DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09 December 2022 and 26 March 2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1
Each of claims 1-20 falls within one of the four statutory categories. See MPEP § 2106.03. For example, and each of claims 1-10 falls within category of process; each of claims 11-19 falls within category of machine, i.e., a “concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices.” Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348–49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)); and each of claims 20 is directed to a “computer-readable medium” and therefore falls within category of manufacture.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because each of claims 1-20 amount to more than the judicial exception of a EVIDENCE. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 2A – Prong 1
The exemplary claims below are directed to organizing human activity. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner interprets these as actions which amount to organized human activity.
An operating method of an electronic device, the operating method comprising
displaying a charging time, which is required for charging completion of a charging load device that a user desires to charge, and a charging demand, which is required for charging, by using a profile related to energy use of the user
receiving, from the user, an increase command, a determination command, or a decrease command for one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, through an increase button, a determination button, or a decrease button
performing an increase or decrease in one of the charging time and the charging demand or the combination of two or more thereof, according to the increase command or the decrease command, based on an increase rate or a decrease rate using a change rate calculated through a change rate calculation model.
When a received command is the determination command, generating a charging start command to charge the charging target load device, according to a current charging time and a current charging demand.
wherein the current charging time and the current charging demand are
when the increase command or the decrease command is received before receipt of the determination command, values in which one of the charging time and the charging demand or the combination of two or more thereof is increased or decreased by the increase rate or the decrease rate
wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate according to an input of the increase button or an input of the decrease button so as to reach the current charging time and current charging demand that the user desires to select
wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate according to an input of the increase button or an input of the decrease button, with an input of information about a feedback score, information about a number of button inputs, and information about a simultaneous trend
wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user after the electronic device performs the operating method
information about the number of button inputs… that the user desires to select
information about the simultaneous trend is information about the charging time and the charging demand of other users who charge a load device of a same type as the charging target load device that the user desires to charge at a same time
wherein the performing of the increase or the decrease comprises:
receiving the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend
inputting the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model
inputting the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model
calculating the increase rate or the decrease rate by multiplying an initial value by the change rate
performing an increase or decrease under the increase command or the decrease command according to the increase rate or the decrease rate
when the electronic device comprises a charging interface connected to a control module… charging the charging target load device according to the charging start command.
when the electronic device does not comprise a charging interface connected to a control module… transmitting the charging start command to a charger interlocked with the electronic device
An electronic device comprising:
Display a charging time…and a charging demand… by using a profile related to energy use of the user
receive, from the user, an increase command, a determination command, or a decrease command… through an increase button, a determination button, or a decrease button
perform an increase or a decrease in one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof… based on an increase rate or a decrease rate using a change rate calculated by the change rate calculation model
when a received command is the determination command, generate a charging start command
when the increase command or the decrease command is received before receipt of the determination command… the combination of two or more thereof is increased or decreased by the increase rate or the decrease rate
wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate according to an input of the increase button… with a minimum selection with respect to the increase button or the decrease button
wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate according to an input… with an input of information about a feedback score, information about a number of button inputs, and information about a simultaneous trend
Electronic device of claim 14, wherein
the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user according to an operation of the electronic device
The information about the number of button inputs is information about a number of inputs of the increase button or a number of inputs of the decrease button to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand
Wherein the processor is configured to
Receive the information about the feedback score… from a central management server communicating with the electronic device
Input the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation
Calculate the increase rate or the decrease rate by multiplying an initial value by the change rate…wherein the initial value is a predetermined value to perform
Perform an increase or decrease under the increase command or the decrease command according to the increase rate or the decrease rate
Wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of time used for… the user during a specific period and of charging demand used for charging the charging target load device
transmit the charging start command… to a charger interlocked with the electronic device
An electronic device comprising.. a processor configured to:
Display a charging time… by using a profile related to energy use of the user
Receive, from the user, an increase command, a determination command, or a decrease command… through an increase button, a determination button, or a decrease button
The italicized limitations of the above claims represent certain methods of organizing human activity and/or a mental process (i.e. a process that can be performed mentally and/or with pen and paper). Therefore, the italicized limitations fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Step 2A – Prong 2
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 do not include additional elements (when considered individually, as an order combination, and/or within the claim as a whole) that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements, underlined in the limitations as described above in Step 2A – Prong 1, do not
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not provide a practical application of the abstract ideas. Furthermore, the additional elements in combination amount to a plurality of devices each with software, where such computer and software amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer(s) and/or mere use of a generic computer component as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, these elements in combination do not provide a practical application. The combination of additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, i.e. an environment of computer hardware/software in communication with one another (a network of computing devices), and for this additional reason, the combination of additional elements does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 does/do not include additional elements, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The reasons for reaching this conclusion are substantially the same as the reasons given above in Step 2A – Prong 2. For brevity, those reasons are not repeated in this section.
