Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10-13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev et al., U.S. Publication Number 2025/0175891 A1 (hereinafter Velev) and in view of Talebi Fard et al., U.S. 2023/0189192 A1 (hereinafter Talebi).
Regarding claim 1, Velev teaches a method (e.g., Fig. 7, method 700) comprising:
receiving by a UE (e.g., Fig. 4, user equipment 200) and from a home public land mobile network (h-PLMN) (e.g., Fig. 4, home network 104, which may be a HPLMN), a steering of roaming update providing a steering of roaming record, wherein the UE is configured based on the steering of roaming record to perform a network re-selection (e.g., Fig 7, step 710) to connect to a non-public network (NPN) (e.g., Fig. 4, hosting network 102, which may be deployed as a non-public network) when a context of the UE meets time and location requirements (e.g., Fig. 7, step 740) (The home network may provide SoR information to the UE 110. SoR information may be used to steer the UE 200 to another hosting network(s). The existing SoR information may be enhanced to include the one or more selection criteria for at least one such hosting network, whereas the availability conditions may include the validity time span and/or location. See [0062] lines 3-4, [0120]); and
establishing a session with the NPN when the context of the UE meets the time and location requirements (e.g., Fig. 7, step 750) (One or more RSD (route selection descriptor) validation criteria comprise a time window, i.e. a time period, and/or a location. After a successful registration procedure 490, the UE 200 may trigger the establishment of a PDU session in the hosting network 102 by using a first RSD or second RSD. The localized service may be only accessed via the hosting network 102 when the RSD validity criteria (or network selection criteria), if available, are fulfilled. Establishment of the PDU session in the hosting network 102 is indicated in FIG. 4 by the reference numeral 495. See Fig. 4, [0115] lines 1-2, [0139] lines 1-3, [0140] lines 4-9).
Velev fails to explicitly teach wherein performing the network re-selection comprises detaching from the h-PLMN and subsequently registering with the NPN and establishing a session with the NPN after registering with the NPN.
Talebi addresses this gap and teaches, in an analogous field, that a PLMN may be employed for onboarding of a UE. Specifically, Talebi (see paragraph [0375], FIG. 18) teaches that the UE may be configured with default credentials in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) to attach to any PLMN (serving as an onboarding network). The UE performs normal PLMN selection, registers, and establishes a PDU session using normal procedures. Upon establishing connectivity to a provisioning server (PS), the UE is provisioned with NPN credentials and configuration data for the SNPN that will own the UE's subscription. The UE then deregisters from the PLMN and, using the acquired credentials, performs a new network selection and registers with the SNPN owning the UE's subscription. This sequence explicitly includes detaching from the h-PLMN, registering with the NPN, and establishing a session with the NPN after registration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Talebi with Velev to include the feature wherein performing the network re-selection comprises detaching from the h-PLMN and subsequently registering with the NPN, and establishing a session with the NPN after registering with the NPN. The motivation to combine is provided by Talebi’s rationale: by onboarding the UE through a PLMN and provisioning NPN credentials, then deregistering and registering with the NPN, the UE can securely and efficiently transition to a new network environment, facilitating improved user experience, seamless mobility, and secure credential management. This approach reduces signaling overhead, ensures proper credential provisioning, and supports flexible network onboarding scenarios, as described in Talebi (see paragraphs [0375 & 0381]).
Regarding claim 2, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Velev teaches a method (e.g., Fig. 9, method 900) wherein the steering of roaming update configures the UE (e.g., step 910) with time specific data for the time requirements and location specific data for the location requirement, wherein the UE (e.g., UE 200) can discover and select the NPN (e.g., hosting network 102) (e.g., steps 940 and 970) based on the time specific data and location specific data (Configuration information may include SoR information and availability conditions comprising at least one of: a validity time period and a location. See Fig. 9, [0197] lines 1-2, [0200], [0203], [0216] and [0217]).
