DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20230050666 A1, and hereinafter “Li”), in view of Han et al. (US 20180097197 A1, and hereinafter “Han”), and in further view of Shin et al. (US 20220404867 A1, and hereinafter “Shin”), Sun (US 20230074489 A1, and hereinafter “Sun”), and Lindblad (US 20150325804 A1, and hereinafter “Lindblad”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an electronic device (Abstract : a display module and an electronic device), comprising:
a flexible panel (Fig. 4-5, [0073] : display screen 31 is a flexible display screen) having a foldable region (Fig. 4-5, [0073] : bending region 3182 is part of second part 35) and a non-foldable region (Fig. 4-5, [0073-0074] : non-bending region 3181 and 3183), wherein the foldable region has a folding axis (Fig. 4-6, [0073] : bending region 3182, which is part of second part 35, can fold about an axis); and
a supporting sheet (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : support member 32) disposed under the flexible panel (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : support member 32 is disposed under the display screen 31) and comprising a foldable portion (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : support member 32 comprises first connection plate member 322 that bends) and a non-foldable portion adjacent to the foldable portion (Fig. 4-5, [0073-0074] : non-bending region 3181 and 3183 are adjacent to the bending region 3182), wherein the foldable portion overlaps the foldable region (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : first connection plate member 322 is within the bending region 3182), and the foldable portion comprises:
a plurality of strip parts (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : plurality of strip parts of support member 32, as annotated by the drawing below), wherein the strip parts are arranged in a first direction perpendicular to the folding axis (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : strip parts are arranged in a first direction perpendicular to the folding axis); and
a plurality of edge parts (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : plurality of edge parts of support member 32, as annotated by the drawing below), wherein each of the edge parts is connected to an end of at least two of the strip parts (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : each edge parts is connected to an end of at least two strip parts); and
wherein one of the edge parts has a first width in the first direction (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : width of edge part in the first direction, as annotated by the drawing below) and has a first length in a second direction parallel to the folding axis (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : length of edge part in the second direction parallel to the folding axis, as annotated by the drawing below), and a ratio of the first length to the first width is greater than 2 (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] : as seen in the annotated figures, length of edge part is 1.37, width of edge part is 0.27, and the ratio of length to width is 5.07 which is greater than 2),
In the case applicant disagrees with the limitation a ration of the first length to the first width is greater than 2 is not taught by Li.
Han teaches the supporting sheet can have different shape and size of the support member and/or its hole to achieve desired stress endurance level (0068-0072 of Han).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length and the width of the edge parts of Li such that the ratio of length to width of the edge part is greater than 2 since providing specific dimensions of the support member and/or its holes is not new in the art and can be modified as taught by Han. Furthermore, change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, the modification to be within the range will ensure the optimal desired level of stress endurance and bending capability of the support member.
Li does not teach wherein an upper edge of the edge parts and at least a portion of an upper edge of the non-foldable portion are not aligned; and
a heat sink disposed under the supporting sheet and comprising a separation portion, wherein when the electronic device is in a folded state, the separation portion is separated from the supporting sheet,
wherein in a cross-sectional view, the one of the edge parts has a first edge close to the heat sink and a second edge away from the heat sink, and in the first direction a ratio of a width of the second edge to a width of the first edge is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 2.
Wherein in the cross-sectional view, the non-foldable portion has a third edge close to the heat stink and a fourth edge away from the heat sink, and in the first direction a width of the third edge is less than a width of the fourth edge.