Claims 6 16 are allowable under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 7, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 4 and 5 contain the concept of “feedback score”, which does not have sufficient description of what data is contained in it or how to calculate the feedback score. Initial description of feedback score can be found in applicant specification ¶0020 “ the information about the feedback score may be feedback information received from the user according to an operation of the electronic device”, which uses the generic term of “information received from the user”. Further in applicant specification ¶0115 “ embodiment, k2 to k5 may be weights for information 503 about a feedback score. k2 and k3 may be weights related to a positive evaluation in the information 503 about a feedback score”, the weighting coefficients k2 to k5 are not defined in a mathematical model for calculating feedback score nor do they describe what information is being included in feedback score. This calculation is propagated into ¶0116 “ the information 503 about a feedback score according to a survey result may be used to train the change rate calculation model 501”. It is unclear from the specification what information is included in “feedback score”
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 7 contains the concept of “charge rate calculation model”, which has an insufficient description in applicant specification to understand the scope and parameters of what goes into the charge rate calculation model. Application specification ¶0012 “calculating the increase rate or the decrease rate by multiplying an initial value by the change rate, which is a result value that the charge rate calculation model outputs according to an input” which provides a vague understanding that the increased or decreased rate of charging is used in the charge rate calculation model but not how they are used or how it is updating the existing charging method. Further the only other description of “charge rate calculation model” is in specification ¶0100 “the central management server may transmit, to the electronic device, one of an increased or decreased charging time and an increased or decreased charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof according to the increase rate or the decrease rate calculated by using the charge rate calculation model”, which does not further clarify how the charge rate calculation model is adjusted.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 2 contains the limitation “when the increase command or the decrease command is not received before receipt of the determination command, the charging time and the charging demand, respectively”, which indicates a condition that the increase or decrease command is not received before the determination command but does not further dictate an action associated with the chain of commands. For the purposes of examination this has been interpreted as “when the increase command or the decrease command is not received before receipt of the determination command, the charging time and the charging demand, respectively remain unchanged”.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 4 contains the limitation “with an input of information about a feedback score”, wherein the underlined portion does not have sufficient antecedent basis. The concept of “feedback score” is detailed in the italicized portion of the claim 5 limitation “wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user after the electronic device performs the operating method”.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 12 contains the limitation “when the increase command or the decrease command is not received before receipt of the determination command, the charging time and the charging demand, respectively”, which indicates a condition that the increase or decrease command is not received before the determination command but does not further dictate an action associated with the chain of commands. For the purposes of examination this has been interpreted as “when the increase command or the decrease command is not received before receipt of the determination command, the charging time and the charging demand, respectively remain unchanged”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-12, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khoo et al (US 20130110296 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Khoo teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method comprising: displaying a charging time, which is required for charging completion of a charging target load device that a user desires to charge (¶0143 “An internet website or a reservation user interface may display charging reservations for specific charging spaces, dates, and times, where one of the displayed reservations corresponds to the first user's 840 reservation ticket”),
and a charging demand, which is required for charging, by using a profile related to energy use of the user (¶0068 “mobile device 140 may be responsible for sending or relaying requests for electric vehicle charge transfers, charging parameters or updates to existing charging parameters between the cloud server 110 and the charging station 190”);
receiving, from the user, an increase command, a determination command, or a decrease command for one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, through an increase button, a determination button, or a decrease button (¶0070 “ user 160 may input instructions and data into the mobile device 140 over a user interface on the mobile device 140.”, ¶0175 “ step 1440, the mobile device 140 sends a charging control signal to the charging station 190 or the electric vehicle 130 over a single networked link 170”, ¶0177 “step 1460, the charging station 190 enables or disables charge transfer for the electric vehicle 130 based on the charging control signal. At step 1470, the charging control signal adjusts a parameter used to draw electric power from the charging station 190”);
when a received command is the increase command or the decrease command, performing an increase or a decrease in one of the charging time and the charging demand or the combination of two or more thereof, according to the increase command or the decrease command, based on an increase rate or a decrease rate using a change rate calculated through a change rate calculation model (¶0109 “step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer. Types of charging parameters and regulating the charging of an electric vehicle through adjusting charging parameters will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 15-17”);
and when a received command is the determination command, generating a charging start command to charge the charging target load device, according to a current charging time and a current charging demand (¶0176 “Charging control signals may include instructions for regulating or initiating a standard charge transfer from the side of the electric vehicle 130 or the charging station 190. Likewise, the charging control signal may include charging parameters, updates for the electric vehicle 130 or charging station 190, or smart charging instructions relating to a charge transfer”).