Regarding claim 3, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Velev teaches a method wherein the UE supports dual connectivity, wherein after the UE has established the session with the NPN, the UE also maintains a session with the h-PLMN (In another embodiment in which the UE 200 is a dual radio UE, the UE 200 may use one radio chain operating in the PLMN selection mode described above (i.e. to connect to the home network 104) and use the other radio chain operating in the SNPN access mode described above (i.e. to connect to the hosting network 102 being a SNPN). See [0163]).
Regarding claim 6, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Velev teaches a method wherein the steering of roaming record is configured through coordination between the NPN and the HPLMN, the method (e.g., Fig. 8, method 800. Home network 104 may determine that the UE 200 needs to be provided information for hosting network selection, allowing connection to hosting network 102. SoR information may be used to steer the UE 200 to another hosting network(s). See [0117] lines 1-8 and [0120] lines 1-2) further comprising:
sending by a content provider (e.g., third-party service platform/provider 108) and to the HPLMN (e.g., home network 104), network info for the NPN (e.g., host network 102) for a particular subscriber of the PLMN (e.g., user of UE 200) (Method 800 may further comprise receiving [by the UE], from the AF, an identifier for the host network 102 and/or one or more availability conditions associated with the host network. The home network 104 may receive this information from the AF. UE 200 is subscribed to home network 104. An application function (AF) may be part of the home network or the third-party service provider of App 107. Services provided to App 107 originate from third-party service platform/provider 108. For example, when the UE 200 is registered with the home network 104 and the App 107 wants or intends to send traffic, the UE 200 first inspects a first URSP (UE Route Selection Policy) rule; if the rule contains a valid first routing selection descriptor (RSD) and contains the hosting network offload component activated, the UE 200 triggers the automatic network selection procedure 480 to discover the available network according to the information for hosting network selection described herein. After a successful registration procedure 490, the UE 200 may trigger the establishment of a PDU session in the hosting network 102 by using a first RSD or second RSD. See Figs. 4 and 8, [0047] lines 9-12, [0048] lines 1-4, [0106] lines 1-5, [0135] lines 1-12, [0139] lines 1-3, [0166] lines 3-5 and [0191]);
wherein the HPLMN provides the SOR update to the UE (Step 830, send the configuration information to the UE 200. Step 710, UE 200 receives configuration information via a first network connection with a serving network (e.g., home network 104, an HPLMN), the configuration information specifying a hosting network (e.g., hosting network 102, an NPN) and including a traffic routing policy rule. Configuration information may include SoR information. After a successful registration procedure 490, the UE 200 may trigger the establishment of a PDU session in the hosting network 102 by using the first or second RSD (route selection descriptor). See Figs. 4,7, and 8, [0139] lines 1-3, and [0216]).
Regarding claim 7, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, Velev teaches a method wherein the content provider (e.g., third-party service platform/providers 108) is the provider of the NPN (e.g., hosting network 102) (The third-party service providers may offer services to either the host network 102 or the home network 104 (e.g. based on different time or location conditions). The third-party service provider 108 and the hosting network 102 may have a service relationship. See [0048] lines 7-10 and [0104] lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Velev teaches a method (e.g., Fig. 4, step 420 of method 400) wherein the provider (e.g., 3rd party service platform/provider 108) of the h-PLMN (e.g., home network 104) is the provider of the NPN (e.g., host network 102) (The third-party service providers may offer services to either the hosting network 102 or the home network 104 (e.g. based on different time or location conditions). This registration and data connection of the UE 200 with the home network 104 or roaming partner thereof, and/or with the third-party service provider 108, is indicated in FIG. 4 with a double-headed arrow and the reference numeral 420. The third-party service provider 108 and the hosting network 102 may also have a service relationship. See Fig. 4, [0048] lines 7-10, and [0103] lines 6-10, [0104] lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Velev teaches a method (e.g., Figure 10, method 1000) wherein the steering of roaming record includes a closed access group or network identifier associated with the location, location, or time (The one or more network nodes may also comprise a unified data management (UDM) system arranged to use a SoR procedure to provision a list of preferred hosting networks. The embodiments described herein provide the ability to a UE to receive, store and process “information for hosting network selection” (a list of preferred networks with access type), while some entries (or network IDs) may be associated with validity criteria (e.g. time span, location) to be considered. See Fig. 10, [0225], [0227] and [0230]).
