DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s corrections filed 08/29/2025 with respect to claim objections for claim(s) 2 and 4-5 made on 06/04/2025 have been considered and the objection to the claims is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/29/2025 with respect to claim rejection under 112(b) for claim(s) 2 and 4 made on 06/04/2025 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim rejection under 112(b) to the claims is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/29/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument: On pgs. 8-13, Applicant’s argument is directed to limitations “an LPWAN antenna, configured to have a first polarization, … and a WLAN antenna, configured to have a second polarization and convey WLAN signals which are independent from the LPWAN signals, the second polarization is orthogonal to the first polarization.”
Applicant argues that Kawamura et al. (US 2024/0283547 A1) does not teach the limitations because in Kawamura “the antennas 204-1 and 204-2 do NOT convey independent signals” (pg. 8), “switching unit 181-1 connects to either the antenna 204-1 or the antenna 204-2 to transmit signal, the transmitted signal by antenna 204-1 or the antenna 204-2 is provided from the same source, but NOT independent signals” and “switching control unit 182-1 selects on of the antenna 204-1 and the antenna 204-2 to transmit the same signal during a transmission period, but NOT employs the antenna 204-1 and the antenna 204-2 to transmit independent signals respectively… Kawamura does NOT employ both the antenna 204-1 and the antenna 204-2 to concurrently operate during the transmission period, so as to transmit independent signals respectively” whereas “in claim 1 of the subject application, the claimed WLAN antenna and LPWAN antenna may concurrently operate during a period, to transmit independent signals respectively” (pg. 9), and “Kawamura does NOT regard interference issues, Kawamura is silent about interference between the antenna 204-1 and the antenna 204-2” (pg. 12).
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, it is not clear from the claim how the WLAN signals are independent from the LPWAN signals. Having two antennas sending different signals may read on independency of the signals, or having the same signals transmitted at different times may read on independency of the signals. Based on Applicant’s argument that Kawamura does not employ both antennas concurrently, Examiner notes that Kawamura discloses that both antenna 204-1 and 204-2 can be used concurrently for different signals in [0133] “In a case where signals are transmitted from the antenna 204-1 and the antenna 204-2, the signals may be transmitted from both the antennas 204 at the same timing, or identical signals may be transmitted with different polarizations at shifted times.” Second, it appears Applicant is arguing against the references individually; however, one cannot show obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combination of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Wild et al. (US 2019/0347916 A1) discloses an A/V doorbell uses a second network interface to communicate over a second network, such as LPWAN, and a first network interface to communicate over a first network, such as WLAN, where both interfaces communicate data over their respective networks, which is mapped to independent WLAN and LPWAN signals. (Wild: Fig. 1, [0036], [0038-][0039]). However, Wild does not teach, but Kawamura teaches that antennas are linearly polarized antennas capable of transmitting polarized waves orthogonal to each other, and also teaches use of LPWA and WLAN, which is mapped to the two antennas having two polarization that are orthogonal to each other. (Kawamura: [0033], [0121], [0131]). Examiner combines Kawamura’s teaching of having two antennas that are linearly polarized and capable of transmitting polarized waves orthogonal to each other with Wild’s teaching of an A/V door having first and second network interfaces communicating data over WLAN and LPWAN. Therefore, the rejection is maintained because Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild et al. (US 2019/0347916 A1) in view of Kawamura et al. (US 2024/0283547 A1) and Chen et al. (US 2002/0136233 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wild discloses A communication apparatus disposed outdoors, comprising (Fig. 1: A/V doorbell 102):
a first communication module, configured to perform a Low-Power Wide-Area-Network (LPWAN) communication with at least one end device in a first frequency band and comprising (Fig. 1, [0036], [0039]: A/V doorbell uses a second network interface to communicate over a second network, i.e., LPWAN, with local network devices, such as hub device, automation device, and/or electronic devices):
an LPWAN antenna, configured to (Fig. 1, [0036], [0039]: second network interface communicates data over LPWAN with local network devices, such as a hub device, an automation device, and/or electronic devices); and
a second communication module, coupled to the first communication module and comprising (Fig. 1: first network interface coupled to second network interface):
a signal processor (Fig. 3A: processor(s) 310);
a chime module ([0049]: doorbell chime);