The adjustable charging parameters as taught by Khoo are described in ¶0182 “ The charging control signal may be based on one or several charging parameters, including a battery temperature of an electric vehicle, a charging current, a battery charge of an electric vehicle, a length of time since an electric vehicle began charging, a price of electricity, a time of day, a time until an electric vehicle's next use, a weather reading, an option for econocharging, a charging cable rating, a circuit protection rating, a current duty cycle for a charging current for one or several electric vehicles, a future power draw from an electric vehicle, a threshold level for aggregate electric consumption, a threshold level for instantaneous electrical consumption, a maximum allowable charge rate, a microgrid rating, a present power draw from an electric vehicle, a protection fuse rating, a quantity of electricity stored within a microgrid, an operational limit set by a grid utility, an option for using green energy, and any other relevant charging information”. Khoo teaches charging parameters which include increasing or decreasing the rate of charge.
Regarding claim 2, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo further teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the current charging time and the current charging demand are: when the increase command or the decrease command is received before receipt of the determination command, values in which one of the charging time and the charging demand or the combination of two or more thereof is increased or decreased by the increase rate or the decrease rate (¶0039 “ FIG. 9 illustrates a flow diagram for a method for extending a user's reservation time at a charging station in accordance with various techniques and technologies described herein”);
and when the increase command or the decrease command is not received before receipt of the determination command, the charging time and the charging demand, respectively (¶0135 “the first user 840 communicates a request through the cloud server 810 to the second user 870 for extending charging time over the second user's 870 reserved time. For example, the request may be an informal communication, where the second user 870 simply agrees to arrive at the charging station 890 at a later time”).
The request submitted by the first user, as taught by Khoo, has to be approved by the second user. However, if the first user does not make an increase request then there is no request sent to the second user and a determination decision cannot be made.
Regarding claim 9, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method further comprising, when the electronic device comprises a charging interface connected to a control module of the charging target load device and the electronic device is connected to the charging target load device through the charging interface, charging the charging target load device according to the charging start command (¶0072 “FIG 2… charging coupler 265 is a component of the charging station 202, but in some implementations the charging coupler 265 may be an extension of the electric vehicle 270”).
Regarding claim 10, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method further comprising, when the electronic device does not comprise a charging interface connected to a control module of the charging target load device, transmitting the charging start command to a charger interlocked with the electronic device (¶0083 “the mobile device 140 may be removed from the proximity of the charging station 190, while the electric vehicle 130 is charged by the charging station 190. The electric vehicle's 130 charge transfer may start, continue, or finish while the mobile device 140 is away from the charging station 190”),
wherein the charger receiving the charging start command is configured to charge the charging target load device connected to the charger (¶0072 “FIG 2… charging coupler 265 is a component of the charging station 202, but in some implementations the charging coupler 265 may be an extension of the electric vehicle 270).
The mobile device 140, as taught by Khoo, is responsible for transmitting the charging start command to the charger but is not physically part of the charging station 190.