Regarding claim 12, Velev teaches a system (e.g., Fig. 3, network node 300) comprising:
a processor (e.g., Fig. 3, controller 305); and
a memory (e.g., Fig. 3, memory 310) storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the system to:
receive by a UE (e.g., Fig. 4, user equipment 200) and from a home public land mobile network (h-PLMN) (e.g., Fig. 4, home network 104, which may be a HPLMN), a steering of roaming update providing a steering of roaming record, wherein the UE is configured based on the steering of roaming record to perform a network re-selection to a non-public network (NPN) (e.g., Fig. 4, hosting network 102, which may be deployed as a non-public network) when a context of the UE meets time and location requirements (The home network may provide SoR information to the UE 110. SoR information may be used to steer the UE 200 to another hosting network(s). The existing SoR information may be enhanced to include the one or more selection criteria for at least one such hosting network, whereas the availability conditions may include the validity time span and/or location. See [0062] lines 3-4, [0120]); and
establish a session with the NPN when the context of the UE meets the time and location requirements (One or more RSD validation criteria comprise a time window, i.e. a time period, and/or a location. After a successful registration procedure 490, the UE 200 may trigger the establishment of a PDU session in the hosting network 102 by using a first RSD or second RSD. Alternatively, the localized service may be only accessed via the hosting network 102 when the RSD validity criteria (or network selection criteria), if available, are fulfilled. Establishment of the PDU session in the hosting network 102 is indicated in FIG. 4 by the reference numeral 495. See Fig. 4, [0115] lines 1-2, [0139] lines 1-3, [0140] lines 4-9).
Velev fails to explicitly teach wherein performing the network re-selection comprises detaching from the h-PLMN and subsequently registering with the NPN and establishing a session with the NPN after registering with the NPN.
Talebi addresses this gap and teaches, in an analogous field, that a PLMN may be employed for onboarding of a UE. Specifically, Talebi (see paragraph [0375], FIG. 18) teaches that the UE may be configured with default credentials in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) to attach to any PLMN (serving as an onboarding network). The UE performs normal PLMN selection, registers, and establishes a PDU session using normal procedures. Upon establishing connectivity to a provisioning server (PS), the UE is provisioned with NPN credentials and configuration data for the SNPN that will own the UE's subscription. The UE then deregisters from the PLMN and, using the acquired credentials, performs a new network selection and registers with the SNPN owning the UE's subscription. This sequence explicitly includes detaching from the h-PLMN, registering with the NPN, and establishing a session with the NPN after registration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Talebi with Velev to include the feature wherein performing the network re-selection comprises detaching from the h-PLMN and subsequently registering with the NPN, and establishing a session with the NPN after registering with the NPN. The motivation to combine is provided by Talebi’s rationale: by onboarding the UE through a PLMN and provisioning NPN credentials, then deregistering and registering with the NPN, the UE can securely and efficiently transition to a new network environment, facilitating improved user experience, seamless mobility, and secure credential management. This approach reduces signaling overhead, ensures proper credential provisioning, and supports flexible network onboarding scenarios, as described in Talebi (see paragraphs [0375 & 0381]).
Regarding claim 13, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 12. In addition, Velev teaches a system (e.g., Fig 3, network node 300) wherein the steering of roaming update configures the UE (e.g., UE 200) with time specific data for the time requirements and location specific data for the location requirement, wherein the UE can discover and select the NPN (e.g., hosting network 102) based on the time specific data and location specific data (Step s910 may include receiving, from the home network 104 via a pre-existing network connection, the configuration information. Configuration information may include SoR information and availability conditions comprising at least one of: a validity time period and a location. At step s970, the UE 200 establishes a network connection with the selected hosting network 102. See Fig. 9, [0197] lines 7-9, [0203], [0216] and [0217]).
