DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-11) and species 3 (figures 12-33) in the reply filed on 12/16/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the threaded drive screw including one or more retaining elements at its proximal end, wherein the grooves of the helical threaded portion of the drive screw are connected to the corresponding retaining elements must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 is objected to for claiming the double start threads are formed by “two grooves” when it is unclear how, if at all, these two grooves are linked to the previously claimed “one or more grooves”.
Claim 10 is objected to for the last phrase “at a distal end portion of the delivery apparatus” since it is unclear what is/what is happening “at a distal end portion”. It is unclear if the handle portion’s steering mechanism is intended to be located at a distal end portion, or whether the rotation of the housing occurs at the distal end portion, or whether the shaft’s adjustment of curvature occurs at the distal end portion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retaining element” in claim 4. The specification [0130]-[0131] indicates that the retaining element is a “protruding member (also referred to as a detent) 460, a first linear thread portion 462 arranged on a first side of the protruding member 460 and a second linear thread portion 464 arranged on a second side of the protruding member 460)”, and “a tab 485 arranged inward (in the distal, axial direction) of the protruding member 460”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landon et al. (US 20190008639 A1) hereinafter known as Landon in view of Bradway et al. (US 20190269540 A1) hereinafter known as Bradway, further in view of Beard et al. (US 20150282965 A1) hereinafter known as Beard.
Regarding claim 1 Landon discloses a delivery apparatus for an expandable implantable medical device (This is stated as an “intended use” of the claimed delivery apparatus. The applicant is advised that a recitation of the intended use of an invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 (II). In this case, the patented structure of Landon was considered capable of performing the cited intended use. See, for example [0004].), comprising:
a handle portion (14) including a release mechanism configured to adjust a linear position relative to a central longitudinal apparatus of the delivery apparatus, of a component of the delivery apparatus ([0155] and Figure 22; the inner shaft 18 linearly translates using knob 212), the release mechanism comprising:
a threaded drive screw (Figure 22 item 204) including a helical threaded portion having a lead (Figure 22 item 204 shows a helical thread; having a lead is inherent), wherein the helical threaded portion includes one or more grooves extending around the drive screw (Figure 22 item 204), wherein the drive screw is coupled to the component ([0153] the housing 204 and inner shaft 18 are connected together),
and a rotatable knob surrounding and coaxial with the drive screw (Figure 22 item 212 ), the knob including one or more teeth, each tooth of the one or more teeth being configured to interface with a corresponding groove of the one or more grooves of the drive screw ([0155] the knob 212 rotates in order to engage the grooves of 204 to move it proximally or distally. The Examiner understands there to inherently be teeth which engage with the groove in order to achieve this rotation),
but is silent with regards to the drive screw having a lead of at least one inch,
and the teeth being arranged at the proximal end of the knob and extends only a portion of the total distance between the proximal/distal ends, towards a distal end of the knob.
However, regarding claim 1 Bradway teaches that a handle portion of a delivery apparatus ([0002]) can have a threaded drive screw (Figure 24 item 172) with a lead of at least one inch ([0084] a pitch of 1-40 mm includes 24.5 mm (1 inch=24.5 mm), and [0084] describes how the screw lead can be a dual start thread, indicating the lead = pitchx2, or lead =1mm to 40mm (x2)= 2mm to 80 mm, which includes a lead amount over 24.5 mm). Landon and Bradway are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely delivery apparatus handles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the delivery apparatus of Landon so that the lead was any length, including over one inch as is taught by Bradway since the courts have held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(E). In this case, the person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to try any length for the lead, which might render the delivery of the medical device successful.
Further, regarding claim 1 Beard teaches that a tooth (Figure 12 item 363) for engaging a threaded screw (Figure 9a item 364) can be located at a proximal end of a knob (Figure 12 item 360) and extend a portion of a total distance between the proximal/distal end towards a distal end of the knob (Figure 12 shows the tooth extending only inward, which occupies a small space between the proximal and distal ends of the knob). Landon and Beard are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely delivery apparatus handles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the delivery apparatus of Landon so that the teeth are on the proximal end of the handle as is taught by Beard so that they are located in the appropriate place to engage the grooves thereunder, and so they will function as is disclosed by Landon.
Regarding claims 2-3 the Landon Bradway Beard Combination teaches the delivery apparatus of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Beard further teaches the portion of the total distance between the proximal end and distal end is less than ¼ the total distance or (clm 3 - Less than 1/10 the total distance (Figure 12 shows how at least 10 tooth 363 would be able to fit between the proximal and distal ends of the knob 360 indicating the tooth takes up less than 1/10 the distance therebetween).
Regarding claim 7 the Landon Bradway Beard Combination teaches the delivery apparatus of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the component of the delivery apparatus which the release mechanism is configured to adjust the linear position of, includes one or more release members removably coupled to the implantable medical device (this does not appear to materially change the structure of the claimed delivery apparatus).
Regarding claim 8 the Landon Bradway Beard Combination teaches the delivery apparatus of claim 7 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Beard further discloses an inner shaft (Figure 9a-d the shaft proximally coupled to sheath item 200) including a proximal end fixedly coupled to a cap of the release mechanism (see Figures 9a-d which shows how the shaft connected to the distally extending sheath 200 is attached to the back of 340, which serves as a cap. See Figures 2-8 show how the shaft is fixedly coupled to the rear cover 340, as it does not displace during rotation).
Regarding claim 9 the Landon Bradway Beard Combination teaches the delivery apparatus of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Bradway further teaches threads formed by the grooves of the helical threaded portion are double start threads formed by two grooves ([0084]).
Regarding claim 10 the Landon Bradway Beard Combination teaches the delivery apparatus of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Beard further teaches the handle portion further comprises a steering mechanism ([0031] steering mechanism) including a steering knob ([0033]) configured to rotate relative to a housing of the handle portion and adjust a curvature of one or more shafts of the delivery apparatus, at a distal end portion of the delivery apparatus (The applicant is advised that, while the features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In addition, it has been held by the courts that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2144 (I). In this case, the apparatus of the Combination (as detailed above) all the structural limitations required to perform the recited functional language, therefore was considered to anticipate the claimed apparatus. See, for example [0031]).
Regarding claim 11 the Landon Bradway Beard Combination teaches the delivery apparatus of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the implantable medical device is a prosthetic heart valve (this does not appear to materially change the structure of the claimed delivery apparatus. See also Landon Abstract).
Regarding claim 4 the prior art fails to teach one or more retaining elements that comprise a protruding member (also referred to as a detent), a first linear thread portion arranged on a first side of the protruding member and a second linear thread portion arranged on a second side of the protruding member”, and “a tab arranged inward (in the distal, axial direction) of the protruding member”, which is arranged at a proximal end of the drive screw, so the one or more grooves of the helical threaded portion are each connected to a corresponding retaining element of the one or more retaining elements.
Claim 5-6 depend from claim 4 and so is also not rejected with prior art.
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 01/09/25