DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments, filed on 06/20/2025, have been received and made of record. In response to the most recent Office Action, dated 03/26/2025, claims 1, 9 and 10 have been amended and claim 20 has been added. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed on 06/20/2025, have been entered and fully considered. In light of the amendments, the Applicant has presented a set of arguments pointing out their rational of how the prior art references made of record in the most recent Office Action do not teach the currently recited claim limitations. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive on the grounds that the amendments made by the Applicant are not supported by the disclosure and introduce new matter. The Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 10 to incorporate the limitations of “wherein the inverter circuit does not contain a heater or cooler” and “a humidity sensor”. Applicant on page 9 of their submitted remarks states that no new matter has been introduced by the foregoing amendments which the Examiner respectfully disagrees with. The disclosure of the application only supports the portion of “wherein the inverter circuit does not contain a heater” it does not support the limitation of not containing a cooler. For example, Paragraphs 0004-0005, 0008 and 0018 of the Application’s Patent Application Publication each recite language citing the exclusion of a heating apparatus. However, none of the disclosure ever recites any language regarding a cooler or an element used for cooling purposes. To have proper support any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196 (CCPA 1977). In this case the disclosure of the application does not provide proper support for this negative limitation and thus is determined to not be supported by the written description and considered new matter. The amendments submitted by the Applicant have been reviewed without the limitation of the cooler being recognized. In light of that the Examiner believes the prior art reference Zhang (CN 107517010 A) still teaches the claim limitations recited in the claims as it does not teach a heater and teaches a humidity sensor in Paragraph 039 of the Translation Document attached to the Zhang reference. Furthermore, Zhang also teaches the limitation of adjusting at least one following parameter of the inverter to increase a loss of the inverter to increase the operating temperature of the inverter or reduce the operating humidity of the inverter in Translation Paragraph 01 which highlights that the switching frequency is changed to increase temperature and reduce humidity. Based on this reasoning the Examiner believes that the prior art reference still reads on the valid claim limitations currently recited in claims 1 and 10. A modified rejection is provided below in light of the amendments presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, claims 1 and 10 have each been amended to incorporate the newly recited limitation of “wherein the inverter circuit does not contain a heater or cooler”. This limitation is not supported by the specification as there is no recitation regarding a cooler or any cooling element. The disclosure of the application only supports the portion of “wherein the inverter circuit does not contain a heater” it does not support the limitation of not containing a cooler. For example, Paragraphs 0004-0005, 0008 and 0018 of the Application’s Patent Application Publication each recite language citing the exclusion of a heating apparatus. However, none of the disclosure ever recites any language regarding a cooler or an element used for cooling purposes. To have proper support any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196 (CCPA 1977). In this case the disclosure of the application does not provide proper support for this negative limitation and thus is determined to not be supported by the written description and considered new matter. For purposes of examination the Examiner has interpreted the claims as not containing the language of a cooler. Claims 2-9 and 18-19 depend upon claim 1 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 1. Claims 11-17 and 20 depend upon claim 10 and inherit the deficiencies of claim 10.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 107517010 A – Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an inverter (Figure 1), comprising: an inverter circuit (Figure 1 Components converting DC/AC are the inverter circuits), wherein the inverter circuit is configured to convert a direct current at an input terminal of the inverter circuit into an alternating current (Figure 1 Switch Components on the right side of the converter are converter the DC link voltage to AC voltages); wherein the inverter circuit does not contain a heater or cooler (See 112(a) Rejection for Interpretation; Figure 1 does not contain a heater but does contain a cooler); and a controller (Figures 2 and 3; Translation Paragraphs 027-028; Translation Paragraph 01) and a humidity sensor (Translation Paragraph 039), wherein the controller is configured to: when at least one of an output power of the inverter circuit, an output current of the inverter circuit, an operating temperature of the inverter, or an operating humidity of the inverter meets a corresponding preset condition (Figures 2 and 3; Translation Paragraphs 011-019, 08), adjust at least one following parameter of the inverter to increase a loss of the inverter to increase the operating temperature of the inverter or reduce the operating humidity of the inverter (Translation Paragraph 01 highlights that the switching frequency is changed to increase temperature and reduce humidity), wherein the corresponding preset condition is as follows: the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than a preset power, the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than a preset current, the operating temperature of the inverter is lower than a preset temperature, or the operating humidity of the inverter is higher than a preset humidity; and the at least one parameter comprises at least one of an operating frequency, an operating voltage, and an operating current (Translation Paragraph 01 “comparing the set value with a radiator temperature, and carrying out on-line adjusting on a power device switch frequency to change a switch frequency so that temperatures of a radiator in the cabinet and a water circulation pipeline are higher than the condensation point