Regarding claim 11, Khoo teaches an electronic device comprising: a memory comprising a change rate calculation model (¶0211 “During the charging process, the first charging station 1810 may update or modify its charging current or other charging parameters based on newly received charging control signals. A relevant charging algorithm may be recalculated based on new charging parameters or instructions from another agent in the network”);
and a processor configured to: display a charging time, which is required for charging completion of a charging target load device that a user desires to charge (¶0143 “An internet website or a reservation user interface may display charging reservations for specific charging spaces, dates, and times, where one of the displayed reservations corresponds to the first user's 840 reservation ticket”),
and a charging demand, which is required for charging, by using a profile related to energy use of the user (¶0068 “mobile device 140 may be responsible for sending or relaying requests for electric vehicle charge transfers, charging parameters or updates to existing charging parameters between the cloud server 110 and the charging station 190”);
receive, from the user, an increase command, a determination command, or a decrease command for one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, through an increase button, a determination button, or a decrease button (¶0070 “ user 160 may input instructions and data into the mobile device 140 over a user interface on the mobile device 140.”, ¶0175 “ step 1440, the mobile device 140 sends a charging control signal to the charging station 190 or the electric vehicle 130 over a single networked link 170”, ¶0177 “step 1460, the charging station 190 enables or disables charge transfer for the electric vehicle 130 based on the charging control signal. At step 1470, the charging control signal adjusts a parameter used to draw electric power from the charging station 190”);
when a received command is the increase command or the decrease command, perform an increase or a decrease in one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, according to the increase command or the decrease command, based on an increase rate or a decrease rate using a change rate calculated by the change rate calculation model (¶0109 “step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer. Types of charging parameters and regulating the charging of an electric vehicle through adjusting charging parameters will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 15-17”);
and when a received command is the determination command, generate a charging start command to charge the charging target load device according to a current charging time and a current charging demand (¶0176 “Charging control signals may include instructions for regulating or initiating a standard charge transfer from the side of the electric vehicle 130 or the charging station 190. Likewise, the charging control signal may include charging parameters, updates for the electric vehicle 130 or charging station 190, or smart charging instructions relating to a charge transfer”).
The adjustable charging parameters as taught by Khoo are described in ¶0182, quoted above to reject claim 1. Khoo teaches charging parameters which include increasing or decreasing the rate of charge.
Regarding claim 12, Khoo teaches the electronic device of claim 11. Khoo further teaches an electronic device wherein the current charging time and the current charging demand are, when the increase command or the decrease command is received before receipt of the determination command, values in which one of the charging time and the charging demand or the combination of two or more thereof is increased or decreased by the increase rate or the decrease rate (¶0039 “ FIG. 9 illustrates a flow diagram for a method for extending a user's reservation time at a charging station in accordance with various techniques and technologies described herein”);
and when the increase command or the decrease command is not received before receipt of the determination command, the charging time and the charging demand, respectively (¶0135 “the first user 840 communicates a request through the cloud server 810 to the second user 870 for extending charging time over the second user's 870 reserved time. For example, the request may be an informal communication, where the second user 870 simply agrees to arrive at the charging station 890 at a later time).
Regarding claim 19, Khoo teaches the electronic device of claim 11. Khoo further teaches an electronic device wherein, when the electronic device does not comprise a charging interface connected to a control module of the charging target load device, the processor is configured to: transmit the charging start command to a charger interlocked with the electronic device; and the charger receiving the charging start command is configured to charge the charging target load device connected to the charger (¶0072 “FIG 2… charging coupler 265 is a component of the charging station 202, but in some implementations the charging coupler 265 may be an extension of the electric vehicle 270”).
