DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are pending with claims 1-8 and 10-11 under examination (see below). Claims 12-14 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meggiolan (US 2002/0108249).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, Meggiolan discloses a tool device for manufacturing a rim (par. 0006, 0008) comprising: two molding devices (inner elements 8) and a circular device (outer element 9) (par. 0036-0037); wherein the molding devices each comprise contact surfaces (11) for forming at least part of a rim flank and rim flanges (“designed to delimit . . . the outer surface of the inner peripheral wall and the two sides (flanks) of the rim”), the circular device forms the rim well and the internal surfaces of the flanges (par. 0036-0037)(see Fig. 1-6), the circular device comprises an annular unit (Fig. 7, par. 0038 states that the ring can be split into sections), and the molding devices each comprise a molding unit; where in Fig. 9, the annular unit comprises a core of a less elastic material (the mold itself) and a “cover” (‘core’ in the reference) of a more elastic material (Fig. 9, par. 0041).
In Fig. 3, the “core” (14) is part of the outer element (9), while in Fig. 4 (and others), the “core” 14 is a separate element. In Fig. 9, this “core portion” is attached (or covers and thus is considered to be the cover within the claim) the extension of the mold which would map where the claimed “core” is located. To clarify further, the reference’s termed “core” would map to the claimed “cover.”
Meggiolan does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the cover being between 0.5 and 5 mm.
However, it has been held that changes in shape/size support a case of prima facie obviousness as well as a scaling up/down as to produce a scaled up/down product of the same type. A scaling up or down can involve producing a model of a much smaller or larger size than the original. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above to have specified that the cover is of an appropriate thickness to have molded an object as required to be sized. In the alternative, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified the thickness of the silicone sheath as provided by Meggiolan as is required to fit into the apparatus for a size of a rim being manufactured.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Meggiolan discloses the subject matter of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the cover as required in claims 3 or 10. It is noted that claim 1 requires “at least one cover” but does not require “a mold cover” or “a ring cover.”
However, as is outlined in claim 1 above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have modified the above to have specified the thicknesses of the parts are as to have produced an item of an appropriate size.
Regarding claim 6, Meggiolan discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that there are at least two spaced apart pressing rings (see Fig. 7) as to form the rim flanges.
Regarding claim 7, Meggiolan discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and the mold material is considered to be less elastic than the silicone as described in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Meggiolan discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the portion that is read to be the “cover” above (the core 14 as in par. 0041, Fig. 9) is a silicone sheath made in one piece or in sectors.
Regarding claim 11, this claim relates to the intended use of the claimed structure. As such, this is not limiting to the claimed device. See MPEP 2114.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claimed range of 0.1-5mm is critical, as demonstrated by the Instant Specification.
However, Examiner’s position is that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have scaled up or down the teachings of Meggiolan as to have produced a smaller or larger rim for a smaller or larger wheel rim. The claim is directed to “a thickness of the at least one cover” and the specification does not outline that this range is critical when the size of the entire system can be made to be smaller or larger as to produce model/toy wheel rims. It seems that the specific elasticity of the material being molded as well as the material of the mold itself, would also contribute to any pressure increase or decrease within the mold during operation. Accordingly, the rejections are maintained as updated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742