However, Shin teaches a heat sink (Fig. 9, 12, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : shielding layer SHL, which can be a heat radiating layer, or heat radiating layer RHL) disposed under the supporting sheet (Fig. 9, 12, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL are disposed under support plate PLT1) and comprising a separation portion (Fig. 9, 12, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : end portions of shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL), wherein when the electronic device is in a folded state, the separation portion is separated from the supporting sheet (Fig. 9, 12, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : when the display device DD is folded, the end portions of shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL are separated from the support plate PLT1).
wherein in a cross-sectional view, the one of the edge parts has a first edge (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : outer edge of support plate PLT1) close to the heat sink (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : outer edge of support plate PLT1 is close to shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL) and a second edge (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : inner edge of support plate PLT1) away from the heat sink (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : inner edge of support plate PLT1 if away from the shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL), the first edge has a first width (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : outer edge of support plate PLT1 has first width), the second edge has a second width (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : inner edge of support plate PLT1 has second width),
Wherein in the cross-sectional view, the non-foldable portion has a third edge (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : outer edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region) close to the heat stink (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : outer edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region is close to shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL) and a fourth edge (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : inner edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region) away from the heat sink (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] : inner edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region is away from the shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the heat sink as taught by Shin into Li’s electronic device by adding the shielding layer and the heat radiating layer below the support member. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to prevent overheating of the device by improving the heating radiating performance of the device, and provide electromagnetic shielding for the device ([0168], [0176] of Shin).
However, Sun teaches wherein an upper edge of the edge parts (Fig. 1, 3-4, [0066] : upper edge of support strips 2) and at least a portion of an upper edge of the non-foldable portion (Fig. 1, 3-4, [0066] : upper edge of support plate 1) are not aligned (Fig. 1, 3-4, [0066] : upper edge of support strips 2 and upper edge of support plate 1 do not align).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate upper edge of the upper edge parts that are not aligned with upper edge of the non-foldable portion as taught by Sun into Li’s electronic device by reducing the total size of the edge parts (i.e. strip parts) to be smaller than the size of the non-foldable portion (i.e. non-bending region). The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to reduce damage onto the edge parts in the bending region by preventing the strip parts from being exposed, and being separated from the adhesive ([0066] of Sun).
Li as modified by Han, Shin, and Sun does not teach in the first direction a ratio of a width of the second edge to a width of the first edge is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 2,
and in the first direction a width of the third edge is less than a width of the fourth edge.
However, Lindblad teaches in the first direction a ratio of a width of the second edge (Fig. 4, 9, [0040] : first length a, in region where flexible display 115 can fold) to a width of the first edge (Fig. 4, 9, [0040] : second length b, in region where flexible display 115 can fold) is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 2 (Fig. 4, 9, [0040] of Lindblad : as annotated by the drawing below, second length b is 1.02, first length a is 1.47, and the ratio of first length a to second length b is 1.44 which is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 2),
and in the first direction a width of the third edge (Fig. 4, 9-10, [0040] : second length b, in region where flexible display 115 does not fold) is less than a width of the fourth edge (Fig. 4, 9-10, [0040] : first length a, in region where flexible display 115 does not fold; second length b is less than first length a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first width that is less than the second width, and a width of third edge less than width of fourth edge as taught by Lindblad into Li, Han, and Shin combination’s electronic device by modifying the shape of the support member such that the shapes of the support member are tapered. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to improve bending by controlling the maximum angle at which the support member can bend through adjusting the dimensions of the support member of the display ([0006] of Lindblad).
Regarding claim 2, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ratio of the first length to the first width is greater than 2, and less than or equal to 20 (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : as seen in the annotated figures, length of edge part is 1.37, width of edge part is 0.27, and the ratio of length to width is 5.07 which is greater than 2, and less than or equal to 20).
Regarding claim 3, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the foldable portion further comprises a plurality of connecting parts (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : plurality of connecting part of support member 32, as annotated by the drawing below), one of the connecting parts connects the at least two of the strip parts (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : connecting parts of support member 32 connects at least two strip parts), the one of the connecting parts has a second length in the second direction parallel to the folding axis (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : length of connecting part in the second direction parallel to the folding axis, as annotated by the drawing below), and the first length is greater than the second length (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : as seen by the annotated figures, length of edge part is greater than the length of connecting part).
