DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-6, and 9-24 are currently pending
Claims 1 and 3-4 are amended
Claim 2 has been cancelled
Claims 16-23 have been previously withdrawn
New claim 24 has been added
Status of Amendments
The amendment filed 5 June 2026 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
Status of Objections and Rejections of the Office Action from 26 March 2026
The 103 rejections over Mitate in view of Lho and further in view of Huang have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, a new grounds of rejection over Mitate in view of Okuda and over Mitate in view of Okuda further in view of Huang has been set forth, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 recites “the positive electrode active material is a nickel-based layered compound having a crystal structure belonging to space group R-3m,” citing support in paragraphs [0060]-[0071] of the published application (US 20230104888 A1), corresponding to paragraphs [0048]-[0059] of the instant specification. There is insufficient support for this limitation in the instant specification. The cited portion recites “as described above, a positive electrode active material such as a positive electrode active material which is a nickel-based layered compound having a crystal structure belonging to the space group R-3m generally requires a certain amount of oxygen during reaction with the lithium source. In particular, in order to obtain a positive electrode active material with a high Ni content, a high oxygen partial pressure is required” [instant 0049]. However, there are no further references in the rest of the instant specification to the nickel-based compound being layered or having a crystal structure belonging to space group R-3m. Instead, the “as described above” appears to be referring to the requirement that oxygen be present when reacting with a lithium source to produce positive electrode active materials. Although the instant specification discloses a nickel-based layered compound having a crystal structure belonging to the space group R-3m as being an example of a positive electrode active material, this is not considered to sufficiently disclose the presently claimed method as being capable of producing the compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-10, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitate et al. (US 5985488 A), hereinafter Mitate, in view of Okuda et al. (JP 2002184403 A), hereinafter Okuda.
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, and 10, Mitate teaches a method for producing a positive electrode active material for non-aqueous electrolyte secondary batteries, as required by claim 1 (col. 1, lines 7-9), containing at least lithium and nickel (col. 1, lines 10-11), the method comprising at least, in this order:
a step (1) of mixing a precursor compound containing at least nickel with a lithium compound in a non-solvent system to prepare a mixture (col. 3, lines 42-53);
a step (2) of subjecting the mixture to preliminary calcination at 300°C to 700°C, which overlaps with the claimed 450°C to 700°C (col. 12, lines 10-19); and
a step (3) of subjecting the mixture after the preliminary calcination to main calcination at 700°C to 950°C, which overlaps with the claimed 700°C to 880°C, as required by claim 10, under an oxygen atmosphere (col. 12, lines 46-51); and
wherein the positive electrode active material has a composition represented by LiaNibM1-bO2, in this case LiNi1-xMxO2 (col. 7, lines 13-16), in which M contains at least one of Co and Al (col. 7, lines 17-20), as also required by claim 4, a=1, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.95≤a≤1.15, and x is 0≤x≤0.5 (col. 7, line 15), which is equivalent to 0.5≤b≤1 and overlaps with the claimed 0.80≤b<1 of claim 1 and the claimed 0.82≤b≤0.98 of claim 3. It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to select calcination temperatures and an active material composition within the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Mitate is silent as to the preliminary calcination taking place under a non-oxygen atmosphere. However, Okuda teaches a method for producing a lithium nickel composite oxide having a composition represented by LiNiaM'bO2, wherein M' is at least one selected from Co, Mn, Al and Fe; 0.05<a<0.95; 0.05<b<0.5 [0017], comprising mixing a nickel precursor compound [0060] with a lithium compound [0061], preliminarily firing the resulting composite oxide precursor at 300°C to 600°C in a nitrogen atmosphere [0039, 0061], and firing the precursor at 400°C to 900°C in an oxygen atmosphere to obtain the lithium nickel composite oxide [0038, 0061].
