Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW 110148168, filed on 12/22/2021.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 1, lines 19-20, "when an abnormal is detected" should read "when an abnormality is detected".
On page 1, line 22, "to detect an abnormal…" should read "to detect an abnormality..".
On page 1, line 25, "12 inches wafers" should read "12 inch wafers."
On page 1, line 26, "6 inches wafers" should read "6 inch wafers".
On page 2, lines 3-4, "place other than the end effect" should read "place other than the end effector".
On page 2, line 8, "without above drawbacks" should read "without the above drawbacks".
On page 2, line 14, "precisely detection" should read "precise detection".
On page 3, line 22, "3mm" should read "3 mm".
On page 4, line 19, "second sot" should read "second slot".
on page 5, lines 15-16, "6 inches wafer" should read "6 inch wafers".
On page 6, line 9, the main body is incorrectly labelled 20, instead of 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tan et al (U.S. No. 20130213169).
Regarding claim 1, Tan et al teaches an end effector (106), which is connected to a wafer transfer robot (104) (Abstract), comprising:
A main member (106) having a first room thereof (Paragraph 0070, lines 2-6);
A sensor (108) received in the first room to sense vibration of the main member (106) (Paragraph 0032, lines 1-3; paragraph 0052, lines 1-5; Fig. 1A, elements 106, 108); and
A lid fixed to the main member to cover the sensor (108) (Paragraph 0070, lines 2-6);
Whereby the sensor (108) transmits a vibration signal to a central controller when the main member (106) is vibrating (Paragraph 0052, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Tan et al teaches the main member (506) is provided with threaded holes on the bottom of the third room (524) while the lid (508) is provided with bores accordingly; a plurality of screws (530) are inserted into the bores and screwed into the threaded holes respectively (Paragraph oo43, lines 7-9; Fig. 5B, elements 508, 524, 530).
Regarding claim 6, Tan et al teaches a top of the lid (526) is no higher than the side of the main member (506) (Paragraph 0043, lines 1-5; Fig. 5B, elements 506, 526, 532).
Regarding claim 7, Tan et al teaches the main member (306) is provided with a holding device (324) for holding a wafer carried by the end effector (Paragraph 0036, lines 6-9; Fig. 3A, elements 306, 324).
Regarding claim 8, Tan et al teaches the holding device (324) has a frictional pad to provide the wafer with friction (Paragraph 0038, lines 6-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al in virtue of Morris et al (US 20200412123).
Tan et al fails to teach a main member with a second room. Morris et al teaches a main member that further has a second room (502), and the second room (502) is communicated with the first room (501); a wire is received in the second room (502) and connected to the sensor (582); the lid (50h) covers the wire as well (Paragraph 0080, lines 3-5; paragraph 0130, lines 1-6; Fig. 1, elements 501, 502, 200; Fig. 10, elements 582, 50h, 502). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Morris et al to facilitate the creation of a second room to house the sensor as taught by Morris et al.
Tan et al fails to teach a main member with a third room. Morris et al teaches a main member (100) that further has a third room (10), and the first (501) and the second (502) room are provided on a bottom of the third room (10); the lid (100) is received in the third room (10) (Paragraph 0080, lines 3-5; Fig. 1, elements 100, 10, 501, 502, 110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Morris et al to facilitate the creation of a third room that communicates with the first and second rooms as taught by Morris et al.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al in virtue of Morimura (US 20170348772).
Tan et al fails to teach the thickness of the main member. Morimura teaches a thickness of the sensor (46b) that is no greater than a thickness of the main member (46a) (Fig. 2, elements 46a, 46b). it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Morimura to facilitate the creation of a sensor with a thickness that does not prevent the main member from entering narrow spaces as taught by Morimura.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al in virtue of Takano (US 10777439).
Tan et al fails to teach a holding device with a sucker. Takano teaches a holding device that has a sucker (275), and the sucker (275) has a channel (272); the main member (181) is provided with an airway (149c), and the airway (149c) is covered by the lid (200c) as well; the airway (149c) is connected to the channel of the sucker (272), whereby air in the sucker (275) is pumped out through the channel (272) and the airway (149c) (Column 8, lines 52-53; column 5, lines 9-14; Fig. 2, elements 200c, 149c, 181; Fig. 3, elements 200, 275, 272). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Takano to facilitate the creation of a holding device that uses a vacuum force to hold the wafer as taught by Takano.
Tan et al fails to teach an airway within the third room. Takano teaches an airway (149c) that is provided on the bottom of the third room (141), and the airway is covered by the lid (200c) as well; a sucker is provided on the main member (181) and connected to the airway (149c), whereby air in the sucker (275) is pumped out through the airway (149c) (Column 8, lines 52-53; column 5, lines 9-14; Fig. 2, elements 200c, 149c, 181; Fig. 3, elements 200, 275, 272). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the teaching of Takano to facilitate the creation of an airway that allows the pump to communicate with the main member as taught by Takano.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651