DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 13-17, 22-23 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al.( US 20210058856 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230147636 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qi teaches a method for collecting frequency spectrum data for an automated frequency coordination (AFC) server (method of Fig. 4, using device of Fig. 1), the method comprising:
determining, by one or more processors, an operation mode of a Wi-Fi access point (The first NAN frame may include any attributes/fields as shown in Tables 1-3, such as a first indication of the first NAN device's operation capability in a 6 GHz frequency band, [0069]);
in response to a determination that the operation mode is associated with 6 GHz transmissions, determining, by the one or more processors, a power mode of the Wi-Fi access point (The first NAN frame also may include a second indication of a transmit power operating mode of the first NAN device in the 6 GHz frequency band, [0069]).
However, Qi does not clearly teach in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a standard power mode, scanning one or more 6 GHz bands to begin collecting 6 GHz frequency spectrum data.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches teach in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a standard power mode, scanning one or more 6 GHz bands to begin collecting 6 GHz frequency spectrum data (For power saving, the WLAN station operates in two modes, i.e., an active mode and a sleep mode. The active mode is a state in which a normal operation such as frame transmission/reception, channel scanning, etc., is possible, [0272] and FIG. 17 illustrates an example of a channel used/supported/defined within a 6 GHz band, [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi with the scanning feature of Kim to provide a methods and a system wherein the extreme high throughput standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard as suggested, Kim [0003].
Regarding claim 2, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: in response to a determination that the operation mode is unassociated with the 6 GHz transmissions, determining, by the one or more processors, that the Wi-Fi access point operates in one or more non-6 GHz bands (the first NAN device and the second NAN device may be operating in a 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz frequency band, Qi [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a non-standard power mode, determining, by the one or more processors, that the Wi-Fi access point is a low power mode or a very low power mode (two NAN devices operating in LPI (low power indoor) modes may establish NAN operations when they are in the presence of an LPI AP's enabling signal and remain within the service area of the LPI AP, Qi [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 3. Kim further teaches the method further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in the low power mode or the very low power mode, determining, by the one or more processors, not to start scanning the one or more 6 GHz bands (On the other hand, in the sleep mode, since power consumption is decreased extremely, frame transmission/reception is impossible, and channel scanning is also impossible. A basic operation of power saving is in principle that the WLAN station is usually in a sleep mode and transitions to an active mode only, when necessary, Kim [0272]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi with the scanning feature of Kim to provide a methods and a system wherein the extreme high throughput standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard as suggested, Kim [0003].
Regarding claim 5, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more 6 GHz bands include one or more bands from unlicensed national information infrastructure (U-NII) bands (FIG. 2, there are shown three operating modes in 6 GHz. The operating modes shown are: SP, LPI, and VLP. SP devices are allowed in 850 MHz of spectrum (UNII-5 and UNII-7), Qi [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: determining an interference caused by the access point on a 6 GHz communication channel, the determined interference to be used by the AFC server for interference reduction for future communications in the 6 GHz communication channel (AFC mechanism is being used in the 6 GHz band to protect incumbent devices against interference. In AFC systems, allowable frequencies and allowable maximum transmit power of secondary users are determined based on an agreed Interference Protection Criteria (e.g., I/N Interference over Noise ratio). Locations of secondary user devices are used to determine allowable frequencies and allowable maximum transmit power of secondary users (e.g., Wi-Fi devices) in proximity of the incumbent receivers (e.g., non-Wi-Fi devices). AFC may be required for standard power Wi-Fi certified devices in the 6 GHz band, Qi [0020]).
Regarding claim 10, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the method further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in the standard power mode, scanning 6 GHz Wi-Fi channels to begin collecting 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data (For power saving, the WLAN station operates in two modes, i.e., an active mode and a sleep mode. The active mode is a state in which a normal operation such as frame transmission/reception, channel scanning, etc., is possible, Kim [0272] and FIG. 17 illustrates an example of a channel used/supported/defined within a 6 GHz band, Kim [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi with the scanning feature of Kim to provide a methods and a system wherein the extreme high throughput standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard as suggested, Kim [0003].