temperature Ts, ref of the air in the cabinet and condensation is prevented. When power of the converter is decreased, through changing the switch frequency in short time, losses of the converter are increased and a temperature of a water-cooling radiator is controlled to be higher than the condensation point temperature of the air in the cabinet so as to avoid a condensation phenomenon. In the method, a control strategy of the converter needs to be corrected, other equipment does not need to be added, a dynamic response is fast and a stepless temperature control capability is possessed”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: when the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset power (Translation Paragraphs 08 and 019) or the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset current, and the operating temperature of the inverter is lower than the preset temperature (Translation Paragraphs 012-019), increase the loss of the inverter (Translation Paragraphs 012-019).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: when the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset power (Translation Paragraphs 08 and 019) or the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset current, and the operating humidity of the inverter is higher than the preset humidity, increase the loss of the inverter (Translation Paragraphs 012-019; these passages highlight that the switching frequency is increased to increase losses and temperature to reduce condensation).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the preset power is a currently maximum power of the direct current power supply (Figure 3 and Paragraphs 012-019 and 08).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches a control method (Figures 2 and 3) for an inverter (Figure 1), wherein the inverter comprises an inverter circuit (Figure 1 Components converting DC/AC are the inverter circuits); the inverter circuit is configured to convert a direct current at an input terminal of the inverter circuit into an alternating current (Figure 1 Switch Components on the right side of the converter are converter the DC link voltage to AC voltages); and the method comprises: when at least one of an output power of the inverter circuit, an output current of the inverter circuit, an operating temperature of the inverter, or an operating humidity of the inverter meets a corresponding preset condition (Figures 2 and 3; Translation Paragraphs 011-019, 08), adjusting at least one following parameter of the inverter to increase a loss of the inverter to increase the operating temperature of the inverter or reduce the operating humidity of the inverter (Translation Paragraph 01 highlights that the switching frequency is changed to increase temperature and reduce humidity), wherein the corresponding preset condition is as follows: the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than a preset power, the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than a preset current, the operating temperature of the inverter is lower than a preset temperature, or the operating humidity of the inverter is higher than a preset humidity; and the at least one parameter comprises at least one of an operating frequency, an operating voltage, and an operating current (Translation Paragraph 01 “comparing the set value with a radiator temperature, and carrying out on-line adjusting on a power device switch frequency to change a switch frequency so that temperatures of a radiator in the cabinet and a water circulation pipeline are higher than the condensation point temperature Ts, ref of the air in the cabinet and condensation is prevented. When power of the converter is decreased, through changing the switch frequency in short time, losses of the converter are increased and a temperature of a water-cooling radiator is controlled to be higher than the condensation point temperature of the air in the cabinet so as to avoid a condensation phenomenon. In the method, a control strategy of the converter needs to be corrected, other equipment does not need to be added, a dynamic response is fast and a stepless temperature control capability is possessed”); and wherein the inverter circuit does not contain a heater or cooler (See 112(a) Rejection for Interpretation; Figure 1 does not contain a heater but does contain a cooler); and the inverter measure humidity using a humidity sensor (Translation Paragraph 039).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang further teaches wherein determining that the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset power or the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset current further comprises: determining that the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset power (Translation Paragraphs 08 and 019) or the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset current, and the operating temperature of the inverter is lower than the preset temperature (Translation Paragraphs 012-019).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang further teaches wherein determining that the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset power or the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset current further comprises: determining that the output power of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset power (Translation Paragraphs 08 and 019) or the output current of the inverter circuit is lower than the preset current, and the operating humidity of the inverter is higher than the preset humidity (Translation Paragraphs 012-019; these passages highlight that the switching frequency is increased to increase losses and temperature to reduce condensation).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang further teaches wherein the preset power is a currently maximum power of a direct current power supply (Figure 3 and Paragraphs 012-019 and 08).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107517010 A – Translation Attached) in view of Schill (EP 2469601 A2 – Translation Attached).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang does not teach a boost circuit, wherein an input terminal of the boost circuit is connected to a direct current power supply, and an output terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit; and the boost circuit is configured to boost a direct current from the direct current power supply at the input terminal of the boost circuit to a direct current at the output terminal of the boost circuit.
