 90% of the co-granules in said composition since the homogenous distribution of the enzymes would have lent them to be about equally distributed.
Marcussen does not explicitly disclose wherein the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 80% to 120% of the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in at least 90% of the other co-granules.
Marcussen does not disclose wherein the co-granules comprise a xylanase selected from the group consisting of polypeptides having at least 95% sequence identity to one or more of SEQ ID NO:19.
Marcussen does not disclose wherein the co-granules comprise a xylanase selected from the group consisting of polypeptides having at least 95% sequence identity to one or more of SEQ ID NO:1.
Mao discloses a composite enzyme composition containing xylanase and phytase [pg. 2 “Content of the Invention”]. Mao discloses the ratio of the enzymes in a composite enzyme preparation in xylanase, cellulase, maltogenic amylase, amylase, protease, the mass ratio of the phytase is (2-10): (1-5): (4-10): (2-5): (1-5): (5-10) [pg. 3, 3rd sentence]. Mao therefore discloses the ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10. Mao discloses including the enzyme composition in animal feed [abstract]. Mao discloses at least a ratio of 5:1 by virtue of the ratio of the disclosure of a ratio of 10:2.
Zhai discloses a phytase Seq ID NO: 12 containing 100% sequence identity to Seq ID NO: 19 of the instant invention [pg. 16-17]. Zhai discloses using phytase in animal feed and feed additives [0006; 0046; 0278].
Hansen discloses a xylanase Seq ID NO:2 containing 100% sequence identity to Seq ID NO: 1 of the instant invention [pg. 16-17]. Hansen discloses using xylanase in animal feed and feed additives [abstract].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include the phytase of Zhai since it discloses it as beneficial for use in animal feed and animal feed additives.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include the xylanase of Hansen since it discloses it as beneficial for use in animal feed and animal feed additives.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include enzymes at the proportions disclosed in Mao in order to provide the enzymes in effective amounts according how they affect their substrates and that since the enzymes are homogenously distributed that the ratio would have been within the claimed ratio of the distribution of the enzymes throughout the granules.
Further, regarding the amounts of phytase and xylanase, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include amounts of the enzymes in relation to each other depending on the level of activity of the specific enzymes of the final composition. To vary the ratio of phytase and xylanase in the composition would be within theordinary ingenuity of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 19, At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include enzymes at the proportions disclosed in Mao in order to provide the enzymes in effect amounts according how they affect their substrates.
Regarding the ratios alternatively, although Mao does not explicitly disclose a ratio of phytase: xylanase of at least 5:1, one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Mao overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
In Marcussen, the enzymes are homogenously distributed within a solution that contains the enzymes [0035-0041]. Marcussen defines a solution as a homogenous mixture of two or more substances [0017; 0123; 0124 a), b)]. Mao discloses ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10. Therefore it would have been obvious that the quantity of each enzyme in one co-granule is 80-120% of the quantity of the same enzyme in at least 90% of the co-granules in said composition since the homogenous distribution of the enzymes and their potential equal quantity in the composition would have lent them to be about equally distributed and the amounts distributed would have been similar.
Regarding Claim 20: Marcussen discloses enzyme granules as discussed in claim 18. Marcussen discloses adding the enzyme granules to animal feed and therefore discloses an animal feed containing phytase and xylanase [0239; 0240].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcussen et al. (US 2015/0245640) in view of Mao et al. (CN 114190471 Machine Translation March 2022), Zhai et al. (US 2022/0049230), and Hansen et al. (US 2002/0160080) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Sjoeholm et al. (US 2004/0161448).
Regarding Claim 6: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen does not disclose wherein the co-granules comprise a protease selected from the group consisting of polypeptides having at least 80% sequence identity to one or more of SEQ ID NO: 15, SEQ ID NO: 16, SEQ ID NO: 32, SEQ ID NO: 39 and SEQ ID NO: 40.