Regarding claim 11, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 10, the method further comprising: decoding, by the one or more processors, one or more Wi-Fi packets that are associated with the collected 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data (For example, adding a bit to a defined frame may render the defined frame a different type of frame, as the device that receives the frame may decode the frame and determine its contents based on the frame type, Qi [0040] and in particular, bits 13 and 14 may be use to indicate whether an availability entry (e.g., a frequency band and time) of a device is compliant with 6 GHz VLP use, Qi [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Qi teaches an Wi-Fi access point (e.g. AP 102 of Fig. 1A and/or 500 of Fig. 5) for collecting frequency spectrum data for an automated frequency coordination (AFC) server, the Wi-Fi access point comprising: data processing hardware (processing circuitry 506); and memory hardware (memory 508)in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: determine an operation mode of a Wi-Fi access point;
in response to a determination that the operation mode is associated with 6 GHz transmissions point (The first NAN frame may include any attributes/fields as shown in Tables 1-3, such as a first indication of the first NAN device's operation capability in a 6 GHz frequency band, [0069]), determine a power mode of the Wi-Fi access point (The first NAN frame also may include a second indication of a transmit power operating mode of the first NAN device in the 6 GHz frequency band, [0069]).
However, Qi does not clearly teach in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a standard power mode, scanning one or more 6 GHz bands to begin collecting 6 GHz frequency spectrum data.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches teach in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a standard power mode, scanning one or more 6 GHz bands to begin collecting 6 GHz frequency spectrum data (For power saving, the WLAN station operates in two modes, i.e., an active mode and a sleep mode. The active mode is a state in which a normal operation such as frame transmission/reception, channel scanning, etc., is possible, [0272] and FIG. 17 illustrates an example of a channel used/supported/defined within a 6 GHz band, [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi with the scanning feature of Kim to provide a methods and a system wherein the extreme high throughput standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard as suggested, Kim [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 13, the operations further comprising: in response to a determination that the operation mode is unassociated with the 6 GHz transmissions, determine that the Wi-Fi access point operates in one or more non-6 GHz bands (the first NAN device and the second NAN device may be operating in a 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz frequency band, Qi [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 13, the operations further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a non-standard power mode, determine that the Wi-Fi access point is a low power mode or a very low power mode (low power indoor) modes may establish NAN operations when they are in the presence of an LPI AP's enabling signal and remain within the service area of the LPI AP, Qi [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 15, the operations further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in the low power mode or the very low power mode, determine not to start scanning the one or more 6 GHz bands (On the other hand, in the sleep mode, since power consumption is decreased extremely, frame transmission/reception is impossible, and channel scanning is also impossible. A basic operation of power saving is in principle that the WLAN station is usually in a sleep mode and transitions to an active mode only, when necessary, Kim [0272]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi with the scanning feature of Kim to provide a methods and a system wherein the extreme high throughput standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard as suggested, Kim [0003].
Regarding claim 17, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 13, wherein the one or more 6 GHz bands include one or more bands from unlicensed national information infrastructure (U-NII) bands (FIG. 2, there are shown three operating modes in 6 GHz. The operating modes shown are: SP, LPI, and VLP. SP devices are allowed in 850 MHz of spectrum (UNII-5 and UNII-7), Qi [0063]).
Regarding claim 22, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 13, the operations further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in the standard power mode, scan 6 GHz Wi-Fi channels to begin collecting 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data (For power saving, the WLAN station operates in two modes, i.e., an active mode and a sleep mode. The active mode is a state in which a normal operation such as frame transmission/reception, channel scanning, etc., is possible, [0272] and FIG. 17 illustrates an example of a channel used/supported/defined within a 6 GHz band, [0169]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi with the scanning feature of Kim to provide a methods and a system wherein the extreme high throughput standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard as suggested, Kim [0003].
Regarding claim 23, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 22, the operations further comprising: decoding one or more Wi-Fi packets that are associated with the collected 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data (For example, adding a bit to a defined frame may render the defined frame a different type of frame, as the device that receives the frame may decode the frame and determine its contents based on the frame type, Qi [0040] and in particular, bits 13 and 14 may be use to indicate whether an availability entry (e.g., a frequency band and time) of a device is compliant with 6 GHz VLP use, Qi [0039]).
