DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10, 12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0177817 to Badri et al. (“Badri”) and US Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0256572 to Lagnado et al. (“Lagnado”).
In reference to Claim 1, Badri discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105), comprising: one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35); a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 23-24 [processing device 102 of IHS executes OS]); and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS by a user, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45) by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives (See Figure 2 and Paragraphs 19, 36-37, 52, 58, and 108 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus need not be implemented by the OS; power control 110 may be implemented by firmware, and is thus “firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation; as per Figure 2, communication between the external control system 200 and the firmware power control 110 is direct, and does not involve the OS of processing device 102]). However, Badri does not explicitly disclose that the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS. Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Badri using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the invention of Claim 1, because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
In reference to Claim 2, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Badri further discloses that the IHS is a tablet device (See Paragraph 21) and the reported change in user context comprises a the user being in close contact with the IHS (See Paragraph 68 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close contact” in accordance with Paragraph 175 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning the user being in physical contact with the IHS]). Lagnado further discloses that the reported change in user context comprises a the user being in close contact with the IHS (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close contact” in accordance with Paragraph 175 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning the user being in physical contact with the IHS]).
In reference to Claim 5, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Badri further discloses that the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor (See Paragraph 21).
In reference to Claim 6, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Badri further discloses that the storage drives may be discrete storage devices (See Paragraph 107 [storage drives 104 not physically and electrically coupled to PCB 1004]) or integrated storage devices (See Paragraph 107 [storage drives 104 physically and electrically coupled to PCB 1004]). However, Badri and Lagnado do not explicitly disclose that the storage drive settings mapped to the proximity of the user comprises a higher temperature threshold for a discrete storage device than an integrated storage device. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there are a finite number of relationships between the storage drive settings temperature thresholds of the discrete and integrated storage devices: the temperature thresholds can be the same, the temperature threshold of the discrete storage device can be lower than the integrated storage device, or the temperate threshold of the discrete storage device can be higher than the integrate storage device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Badri and Lagnado by trying storage drive settings comprising a higher temperature threshold for a discrete storage device than an integrated storage device, resulting in the invention of Claim 6, because a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improved construction of the device of Badri and Lagnado.
In reference to Claim 10, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Badri further discloses that the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is managed via an inband signaling pathway (See Paragraphs 34-36); and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive (See Paragraphs 33-35).
In reference to Claim 12, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Badri further discloses that the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS (See Figures 1 and 10 and Paragraphs 21, 105, 107, and 110); and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive (See Paragraphs 33-35).
In reference to Claim 17, Badri discloses a memory (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108) coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 19, 24, 53-54, 58, and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of an Information Handling System (IHS), the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35) when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45). However, Badri does not explicitly disclose that the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives of the IHS in response to the user being in close proximity to the IHS. Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Badri using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the invention of Claim 17, because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
In reference to Claim 18, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 17 above. Badri further discloses that the storage drives may be discrete storage devices (See Paragraph 107 [storage drives 104 not physically and electrically coupled to PCB 1004]) or integrated storage devices (See Paragraph 107 [storage drives 104 physically and electrically coupled to PCB 1004]). However, Badri and Lagnado do not explicitly disclose that the storage drive settings mapped to the proximity of the user comprises a higher temperature threshold for a discrete storage device than an integrated storage device. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there are a finite number of relationships between the storage drive settings temperature thresholds of the discrete and integrated storage devices: the temperature thresholds can be the same, the temperature threshold of the discrete storage device can be lower than the integrated storage device, or the temperate threshold of the discrete storage device can be higher than the integrate storage device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Badri and Lagnado by trying storage drive settings comprising a higher temperature threshold for a discrete storage device than an integrated storage device, resulting in the invention of Claim 18, because a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improved construction of the device of Badri and Lagnado.
In reference to Claim 19, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 17 above. Badri further discloses that the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor (See Paragraph 21).
In reference to Claim 20, Badri discloses a method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105) comprising one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35), comprising: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42), wherein the report is received by an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107); determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the plurality of storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 23-24, 33-35, 45, and 58 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus is independent of the OS). However, Badri does not explicitly disclose that the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS. Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Badri using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the invention of Claim 20, because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badri and Lagnado as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0363786 to Hsu et al. (“Hsu”).
In reference to Claim 8, Badri and Lagnado disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Badri and Lagnado do not explicitly disclose that the orchestrator is further configured to cause the IHS to operate in a quiet mode that limits noise generated by the IHS when the user is in close proximity to the IHS. Hsu discloses operation of at least one storage drive device while exceeding thermal constraints on operation of an IHS while a user is not in proximity to the IHS (See Figure 2 Number 214 and Paragraphs 18 and 34-41). Hsu discloses that that the orchestrator is further configured to cause the IHS to operate in a quiet mode that limits noise generated by the IHS when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 4, 23, and 39-40 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of Badri and Lagnado using the proximity based quiet mode of Hsu, resulting in the invention of Claim 8, in order to yield the predictable result of minimizing undesirable acoustic noise while providing sufficient cooling of resources of the information handling system (See Paragraph 4 of Hsu).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,455,602 to Varma et al. (“Varma-602”) in view of Baldi and Lagnado.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (Varma-602)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS;
receive a report of a change in a context of operation of the IHS by a user, wherein the reported change in context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user to the IHS
determine settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the settings modify operations for the one or more devices;
determine one or more thermal settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the thermal settings configure thermal operations by the IHS
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
and configure thermal operations by the IHS based on the thermal settings
Claim 5 (Instant Application)
Claim 4 (Varma-602)
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor.
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of a x86 processor and an ARM processor
Claim 8 (Instant Application)
Claim 8 (Varma-602)
the orchestrator is further configured to cause the IHS to operate in a quiet mode that limits noise generated by the IHS when the user is in close proximity to the IHS.
the thermal constraints on operation of the IHS comprise a quiet mode that limits noise generated by the IHS.
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-602 does not explicitly disclose one or more storage drives; wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives, as recited in Claim 1; the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is managed via an inband signaling pathway; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 10; and the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 12. Badri discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105), comprising: comprising: one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35); a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 23-24 [processing device 102 of IHS executes OS]); and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS by a user, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45) by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives (See Figure 2 and Paragraphs 19, 36-37, 52, 58, and 108 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus need not be implemented by the OS; power control 110 may be implemented by firmware, and is thus “firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation; as per Figure 2, communication between the external control system 200 and the firmware power control 110 is direct, and does not involve the OS of processing device 102]). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21). Badri further discloses that the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS (See Figures 1 and 10 and Paragraphs 21, 105, 107, and 110); and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive (See Paragraphs 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-602 using the storage drives, storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity, and host OS of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-602 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 17 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (Varma-602)
A memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
A memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of the user to the IHS;
receive a report of a change in a context of operation of the heterogeneous computing platform by a user…wherein the reported change in context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user to the heterogeneous computing platform
determine settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the settings modify operations for one or more devices of the IHS;
wherein the reported change in context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user to the heterogeneous computing platform…determine one or more thermal settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the thermal settings configure thermal operations by the heterogeneous computing platform;
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
and configure thermal operations by the heterogeneous computing platform based on the thermal settings
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-602 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by the plurality of storage drives of the IHS by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives of the IHS in response to the user being in close proximity to the IHS; and configure one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 17. Badri discloses a memory (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108) coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 19, 24, 53-54, 58, and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of an Information Handling System (IHS), the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35) when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-602 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-602 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 20 (Instant Application)
Claim 16 (Varma-602)
A method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) comprising:
A method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS), the method comprising:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS, wherein the report is received by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS;
receiving a report of a change in a context of operation of the IHS by a user, wherein the report is received by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS, wherein the reported change in context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user to the IHS
determine, by the orchestrator, settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user,
wherein the reported change in context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user to the IHS…determining, by the orchestrator, one or more thermal settings that are mapped to the reported user context,
wherein the settings modify operations of the one or more devices;
wherein the thermal settings configure thermal operations by the IHS;
and configure, by the orchestrator, the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
and configuring, by the orchestrator, thermal operations by the IHS based on the thermal settings,
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-602 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, one or more of the storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 20. Badri discloses a method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105) comprising one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35), comprising: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42), wherein the report is received by an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107); determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the plurality of storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 23-24, 33-35, 45, and 58 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus is independent of the OS). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-602 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-602 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 12, 17, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 2, 13, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,893 to Varma et al. (“Varma-893”) in view of Baldi and Lagnado.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 2 (Varma-893)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
[Claim 1] a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
[Claim 1] wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
[Claim 1] and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS;
[Claim 1] receive a report of a user context;
[Claim 2] the reported change in context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user to the IHS
determine settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the settings modify operations for the one or more devices;
[Claim 1] determine one or more responsiveness settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the responsiveness settings adjust thread management policies by one or more processors of the heterogeneous computing platform,
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
[Claim 1] and configure the one or more processors of the heterogeneous computing platform based on the responsiveness settings.
Claim 5 (Instant Application)
Claim 13 (Varma-893)
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor.
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of a x86 processor and an ARM processor
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-893 does not explicitly disclose one or more storage drives; wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives, as recited in Claim 1; the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is managed via an inband signaling pathway; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 10; and the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 12. Badri discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105), comprising: comprising: one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35); a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 23-24 [processing device 102 of IHS executes OS]); and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS by a user, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45) by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives (See Figure 2 and Paragraphs 19, 36-37, 52, 58, and 108 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus need not be implemented by the OS; power control 110 may be implemented by firmware, and is thus “firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation; as per Figure 2, communication between the external control system 200 and the firmware power control 110 is direct, and does not involve the OS of processing device 102]). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21). Badri further discloses that the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS (See Figures 1 and 10 and Paragraphs 21, 105, 107, and 110); and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive (See Paragraphs 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-893 using the storage drives, storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity, and host OS of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-893 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 17 (Instant Application)
Claim 16 (Varma-893)
A memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
A hardware memory device coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS;
identify a user context;
determine settings, wherein the settings modify operations for one or more devices of the IHS;
determine one or more responsiveness settings that are mapped to the user context, wherein the responsiveness settings adjust thread management policies by one or more processors of the heterogeneous computing platform,
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
configure the one or more processors of the heterogeneous computing platform based on the responsiveness settings.
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-893 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; the change in user context including a proximity of the user to the IHS; determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by the plurality of storage drives of the IHS by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives of the IHS in response to the user being in close proximity to the IHS; and configure one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 17. Badri discloses a memory (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108) coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 19, 24, 53-54, 58, and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of an Information Handling System (IHS), the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35) when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-893 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-893 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 20 (Instant Application)
Claim 17 (Varma-893)
A method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) comprising:
A method, comprising… an Information Handling System (IHS);
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, wherein the report is received by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS;
identify a user context by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of an Information Handling System (IHS)
determine, by the orchestrator, settings, wherein the settings modify operations of the one or more devices;
determine, by the orchestrator, one or more responsiveness settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the responsiveness settings adjust thread management policies by one or more processors of the heterogeneous computing platform,
and configure, by the orchestrator, the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
configure, by the orchestrator, the one or more processors of the heterogeneous computing platform based on the responsiveness settings.
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-893 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; the change in user context including a proximity of the user to the IHS; determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, one or more of the storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 20. Badri discloses a method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105) comprising one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35), comprising: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42), wherein the report is received by an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107); determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the plurality of storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 23-24, 33-35, 45, and 58 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus is independent of the OS). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-893 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-893 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 12, 17, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 2, 4, and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,373,013 to Hamlin et al. (“Hamlin-013”) in view of Baldi and Lagnado.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 2 (Hamlin-013)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
[Claim 1] a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
[Claim 1] wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
[Claim 1] and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS;
[Claim 1] identify a user context comprising a user presence status and a user engagement level;
[Claim 2] wherein the user context indicates a proximity of the user of the IHS
determine settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the settings modify operations for the one or more devices;
[Claim 1] processor settings mappings associating first discrete processor settings and second discrete processor settings with user contexts…and store the processor settings mappings in persistent storage such that the mappings persist through an IHS OS reinstallation.
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
[Claim 1] allocate based, at least in part, upon the user context and processor settings mappings associating first discrete processor settings and second discrete processor settings with user contexts, a first amount of power to a first discrete processor integrated into the heterogeneous computing platform and a second amount of power to a second discrete processor integrated into the heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the second amount of power is different from the first amount of power,
Claim 5 (Instant Application)
Claim 4 (Hamlin-013)
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor.
the discrete processors comprise at least one x86 processor or ARM processor
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Hamlin-013 does not explicitly disclose one or more storage drives; wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives, as recited in Claim 1; the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is managed via an inband signaling pathway; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 10; and the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 12. Badri discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105), comprising: comprising: one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35); a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 23-24 [processing device 102 of IHS executes OS]); and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS by a user, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45) by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives (See Figure 2 and Paragraphs 19, 36-37, 52, 58, and 108 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus need not be implemented by the OS; power control 110 may be implemented by firmware, and is thus “firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation; as per Figure 2, communication between the external control system 200 and the firmware power control 110 is direct, and does not involve the OS of processing device 102]). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21). Badri further discloses that the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS (See Figures 1 and 10 and Paragraphs 21, 105, 107, and 110); and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive (See Paragraphs 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Hamlin-013 using the storage drives, storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity, and host OS of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Hamlin-013 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 17 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (Hamlin-013)
A memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
A memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
wherein at least one set of firmware instructions, upon execution by an orchestrator among the plurality of devices, causes the orchestrator to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS;
identify a user context comprising a user presence status and a user engagement level
determine settings, wherein the settings modify operations for one or more devices of the IHS;
processor settings mappings associating first discrete processor settings and second discrete processor settings with user contexts…and store the processor settings mappings in persistent storage such that the mappings persist through an IHS OS reinstallation
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
allocate a first amount of power to a first discrete processor and a second amount of power to a second discrete processor based, at least in part, upon the user context and processor settings mappings associating first discrete processor settings and second discrete processor settings with user contexts, wherein the second amount of power is different from the first amount of power
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Hamlin-013 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; the change in user context including a proximity of the user to the IHS; determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by the plurality of storage drives of the IHS by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives of the IHS in response to the user being in close proximity to the IHS; and configure one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 17. Badri discloses a memory (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108) coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 19, 24, 53-54, 58, and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of an Information Handling System (IHS), the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35) when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Hamlin-013 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Hamlin-013 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 20 (Instant Application)
Claim 16 (Hamlin-013)
A method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) comprising:
A method, comprising…an Information Handling System (IHS)
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, wherein the report is received by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS;
identifying, via a System-On-Chip (SoC) of an Information Handling System (IHS), a user context comprising a user presence status and a user engagement level
determine, by the orchestrator, settings, wherein the settings modify operations of the one or more devices;
processor settings mappings associating first discrete processor settings and second discrete processor settings with user contexts…storing the processor settings mappings in persistent storage such that the mappings persist through an IHS Operating System (OS) reinstallation
and configure, by the orchestrator, the one or more devices of the IHS using the settings.
allocating a first amount of power to the first discrete processor and a second amount of power to the second discrete processor of the SoC based, at least in part, upon the user context and processor settings mappings associating first discrete processor settings and second discrete processor settings with user contexts
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Hamlin-013 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by the plurality of storage drives of the IHS; and configure, by the orchestrator, one or more of the storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 20. Badri discloses a method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105) comprising a plurality of storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35), comprising: receive a report of a change in a context of operation of the IHS by a user (See Paragraph 38), wherein the report is received by an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107); determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by the plurality of storage drives of the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35); and configure, by the orchestrator, one or more of the storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Hamlin-013 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, and 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2, 4-5, 16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,282 to Hamlin et al. (“Hamlin-282”) in view of Baldi and Lagnado.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 2 (Hamlin-282)
An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
[Claim 1] An Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
[Claim 1] a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices;
and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
[Claim 1] and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform,
wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
[Claim 1] wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service,
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
[Claim 1] and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS;
[Claim 1] receive a report of a change in a context of operation of the IHS by a user
[Claim 2] wherein the reported change in user context comprises a detected change in a proximity of the user of the IHS
determine settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the settings modify operations for the one or more devices;
[Claim 1] determine network controller settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the reported change in user context comprises a detected change in a physical orientation of the user relative to the IHS, wherein the network controller settings modify operations by one or more network controllers of the IHS;
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
[Claim 1] and configure the one or more network controllers of the IHS using the network controller settings.
Claim 5 (Instant Application)
Claim 4 (Hamlin-282)
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor.
the heterogeneous computing platform comprises at least one of an x86 processor and an ARM processor.
Claim 8 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Hamlin-282)
the orchestrator is further configured to cause the IHS to operate in a quiet mode that limits noise generated by the IHS when the user is in close proximity to the IHS.
the thermal constraints on operation of the IHS comprise a quiet mode that limits noise generated by the IHS.
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-282 does not explicitly disclose one or more storage drives; wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives, as recited in Claim 1; the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is managed via an inband signaling pathway; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 10; and the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS; and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive, as recited in Claim 12. Badri discloses an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105), comprising: comprising: one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35); a heterogeneous computing platform comprising a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the heterogenous computing platform executes a host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 23-24 [processing device 102 of IHS executes OS]); and a memory coupled to the heterogeneous computing platform (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein the memory comprises a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each of the sets of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS by a user, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45) by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives (See Figure 2 and Paragraphs 19, 36-37, 52, 58, and 108 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus need not be implemented by the OS; power control 110 may be implemented by firmware, and is thus “firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation; as per Figure 2, communication between the external control system 200 and the firmware power control 110 is direct, and does not involve the OS of processing device 102]). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21). Badri further discloses that the orchestrator is further configured to: determine when a first of the storage drives of the IHS is an integrated component of the IHS (See Figures 1 and 10 and Paragraphs 21, 105, 107, and 110); and adjust the storage drive settings used to configure the first storage drive, wherein the adjustments decrease data storage capabilities of the first storage drive (See Paragraphs 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-282 using the storage drives, storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity, and host OS of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-282 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 17 (Instant Application)
Claim 16 (Hamlin-282)
A memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform,
A non-transitory memory coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices,
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions, wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS),
and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator configured to:
wherein at least one set of firmware instructions, upon execution by an orchestrator among the plurality of devices, causes the orchestrator to:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS;
receive a report of a change in a context of operation of the IHS by a user, wherein the reported change in context of operation comprises a detected change in a physical orientation of the user relative to the IHS;
determine settings, wherein the settings modify operations for one or more devices of the IHS;
determine network controller settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the network controller settings modify operations by one or more network controllers of the IHS;
and configure the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
and configure the one or more network controllers of the IHS using the network controller settings.
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-282 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; the change in user context including a proximity of the user to the IHS; determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by the plurality of storage drives of the IHS by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives of the IHS in response to the user being in close proximity to the IHS; and configure one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 17. Badri discloses a memory (See Figure 1 Number 122, Figure 10 Number 1012, and Paragraphs 19 and 108) coupled to a heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the heterogeneous computing platform comprises a plurality of devices (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107), wherein the memory is configured to receive a plurality of sets of firmware instructions (See Paragraphs 19 and 108), wherein each set of firmware instructions, upon execution by a respective device among the plurality of devices, enables the respective device to provide a corresponding firmware service without any involvement by any host Operating System (OS) (See Paragraphs 19, 24, 53-54, 58, and 108), and wherein at least one of the plurality of devices operates as an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) configured to: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of an Information Handling System (IHS), the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42); determine storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35) when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 33-35 and 45). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-282 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-282 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Claim 20 (Instant Application)
Claim 19 (Hamlin-282)
A method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) comprising:
A method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS), comprising:
receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, wherein the report is received by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS;
receiving a report of a change in an orientation of a user of the IHS, wherein the report is received by an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS,
determine, by the orchestrator, settings, wherein the settings modify operations of the one or more devices;
determining, by the orchestrator, network controller settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the reported change in user context comprises a detected change in a physical orientation of the user relative to the IHS, wherein the network controller settings modify operations by one or more network controllers of the IHS;
and configure, by the orchestrator, the one or more devices of the IHS using the determined settings.
and configuring, by the orchestrator, the one or more network controllers of the IHS using the network controller settings.
However, the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-282 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of storage drives; the change in user context including a proximity of the user to the IHS; determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the reported user context, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations by decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS; and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, one or more of the storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings, as recited in Claim 20. Badri discloses a method for managing performance of an Information Handling System (IHS) (See Figure 1 Number 100, Figure 10 Number 1000, and Paragraphs 21 and 105) comprising one or more storage drives (See Figure 1 Numbers 104, 112, 114, and 116, Figure 10 Number 104, and Paragraphs 33-35), comprising: receive a report of a change in user context of operation of the IHS, the change in user context including a proximity of a user to the IHS (See Paragraphs 38-39 and 42), wherein the report is received by an orchestrator (See Figure 2 Number 200 and Paragraphs 19, 37, and 108) of a heterogeneous computing platform of the IHS (See Figure 1 Number 102, Figure 10 Numbers 1004, 1014, 1016, and 1022, and Paragraphs 106-107); determine, by the orchestrator, storage drive settings that are mapped to the proximity of the user, wherein the storage drive settings modify operations for the plurality of storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Paragraphs 33-35 [for the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted the relative term “close proximity” in accordance with Paragraph 177 of Applicant’s disclosure as meaning close enough to actively operate the IHS]); and configure, by the orchestrator, independently of a host OS of the IHS, the one or more storage drives of the IHS using the storage drive settings (See Paragraphs 23-24, 33-35, 45, and 58 [control system 200 may be implemented by a separate device located externally to processing device 102, and thus is independent of the OS). Lagnado discloses modifying operations of a computing device by decreasing temperature thresholds for the computing device when a user is in close proximity to the computing device (See Paragraphs 17 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claim(s) of Varma-282 using the storage drives and storage drive settings and configuration based on proximity of Badri, and using the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Lagnado, resulting in the claimed invention, in order to yield the predictable result of reducing power consumption of the storage devices when the user is not engaged with the IHS without presenting an excessively long wait time upon waking up and enabling aggressive and intelligent power management of the storage devices (See Paragraphs 2, 54-55, and 57 of Badri); and because the simple substitution of the operations modification by decreasing temperature threshold when the user is in close proximity of Lagnado as the operations modification when a user is in close proximity of Varma-282 and Badri would have yielded the predictable result of ensuring that the skin temperature of the IHS is not uncomfortable for the user (See Paragraphs 17 and 21 of Lagnado).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that Badri does not disclose decreasing temperature thresholds for the one or more storage drives when the user is in close proximity to the IHS (See Page 9). In response, the Examiner notes that, as indicated in the above rejection, this newly presented limitation is disclosed by Lagnado.
Applicant has argued that Badri does not disclose configuring the storage drives of the IHS using the determined storage drive settings by communicating independently of the host OS, directly to one or more firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives. In response, the Examiner notes that, as indicated in the above rejection, this newly presented limitation is disclosed by Badri. As disclosed in Paragraph 58, the control system 200 (orchestrator) may be implemented externally and independently of the processor 102 executing the host OS, and thus is not part of or implemented by the host OS. As disclosed by Paragraphs 19 and 108, power control 110 may be implemented by firmware, and is thus “firmware services corresponding to the one or more of storage drives” in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation. As disclosed in Figure 2 and Paragraphs 37 and 52, the power control 110 is directly connected to and receives control signals directly from the external/independent control system 200. Thus, such communication is performed independently of the host OS. Furthermore, it is noted that Claims 17-20 do not recite the aforementioned limitation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J. CLEARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175