Regarding claim 17, Velev teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (e.g., memory 310 may be a computer readable storage medium, see [0091] lines 1-2), the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (e.g., controller 305 may include any known controller capable of executing computer-readable instructions and/or capable of performing logical operations. See [0090] lines 1-3), cause the computer to:
receive by a UE (e.g., Fig. 4, user equipment 200) and from a home public land mobile network (h-PLMN) (e.g., Fig. 4, home network 104, which may be a HPLMN), a steering of roaming update providing a steering of roaming record, wherein the UE is configured based on the steering of roaming record to perform a network re-selection to a non-public network (NPN) (e.g., Fig. 4, hosting network 102, which may be deployed as a non-public network) when a context of the UE meets time and location requirements (The home network may provide SoR information to the UE 110. SoR information may be used to steer the UE 200 to another hosting network(s). The existing SoR information may be enhanced to include the one or more selection criteria for at least one such hosting network, whereas the availability conditions may include the validity time span and/or location. See [0062] lines 3-4, [0120]); and
establish a session with the NPN when the context of the UE meets the time and location requirements (One or more RSD validation criteria comprise a time window, i.e. a time period, and/or a location. After a successful registration procedure 490, the UE 200 may trigger the establishment of a PDU session in the hosting network 102 by using a first RSD or second RSD. Alternatively, the localized service may be only accessed via the hosting network 102 when the RSD validity criteria (or network selection criteria), if available, are fulfilled. Establishment of the PDU session in the hosting network 102 is indicated in FIG. 4 by the reference numeral 495. See Fig. 4, [0115] lines 1-2, [0139] lines 1-3, [0140] lines 4-9).
Velev fails to explicitly teach wherein performing the network re-selection comprises detaching from the h-PLMN and subsequently registering with the NPN and establishing a session with the NPN after registering with the NPN.
Talebi addresses this gap and teaches, in an analogous field, that a PLMN may be employed for onboarding of a UE. Specifically, Talebi (see paragraph [0375], FIG. 18) teaches that the UE may be configured with default credentials in a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) to attach to any PLMN (serving as an onboarding network). The UE performs normal PLMN selection, registers, and establishes a PDU session using normal procedures. Upon establishing connectivity to a provisioning server (PS), the UE is provisioned with NPN credentials and configuration data for the SNPN that will own the UE's subscription. The UE then deregisters from the PLMN and, using the acquired credentials, performs a new network selection and registers with the SNPN owning the UE's subscription. This sequence explicitly includes detaching from the h-PLMN, registering with the NPN, and establishing a session with the NPN after registration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Talebi with Velev to include the feature wherein performing the network re-selection comprises detaching from the h-PLMN and subsequently registering with the NPN, and establishing a session with the NPN after registering with the NPN. The motivation to combine is provided by Talebi’s rationale: by onboarding the UE through a PLMN and provisioning NPN credentials, then deregistering and registering with the NPN, the UE can securely and efficiently transition to a new network environment, facilitating improved user experience, seamless mobility, and secure credential management. This approach reduces signaling overhead, ensures proper credential provisioning, and supports flexible network onboarding scenarios, as described in Talebi (see paragraphs [0375 & 0381]).
Regarding claim 18, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 17. In addition, Velev teaches a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., Fig. 3, memory 310 of network node 300) wherein the steering of roaming update configures the UE (e.g., UE 200) with time specific data for the time requirements and location specific data for the location requirement, wherein the UE can discover and select the NPN (e.g., hosting network 102) based on the time specific data and location specific data (Step s910 may include receiving, from the home network 104 via a pre-existing network connection, the configuration information. Configuration information may include SoR information and availability conditions comprising at least one of: a validity time period and a location. At step s970, the UE 200 establishes a network connection with the selected hosting network 102. See Fig. 9, [0197] lines 7-9, [0203], [0216] and [0217]).