Regarding claim 20, Khoo teaches an electronic device comprising: a memory comprising a change rate calculation model (¶0211 “During the charging process, the first charging station 1810 may update or modify its charging current or other charging parameters based on newly received charging control signals. A relevant charging algorithm may be recalculated based on new charging parameters or instructions from another agent in the network”);
and a processor configured to: display a charging time, which is required for charging completion of a charging target load device that a user desires to charge (¶0143 “An internet website or a reservation user interface may display charging reservations for specific charging spaces, dates, and times, where one of the displayed reservations corresponds to the first user's 840 reservation ticket”),
and a charging demand, which is required for charging, by using a profile related to energy use of the user (¶0068 “mobile device 140 may be responsible for sending or relaying requests for electric vehicle charge transfers, charging parameters or updates to existing charging parameters between the cloud server 110 and the charging station 190”);
receive, from the user, an increase command, a determination command, or a decrease command for one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, through an increase button, a determination button, or a decrease button (¶0070 “ user 160 may input instructions and data into the mobile device 140 over a user interface on the mobile device 140.”, ¶0175 “ step 1440, the mobile device 140 sends a charging control signal to the charging station 190 or the electric vehicle 130 over a single networked link 170”, ¶0177 “step 1460, the charging station 190 enables or disables charge transfer for the electric vehicle 130 based on the charging control signal. At step 1470, the charging control signal adjusts a parameter used to draw electric power from the charging station 190”);
when a received command is the increase command or the decrease command, transmit the increase command or the decrease command to a central management server communicating with the electronic device (¶0148 “the cloud server 1110 may use geolocation information from one or several types of geolocation methods to calculate the charging station's 1190 availability and transmit availability information to a mobile device 1120”);
and when a received command is the determination command, generate a charging start command to charge the charging target load device, according to a current charging time and a current charging demand (¶0176 “Charging control signals may include instructions for regulating or initiating a standard charge transfer from the side of the electric vehicle 130 or the charging station 190. Likewise, the charging control signal may include charging parameters, updates for the electric vehicle 130 or charging station 190, or smart charging instructions relating to a charge transfer”),
wherein the model management server is configured to, when the increase command or the decrease command is received from the electronic device, calculate a change rate, using a change rate calculation model, to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand (¶0177 “At step 1470, the charging control signal adjusts a parameter used to draw electric power from the charging station 190”),
which the user desires to select, with a minimum selection of the increase button or the decrease button (¶0109 “ step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer’).
The adjustable charging parameters as taught by Khoo are described in ¶0182, quoted above to reject claim 1. Khoo teaches charging parameters which include increasing or decreasing the rate of charge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoo as modified by Wang et al (US 20220407337 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation calculates the change rate according to an input of the increase button or an input of the decrease button so as to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand that the user desires to select, with a minimum selection with respect to the increase button or the decrease button (¶0109 “step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer. Types of charging parameters and regulating the charging of an electric vehicle through adjusting charging parameters will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 15-17”).
Khoo does not teach an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to reach the user desires to select.
Wang teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model (¶0024 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 (and/or software) uses machine-learning to predict user behavior”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operating method of an electronic device as taught by Khoo, wherein the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model as taught by Wang for the purpose of predicting, adjusting, and improving charging efficiency resulting in an improved user experience.
Regarding claim 4, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo further teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model to calculate the change rate according to an input of the increase button or an input of the decrease button, with an input of information about a feedback score, information about a number of button inputs, and information about a simultaneous trend (¶0172 “step 1350, the charging station 1190 and cloud server 1110 may send messages to the mobile device 1120 or other users based on the acquired geolocation information and the availability of the charging station 119”).
The operating method as taught by Khoo establishes two-way communication between a charging station and a mobile device. Further the user is able to interact with the mobile device to control the charging station, Khoo ¶0070 “ user 160 may input instructions and data into the mobile device 140 over a user interface on the mobile device 140”. Khoo FIG 8 further discusses the mobile device communication abilities to include ¶0134 “step 940, the first user 840 contacts the second user 870 through the cloud server 810”. Khoo does not teach an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate.
Wang teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate(¶0024 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 (and/or software) uses machine-learning to predict user behavior”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operating method of an electronic device as taught by Khoo, wherein the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model as taught by Wang for the purpose of predicting, adjusting, and improving charging efficiency resulting in an improved user experience.
Regarding claim 5, Khoo as modified by Wang teaches the operating method of claim 4. Khoo as modified by Wang does not teach an operating method of an electronic device wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user after the electronic device performs the operating method, the information about the number of button inputs is information about a number of inputs of the increase button or a number of inputs of the decrease button to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand that the user desires to select, and the information about the simultaneous trend is information about the charging time and the charging demand of other users who charge a load device of a same type as the charging target load device that the user desires to charge at a same time.
