DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection.
Previous Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that the amendments are not taught by the applied reference of CN. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection below shows CN discloses a request sent from an IAB node to a donor CU, i.e. a network management device. The CN reference also how cell IDs in the form of a parent node list is provided to the IAB node based on the request message and the contents of the request message. Ericsson is utilized for first configuration information, corresponding to the donor node, being generated and sent to the IAB node. See the rejection of claim 15 below.
Previous Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the machine translation is difficult to read. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited pages on the provided translation clearly state that a father node list is provided to the IAB node. In IAB literature, such as patent documents and NPL documents, a father node (also a parent node) is referred to an IAB node which is above (in hierarchy) to the IAB node. Thus, the IAB node receives a list from another IAB node with cellular identities. The claims do not exclude IAB nodes with OAM functionality.
Applicant argues that the office didn’t identify generating or sending steps.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since a list is provided to the IAB node, then prior to transmission, a list has to have been generated. And since it is provided, thus it is sent. See the cited page on the provided translation. All the claimed and argued limitations have been met. The Examiner is open to have an interview to move the prosecution forward. The applicant can contact the Examiner with the phone number provided in the conclusion section of the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110536377 herein CN (as witnessed by the attached translation) in view of US 20220286841 A1 herein Ericsson in view of US 20210058835 A1 herein Luo.
Claim 1, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 15. CN discloses A communication apparatus (IAB donor DU/CU node; AMF/OAM), wherein the communication apparatus comprises a processor (Pg. 15, one or more processors), wherein the processor is coupled to a memory (Pg. 15, storage); and the memory, configured to store a computer program (Pg. 15, the storage is used to store one or more programs), wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory (Pg. 15, the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors).
Claim 2, CN discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the cell information comprises at least one of the following: a cell identifier, a cell global identifier, [[and]] or a physical cell identifier (PCI) (Pg. 4, physical cell identities).
Claim 3, CN in view of Ericsson discloses The apparatus according to claim 1. CN may not explicitly discloses wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a local internet protocol (IP) address of the IAB node on an F1 interface, a peer IP address of the IAB node on the F1 interface, [[and]] or cell information of a cell served by the IAB node, wherein a local end of the F1 interface is a distributed unit (DU) end of the IAB node, and a peer end of the F1 interface is a central unit (CU) end of the IAB donor of the IAB node.
wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a local internet protocol (IP) address of the IAB node on an F1 interface, a peer IP address of the IAB node on the F1 interface, [[and]] or cell information of a cell served by the IAB node, wherein a local end of the F1 interface is a distributed unit (DU) end of the IAB node, and a peer end of the F1 interface is a central unit (CU) end of the IAB donor of the IAB node (0081-0089, generation of an IP address of a donor and subsequently sent to the IAB node). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN to include provisioning of IP address as taught by Ericsson since It is beneficial for IAB nodes to split their signaling and data over multiple IP address (0007).
Claim 4, CN in view of Ericsson discloses The apparatus according to claim 1. CN may not explicitly disclose wherein the generating of the first configuration information of the IAB node based on the first information comprises: determining the IAB donor of the IAB node based on the first information (0081-0089, the IAB Donor CU 108 is already aware of the new accessing IAB node 100 is an IAB node); and generating the first configuration information based on the IAB donor (0081-0089, provisioning of the IP address of the donor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN to include provisioning of IP address as taught by Ericsson since It is beneficial for IAB nodes to split their signaling and data over multiple IP address (0007).
Claim 5, CN in view of Ericsson discloses the apparatus according to claim 4. CN may not explicitly disclose wherein the generating of the first configuration information based on the IAB donor comprises at least one of: determining [[the]]a local internet protocol (IP) address of the IAB node on [[the]] F1 interface based on an IAB donor-distributed unit (DU); or determining, based on an IAB donor-central unit (CU), [[the]] cell information of [[the]]a cell served by the IAB node.
Ericsson discloses wherein the generating of the first configuration information based on the IAB donor comprises at least one of: determining [[the]]a local internet protocol (IP) address of the IAB node on [[the]] F1 interface based on an IAB donor-distributed unit (DU); or determining, based on an IAB donor-central unit (CU), [[the]] cell information of [[the]]a cell served by the IAB node (0081-0089, the IAB Donor CU 108 is already aware of the new accessing IAB node 100 is an IAB node). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN to include provisioning of IP address as taught by Ericsson since It is beneficial for IAB nodes to split their signaling and data over multiple IP address (0007).
Claim 7, CN in view of Ericsson discloses The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: sending a cell set to a target IAB donor of the IAB node (Pg. 11, wherein the system information for cell reselection broadcasted by the IAB node or the IAB donor CU includes at least one of: frequency information supporting an IAB function; cell identification supporting IAB function under current registered PLMN; cell identifiers supporting IAB function under all PLMNs; global cell identification code; Physical cell identity); and receiving cell information from the IAB node, wherein the cell information is determined by the target IAB donor of the IAB node for the IAB node in the cell set (Pg. 12, The host centralized unit entity obtains a base station list supporting an IAB function from the configuration information of the operation management maintenance entity).
Claim 8, CN discloses The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving second indication information from the IAB node (Pg. 11, wherein the system information for cell reselection broadcasted by the IAB node or the IAB donor CU includes at least one of: frequency information supporting an IAB function; cell identification supporting IAB function under current registered PLMN; cell identifiers supporting IAB function under all PLMNs; global cell identification code; Physical cell identity); and determining, based on the second indication information, that a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the IAB node remains unchanged (Pg. 12, Physical cell identity).