Claims 4, 8, 14, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev et al., U.S. Publication Number 2025/0175891 A1 (hereinafter Velev) in view of Talebi Fard et al., U.S. Publication Number 2023/0189192 A1 (hereinafter Talebi) as applied to claims 1, 6, 12 and 17 above and further in view of Stojanovski et al., U.S. Publication Number 20250168635 A1 (hereinafter Stojanovski).
Regarding claim 4, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. The combination fails to teach a method further comprising:
after the context of the UE no longer meets the time and location requirements, switching back to the H-PLMN; and
detaching from the NPN.
Stojanovski teaches a method (e.g., Fig. 4) comprising:
after the context of the UE no longer meets the time and location requirements, switching back to the H-PLMN (e.g., home network 120); and detaching from the NPN (e.g., host network 130) (e.g., Fig. 4, H8) (Both the home network 120 and the hosting network 130 can be a PLMN or NPN. The 5GS shall be able to prevent a UE 802 to re-access the hosting network 130 after the localized services 155 were terminated if the authorization for the localized services 155 is no longer valid (e.g., can be based on certain conditions such as time or location of the user). The 5GS provides mechanisms to minimize the impact on the UEs 802 communication e.g., to prevent user plane and control plane outages when returning to a home network 120 together with other high number of UEs 802 in a very short period of time, after terminating their temporary local access to a hosting networks 130. See [0049], [0075] lines 1-2, [0098] and [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Velev and Talebi with the teachings of Stojanovski to have a method by which user equipment is capable of terminating the connection with a host network and switching over to a home network in response to no longer fulfilling time and/or location conditions required to maintain the connection. This allows the user to retain access to home services once access to the localized/limited services provided by the hosting network have been restricted (See Stojanovski, [0109]).
Regarding claim 8, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Velev teaches a method comprising:
a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN (user/UE 200 is subscribed to home network 104. Home network 104 may be a HPLMN. See [0044] lines 2-7, [0166] lines 3-5).
The combination fails to teach a method further comprising:
receiving a request for NPN access information by the content provider, the request for the NPN access information is associated with a user acquiring access to an event at a location that is within the location requirements, the request originating from a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN, wherein the sending the network info for the NPN is responsive to receiving the request.
Stojanovski teaches a method (e.g., Fig. 7) further comprising:
receiving a request for NPN (e.g., hosting network 130) access information by the content provider (e.g., localized service provider 150), the request for the NPN access information is associated with a user (e.g., user/UE 802) acquiring access to an event at a location that is within the location requirements (e.g., H5. UE 802 arrives at venue where the localized service is provided, the user/UE 802 manually selects the hosting network 130), the request originating from a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN (e.g., home network 120), wherein the sending the network info for the NPN is responsive to receiving the request (e.g., H4. UE 802 requests information to access the hosting network 130 and localized services, H6. UE 802 receives access to hosting network 130) (Both home network 120 and hosting network 130 can be a PLMN or NPN. UE802 may have a subscription with home network 120. 5GS supports means for the service provider to request the hosting network 130 to provide access to 3rd party services at a specific period of time and location. 5GS allows a home network operator to automatically negotiate policies with the hosting network 130 for allowing the home network's 120 subscribers to connect at a specific occasion (e.g., time and location) for their home network services. See Fig.7, [0051] lines 7-8, [0064] lines 1-3, [0065], [0066], [0075] lines 1-2, [0077] lines 1-4, and [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Velev and Talebi with the teachings of Stojanovski to have a method by which the user/user equipment (subscribed to a HPLMN) obtains information needed to access a hosting network via the content/service provider. This allows the user/UE to discover, select and access an NPN acting as a hosting network to receive localized services (See Stojanovski, Abstract lines 6-9).