Regarding claim 4, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 3, wherein a ratio of the first length to the second length is greater than or equal to 5, and less than or equal to 20 (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : as seen by the annotated figures, length of edge part is 1.37, length of connecting part is 0.17, and the ratio of length of edge part to length of connecting part is 8.05 which is greater than or equal to 5, and less than or equal to 20).
Regarding claim 5, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 3, wherein a hole (Fig. 7-11, [0118-0120] of Li : first groove 3226 is a strip hole) is defined by the at least two of the strip parts, the one of the connecting parts, and the one of the edge parts (Fig. 7-11, [0118-0120] of Li : first groove 3226 is defined by at least two strip parts, one connecting part, and one edge part), the hole has a third length in the second direction parallel to the folding axis (Fig. 7-11, [0118-0120] of Li : length of the first groove 3226 in the second direction parallel to the folding axis, as annotated by the drawing below), and a ratio of the first length to the third length is greater than or equal to 0.3, and less than or equal to 0.6 (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : as seen by the annotated figures, length of edge part is 1.37, length of hole is 2.48, and the ratio of length of edge part to length of hole is 0.55 which is greater than or equal to 0.3, and less than or equal to 0.6).
Regarding claim 6, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 5, wherein a volume of the hole is greater than or equal to 0.05 mm3 and less than or equal to 0.3 mm3 (Fig. 7-11, [0094], [0108], [0118] of Li : height H1 of metal part 3221 ranges from 0.015 to 0.3 mm, width d1 ranges from 0.15 to 3 mm, length of the hole, as annotated by the drawing below, ranges from 2.07 to 41.3 mm, and the volume of the hole ranges from 0.0046 mm3 to 37.1999 mm3, which can be greater than 0.005 mm3 and less than or equal to 0.3 mm3).
Regarding claim 7, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the edge parts are spaced apart from each other by a distance (Fig. 7-11, [0121] of Li : edge parts are spaced apart from each other by width d2), and a ratio of the first width to the distance is greater than or equal to 0.3, and less than or equal to 2 (Fig. 7-11, [0121] of Li : as seen by the annotated figures, width of edge part is 0.27, width d2 is 0.18, as annotated by the drawing below, and the ratio of width of edge part to width d2 is 1.5 which is greater than or equal to 0.3, and less than or equal to 2).
Regarding claim 14, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first width is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.5 mm (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108], [0121] of Li : since width d2 ranges from 0.15 to 3 mm, width of edge part can range from 0.225 to 4.5 mm, which can be greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.5 mm).
Regarding claim 15, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first length is greater than or equal to 1 mm and less than or equal to 3 mm (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108], [0121] of Li : since width d2 ranges from 0.15 to 3 mm, length of edge part can range from 1.142 to 22.833 mm, which can be greater than or equal to 1 mm and less than or equal to 3 mm).
Regarding claim 17, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the supporting sheet has a thickness in the third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 7-11, [0108], [0118] of Li : height H1 of metal part 3221 in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction), and the thickness is greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.2 mm (Fig. 7-11, [0108], [0118] of Li : height H1 of metal part 3221 ranges from 0.015 to 0.3 mm, width d1 ranges from 0.15 to 3 mm, and can be greater than or equal to 0.1 mm and less than or equal to 0.2 mm).
Regarding claim 18, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an adhesive layer (Fig. 7-11, [0096] of Li : adhesive 39) disposed between the flexible panel and the supporting sheet (Fig. 7-11, [0096] of Li : adhesive 39 is disposed between display screen 31, and support member 32).
Regarding claim 20, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 18, wherein the heat sink is bonded to the supporting sheet via the adhesive layer (Fig. 9, 12-14, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] of Shin : shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL are bonded to the support plate PLT1 via adhesive layers AL7 and AL8).
