DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 13-16, 21-30 are pending in the application. Claims 21 and 22 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 13-16, 23-30 are currently under examination.
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/8/2026.
All previous rejection not reiterated in this office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 13-16, 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
Amended claim 1 is amended to introduce a new limitation “polycation functionalized calcium phosphate nanoparticles that have a maximum size in any dimension of 150 micron or less.” Applicant states that this limitation is supported in present specification in paragraphs [0799], [0804] and [0809]. Upon reviewing the specification, the only paragraph that describes the size of calcium phosphate nanoparticles is paragraph [0804], which starts with CEPESC comprise DA less than 2 microns in size…then continues with less than 1 micron, less than 0.7 micron…and goes on to nanometer ranges. Nowhere in the specification describes “nanoparticles” that has maximum size 150 microns. Therefore, this amendment that is added after the filing of the application, comprises new matter. Dependent claims 2, 5-9, 13-16, 23-30 that depends on claim 1, also comprises new matter.
Newly added claims 27 and 29 recites the limitation that “wherein the triclosan selection sequence is expressed in bacterial cells and not in mammalian cells.” Applicant points to paragraphs [0209]-[0210], [0861] and [0877] in specification to support this limitation. Upon reviewing the specification, these cited paragraph does not fully support the limitation “not in mammalian cells.” Paragraph [0209]-[0210] describes different types of selection markers, and lists triclosan as one of the selection agents based on host cells tolerance to this biocide induced by overexpression of fabI gene. Paragraph [0861] describes generally plasmid vectors may comprise expression enhancing intron, a strong promoter, a reporter gene and a non-antibiotic resistance system such as triclosan selection system, and there is no description of any host cells in which the gene is expressed. Paragraph [0877] describes all early and immediate early genes from 39 strains of ASFV critical for replication will be identified and cloned into plasmid. The only relevant sentence to triclosan is “the plasmid also carries the FabI gene for triclosan non-antibiotic selection and plasmid amplification.” In the context of the cited paragraphs, the only support may be inferred it that selection sequence is expressed in bacterial cells (for plasmid amplification). However, there is no support for the negative limitation “not in mammalian cells.” Since this newly added limitation is introduced after the filing of the present application, this limitation constitutes new matter.
Newly added claim 30 recites the limitation of “the at least two DNA molecules further comprises one or more nucleotide sequences encoding at least one innate trained immunity cell immunomodulator.” Applicant cites specification paragraphs [0388], [0441] and [0828] to support this limitation. Paragraph [0388] describes innate trained immunity immunomodulators (ITIPIMs), and give examples of PCMs that exhibit significant IRs in DCs include modulators of DEC-205, Langerin…etc. Paragraph [0441] gives more examples of ITIIM. Paragraph [0828] describes “innate trained immunity” but does not teach compositions that comprises the claimed composition with additional nucleic acid sequence encoding at least one innate trained immunity cell immunomodulator. Since this newly added limitation is introduced after the filing of the present application, this limitation constitutes new matter.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 13-16, 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “nanoparticles that have a maximum size in any dimension of 150 microns or less” renders the claim indefinite because the claimed size range 150 microns or less encompasses sizes that are not considered to be nanoparticles. The claim thus claims a broader range and a narrower range of the calcium phosphate particles such that the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be established.
Dependent claims 2, 5-9, 13-16, 23-30 are rejected for same reason because they depend on claim 1 but does not remedy such indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 13, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledebur (WO 99/24596) in view of Bell (US 2002/0068090) and Sokolova (J. Mater Sci, 2010, Vol.45, pages 4952-4957). This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Amended claim 1 is drawn to a composition comprising the following components: 1) an effective amount of at least two DNA molecules encoding different products: a) a first DNA molecule comprising one or more antigens that induce an immune response against a disease causing agent; and b) a second DNA molecule comprising i) one or more additional nucleotide sequences that induce an immune response against the disease causing agent and ii) one or more polyubiquitin sequences; 2) one or more types of polycation functionalized calcium phosphate (CaP) nanoparticles that have a maximum size of 150 microns or less that are associated with at least some of the at least two DNA molecules; (3) one or more additional adjuvant compositions.