a wireless communication circuit, configured to perform at least one wireless communication in a second frequency band, the at least one wireless communication comprise a wireless LAN (WLAN) communication (Fig. 1, [0036], [0038]: A/V doorbell uses a first network interface to communicate over a first network, i.e., WLAN, with remote network devices, such as a backend server and a client device); and
a WLAN antenna, configured to (Fig. 1, [0036], [0038]: first network interface communicates data over WLAN with local network devices while second network interface communicates data over LPWAN with local network devices),
wherein, the first communication module is communicatively coupled to a network server through the second communication module ([0037]-[0039]: the second network interface communicates with the backend server through the first network interface), the first communication module is configured to transmit and/or receive a LPWAN package in a first timeslot ([0036]-[0037]: second network interface communicates second data packet over LPWAN. [0041]-[0042]: second network interface uses second time intervals. [0096]: second time intervals used by second network interface for communicating over the second network), the wireless communication circuit of the second communication module is configured to transmit and/or receive a wireless package in a second timeslot ([0036]-[0037]: first network interface communicates first data packet over WLAN. [0040], [0042]: first network interface uses first time intervals. [0096]: first time intervals used by first network interface for communicating over the first network),
Wild does not disclose, but Kawamura discloses an LPWAN antenna, configured to have a first polarization, … and a WLAN antenna, configured to have a second polarization, … the second polarization is orthogonal to the first polarization (Fig. 18, [0121], [0131]: master station 11 includes an antenna 204-1 and an antenna 204-2 that are linearly polarized antennas and are polarization diversity antennas capable of transmitting polarized waves orthogonal to each other. [0033]: master station 11 is capable of using LPWA and WLAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second network interfaces that communicate over WLAN and LPWAN, respectively, as taught by Wild, to be polarization diversity antennas capable of transmitting polarized waves orthogonal to each other, as taught by Kawamura.
Doing so enables favorable communication (Kawamura: abstract).
Wild does not discloses, but Chen discloses the signal processor configures the wireless communication circuit to have a higher priority than the first communication module when transmitting and/or receiving the wireless package, such that the LPWAN package is delayed to be transmitted and later than the wireless package when a collision between the LPWAN package and the wireless package occurs ([0039]-[0040]: wireless communication protocols 110, 111 may overlap and result in collision or interference. Fig. 8: steps 240, 241, 245, and 246. [0086]-[0087]: priorities related to potential data collisions among a plurality of wireless communications in overlapping protocols 110, 111 are set based on performance criteria to optimize Quality of Service (QoS) by delaying transmissions corresponding to one or more wireless protocols 110, 111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a communication apparatus of Wild to incorporate the prioritization and delaying teachings of Chen.
The motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate potential data transmission collisions and the resulting interference while maintaining optimized QoS (Chen: [0086]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Wild in view of Kawamura and Chen discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Wild discloses wherein the chime module is configured to perform a chime function, a video function and audio function (Fig. 4A, [0168]: doorbell chime within a unit associated with icon 432 and/or touch surface 306 to emit sound, or initiate audio and/or video communication. A/V 210 includes camera 314, speaker(s) 330).
Regarding claim 7, Wild in view of Kawamura and Chen discloses all features of claim 6 as outlined above.
Wild discloses wherein the signal processor determines a location of the at least one end device by receiving LPWAN signals of the at least one end device by the first communication module ([0041], [0092]: A/V doorbell transmits and/or receives data over LPWAN. The data includes video data, audio data, sensor data, etc. [0115]: the A/V device includes motion sensor(s) 326, such as cameras, which detects motions and outputs post-processed computer vision metadata, such as direction of movement of an entity, a distance of the entity from the A/V device 210), and the second communication module tracks the location of the at least one end device by the video function ([0040], [0090]-[0091]: A/V doorbell transmits and/or receives data over WLAN. The data includes video data, audio data, sensor, data, etc. [0115]: the A/V device includes the motion sensor(s) 326, such as cameras, which detects motions and outputs post-processed computer vision metadata, such as direction of movement of an entity, a distance of the entity from the A/V device 210).