Claim(s) 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination as applied above, in view of Xiong et al. (US 20230119924 A1, and hereinafter “Xiong”), and in further view of Wang (US 20240045471 A1, and hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 10, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the supporting sheet further comprises a non-foldable portion adjacent to the foldable portion (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108], [0121] of Li : non-bending region 3181 and 3183 of display panel 31 and the support member 32 are adjacent to the bending region 3182), the non-foldable portion has a first rounded corner adjacent to the edge parts of the foldable portion (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108], [0121] of Li : support member 32 has a first rounded corner adjacent to the edge parts of the bending region 3182, as annotated by the drawing below), one of the edge parts has a second rounded corner adjacent to the first rounded corner (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108], [0121] of Li : edge parts has a second rounded corner adjacent to the first rounded corner).
Additionally, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad shows that the edge parts and the strip parts of the foldable portion can be expanded (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108], [0121] of Li : metal part 3221, and grooves 3226 and 3227 can be expanded throughout the bending area 3182)
Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad does not teach and a radius of curvature of the second rounded corner is less than a radius of curvature of the first rounded corner.
However, Xiong teaches and a radius of curvature of the second rounded corner (Fig. 2, 4 : radius of curvature of support member 2 in bendable region 3) is less than a radius of curvature of the first rounded corner (Fig. 2, 4 : as seen in the annotated figures, radius of curvature of support member 2 in bendable region 3 is less than the radius of curvature of support member 2 in transitional region 2, as annotated by the drawing below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radius of curvature of the first rounded corner and the second rounded corner such that the radius of curvature of the second rounded corner is less than the radius of curvature of the first rounded corner since providing specific dimensions and/or ratio of the support member is not new in the art, and change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, the modification to be within the range will ensure the optimal desired level of stress endurance and bending capability of the support member at different portions. Additionally, having strip parts, edge parts, and holes throughout the foldable portion is known as evidence by Wang (Fig. 1-4, [0056] : flexible area FA of support plate 12 has holes 111 throughout the flexible area FA).
Regarding claim 11, Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination as modified by Xiong and Wang teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the radius of curvature of the first rounded corner is greater than or equal to 0.05 mm, and less than or equal to 0.5 mm (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li, and Fig. 2, 4 of Xiong : as seen in the annotated figures, radius of curvature of edge part is 0.11, width d2 is 0.18, and the ratio of radius of curvature of edge part to width d2 is 0.611, as annotated by the drawing below, and since the width d2 ranges from 0.15 to 3 mm, the radius of curvature of edge part ranges from 0.0917 to 1.8333 mm, which can be greater than or equal to 0.05 mm, and less than or equal to 0.5 mm; the ratio of radius of curvature of support member 2 in bendable region 3 to the radius of curvature of support member 2 in transitional region 2 is 0.257, and since the radius of curvature of edge part ranges from 0.0917 to 1.8333 mm, radius of curvature of support member 2 in transitional region 2 is 0.356 to 7.130 mm, which can be greater than or equal to 0.05 mm, and less than nor equal to 0.5 mm).
Regarding claim 12, Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination as modified by Xiong and Wang teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the radius of curvature of the second rounded corner is greater than or equal to 0.03 mm, and less than or equal to 0.1 mm (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li, and Fig. 2, 4 of Xiong : as seen in the annotated figures radius of curvature of edge part is 0.11, width d2 is 0.18, and the ratio of radius of curvature of edge part to width d2 is 0.611, as annotated by the drawing below, and since the width d2 ranges from 0.15 to 3 mm, the radius of curvature of edge part ranges from 0.0917 to 1.8333 mm, which can be greater than or equal to 0.03 mm, and less than or equal to 0.1 mm).
Regarding claim 13, Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination as modified by Xiong and Wang teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the number of edge parts adjacent to the non-foldable portion is greater than or equal to 10 and less than or equal to 20 (Fig. 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li, Fig. 3 of Wang : the number of edge parts of the support member 32 adjacent to the non-bending area 3181 and 3183 can be 20, or other numbers, and can be greater than or equal to 10 and less than or equal to 20).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination as applied above, in view of Tang (CN 113066380 A, employing the provided machine translation, and hereinafter “Tang”).