Wang further teaches an operating method of an electronic device wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user after the electronic device performs the operating method, the information about the number of button inputs is information about a number of inputs of the increase button or a number of inputs of the decrease button to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand that the user desires to select, and the information about the simultaneous trend is information about the charging time and the charging demand of other users who charge a load device of a same type as the charging target load device that the user desires to charge at a same time (¶0046 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 may consider one or more of user's preferred parameters inferred from any previous manual selections and/or machine-learning from user's behavior and/or precedent”).
The user’s preferred parameters, as taught by Wang ¶0046, which includes user-input parameters and feedback. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify the operating method as taught by Khoo as modified by Wang wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user after the electronic device performs the operating method as further taught by Wang for the purpose of learning user preferences to improve user experience and ease of charge.
Regarding claim 6, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo further teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is from a central management server communicating with the electronic device (¶0068 “mobile device 140 may be responsible for sending or relaying requests for electric vehicle charge transfers, charging parameters or updates to existing charging parameters between the cloud server 110 and the charging station 190”).
Khoo does not teach an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model that is upgraded to the electronic device.
Wang teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model that is upgraded to the electronic device (¶0024 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 (and/or software) uses machine-learning to predict user behavior”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operating method as taught by Khoo wherein the change rate calculation model that is upgraded to the electronic device as taught by Wang for the purpose of predicting and improving charging efficiency resulting in an improved user experience.
Regarding claim 7, Khoo as modified by Wang teaches the operating method of claim 4. Khoo as modified by Wang further teaches an operating method of an electronic device wherein calculating the increase rate or the decrease rate by multiplying an initial value by the change rate, which is a result value that the charge rate calculation model outputs according to an input (¶0020 ““fast charging” generally refers to charging a battery pack (one or more battery cells) at greater than or equal to 0.5 c. Fast charging may raise the voltage and/or provide higher amount of current than/for the battery pack”, ¶0041 “FIG 5… Radio button is used to enable or disable fast charging feature. In this example, the radio button 501 is enabled.”),
wherein the initial value is a predetermined value to perform an increase or a decrease in one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, under the increase command or the decrease command, regardless of the change rate calculation model (¶0041 “FIG 5… Radio button is used to enable or disable fast charging feature. In this example, the radio button 501 is enabled.”, in the case where the radio button 501 is disabled then the battery pack would charge at a normal charging rate compared to the increased fast charging rate);
and performing an increase or a decrease under the increase command or the decrease command according to the increase rate or the decrease rate (¶0109 “step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer. Types of charging parameters and regulating the charging of an electric vehicle through adjusting charging parameters will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 15-17”).
Khoo as modified by Wang further teaches an operating method of an electronic device wherein the performing of the increase or the decrease comprises: receiving the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend; inputting the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model
Wang further teaches an operating method of an electronic device wherein the performing of the increase or the decrease comprises: receiving the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend (¶0046 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 may consider one or more of user's preferred parameters inferred from any previous manual selections and/or machine-learning from user's behavior and/or precedent”);
inputting the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model (¶0172 “step 1350, the charging station 1190 and cloud server 1110 may send messages to the mobile device 1120 or other users based on the acquired geolocation information and the availability of the charging station 119”).
The user’s preferred parameters, as taught by Wang ¶0046, which includes user-input parameters and feedback. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify the operating method as taught by Khoo as modified by Wang wherein the performing of the increase or the decrease comprises: receiving the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend taught by Wang for the purpose of learning user preferences to improve user experience and ease of charge.
Regarding claim 13, Khoo teaches the electronic device of claim 11. Khoo teaches an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model calculates the change rate according to an input of the increase button or an input of the decrease button so as to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand that the user desires to select, with a minimum selection with respect to the increase button or the decrease button (¶0109 “step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer. Types of charging parameters and regulating the charging of an electric vehicle through adjusting charging parameters will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 15-17”).
Khoo does not teach an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate
Wang teaches an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate (¶0024 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 (and/or software) uses machine-learning to predict user behavior”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operating method of an electronic device as taught by Khoo, wherein the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model as taught by Wang for the purpose of predicting, adjusting, and improving charging efficiency resulting in an improved user experience.