Consider claim 14, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 12. The combination fails to teach a system wherein instructions further configure the system to:
switch back to the H-PLMN after context of the UE no longer meets the time and location requirements; and
detaching from the NPN .
Stojanovski teaches a system (e.g., Fig. 10, hardware resources 1000 and instructions 1050) wherein instructions further configure the system to:
switch back to the H-PLMN (e.g., home network 120); and detach from the NPN (e.g., host network 130) (Both the home network 120 and the hosting network 130 can be a PLMN or NPN. The 5GS shall be able to prevent a UE 802 to re-access the hosting network 130 after the localized services 155 were terminated if the authorization for the localized services 155 is no longer valid (e.g., can be based on certain conditions such as time or location of the user). The 5GS provides mechanisms to minimize the impact on the UEs 802 communication e.g., to prevent user plane and control plane outages when returning to a home network 120 together with other high number of UEs 802 in a very short period of time, after terminating their temporary local access to a hosting networks 130. See [0075] lines 1-2, [0098], [0109], [1097] lines 5-10 and [0201] lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Velev and Talebi with the teachings of Stojanovski to have a system by which a user equipment is capable of terminating the connection with a host network and switching over to a home network in response to no longer fulfilling time and/or location conditions required to maintain the connection. This allows the user to retain access to home services once access to the localized/limited services provided by the hosting network have been restricted (See Stojanovski, [0109]).
Regarding claim 15, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Velev also teaches a system wherein:
a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN (user/UE 200 is subscribed to home network 104. Home network 104 may be a HPLMN. See [0044] lines 2-7, [0166] lines 3-5).
The combination fails to teach a system wherein the instructions further configure the system to:
receive a request for NPN access information by the content provider, the request for the NPN access information is associated with a user acquiring access to an event at a location that is within the location requirements, the request originating from a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN, wherein the sending the network info for the NPN is responsive to receiving the request.
Stojanovski teaches a teach a system (e.g., Fig. 10, hardware resources 1000 and instructions 1050) wherein the instructions further configure the system to:
receiving a request for NPN (e.g., hosting network 130) access information by the content provider (e.g., localized service provider 150), the request for the NPN access information is associated with a user (e.g., user/UE 802) acquiring access to an event at a location that is within the location requirements (e.g., H5. UE 802 arrives at venue where the localized service is provided, the user/UE 802 manually selects the hosting network 130), the request originating from a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN (e.g., home network 120), wherein the sending the network info for the NPN is responsive to receiving the request (e.g., H4. UE 802 requests information to access the hosting network 130 and localized services, H6. UE 802 receives access to hosting network 130) (Both home network 120 and hosting network 130 can be a PLMN or NPN. UE802 may have a subscription with home network 120. 5GS supports means for the service provider to request the hosting network 130 to provide access to 3rd party services at a specific period of time and location. 5GS allows a home network operator to automatically negotiate policies with the hosting network 130 for allowing the home network's 120 subscribers to connect at a specific occasion (e.g., time and location) for their home network services. See Figs. 7 and 10, [0051] lines 7-8, [0064] lines 1-3, [0065], [0066], [0075] lines 1-2, [0077] lines 1-4, [0081], [0197] lines 5-10 and [0201] lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Velev and Talebi with the teachings of Stojanovski to have a system by which the user/user equipment (subscribed to a HPLMN) obtains information needed to access a hosting network via the content/service provider. This allows the user/UE to discover, select and access an NPN acting as a hosting network to receive localized services (See Stojanovski, Abstract lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 19, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 17. Velev also teaches computer-readable storage medium wherein:
a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN (user/UE 200 is subscribed to home network 104. Home network 104 may be a HPLMN. See [0044] lines 2-7, [0166] lines 3-5).
The combination fails to teach a computer-readable storage medium wherein the instructions further configure the computer to:
receive a request for NPN access information by the content provider, the request for the NPN access information is associated with a user acquiring access to an event at a location that is within the location requirements, the request originating from a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN, wherein the sending the network info for the NPN is responsive to receiving the request.