Schill teaches an inverter system (Figure 4), comprising: a direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 10), wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array (Translation Paragraph 0002); an inverter (Figure 4 Component 12) controlled by a controller (Figure 4 Component 20); a boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32), wherein an input terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 32 input is connected to Component 10), and an output terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit (Figure 4 Component 32 output is connected to Component 12); and the boost circuit is configured to boost a direct current from the direct current power supply at the input terminal of the boost circuit to a direct current at the output terminal of the boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32; Translation Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate using a DC source with a boost converter as taught by Schill. The advantage of this design is that the power source is a renewable power source which would enhance the efficiency of the system by reducing energy costs and the boost circuit will help ensure the voltage from the source is an adequate amount as solar power sources fluctuate.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang and Schill teach all the limitations of claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase a switching frequency of a semiconductor switching device in the boost circuit and/or the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Translation Paragraph 08).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang and Schill teach all the limitations of claim 3. Zhang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase the switching frequency of the semiconductor switching device in the boost circuit and/or the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Translation Paragraph 08).
Zhang in combination with Schill does not explicitly teach wherein the switching frequency is set to 150% or more of a rated switching frequency.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang to incorporate having a high switching frequency for the purposes of generating more heat and thus reducing the humidity even further.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang further teaches increasing an operating frequency of a semiconductor switching device in the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Translation Paragraph 08).
Zhang does not teach wherein the inverter further comprises a boost circuit connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit.
Schill teaches an inverter system (Figure 4), comprising: a direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 10), wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array (Translation Paragraph 0002); an inverter (Figure 4 Component 12) controlled by a controller (Figure 4 Component 20); a boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32), wherein an input terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 32 input is connected to Component 10), and an output terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit (Figure 4 Component 32 output is connected to Component 12); and the boost circuit is configured to boost a direct current from the direct current power supply at the input terminal of the boost circuit to a direct current at the output terminal of the boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32; Translation Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate using a DC source with a boost converter as taught by Schill. The advantage of this design is that the power source is a renewable power source which would enhance the efficiency of the system by reducing energy costs and the boost circuit will help ensure the voltage from the source is an adequate amount as solar power sources fluctuate.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang and Schill teach all the limitations of claim 11. Zhang further teaches wherein adjusting the operating frequency of the inverter to increase the loss of the inverter further comprises: increasing the switching frequency of the semiconductor switching device in the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Translation Paragraph 08).
Zhang in combination with Schill does not explicitly teach wherein the switching frequency is set to 150% or more of a rated switching frequency.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang to incorporate having a high switching frequency for the purposes of generating more heat and thus reducing the humidity even further.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang does not teach an inverter system, comprising a direct current power supply and the inverter according to claim 1, wherein an input terminal of the inverter is connected to the direct current power supply.
Schill teaches an inverter system (Figure 4), comprising: a direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 10), wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array (Translation Paragraph 0002); an inverter (Figure 4 Component 12) controlled by a controller (Figure 4 Component 20); a boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32), wherein an input terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 32 input is connected to Component 10), and an output terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit (Figure 4 Component 32 output is connected to Component 12); and the boost circuit is configured to boost a direct current from the direct current power supply at the input terminal of the boost circuit to a direct current at the output terminal of the boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32; Translation Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate using a DC source with a boost converter as taught by Schill. The advantage of this design is that the power source is a renewable power source which would enhance the efficiency of the system by reducing energy costs and the boost circuit will help ensure the voltage from the source is an adequate amount as solar power sources fluctuate.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang and Schill teach all the limitations of claim 18. Zhang does not teach wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array.