Regarding claim 14, Khoo teaches the electronic device of claim 11. Khoo teaches an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model calculates the change rate according to an input of the increase button or an input of the decrease button, with an input of information about a feedback score, information about a number of button inputs, and information about a simultaneous trend (¶0172 “step 1350, the charging station 1190 and cloud server 1110 may send messages to the mobile device 1120 or other users based on the acquired geolocation information and the availability of the charging station 119”).
The operating method as taught by Khoo establishes two-way communication between a charging station and a mobile device. Further the user is able to interact with the mobile device to control the charging station, Khoo ¶0070 “ user 160 may input instructions and data into the mobile device 140 over a user interface on the mobile device 140”. Khoo FIG 8 further discusses the mobile device communication abilities to include ¶0134 “step 940, the first user 840 contacts the second user 870 through the cloud server 810”. Khoo does not teach an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate. Khoo does not teach an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate.
Wang teaches an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model to calculate the change rate (¶0024 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 (and/or software) uses machine-learning to predict user behavior”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operating method of an electronic device as taught by Khoo, wherein the operating method wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned model as taught by Wang for the purpose of predicting, adjusting, and improving charging efficiency resulting in an improved user experience.
Regarding claim 15, Khoo as modified by Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 14. Khoo as modified by Wang does not teach an electronic device wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user according to an operation of the electronic device, the information about the number of button inputs is information about a number of inputs of the increase button or a number of inputs of the decrease button to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand that the user desires to select, and the information about the simultaneous trend is information about the charging time and the charging demand of other users who charge a load device of a same type as the charging target load device that the user desires to charge at a same time.
Wang teaches an electronic device wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user according to an operation of the electronic device, the information about the number of button inputs is information about a number of inputs of the increase button or a number of inputs of the decrease button to reach the current charging time and the current charging demand that the user desires to select, and the information about the simultaneous trend is information about the charging time and the charging demand of other users who charge a load device of a same type as the charging target load device that the user desires to charge at a same time (¶0046 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 may consider one or more of user's preferred parameters inferred from any previous manual selections and/or machine-learning from user's behavior and/or precedent”).
The user’s preferred parameters, as taught by Wang ¶0046, which includes user-input parameters and feedback. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify the electronic device as taught by Khoo as modified by Wang wherein the information about the feedback score is feedback information received from the user after the electronic device performs the operating method as further taught by Wang for the purpose of learning user preferences to improve user experience and ease of charge.
Regarding claim 16, Khoo teaches the electronic device of claim 11. Khoo further teaches an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is from a central management server communicating with the electronic device (¶0068 “mobile device 140 may be responsible for sending or relaying requests for electric vehicle charge transfers, charging parameters or updates to existing charging parameters between the cloud server 110 and the charging station 190”).
Khoo does not teach an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned that is upgraded to the electronic device.
Wang teaches an electronic device wherein the change rate calculation model is a learned that is upgraded to the electronic device ¶0024 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 (and/or software) uses machine-learning to predict user behavior”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the electronic device as taught by Khoo wherein the change rate calculation model that is upgraded to the electronic device as taught by Wang for the purpose of predicting and improving charging efficiency resulting in an improved user experience.