Mitate and Okuda are both considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lithium nickel composite oxide positive electrode material preparation methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preliminary calcination of Mitate to be under a nitrogen atmosphere, as taught by Okuda. Doing so would have allowed for more uniform dispersion of the lithium compound [0039] and prevented the individual particles from binding too tightly together [0061], lessening the need for further pulverization [0040] and allowing for a faster rate of production. Examiner acknowledges that Okuda does not specify an oxygen concentration of the nitrogen atmosphere. However, someone of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the presence of oxygen could lead to premature reaction in the precursor, resulting in non-uniform dispersion and undesired aggregation. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to perform the preliminary calcination in a nitrogen atmosphere having an oxygen concentration of 1 vol% or less. Examiner further acknowledges that the method of Okuda involves mixing the raw materials in a solvent. However, the resulting product is then spray dried, which removes the solvent before the subsequent calcination steps [0029]. Therefore, someone of ordinary skill in the art would expect the calcination teachings of Okuda to still apply to the non-solvent system of Mitate.
Regarding claim 5, modified Mitate teaches the method according to claim 1. Mitate further teaches lithium hydroxide being used as the lithium compound (col. 6, lines 19-21).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mitate teaches the method according to claim 1. Mitate further teaches at least one of a compound of an element other than lithium, nickel, and oxygen and an additive compound containing an element which is not substituted in the precursor compound being further mixed to the precursor compound and the lithium compound, in this case an organic acid (col. 3, lines 64-67) or a third component compound (col. 7, lines 9-13).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mitate teaches the method according to claim 1. Mitate further teaches the oxygen atmosphere being an atmosphere with an oxygen concentration of 50 vol% to 100 vol% (col. 12, lines 46-53). This overlaps with the claimed 80 vol% or more. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art to select an oxygen atmosphere oxygen concentration within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 24, modified Mitate teaches the method according to claim 1. Mitate further teaches the positive electrode active material being a nickel-based compound having a crystal structure, in this case lithium nickelate crystals (col. 7, line 1). Modified Mitate does not specify the material having a crystal structure belonging to space group R-3m. However, modified Mitate teaches a product composition, in this case LiNi1-xMxO2 (col. 7, lines 13-16), in which M contains at least one of Co and Al (col. 7, lines 17-20), a=1, and x is 0≤x≤0.5 (col. 7, line 15), and process, in this case mixing a precursor compound containing at least nickel with a lithium compound in a non-solvent system to prepare a mixture (col. 3, lines 42-53), subjecting the mixture to preliminary calcination at 300°C to 700°C (col. 12, lines 10-19), and subjecting the mixture after the preliminary calcination to main calcination at 700°C to 950°C under an oxygen atmosphere (col. 12, lines 46-51), that are substantially identical to those of the claimed product. Therefore, someone of ordinary skill in the art would expect the resulting substantially identical positive electrode active material of Mitate to be a nickel-based layered compound having a crystal structure belonging to space group R-3m. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitate in view of Okuda, as applied above, further in view of Huang et al. (US 20200099047 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Modified Mitate teaches the method according to claim 1. Modified Mitate is silent as to a temperature at a time of the main calcination being lowered to cool the positive electrode active material to a desired temperature after performing the main calcination. However, Huang teaches a method for preparing a lithium nickel oxide composite material comprising a mixture of a lithium source and a nickel source undergoing three calcination steps where the third calcination is carried out at 150-350°C [0013] under a nitrogen atmosphere [0015], which is lower than that of the main calcination, as required by claim 11. Huang does not specify an oxygen concentration for the nitrogen atmosphere. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the same nitrogen atmosphere used in the preliminary calcination, as taught by Okuda, could be reused for the third calcination taught by Huang. Therefore, the nitrogen atmosphere, as required by claim 15, would be expected to have an oxygen concentration that is lower than an air atmosphere, as required by claim 12, 5 vol% or less, as required by claim 13, and 1 vol% or less, as required by claims 14 and 15.
Mitate and Huang are both considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of lithium nickel oxide positive electrode active material preparation methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitate with the third calcination of Huang. Doing so would have helped prevent the absorption of water and improved the suitability of the material for large scale applications [Huang, 0005].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN VAN KIRK/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722