Claim 9, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 15. CN discloses A communication apparatus (Pg. 3, IAB node), which is an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node or included in the IAB node (Pg. 3, IAB node IAB node), wherein the communication apparatus comprises a processor (Pg. 15, one or more processors), wherein the processor is coupled to a memory (Pg. 15, storage); and the memory, configured to store a computer program (Pg. 15, the storage is used to store one or more programs), wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory (Pg. 15, the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors).
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 11, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 7.
Claim 14, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 8.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 15, CN discloses A communication system, wherein the communication system comprises a network management device and an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, wherein the network management device (Pgs. 2-6, OAM/AMF, Donor CU, host hub, and IAB node; thus, the system contains the required devices) is configured to:
receive first information from the IAB node, wherein the first information is comprised in a request from the IAB node (Pg. 6, the IAB node requests the donor CU to send the parent node list, a request can also be sent to the host hub; Pg. 12, indicating the DU to support IAB function in F1 establishment request message or GNB-DU configuration update message);
obtain information of an IAB donor of the IAB node based on the first information (Pg. 12, The host centralized unit entity obtains a base station list supporting an IAB function from the configuration information of the operation management maintenance entity);
wherein the first information further comprises at least one of cell information of a cell accessed by the IAB node, or a base station identifier of an IAB donor of the IAB node (Pg. 12, indicating the DU to support IAB function in F1 establishment request message or GNB-DU configuration update message);
wherein the IAB node is configured to: send the first information in the request to the network management device (Pg. 6, the IAB node requests the donor CU to send the parent node list, a request can also be sent to the host hub; Pg. 12, indicating the DU to support IAB function in F1 establishment request message or GNB-DU configuration update message); and
CN may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information comprises geographical location information of the IAB node; generate first configuration information for the IAB node based on the information of the IAB donor of the IAB node; and send the first configuration information to the IAB node in response to the request received from the IAB node; receive the first configuration information from the network management device in response to the request, and the first configuration information corresponds to an IAB donor of the IAB node; and the first configuration information comprises a local internet protocol (IP) address of the IAB node on an F1 interface, and wherein a local end of the F1 interface is a distributed unit (DU).
Ericsson discloses disclose generate first configuration information for the IAB node based on the information of the IAB donor of the IAB node (0081-0089, generation of an IP address of a donor and subsequently sent to the IAB node); and send the first configuration information to the IAB node in response to the request received from the IAB node (0081-0089, generation of an IP address of a donor and subsequently sent to the IAB node); receive the first configuration information from the network management device in response to the request, wherein the first configuration information corresponds to the IAB donor of the IAB node (0081-0089, 0016, request for an IP address received and an IAB donor IP address is sent to the IAB node; Fig. 1); and the first configuration information corresponds to an IAB donor of the IAB node (0085, IAB-DU IP address is sent to the IAB-MT); and the first configuration information further comprises a local internet protocol (IP) address of the IAB node on an F1 interface (0047, 0085, 0007, DUs support multiple IP addresses for OAM, F1-C and F1-U), and wherein a local end of the F1 interface is a distributed unit (DU) (0004, IAB nodes support full F1 interfaces towards a Donor gNB-CU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN to include provisioning of IP address as taught by Ericsson since It is beneficial for IAB nodes to split their signaling and data over multiple IP address (0007).
CN in view of Ericsson may not explicitly disclose wherein the first information comprises geographical location information of the IAB node.
Luo discloses wherein the first information comprises geographical location information of the IAB node (0073, 0103, location reports include information geographic location information, GPS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN to include current geographical location as taught by Lup so as to avoid PCI collisions (0079).
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN in view of Ericsson in view of US 20210099385 A1 herein Huang.
Claim 6, CN discloses the apparatus according to claim 1. CN may not explicitly disclose wherein the operations further comprise: receiving second configuration information from the IAB node, wherein the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following types of information: [[the]]an internet protocol (IP) address prefix allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]anIP address allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]anIP address that is used for [[the]]an F1-C interface or [[the]]an F1-C service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]an IP address that is used for [[the]]an F1-U interface or [[the]]an F1-U service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]an IP address prefix that is used for the F1-C interface or the F1-C service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[and]]or [[the]]anIP address prefix that is used for the F1-U interface or the F1-U service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node.
Huang discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving second configuration information from the IAB node, wherein the second configuration information comprises at least one of the following types of information: [[the]]an internet protocol (IP) address prefix allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]anIP address allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]anIP address that is used for [[the]]an F1-C interface or [[the]]an F1-C service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]an IP address that is used for [[the]]an F1-U interface or [[the]]an F1-U service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[the]]an IP address prefix that is used for the F1-C interface or the F1-C service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node, [[and]]or [[the]]anIP address prefix that is used for the F1-U interface or the F1-U service and that is allocated by the IAB donor to the IAB node (0120-0124). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN to include IP address assignment as taught by Huang so as to provide an effective scheme suitable for information transmission in the IAB architecture of the new system (0004).
Claim 12, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210314856 A1 – Provided are a network access method and apparatus, a network device, and a storage medium. The network access method includes: a current integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node acquiring information about cell access from an upstream IAB node; and the current IAB node determining a candidate cell and/or executing an access attempt according to the information about the cell access.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mehmood B. Khan whose telephone number is (571)272-9277. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 am-6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468