DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/11/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6, 10 15, 20-25have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yun (Pub No 20200178135).
Regarding claim 1,
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach transmitting identification information in the system information broadcast (SIB).
The examiner relies on newly cited Yun to teach the limitation.
The applicant argues that the prior art Ziren does not teach cell configuration information.
The examiner relies on newly cited Yun to teach the limitation.
All other arguments are fully addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10 15, 20-22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yun (Pub No 20200178135)
Regarding claim 1 and 15,
Yun teaches a handover method, being applicable to a terminal device and comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, a plurality of sets of cell configuration information; (interpreted as the connection configuration information and activation time of the two satellite base stations (i.e., satellite base stations #2 and #3) are transmitted to the terminal, see para [0141])
receiving, by the terminal device, first indication information transmitted by a network
device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the terminal device to perform cell handover based on one of the plurality of sets of cell configuration information, and the first indication information comprises identification information of a first target cell and information of a first activation time, the information of the first activation time and the identification information of the first target cell are carried in a system information broadcast (SIB), and the first activation time is related to a time when feeder link switch occurs in a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and (interpreted as the satellite base station #1 may transfer to the terminal information on the target base station (i.e., the satellite base station #2) and connection configuration information (including the connection configuration information received from the satellite base station #2 in the step S950) to be applied with respect to the satellite base station #2. In addition, in the step S960, the satellite base station #1 may inform an activation time when the connection configuration information transmitted to the terminal is activated, see para [0128]. Also see the base station may provide the terminal with information (i.e., satellite identification information) of the satellite currently providing services to the terminal through connection configuration information using a dedicated channel, see para [0077]. Also see the base station may broadcast satellite identification information associated with a cell that is currently serviced through system information (SI) for 5G satellites, see para [0062])
performing, by the terminal device, handover to the first target cell handover
based on one set of cell configuration information corresponding to the first target cell among
the plurality of sets of cell configuration information when the first activation time arrives. (interpreted as performing a handover to a first target base station candidate among the at least one target base station candidate based on information received from the at least one target base station candidate at the activation time, see para [0008]).
Regarding claim 10,
Yun teaches a handover method, being applicable to a terminal device and comprising:
transmitting, by the network device, cell configuration information to a terminal device,
the cell configuration information being used for the terminal device to hand over from a serving
cell to a target cell; and/or (interpreted as the connection configuration information and activation time of the two satellite base stations (i.e., satellite base stations #2 and #3) are transmitted to the terminal, see para [0141])
transmitting, by the network device, first indication information transmitted by a network
device, wherein the first indication information indicates that the terminal device to perform cell handover based on one of the plurality of sets of cell configuration information configured, the first indication information comprises identification information of a first target cell and information of a first activation time, the information of the first activation time and the identification information of the first target cell are carried in a system information broadcast (SIB), and the first activation time is related to a time when feeder link switch occurs in a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and (interpreted as the satellite base station #1 may transfer to the terminal information on the target base station (i.e., the satellite base station #2) and connection configuration information (including the connection configuration information received from the satellite base station #2 in the step S950) to be applied with respect to the satellite base station #2. In addition, in the step S960, the satellite base station #1 may inform an activation time when the connection configuration information transmitted to the terminal is activated, see para [0128]. Also see the base station may provide the terminal with information (i.e., satellite identification information) of the satellite currently providing services to the terminal through connection configuration information using a dedicated channel, see para [0077])
the identification information of the first target cell and the information of the first
activation time are used for the terminal device to perform handover to the first target cell handover
based on one set of cell configuration information corresponding to the first target cell among
the plurality of sets of cell configuration information when the first activation time arrives. (interpreted as performing a handover to a first target base station candidate among the at least one target base station candidate based on information received from the at least one target base station candidate at the activation time, see para [0008]).
Regarding claim 6,
Yun teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the identification information of the first target cell comprises at least one of: an identifier (ID) of the first target cell, a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the first target cell, a frequency point of the first target cell, a cell index of the first target cell, and an index of cell configuration information corresponding to the first target cell in the plurality of sets of cell configuration information. (interpreted as Information on the PCIDs for each satellite type may be predefined in the standard or preconfigured in the terminal through higher layer signaling (e.g., radio resource control (RRC) signaling). The terminal may identify the type of the satellite only by identifying the PCID of the satellite base station, and may predict a delay between the base station and the terminal, see para [0057])
Regarding claim 7,
Yun teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the information of the first activation time comprises at least one of: a specified time, a specified time period, and a specified time interval. (interpreted as When the activation time is represented by the SFN, the time when the next satellite (i.e., satellite base station #2) is activated may be defined by an SFN and a subframe number. The information transferred to the terminal may be valid only for (the activation time when the new satellite base station is activated ±alpha). After the valid time expires, the terminal should perform a reconfiguration procedure with the satellite base station #2, see para [0129])
Regarding claim 20,
Yun teaches A network device, comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store computer programs; and a processor configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to perform the method of claim 10. (see para [0149])
Regarding claim 21,
Yun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the first target
cell and the information of the first activation time are transmitted by the network device to the
terminal device together. (interpreted as the connection configuration information and activation time of the two satellite base stations (i.e., satellite base stations #2 and #3) are transmitted to the terminal, see para [0141])
Regarding claim 22,
Yun teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one or more of the plurality of sets of cells
configuration information is transmitted by a network device of a serving cell to the terminal
device. (interpreted as the connection configuration information and activation time of the two satellite base stations (i.e., satellite base stations #2 and #3) are transmitted to the terminal, see para [0141])
Regarding claim 24,
Yun teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
updating, by the terminal device, the plurality of sets of cell configuration information,
wherein part of configuration is updated. (interpreted as Alternatively, the satellite information mapping table mapped with the satellite identification information may be updated by a network with timer-based or revision number-based non-access stratum (NAS) messages or traffic. The terminal may acquire orbit information of a satellite that is currently providing services by using the satellite identification information received through system information, and infer the location of the satellite that is currently providing services by using the time of the terminal and the acquired orbit information of the satellite, see para [0063])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (Pub No 20200178135) further in view of Zhang (Pub No 20200367145)
Regarding claim 23,
Yun teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the plurality of sets of cell configuration information received are stored by the terminal device locally.
Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of sets of cell configuration information received are stored by the terminal device locally. (interpreted as the network configuration information is locally stored in the terminal device, see para [0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cell configuration as taught by Yun with the storage as taught by Zhang with the motivation being to use the information stored.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (Pub No 20200178135) further in view of Chen (Pub No 20210099926)
Regarding claim 25,
Yun teaches the method of claim 1, however do not teach wherein: the cell configuration information comprises secondary cell group (SCG) configuration information, and the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform primary secondary cell (PSCell) change from a serving PSCell to a target PSCell based on one of a plurality of sets of SCG configuration information.
Chen teaches wherein: the cell configuration information comprises secondary cell group (SCG) configuration information, and the first indication information indicates the terminal device to perform primary secondary cell (PSCell) change from a serving PSCell to a target PSCell based on one of a plurality of sets of SCG configuration information. (interpreted as SCG part may include configuration information related to the SCG. In one implementation, the conditional reconfiguration for changing from the source PSCell to the target PSCell may be in the SCG part of the RRC reconfiguration message. In one implementation, the RRC reconfiguration message may be transmitted from the MN to the UE via SRB1, see para [0181])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the handover to target cell as taught by Yun with the PSCell handover as taught by Chen with the motivation being to switch to more optimal cells.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461