Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (US 2018/0186685).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9, Murayama discloses a chemically strengthened containing, in mole percentage on an oxide basis, 50 to 80% of SiO2, 1 to 30% of Al2O3, 0 to 6% of B2O3, 0 to 6% of P2O5, 0 to 20% of Li2O, 0 to 8% of Na2O, 0 to 10% of K2O, 0 to 20% of MgO, 0 to 20% of CaO, 0 to 20% of SrO, 0 to 15% of BaO, 0 to 10% of ZnO, 0 to 5% of TiO2, and 0 to 8% of ZrO2 [0033]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed parameters M, D, E and S, given the reference renders obvious the claimed composition, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass with the claimed parameters. For example, based on the composition disclosed by Murayama, the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s example 1 of Table 1, which has the claimed parameters.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, while the reference renders obvious the claimed composition (see above discussion), it does not specially disclose the compressive stress properties when the glass is subjected to the claimed strengthening. Given the glass of Murayama renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, however, it is expected the disclosed and claimed glasses will have similar properties when subjected to the same chemical strengthening, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claims 6-8, while the reference renders obvious the claimed composition (see above discussion), it does not specially disclose the claimed properties. Given the glass of Murayama renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, however, it is expected the disclosed and claimed glasses will have similar properties, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 10, Murayama discloses a chemically strengthened glass containing, in mole percentage on an oxide basis, 50 to 80% of SiO2, 1 to 30% of Al2O3, 0 to 6% of B2O3, 0 to 6% of P2O5, 0 to 20% of Li2O, 0 to 8% of Na2O, 0 to 10% of K2O, 0 to 20% of MgO, 0 to 20% of CaO, 0 to 20% of SrO, 0 to 15% of BaO, 0 to 10% of ZnO, 0 to 5% of TiO2, and 0 to 8% of ZrO2 [0033]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I. While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed Na2O concentration profile, it is expected the disclosed glass will have a maximum Na2O concentration at a depth of 1 micron or greater than the surface given the similar method of chemical strengthening between the disclosed and claimed glasses [0251]; see Applicant’s specification page 4 and MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the reference discloses the claimed compressive and tensile stresses, see Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 13, the reference discloses the compressive stress is 2000 MPa or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0073]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 14-17, while the reference renders obvious the claimed composition (see above discussion), it does not specially disclose the claimed properties. Given the glass of Murayama renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, however, it is expected the disclosed and claimed glasses will have similar properties, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 18, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed parameter S, given the reference renders obvious the claimed composition, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass with the claimed parameter S. For example, based on the composition disclosed by Murayama, the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s example 1 of Table 1, which has the claimed parameters.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783