Ledebur teaches improved plasmids and methods for nucleic acid vaccines that uses epitopes that are capable of inducing both cellular and humoral responses that result in a protective or therapeutic immune response against pathogens (abstract). Ledebur teaches if multiple epitopes are expressed in the context of a synthetic gene construct, immunity against many antigenic targets, multiple strain variants or multiple pathogens is possible (page 4, last paragraph). Ledebur teaches multivalent expression systems that comprises two plasmids, two genes, IRES or alternative splicing that express such epitopes (Figure 8, page 5, lines 22-26). Ledebur teaches for effective nucleic acid based vaccines, it may be important to have the capability of expressing multiple antigens or multiepitope gene product, which may enhance the potency of these vaccines (page 18, lines 1-7). Ledebur teaches it is advantageous to encode polyubiquitin chain to antigenic epitopes because expression plasmids with Ub fused to the antigen have been used to achieve class I presentation (page 9, lines 11-20).
However, Ledebur does not teach the inclusion of polycation-functionalized calcium phosphate nanoparticles that have a maximum 150 microns or less are associated with some of the two DNA, and the inclusion of additional adjuvant compositions.
Bell teaches a formulation of CaP for use as a mucosal adjuvant (paragraph [0040], lines 1-2). Bell teaches the core CaP particles having a diameter between 300nm to 4000nm that can deliver a native or recombinant immunogen to mucosal surface (paragraph [0041]). Bell teaches that the CaP formulation may be compounded with any physiologically acceptable vehicle or other complementary immunological adjuvant and applied directly to the mucosal surface tissue (paragraph [0048]).
Sokolova teaches an outer shell of positively charged poly(ethyleneimine) (PEI) strongly increases the transfection efficiency of calcium phosphate/DNA nanoparticles (title). Sokolova teaches polycationic polymers like PEI form aggregates with DNA, which can be used for non-viral gene delivery, wherein the positive charge of the resulting aggregates is beneficial for penetrating the cell membrane (page 4953, 1st col.,2nd paragraph). Sokolova teaches that CaP/DNA functionalized with PEI has a size around 285 or 150 nm (Table 1). Sokolova teaches that PEI functionalized CaP/DNA has increased transfection efficiency and cell viability compared to standard calcium phosphate (Table 3 and legend).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art reading Ledebur to add one or more types of polycation functionalized calcium phosphate nanoparticles to the nucleic acid based vaccine composition based on the combined teaching from Bell and Sokolova. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to add calcium phosphate nanoparticle taught by Bell to the vaccine composition because Bell demonstrates CaP nanoparticle is an effective adjuvant in mucosal vaccine delivery. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to functionalize the CaP nanoparticles with polycation (PEI) as taught by Sokolova to further increase the ability for said CaP nanoparticle to cross the cell membrane efficiently. Bell also teaches that when using CaP nanoparticle as adjuvant, additional adjuvant may be included in the composition. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 1 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Regarding claim 5, Ledebur teaches the use of epitopes, small immunologically relevant protein sequences that are capable of inducing both cellular and humoral responses would result in a protective or therapeutic immune response against pathogens (abstract). Bell also teaches a desirable immune response to an immunogenic polypeptide is two-fold, involving both humoral and cell mediated immunity, wherein the humoral component is manifested following stimulating B cells, and cellular mediated immunity involves T lymphocytes capable of recognizing intracellular pathogens (paragraph [0028]). It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to include antigen or epitopes thereof that induces both B cell and T cell mediated response in the vaccine composition because it offers better protection to the disease causing agent. Whether said epitopes are included in one DNA molecule, two DNA molecules would have been routine optimization rather than method of innovation. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 5 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 13, 14, Bell teaches CaP nanoparticles further includes carbohydrate derivatives (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 16, Ledebur teaches multiple antigens or epitope gene product expressed by vaccine (page 18, 1st paragraph), at least epitope gene product meets the limitation “an amino acid sequence that is identical to the amino acid sequence of one or more naturally occurring epitope contained in an antigenic polypeptide that is expressed by the disease causing agent” because it is well known in the art that epitopes are isolated from polypeptide expressed by disease causing agent such as viruses or bacteria.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 23-25, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledebur, Bell and Sokolova, as applied to claims 1, 5-7, 13, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Goh et al (BMC Biotechnology, 2008, Vol.8: 61, pages 1-9). This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
The teaching from Ledebur, Bell and Sokolova has been discussed above. However, none of the references teaches the selection sequence of triclosan system .