Regarding claim 25, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 13, the operations further comprising: determining an interference based on using a noise measurement on one or more pilot symbols (As an example, AFC mechanism is being used in the 6 GHz band to protect incumbent devices against interference. In AFC systems, allowable frequencies and allowable maximum transmit power of secondary users are determined based on an agreed Interference Protection Criteria (e.g., I/N Interference over Noise ratio), Qi [0020]).
Regarding claim 26, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 25, wherein determining the interference based on using the noise measurement on the one or more pilot symbols includes performing a time analysis on one or more interferences locations (A NAN device that supports 6 GHz bands may indicate an ability to access 6 GHz bands, and at which times, in a Device Capability Attribute, Qi [0023]).
Claims 6-8, 12, 18-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al.( US 20210058856 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20230147636 A1) and further in view of Ansley et al. (US 20200367020 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Qi and Kim do not teach the method further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a non-standard power mode, the AP is moved to another frequency that is not being used.
In an analogous art, Ansley teaches the method further comprising: in response to a determination that the Wi-Fi access point is in a non-standard power mode, the AP is moved to another frequency that is not being used (the controller may consider the STA's current RSSI as well as RSSI history, as well as the channel assignments and power level limits of the APs it controls. At 805, the controller may determine a 5 GHz RSSI of a STA. At 810, the controller may determine a breadth and level of interference of a 6 GHz channel. At 815, the controller may determine whether the 6 GHz channel may offer better performance for the STA than the currently used 5 GHz channel. If the determination is made that the 6 GHz channel does not offer better performance for the STA, the controller may direct the STA to the 5 GHz channel, [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi and Kim with the channel selection of Ansley to provide a methods and a system wherein combination of lower power and indoor operations may protect other registered services already operating on these frequencies from harmful interference as suggested, Ansley [0010].
Regarding claim 7, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Qi and Kim do not teach the method further comprising: stitching, by the one or more processors, the collected 6 GHz frequency spectrum data together.
In an analogous art, Ansley teaches the method further comprising: stitching, by the one or more processors, the collected 6 GHz frequency spectrum data together (The relative signal strengths and directions may be combined with the location estimation to determine if the information provided is credible, Ansley [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi and Kim with the channel selection of Ansley to provide a methods and a system wherein combination of lower power and indoor operations may protect other registered services already operating on these frequencies from harmful interference as suggested, Ansley [0010].
Regarding claim 8, Qi as modified by Kim in view of Ansley teaches the method of claim 7. Ansley further teaches the method further comprising: transmitting, by the one or more processors, a report based on the stitched 6 GHz frequency spectrum data to an AFC server (The baseline location may be output to a database (e.g., database of an AFC system 115 of FIG. 1) at 410, Ansley [0065]).
Regarding claim 12, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the method of claim 11.
However, Qi and Kim do not clearly teach further comprising: when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are decodable, generating a report of the 6 GHz Wi-Fi channels and transmitting the report to an AFC server; and when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are un-decodable, transmitting the collected 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data to the AFC server.
In an analogous art, Ansley teaches further comprising: when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are decodable, generating a report of the 6 GHz Wi-Fi channels and transmitting the report to an AFC server (If the AP 105 is processing the spectrum locally, it may detect a certain combination of fixed microwave signals. With that information, the AP can consult a database containing 6 GHz registered signal sites. Fixed wireless assigned frequencies may be recorded in a database that also includes location information. When combined with the Wi-Fi signal information, the location of the AP may be ascertained with greater certainty or less uncertainty, [0048]); and when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are un-decodable, transmitting the collected 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data to the AFC server (If the AP sends a collected signal spectrum to a controller 130 or cloud server, those entities similarly may consult databases of known 6 GHz entities to develop a location estimate. Those entities may also consult databases of known 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz signal sources. That estimate may be returned to the AP for it to use in communication with an AFC system. Alternatively, the controller 130 or cloud server may forward the location estimate with information identifying the AP to an AFC. If the AP recognizes Wi-Fi signals within the 6 GHz scan, that information may also be used to aid with location determination, [0048] and Utilizing energy detection, an AP need not be able to demodulate or decode a fixed wireless or other non-Wi-Fi communications signal to detect its presence, [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi and Kim with the channel selection of Ansley to provide a methods and a system wherein combination of lower power and indoor operations may protect other registered services already operating on these frequencies from harmful interference as suggested, Ansley [0010].