Regarding claim 17, Khoo as modified by Wang teaches the electronic device of claim 14. Khoo as modified by wang further teaches an electronic device wherein the processor is configured to: receive the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend, from a central management server communicating with the electronic device (¶0020 ““fast charging” generally refers to charging a battery pack (one or more battery cells) at greater than or equal to 0.5 c. Fast charging may raise the voltage and/or provide higher amount of current than/for the battery pack”, ¶0041 “FIG 5… Radio button is used to enable or disable fast charging feature. In this example, the radio button 501 is enabled.”);
input the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model (¶0041 “FIG 5… Radio button is used to enable or disable fast charging feature. In this example, the radio button 501 is enabled.”, in the case where the radio button 501 is disabled then the battery pack would charge at a normal charging rate compared to the increased fast charging rate);
calculate the increase rate or the decrease rate by multiplying an initial value by the change rate, which is a result value that the change rate calculation model outputs according to an input (¶0020 ““fast charging” generally refers to charging a battery pack (one or more battery cells) at greater than or equal to 0.5 c. Fast charging may raise the voltage and/or provide higher amount of current than/for the battery pack”, ¶0041 “FIG 5… Radio button is used to enable or disable fast charging feature. In this example, the radio button 501 is enabled.”),
wherein the initial value is a predetermined value to perform an increase or a decrease in one of the charging time and the charging demand or a combination of two or more thereof, under the increase command or the decrease command, regardless of the change rate calculation model (¶0041 “FIG 5… Radio button is used to enable or disable fast charging feature. In this example, the radio button 501 is enabled.”, in the case where the radio button 501 is disabled then the battery pack would charge at a normal charging rate compared to the increased fast charging rate);
and perform an increase or a decrease under the increase command or the decrease command according to the increase rate or the decrease rate (¶0109 “step 575, the mobile device 140 sends charging parameters to the charging station 190. At step 580, the charging station 190 adjusts charging parameters for the charge transfer. Types of charging parameters and regulating the charging of an electric vehicle through adjusting charging parameters will be described in more detail with reference to FIGS. 15-17”).
Khoo as modified by Wang does not teach an electronic device wherein the processor is configured to: receive the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend, from a central management server communicating with the electronic device; input the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model;
Wang further teaches an electronic device wherein the processor is configured to: receive the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend, from a central management server communicating with the electronic device (¶0046 “microcontroller 102 and/or processor 103 may consider one or more of user's preferred parameters inferred from any previous manual selections and/or machine-learning from user's behavior and/or precedent”);
input the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend to the change rate calculation model (¶0172 “step 1350, the charging station 1190 and cloud server 1110 may send messages to the mobile device 1120 or other users based on the acquired geolocation information and the availability of the charging station 119”).
The user’s preferred parameters, as taught by Wang ¶0046, which includes user-input parameters and feedback. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to further modify electronic device as taught by Khoo as modified by Wang wherein the performing of the increase or the decrease comprises: receiving the information about the feedback score, the information about the number of button inputs, and the information about the simultaneous trend taught by Wang for the purpose of learning user preferences to improve user experience and ease of charge.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoo as modified by Gadh et al (US 20130179061 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Khoo teaches the operating method of claim 1. Khoo does not teach an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of a time used for charging the charging target load device of the user during a specific period and of a charging demand used for charging the charging target load device.
Gadh teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of a time used for charging the charging target load device of the user during a specific period and of a charging demand used for charging the charging target load device (¶0062 “ User profile information may include the different vehicles the user operates, a charging profile for each vehicle, and optionally for each day of the week, a user immutable charge priority (e.g. emergency response vehicle), as well as a confidence level associated with how accurately the user adheres to his charging profile”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the operating method of an electronic device as taught by Khoo wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of a time used for charging the charging target load device of the user during a specific period and of a charging demand used for charging the charging target load device as taught by Gadh, for the purpose of improving user experience by allowing users to choose a convenient charging schedule.
Regarding claim 18, Khoo teaches the electronic device of claim 11. Khoo does not teach an electronic device wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of a time used for charging the charging target load device of the user during a specific period and of a charging demand used for charging the charging target load device.
Gadh teaches an electronic device wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of a time used for charging the charging target load device of the user during a specific period and of a charging demand used for charging the charging target load device (¶0062 “ User profile information may include the different vehicles the user operates, a charging profile for each vehicle, and optionally for each day of the week, a user immutable charge priority (e.g. emergency response vehicle), as well as a confidence level associated with how accurately the user adheres to his charging profile”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the electronic device as taught by Khoo wherein the profile related to the energy use of the user is a history of a time used for charging the charging target load device of the user during a specific period and of a charging demand used for charging the charging target load device as taught by Gadh, for the purpose of improving user experience by allowing users to choose a convenient charging schedule.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Lee et al (US 20210192409 A1) which teaches a dynamic charging demand response method which considers consumer inputs to schedule charging.
Lindup et al (US 20200156495 A1) which teaches a method for controlling a charging point based on predicted future availability and consumer need.
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859