DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s argument received on 10/28/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanborn et al (US 2021/0166529) in view of Lee et al (US 2013/0084940).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 21: Sanborn et al discloses a gaming machine for providing a wager-based game to a player, comprising: a cabinet having an interior (see figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0048]-[0058]); a power supply, disposed within the interior of the cabinet, receiving power from an external power source (see figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0048]-[0058]); memory, disposed within the interior of the cabinet, storing non-transitory game software used to generate the wager-based game on the gaming machine, a plurality of virtual reel strips, a paytable, and a set of winning paylines associated with the wager-based game, each virtual strip having a plurality of symbol positions, each symbol position having an associated symbol from a set of available symbols (see paragraphs [0003], [0018], [0019], and [0060]-[0062]); a display mounted in the cabinet and being electrically coupled to, and receiving power from the power supply, the display configured to display a play grid having a plurality of cells arranged in a plurality of columns, one of the virtual reel strips being associated with one of the columns (see figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0048]-[0058]); a control panel establishing a user interface configured to allow the player to select a wager option from a set of available wager options, wherein the set of available options includes a plurality of bet level options having an associated wager and a mystery bet option (see figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0048]-[0058] and [0063]); and, a gaming machine controller, including a processor, disposed within the interior of the cabinet and being coupled to the power supply, the display, and the memory, the gaming machine controller controlling play of a plurality of instances of the wager-based game, wherein for each instance of the wager-based game, the non-transitory game software controls the processor to: establish a bet level and a wager amount as a function of the selected wager option, wherein the bet level is randomly established if the mystery bet option is selected by the user, randomly establish an outcome for the instance of the wager-based game, the outcome including a stop position associated with each virtual reel strip on the associated column resulting in a game symbol in each cell of the play grid, and, analyze the outcome of the instance of the wager-based game and provide an award to the player as a function of the outcome, the paytable, the bet level, and the winning paylines (see paragraphs [0005], [0012], [0060]-[0062], [0119]-[0125], and claim 2, showing a gaming machine with display, input, and various bet and wager level options selectable by the player’s input and wherein outcome is determined by symbols and paylines).
In an analogous invention, Lee et al teaches establishing a bet level and a wager amount as a function of the selected wager option, wherein the bet level is randomly established if the mystery bet option is selected by the user, randomly establish an outcome for the instance of the wager-based game (see paragraphs [0008], [0104], showing mystery bet, and random occurrence for determining random outcomes).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Sanborn’s wagering game as taught by Lee’s mystery bet for the purpose of determining and affecting the outcome of the wagering game. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment of the wagering game.
Regarding claims 2 and 13: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the randomly established bet level is selected from the plurality of bet level options (see paragraphs [0119]-[0125], and claim 2, showing a plurality of bet and wager levels being selected).
Regarding claims 3 and 14: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the plurality of bet level options includes a base bet level and multiples of the base bet level (see paragraphs [0119]-[0125], and claim 2, showing a plurality of bet and wager levels being selected).
Regarding claims 4 and 15: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the base bet level and the multiples of the base bet level have an associated wager (see paragraphs [0119]-[0125], and claim 2, showing a plurality of bet and wager levels being selected).
Regarding claims 5 and 16: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the wager amount associated with the mystery bet option is equal to the associated wager of the randomly established bet level (see paragraphs [0119]-[0125], and claim 2, showing a plurality of bet and wager levels being selected).
Regarding claims 6 and 17: Sanborn et al discloses wherein each bet level option has an associated probability (see paragraph [0004], showing percentage associated with wager options).
Regarding claims 7 and 18: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the associated probabilities are equal (see paragraph [0004], showing percentage associated with wager options).
Regarding claims 8 and 19: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the associated probabilities are weighted, at least one probability is different from another one of the associated probabilities (see paragraph [0004], showing percentage associated with wager options).
Regarding claims 9 and 20: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the wager amount associated with the mystery bet option is a predetermined amount (see paragraphs [0119]-[0125], and claim 2, showing a plurality of bet and wager levels being selected).
Regarding claim 10: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the user interface includes a plurality of physical buttons (see figures 1 and 2; paragraphs [0048]-[0058], [0063], and [0067]).
Regarding claim 11: Sanborn et al discloses wherein the display includes a touchscreen display, and the user interface is implemented as virtual buttons on the touchscreen display (see paragraphs [0048] and [0067]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/28/2025 with respect to the limitation of Mystery bet level have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the prior arts of record do not teach the limitations of “wherein the bet level is randomly established if the mystery bet option is selected by the user”, the examiner disagrees. The examiner point out that both Sanborn and Lee both teaches and at least suggest the limitation of bet level being influenced based on mystery bet option.
Sanborn in claim 2 for example explicitly teaches that:
“An electronic gaming device, comprising: a display system including one or more displays; and a control system including one or more processors, the control system being configured for: determining which slot symbols will be presented on the display system for an instance of a slot game, the symbols comprising one or more mystery symbols; receiving an indication that a wager has been received; displaying, on the display system, moving symbols, landing of the one or more mystery symbols, and a bet meter; presenting, based on determining that the wager is less than a first bet level, the bet meter in a first state indicating that an award is unavailable; presenting, based on determining that the wager is greater than or equal to the first bet level, the bet meter in a second state indicating that the award can be triggered; presenting, based on determining that the wager is greater than or equal to the first bet level, a first mystery symbol revealing a first revealed mystery symbol image, wherein the award corresponds to the first revealed mystery symbol image; and presenting, based on determining that the wager is greater than or equal to the first bet level and on displaying the first revealed mystery symbol image, the award.”, which the examiner has interpreted to teach the limitation of bet level being altered and bet meter with respect to mystery symbol being revealed, where the bet alteration is based on the mystery symbol being revealed.
Further Lee in paragraph [0104], teaches:
“A mystery bet level pool will need to be created and updated after every spin according to the following equation if the spin occurs in the last X games (X being the ResetPoolGameNumber used to calculate the reset multiplier): MysteryBetLevelPool+=CurrentBetLevel-1”, which explicitly discloses the limitation of mystery bet level. The examiner construes that the mystery bet level teaches the bet level based on the mystery bet as taught by Lee. The examiner has interpreted this to teach the limitation as presented by the Applicant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715