Regarding claim 18, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 17.
However, Qi and Kim do not teach wherein the U-NII bands include U-NII-5 band, U-NII-6 band, U-NII-7 band, and U-NII-8 band.
In an analogous art, Ansley teaches wherein the U-NII bands include U-NII-5 band, U-NII-6 band, U-NII-7 band, and U-NII-8 band (he FCC has considered varying treatment for four sub-bands of the 6 GHz band, wherein the sub-bands include: [0006] U-NII 5: 5925-6425 MHz [0007] U-NII 6: 6425-6525 MHz [0008] U-NII 7: 6525-6825 MHz [0009] U-NII 8: 6875-7125 MHz, [0005]-[0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi and Kim with the channel selection of Ansley to provide a methods and a system wherein combination of lower power and indoor operations may protect other registered services already operating on these frequencies from harmful interference as suggested, Ansley [0010].
Regarding claim 19, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 13.
However, Qi and Kim do not teach the operations further comprising: stitching the collected 6 GHz frequency spectrum data together.
In an analogous art, Ansley teaches stitching, by the one or more processors, the collected 6 GHz frequency spectrum data together (The relative signal strengths and directions may be combined with the location estimation to determine if the information provided is credible, Ansley [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi and Kim with the channel selection of Ansley to provide a methods and a system wherein combination of lower power and indoor operations may protect other registered services already operating on these frequencies from harmful interference as suggested, Ansley [0010].
Regarding claim 20, Qi as modified by Kim and Ansley teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 19. Ansley further teaches wherein stitching the collected 6 GHz frequency spectrum data together includes: combining the collected 6 GHz frequency spectrum data associated with a same band (The baseline location may be output to a database (e.g., database of an AFC system 115 of FIG. 1) at 410, Ansley [0065]).
Regarding claim 21, Qi as modified by Kim and Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 19. Ansley further teaches the operations further comprising: transmitting a report based on the stitched 6 GHz frequency spectrum data to an AFC server (The baseline location may be output to a database (e.g., database of an AFC system 115 of FIG. 1) at 410, Ansley [0065]).
Regarding claim 24, Qi as modified by Kim teaches the Wi-Fi access point of claim 23.
However, Qi and Kim do not teach the operations further comprising: when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are decodable, generate a report of the 6 GHz Wi-Fi channels and transmit the report to an AFC server; and when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are un-decodable, transmit the collected 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data to the AFC server.
In an analogous art, Ansley teaches when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are decodable, generating a report of the 6 GHz Wi-Fi channels and transmitting the report to an AFC server (If the AP 105 is processing the spectrum locally, it may detect a certain combination of fixed microwave signals. With that information, the AP can consult a database containing 6 GHz registered signal sites. Fixed wireless assigned frequencies may be recorded in a database that also includes location information. When combined with the Wi-Fi signal information, the location of the AP may be ascertained with greater certainty or less uncertainty, [0048]); and when the one or more Wi-Fi packets are un-decodable, transmitting the collected 6 GHz Wi-Fi frequency spectrum data to the AFC server (If the AP sends a collected signal spectrum to a controller 130 or cloud server, those entities similarly may consult databases of known 6 GHz entities to develop a location estimate. Those entities may also consult databases of known 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz signal sources. That estimate may be returned to the AP for it to use in communication with an AFC system. Alternatively, the controller 130 or cloud server may forward the location estimate with information identifying the AP to an AFC. If the AP recognizes Wi-Fi signals within the 6 GHz scan, that information may also be used to aid with location determination, [0048] and Utilizing energy detection, an AP need not be able to demodulate or decode a fixed wireless or other non-Wi-Fi communications signal to detect its presence, [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the access point method of Qi and Kim with the channel selection of Ansley to provide a methods and a system wherein combination of lower power and indoor operations may protect other registered services already operating on these frequencies from harmful interference as suggested, Ansley [0010].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dwivedi et al. (US 20120314663 A1): A method includes receiving an instruction to cease transmission of frames over a first channel and receiving an indication of a second channel. The instruction and the indication are received at a first device from an access point device via the wireless network. The method includes establishing a direct link with a second device using the second channel.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641