Goh teaches antibiotic resistance genes are widely used for selection of recombinant bacteria, but their use risks contributing to spread of antibiotic resistance, particularly the practice is inappropriate for vaccine production (abstract). Goh teaches fabI marker plasmid selection by triclosan in E. coli, which out performed the parent antibiotic system (page 2, 1st col., 4th paragraph). Goh teaches fabI expression is induced by arabinose in E.coli, under Pbad promoter (page 4, 2nd col., last 2 paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to further include a non-antibiotic selection marker in the plasmids taught by Ledebur for producing said plasmids in bacterial cell. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use triclosan selection system as taught by Goh because Goh teaches antibiotic selection is inappropriate for vaccine production, and demonstrates that fabI expression in E. coli produces efficient selection of plasmids. The ordinary skilled in the art would thus have reasonable expectation of success to include a triclosan selection sequence, fabI, in the plasmid taught by Ledebur following combined teaching from Ledebur and Goh. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 2, 23, 27, and 29 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Regarding claims 9 and 28, Ledebur teaches multiple antigens or epitope gene product expressed by vaccine (page 18, 1st paragraph), at least epitope gene product meets the limitation “an amino acid sequence that is identical to the amino acid sequence of one or more naturally occurring epitope contained in an antigenic polypeptide that is expressed by the disease causing agent” because it is well known in the art that epitopes are isolated from polypeptide expressed by disease causing agent such as viruses or bacteria.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Bell teaches CaP nanoparticles further includes carbohydrate derivatives (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 30, Ledebur teaches for effective nucleic acid based vaccines, co-expression of costimulatory proteins, including IL-2 and GM-CSF have been demonstrated to enhance the immune response to an encoded antigen (page 18, line 7-10). It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art to include nucleotide sequence encoding GM-CSF to the expression cassette that expresses the antigen based on such teaching. Based on the knowledge in prior art as evidence by the teaching from Mulder (Nature reviews, 2019, Vol.18, pages 553-566), GM-CSF controls trained immunity (Figure 2 and legend, page 555, 1st col., 1st paragraph) and meets the limitation of innate trained immunity cell immunomodulator.
Claim(s) 8 , 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledebur, Bell and Sokolova, as applied to claims 1, 5-7, 13, 14 and 16 above, and further in view of Jin (cited previously). This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
The teaching from Ledebur, Bell and Sokolova has been discussed above. However, none of the reference specially teaches βglucan as immunoadjuvant.
Jin teaches βglucan is a group of polysaccharides exits in many organism species including mushroom, yeast, oats, barley, seaweed and have a variety of biological activities (abstract). Jin teaches βglucan can regulate immune responses when administered alone and can connect innate and adaptive immunity to improve immunogenicity of vaccines (Table 2, page 5238, 1st col., 2nd paragraph, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph, and Table 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that βglucan may be used as an adjuvant to the vaccine composition render obvious by Ledebur, Bell and Sokolova. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use βglucan adjuvant because of its known immuno-potentiating effect taught by Jin, and would have reasonable expectation of success following combined teaching from Ledebur, Bell, Sokolova and Jin. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 8 and 15 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Regarding claim 11, Ledebur teaches multiple antigens or epitope gene product expressed by vaccine (page 18, 1st paragraph), at least epitope gene product meets the limitation “an amino acid sequence that is identical to the amino acid sequence of one or more naturally occurring epitope contained in an antigenic polypeptide that is expressed by the disease causing agent” because it is well known in the art that epitopes are isolated from polypeptide expressed by disease causing agent such as viruses or bacteria.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledebur, Bell, Sokolova and Goh, as applied to claims 2, 9, 23-25, 27, 28 and 29 above, and further in view of Jin. This is a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
The teaching from Ledebur, Bell Sokolova and Goh has been discussed above. However, none of the reference specially teaches βglucan as immunoadjuvant.
Jin teaches βglucan is a group of polysaccharides exits in many organism species including mushroom, yeast, oats, barley, seaweed and have a variety of biological activities (abstract). Jin teaches βglucan can regulate immune responses when administered alone and can connect innate and adaptive immunity to improve immunogenicity of vaccines (Table 2, page 5238, 1st col., 2nd paragraph, 2nd col., 2nd paragraph, and Table 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that βglucan may be used as an adjuvant to the vaccine composition render obvious by Ledebur, Bell, Sokolova and Goh. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use βglucan adjuvant because of its known immuno-potentiating effect taught by Jin, and would have reasonable expectation of success following combined teaching from Ledebur, Bell, Sokolova and Jin. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 26 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CELINE X QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637