Stojanovski teaches a teach a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., Fig. 10, memory/storage devices 1020 and instructions 1050) wherein the instructions further configure the system to:
receiving a request for NPN (e.g., hosting network 130) access information by the content provider (e.g., localized service provider 150), the request for the NPN access information is associated with a user (e.g., user/UE 802) acquiring access to an event at a location that is within the location requirements (e.g., H5. UE 802 arrives at venue where the localized service is provided, the user/UE 802 manually selects the hosting network 130), the request originating from a user associated with a subscription to access services of the h-PLMN (e.g., home network 120), wherein the sending the network info for the NPN is responsive to receiving the request (e.g., H4. UE 802 requests information to access the hosting network 130 and localized services, H6. UE 802 receives access to hosting network 130) (Both home network 120 and hosting network 130 can be a PLMN or NPN. UE802 may have a subscription with home network 120. 5GS supports means for the service provider to request the hosting network 130 to provide access to 3rd party services at a specific period of time and location. 5GS allows a home network operator to automatically negotiate policies with the hosting network 130 for allowing the home network's 120 subscribers to connect at a specific occasion (e.g., time and location) for their home network services. See Figs. 7 and 10, [0051] lines 7-8, [0064] lines 1-3, [0065], [0066], [0075] lines 1-2, [0077] lines 1-4, [0081], [0199] and [0201] lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Velev and Talebi with the teachings of Stojanovski to have a system by which the user/user equipment (subscribed to a HPLMN) obtains information needed to access a hosting network via the content/service provider. This allows the user/UE to discover, select and access an NPN acting as a hosting network to receive localized services (See Stojanovski, Abstract lines 6-9).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velev et al., U.S. Publication Number 2025/0175891 A1 (hereinafter Velev) in view of Talebi Fard et al., U.S. Publication Number 2023/0189192 A1 (hereinafter Talebi) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumar et al., U.S. Publication Number 2024/0314536 A1 (hereinafter Kumar).
Regarding claim 5, Velev in view of Talebi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Velev also teaches method further comprising:
a steering of roaming record related to the NPN (e.g., hosting network 102) and an expirable time requirement (Home network 104, via an AF responsible for steering of roaming, may determine that the UE 200 needs to be provided with the information for hosting network selection, i.e. information to allow the UE 200 to select the hosting network 102 for connection. Hosting network 102 may only be available within limited time periods and geographical regions; implication that the time and/or location in which the UE may connect to the NPN can expire. See [0117] lines 1-8and [0051] lines 7-9). The combination fails to teach a method further comprising:
receiving a non-access-stratum (NAS) message from the HPLMN to remove the steering of roaming record, wherein the NAS message is triggered by an access function (AF) of the NPN or HPLMN or access mobility function (AMF) of the HPLMN.
Kumar teaches a method (e.g., Fig. 9) further comprising:
receiving a non-access-stratum (NAS) message from the HPLMN to remove the steering of roaming record (e.g., SOR” list or SoR abort list), wherein the NAS message is triggered by an access function (AF) of the NPN or HPLMN or access mobility function (AMF) of the HPLMN (In another embodiment, the HPLMN (for example by entities like UDM, AUSF, AMF etc.) can transmit the indication to the VPLMN (20) which is delegated to the UE (100) using a NAS message. After receiving this indication from the HPLMN, the UE (100) will delete the SoR abort list or remove the respective PLMN(s) from the SoR abort list. See Fig. 9, [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Velev and Talebi with the teachings of Kumar to have a method in which the home network sends the UE a NAS message in order to remove SoR information correlating to hosting networks that have changed in their availability. This allows the for management and/or prioritization of wireless communication networks (See Kumar, Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if written in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if written in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if written in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al., U.S. Publication Number 2023/0371125 A1 discloses method for supporting service continuity when disaster situation ends, and device supporting same.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645