DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed 10/07/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 7 and 9 have been amended. New claim 16 has been added.
Claims 1-16 are pending in the application. Claims 1-6 and 12-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/13/2025.
4. Claims 7-11 and 16 have been examined.
Grounds of Objection and Rejection Withdrawn
5. Unless specifically reiterated below, Applicant’s amendment and/or arguments have obviated or rendered moot the grounds of objection and rejection set forth in the previous Office action mailed 07/07/2025.
Grounds of Rejection Maintained
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
7. Claims 7-11 and 16 remain/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,081. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for the following reasons:
Claims 7-11 and 16 are herein drawn to a kit for isolating or capturing a circulating tumor cell in a biological sample, the kit comprising:(1) a capture agent comprising an antibody specifically binding at least one epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT) biomarker; and (2) at least one staining reagent for confirming the capture of the circulating tumor cell, wherein the at least one staining reagent comprises a β-catenin antibody.
Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,081 are drawn to a kit for isolating or capturing a circulating tumor cell in a biological sample, the kit comprising: an antibody linked to a magnetic particle, wherein the antibody binds specifically to at least one epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT) biomarker; and a detectably labelled anti-β-catenin antibody and a detectably labelled anti-CD31 antibody, wherein the detectably labelled anti-β-catenin antibody and the detectably labelled anti-CD31 antibody allow detection of β-catenin and CD31 on an intact cell to determine whether the intact cell is a circulating tumor cell.
The Applicant’s arguments:
Applicants request that the rejection be held in abeyance and respectfully defer addressing this issue until at least some claims are found allowable, at which point Applicants will consider filing a terminal disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant has not filled an appropriate terminal disclaimer or overcome the rejection by a specific amendment or argument; thus, the rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 7-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Garcia-blanco et al. (WO 2011/093927, published on August 4, 2011, IDS) in view of Scatena et al. (Biochimica et Biophysica Acta, 2013, 1835: 129–143, available online 7 December 2012, IDS).
Claims 7-11 and 16 are herein drawn to a kit for isolating or capturing a circulating tumor cell in a biological sample, the kit comprising:(1) a capture agent comprising an antibody specifically binding at least one epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT) biomarker; and (2) at least one staining reagent for confirming the capture of the circulating tumor cell, wherein the at least one staining reagent comprises a β-catenin antibody.
Garcia-blanco et al. teach a kit for detecting a circulating tumor cell (CTC) in a biological sample, the kit comprising an antibody to at least one EMT biomarker and instructions for use, wherein the antibody is linked to a fluorescent reporter molecule,
radionuclide, enzyme, or magnetic bead; see entire document, e.g. abstract, [0009], claims 7-9.
Garcia-blanco et al. teach the EMT biomarker includes vimentin, N-cadherin, O-cadherin (also known as OB-cadherin), E-cadherin, FGFR2 splice variant isoforms, or CD133 (instant claim 8); see [0041], page 52, claims 3 and 9.
Garcia-blanco et al. teach detectable molecules are used for the detection of one or more EMT biomarker, wherein the detectable molecules include fluorophores, enzyme, radionuclides, nuclear stains (e.g., DAPI) (instant claim 9); see [0045], claim 8.
Garcia-blanco et al. teach the antibody is associated a magnetic bead (instant claims 10-11); see [0046], claim 8.
Garcia-blanco et al. do not teach β-catenin as a biomarker for CTCs.
However, this deficiency is remedied by Scatena et al.
Scatena et al. teach β-catenin as a valuable biomarker for CTCs; see entire document, e.g. first paragraph of right col. on page 133, pages 138-139.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of the references so as to have a kit for detecting a circulating tumor cell (CTC) in a biological sample, the kit comprising an antibody to at least one EMT biomarker and confirming the circulating tumor cell using β-catenin detection. One would have been motivated to do so because Garcia-blanco et al. teach a kit for detecting a circulating tumor cell (CTC) in a biological sample, the kit comprising an antibody to at least one EMT biomarker and instructions for use; Scatena et al. teach β-catenin as a valuable biomarker for CTCs. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success that by combining the teachings of the references so as to have a kit for detecting a circulating tumor cell (CTC) in a biological sample, the kit comprising an antibody to at least one EMT biomarker and confirming the circulating tumor cell using β-catenin detection by a detectably labeled anti-β-catenin antibody, because β-catenin as a valuable biomarker for CTCs as taught by Scatena et al.
Conclusion
11. No claim is allowed.
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of objection/rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642