Regarding claim 16, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the foldable region has a width in the second direction parallel to the folding axis (Fig. 5, 7-11, [0100-0108] of Li : bending region 3182 has a width in the second direction parallel to the folding axis).
Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad does not teach and a ratio of the first length to the width of the foldable region is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.05.
However, Tang teaches and a ratio of the first length to the width of the foldable region is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.05 (Fig. 4, Lines 245-250 : as annotated by the drawing below, length of edge part of supporting part 1021a is 0.28. and the width of the bending part 1011a of the supporting part 1021a is 6.63, and the ratio of length of edge part to width of the bending part is 0.042 which is greater than or equal to 0.01, and less than or equal to 0.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the foldable region such that the ratio of length of the edge part to the width of the foldable region is greater than or equal to 0.01 and less than or equal to 0.05 since providing specific dimensions of the support member and/or its holes is not new in the art, and change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, the modification to be within the range will ensure the optimal desired level of stress endurance, bending capability, and total screen size of the support member and the display panel. Additionally, changing the sizes and shapes of the support member and/or its hole to achieve desired stress endurance level is known as evidence by Han et al. (US 20180097179, and hereinafter “Han”) (0068-0072 of Han).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination as applied above, in view of Kim et al. (US 20210029841 A1, and hereinafter “Kim”), and in further view of Chambers (employing the referenced non-patent literature “Double Sided Tape 101: Thin Bonding Series,” and hereinafter “Chambers”).
Regarding claim 19, Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 18.
Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad does not teach further comprising a base layer inserted into the adhesive layer to form a double-sided adhesive structure.
However, Kim teaches further comprising a base layer inserted into the adhesive layer to form a double-sided adhesive structure (Fig. 4, [0072] : adhesive members P1, P2, and P3 can include an optical clear adhesive, pressure sensitive adhesive, heat reactive adhesive, general adhesive, or double-sided tape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the double-sided adhesive structure as taught by Kim into Li, Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad combination’s electronic device by replacing the adhesive with the double-sided tape. The suggestion / motivation for doing so would be to improve the adhesion, and hold together different materials (Chambers) that are on the two sides of the adhesive. Additionally, a double-sided adhesive having a base layer between the adhesive layers is known as evidence by Chambers (The Carrier Makes a Double Sided Tape Double Sided of Chambers).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that the examiner has failed to establish proper prima facie case of anticipation for the claim 1 because “Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references do not disclose or suggest that the cross-sectional view, the non-foldable portion has a third edge close to the heat sink and a fourth edge away from the heat sink, and in the first direction a width of the third edge is less than a width of the fourth edge. As discussed during the above-referenced interview, the cited references do not disclose or suggest any features relating to different widths of the edges of the non-foldable portion. The combination of features in amended claim 1 enhances the bonding force between the supporting sheet and the flexible panel while reducing the bonding force between the supporting sheet and the heat sink, thereby smoothing the folding of the electronic device.”
Upon further consideration, the office respectfully disagrees.
Claim 1 states “wherein in the cross-sectional view, the non-foldable portion has a third edge close to the heat sink and a fourth edge away from the heat sink, and in the first direction a width of the third edge is less than a width of the fourth edge.”
Li as modified by Han, Shin, Sun, and Lindblad teaches wherein in the cross-sectional view, the non-foldable portion has a third edge (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] of Shin : outer edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region) close to the heat sink (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] of Shin : outer edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region is close to shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL) and a fourth edge (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] of Shin : inner edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region) away from the heat sink (Fig. 12-13, [0168-0170], [0175-0176] of Shin : inner edge of support plate PLT1 in the non-bending region is away from the shielding layer SHL and heat radiating layer RHL), and in the first direction a width of the third edge (Fig. 4, 9-10, [0040] of Lindblad : second length b, in region where flexible display 115 does not fold) is less than a width of the fourth edge (Fig. 4, 9-10, [0040] of Lindblad : first length a, in region where flexible display 115 does not fold; second length b is less than first length a).
Thus, the limitation of claim 1 is met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/KEON NMN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841