DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (US 2018/0186685).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Murayama discloses a chemically strengthened containing, in mole percentage on an oxide basis, 50 to 80% of SiO2, 1 to 30% of Al2O3, 0 to 6% of B2O3, 0 to 6% of P2O5, 0 to 20% of Li2O, 0 to 8% of Na2O, 0 to 10% of K2O, 0 to 20% of MgO, 0 to 20% of CaO, 0 to 20% of SrO, 0 to 15% of BaO, 0 to 10% of ZnO, 0 to 5% of TiO2, and 0 to 8% of ZrO2 [0033]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed parameters M, D, E and S, given the reference renders obvious the claimed composition, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass with the claimed parameters. For example, based on the composition disclosed by Murayama, the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s example 1 of Table 1, which has the claimed parameters.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, while the reference renders obvious the claimed composition (see above discussion), it does not specially disclose the compressive stress properties when the glass is subjected to the claimed strengthening. Given the glass of Murayama renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, however, it is expected the disclosed and claimed glasses will have similar properties when subjected to the same chemical strengthening, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claims 6-8, while the reference renders obvious the claimed composition (see above discussion), it does not specially disclose the claimed properties. Given the glass of Murayama renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, however, it is expected the disclosed and claimed glasses will have similar properties, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 10, Murayama discloses a chemically strengthened glass with a surface compressive stress of 300 MPa or more and containing, in mole percentage on an oxide basis, 50 to 80% of SiO2, 1 to 30% of Al2O3, 0 to 6% of B2O3, 0 to 6% of P2O5, 0 to 20% of Li2O, 0 to 8% of Na2O, 0 to 10% of K2O, 0 to 20% of MgO, 0 to 20% of CaO, 0 to 20% of SrO, 0 to 15% of BaO, 0 to 10% of ZnO, 0 to 5% of TiO2, and 0 to 8% of ZrO2 [0008 & 0033]. Note that the disclosed ranges overlap the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I. While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed Na2O concentration profile and ratio, it is expected the disclosed glass will have a maximum Na2O concentration at a depth of 1 micron or greater than the surface given the similar method of chemical strengthening between the disclosed and claimed glasses [0251]; see Applicant’s specification page 4 and MPEP 2112.01 I.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed parameters M, D, and S, given the reference renders obvious the claimed composition, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass with the claimed parameters. For example, based on the composition disclosed by Murayama, the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s example 1 of Table 1, which has the claimed parameters.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the reference discloses the claimed compressive and tensile stresses, see Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 13, the reference discloses the compressive stress is 2000 MPa or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0073]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 14-17, while the reference renders obvious the claimed composition (see above discussion), it does not specially disclose the claimed properties. Given the glass of Murayama renders obvious the claimed glass in terms of composition, however, it is expected the disclosed and claimed glasses will have similar properties, see above discussion. Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties; see MPEP 2112.01 II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Murayama does not disclose the parameter M for increasing the thickness of the spike of the stress profile while allowing CS and Dol to be large and CT to be small. Additionally, Applicant argues that the reference does not disclose the parameter D for increasing the diffusion of K ions to a relatively large extent. Lastly, Applicant argues that the reference does not disclose S for improving conductivity of the glass and providing smaller surface resistivity. As such, Applicant argues that the claims are patentable over Murayama. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art does not teach controlling parameters M, D and S for improved properties, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). As discussed above and previously, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed parameters M, D, E and S, given the reference renders obvious the claimed composition, the reference is considered to render obvious a glass with the claimed parameters. For example, based on the composition disclosed by Murayama, the reference renders obvious at least Applicant’s example 1 of Table 1, which has the claimed parameters. Note that Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness by showing criticality of the claimed range, generally by showing unexpected results achieved to the prior art range; see MPEP 2144.05 III.
For the above reasons, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Murayama are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783