Sjoeholm discloses a protease Seq ID NO: 1 containing 100% sequence identity to Seq ID NO: 15 of the instant invention [pg. 15]. Sjoeholm discloses using protease in animal feed and feed additives [abstract].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include the protease of Sjoeholm since it discloses it as beneficial for use in animal feed and animal feed additives.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcussen et al. (US 2015/0245640) in view of Mao et al. (CN 114190471 Machine Translation March 2022), Zhai et al. (US 2022/0049230), and Hansen et al. (US 2002/0160080) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Anderson et al. (US 20120282658).
Regarding Claim 7: Marcussen discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Marcussen does not disclose , wherein the co-granules comprise an amylase selected from the group consisting of polypeptides having at least 80% sequence identity to one or more of SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO: 34 and SEQ ID NO:36.
Anderson discloses an amylase Seq ID NO: 6 containing 100% sequence identity to Seq ID NO: 2 of the instant invention [pg. 46-48]. Anderson discloses using amylase in animal feed and feed additives [0006; 0227].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Marcussen to include the amylase of Anderson since it discloses it as beneficial for use in animal feed and animal feed additives.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections, the Applicant asserts that the amendments made to claims 10-12, regarding the percentages of the ratios of the phytase and xylanase have not been addressed and has referred to the percentages noted in the dependent claim. The Applicant also asserts that homogeneity does not guarantee uniformity. The Applicants assert that the remaining rejections are based on “unsupported assumptions”.
The Examiner disagrees. As discussed above, In Marcussen, the enzymes are homogenously distributed within a solution that contains the enzymes [0035-0041]. Marcussen defines a solution as a homogenous mixture of two or more substances [0017; 0123; 0124 a), b)]. Mao discloses ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10. Therefore it would have been obvious that the quantity of each enzyme in one co-granule is 80-120% of the quantity of the same enzyme in at least 90% of the co-granules in said composition and likewise for the dependent claims 10-12 wherein the quantity of the phytase in the core of each co-granule is 90% to 110% of the quantity of the phytase in at least 90% of the other co-granules, wherein the quantity of the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 90% to 110% of the quantity of the xylanase in at least 90% of the other co-granules and wherein the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 90% to 110% of the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in at least 90% of the other co-granules (claim 10); wherein the quantity of the phytase in the core of each co-granule is 80% to 120% of the quantity of the phytase in at least 95% of the other co-granules, wherein the quantity of the xylanase in the core of each co- granule is 80% to 120% of the quantity of the xylanase in at least 95% of the other co-granules, and wherein the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 80% to 120% of the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in at least 95% of the other co-granules (claim 11); wherein the quantity of the phytase in the core of each co-granule is 90% to 110% of the quantity of the phytase in at least 95% of the other co-granules, wherein the quantity of the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 90% to 110% of the quantity of the xylanase in at least 95% of the other co-granules, and wherein the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in the core of each co-granule is 90% to 110% of the ratio of the phytase and the xylanase in at least 95% of the other co-granule (claim12); since the homogenous distribution of the enzymes and their potential equal quantity as disclosed in Mao in the composition would have lent them to be about equally distributed and the amounts distributed would have been similar.
As discussed above, the ratios of Mao discloses a composite enzyme composition containing xylanase and phytase [pg. 2 “Content of the Invention”]. Mao discloses the ratio of the enzymes in a composite enzyme preparation in xylanase, cellulase, maltogenic amylase, amylase, protease, the mass ratio of the phytase is (2-10): (1-5): (4-10): (2-5): (1-5): (5-10) [pg. 3, 3rd sentence]. Mao therefore discloses the ratio of phytase : xylanase at 5-10 : 2-10.
The Examiner maintains that Marcussen discloses a homogenous blend of active compounds and wherein the active compounds are enzymes. Further, in view of Mao, amounts of phytase and xylanase were disclosed and therefore render at least ratios of phytase and xylanase modifiable.
For the reasons above the rejections have been maintained.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Markussen et al. US 6268329 discloses enzyme granules and including amounts of enzymes that are as high as possible or practicable [col. 8, lines 37-44]. Markussen discloses including xylanase and phytases [col. 7, lines 1-67].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Felicia C Turner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793