Schill teaches an inverter system (Figure 4), comprising: a direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 10), wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array (Translation Paragraph 0002); an inverter (Figure 4 Component 12) controlled by a controller (Figure 4 Component 20); a boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32), wherein an input terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 32 input is connected to Component 10), and an output terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit (Figure 4 Component 32 output is connected to Component 12); and the boost circuit is configured to boost a direct current from the direct current power supply at the input terminal of the boost circuit to a direct current at the output terminal of the boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32; Translation Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate using a DC source with a boost converter as taught by Schill. The advantage of this design is that the power source is a renewable power source which would enhance the efficiency of the system by reducing energy costs and the boost circuit will help ensure the voltage from the source is an adequate amount as solar power sources fluctuate.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang does not teach wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array.
Schill teaches an inverter system (Figure 4), comprising: a direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 10), wherein the direct current power supply is a photovoltaic module or a photovoltaic array (Translation Paragraph 0002); an inverter (Figure 4 Component 12) controlled by a controller (Figure 4 Component 20); a boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32), wherein an input terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the direct current power supply (Figure 4 Component 32 input is connected to Component 10), and an output terminal of the boost circuit is connected to the input terminal of the inverter circuit (Figure 4 Component 32 output is connected to Component 12); and the boost circuit is configured to boost a direct current from the direct current power supply at the input terminal of the boost circuit to a direct current at the output terminal of the boost circuit (Figure 4 Component 32; Translation Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate using a DC source with a boost converter as taught by Schill. The advantage of this design is that the power source is a renewable power source which would enhance the efficiency of the system by reducing energy costs and the boost circuit will help ensure the voltage from the source is an adequate amount as solar power sources fluctuate.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107517010 A – Translation Attached) in view of Kuroki (US 2020/0052642 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to increase a direct current bus voltage at the input terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter.
Kuroki teaches an inverter system (Figure 1), comprising: an inverter (Figure 1 component 22) and a DC bus voltage at the input terminal of the inverter (Figure 1 Component 23 is a DC link capacitor that generates the DC bus voltage going into the inverter), wherein configured to increase a direct current bus voltage at the input terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Paragraph 0037 “the DC link voltage becomes higher, switching loss of the inverter 13 increases”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate controlling the DC bus voltage to be higher for the purposes of generating more heat thus reducing the condensation.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang does not teach wherein adjusting the operating voltage of the inverter to increase the loss of the inverter further comprises: increasing a direct current bus voltage at the input terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter.
Kuroki teaches an inverter system (Figure 1), comprising: an inverter (Figure 1 component 22) and a DC bus voltage at the input terminal of the inverter (Figure 1 Component 23 is a DC link capacitor that generates the DC bus voltage going into the inverter), wherein configured to increase a direct current bus voltage at the input terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Paragraph 0037 “the DC link voltage becomes higher, switching loss of the inverter 13 increases”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate controlling the DC bus voltage to be higher for the purposes of generating more heat thus reducing the condensation.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107517010 A – Translation Attached) in view of Domel (US 2013/0330578 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to increase a reactive current at an output terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter.
Domel teaches an inverter system (Figure 1), comprising an inverter (Figure 1 Component 130) and a controller (Figure 1 Component 110), wherein the controller is further configured to increase a reactive current at an output terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Figure 2; Paragraph 0012 “The higher reactive current fraction serves to warm the traction battery to a temperature within the optimum operating temperature range. The temperature is raised by heat given off by the inverter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate increasing the reactive current for the purposes of generating more heat thus reducing the condensation.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Zhang does not teach wherein adjusting the operating current of the inverter to increase the loss of the inverter further comprises: increasing a reactive current at an output terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter.
Domel teaches an inverter system (Figure 1), comprising an inverter (Figure 1 Component 130) and a controller (Figure 1 Component 110), wherein the controller is further configured to increase a reactive current at an output terminal of the inverter circuit to increase the loss of the inverter (Figure 2; Paragraph 0012 “The higher reactive current fraction serves to warm the traction battery to a temperature within the optimum operating temperature range. The temperature is raised by heat given off by the inverter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhang and to incorporate increasing the reactive current for the purposes of generating more heat thus reducing the condensation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shahzeb K Ahmad/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838