Regarding claim 8, Wild in view of Kawamura and Chen discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Wild discloses further comprising:
a bracket, adapted to hold the first communication module and the second communication module (Figs. 1, 3A, 4A-4B: A/V doorbell includes network interfaces(s)); and
an external antenna, embedded in the bracket and coupled to the first communication module (Fig. 3A: antenna(s) 332 of network interface(s) 312).
Regarding claim 9, Wild in view of Kawamura and Chen discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Wild discloses further comprising:
a power module, embedded in the bracket and coupled to the first communication module and the second communication module (Fig. 3A, [0089], [0094]: A/V device may control the power of the network interface(s). [0111]-[0112], [0115]: A/V may be powered by battery 342 and/or by using a source of external AC).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild et al. (US 2019/0347916 A1) in view of Kawamura et al. (US 2024/0283547 A1), Chen et al. (US 2002/0136233 A1), and Egner et al. (US 2018/0167948 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wild in view of Kawamura and Chen discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Wild does not disclose, but Egner discloses wherein the first second communication module is configured to perform the LPWAN communication in the first frequency band, and a harmonic having a integer multiple of carrier frequency of the LPWAN signals associated with the LPWAN communication locates in the second frequency band for performing the WLAN communication ([0022]: WLAN and LPWAN protocol LoRaWAN require intelligent schedule to minimize collisions in frequency bands. [0053]: potential overlapping use of shared radio frequency bands in Wi-Fi and LPWAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second network interfaces that communicate over WLAN and LPWAN, respectively, as taught by Wild, to share radio frequency but require intelligent schedule to minimize collisions in frequency bands, as taught by Egner.
Doing so minimizes the collisions of shared frequency bands between WLAN and LPWAN protocol LoRaWAN (Egner: [0022], [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Wild in view of Kawamura and Chen discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Wild does not disclose, but Hiertz discloses wherein the first second communication module is configured to perform a Long Range (LoRA) communication in the first frequency band, and a harmonic having a integer multiple of carrier frequency of the LoRA signals associated with the LoRA communication locates in the second frequency band for performing the WLAN communication ([0022]: WLAN and LPWAN protocol LoRaWAN require intelligent schedule to minimize collisions in frequency bands. [0053]: potential overlapping use of shared radio frequency bands in Wi-Fi and LPWAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second network interfaces that communicate over WLAN and LPWAN, respectively, as taught by Wild, to share radio frequency but require intelligent schedule to minimize collisions in frequency bands, as taught by Egner.
Doing so minimizes the collisions of shared frequency bands between WLAN and LPWAN protocol LoRaWAN (Egner: [0022], [0053]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild et al. (US 2019/0347916 A1) in view of Kawamura et al. (US 2024/0283547 A1), Chen et al. (US 2002/0136233 A1), Egner et al. (US 2018/0167948 A1), and Edara et al. (US 11,871,284 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Wild in view of Kawamura, Chen, and Egner discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Wild does not disclose, but Edara discloses wherein the second communication module further comprises a CBRS antenna having the second polarization (col. 2 ll. 10-19: user equipments support Wi-Fi networks and LPWAN. Col. 7 ll. 8-24: a plurality of frequency schemes include Wi-Fi and CBRS that have a horizontal, and/or vertical polarization and use MIMO with multiple transmitters and receivers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first network interface that communicates over WLAN, as taught by Wild, to include CBRS that has a horizontal and/or vertical polarization, as taught by Edara.
Doing so allows the user equipments to communicate with the network (Edara: col. 2 ll. 10-19 and col. 7 ll. 8-24).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov