FINAL REJECTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 42-49, 53-57 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the above claims are directed to a method of forming an intermediate substrate, which was identified by the examiner as Group III in the Restriction dated 5/28/25. This Group was non-elected without traverse in the 6/26/25 reply.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 42-49, 53-57 are withdrawn without traverse from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Since the withdrawn claims are directed to a previously identified Group non-elected without traverse, the above election by original presentation shall be treated as a final election without traverse. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 15 and 59, it’s not clear if, or how the “thermoplastic binder” recited in each claim is related to the thermoplastic resin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schulte (EP 3269543, see attached machine translation for citations).
As to claim 1, Schulte discloses a method to produce a panel, comprising providing a core (base) having a first surface (para 6-10), providing a surface layer (decorative – para 7) comprising a substantially uncured amino resin (para 7), applying an hydrolysable adhesive (adhesive, para 6-10) on the first surface of the core and/or on a surface of the surface layer adapted to face the core (para 6-10), arranging the surface layer on the first surface of the core (para 6-10), pressing the surface layer to the core to form a panel by applying heat and pressure in a press (para 9-10), thereby adhering the surface layer to the core by the hydrolysable adhesive and curing (para 21) the amino resin of the surface layer (para 6-10, 14, 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz, as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Munk et al. (WO02/46325).
As to claims 50-52, Schultz fails to disclose the core comprising 20-60 wt% of the inorganic binder. Munk discloses a binder for a core, said binder comprising polyurethane and 20-60wt% of an inorganic binder. Use of an organic filler in such an amount enables binder with optimal viscosity of application, good fire resistance and good filter sedimentation resistance (p. 2, L4 – p. 3, L24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schultz such that the inorganic binder is present in an amount of 20-60wt% as taught by Munk above as such achieves the advantages detailed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 17 and 58 are allowed. Schultz discloses a method as detailed in the Non-Final Rejection ( NF). The claim 1 amendment requires the core to comprise at least 10% of thermoplastic resin before the surface layer is applied and adhered to the core. Schultz discloses thermoplastic resin in the core after the adhering occurs (see claim 15 rejection in NF). It is known in the art for a core to contain at least 10% thermoplastic resin before adhering (Baert et al. US 2016/0083965). However, as detailed by applicant in the Remarks, Schultz expressly teaches away from thermoplastic in the core before adhering, and further expressly teaches away from the method of Baert (para 2-6)). As such, any combination of Schultz and Baert would render Schultz unsuitable for its intended purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection or in view of the indication of allowable claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746