Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 5/4/2026.
The amendment is sufficient to overcome the objection to the drawings.
The amendment is sufficient to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 16, 17, 19, 21, 23-26, 28, and 29 were amended. Claim 20 was cancelled. Claim 32 was added. Therefore, claims 16-19 and 21-32 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of the remarks, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 16 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of McGuire et al. (US20200300978, "McGuire").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-19, 23-26, 28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 20210208276 A1, “Song1”) in view of McGuire et al. (US20200300978, "McGuire").
Regarding claim 16, Song1 teaches a method for scanning scanning areas using a LIDAR device, comprising the following steps:
generating beams in pulsed form by at least one beam source of an emitting unit, and emitting the generated beams into [[the]]at least one scanning area of the scanning areas (Song1, Para [0048], Fig 2, where the light emitting unit 104 which is a further illustrated embodiment of Fig. 1, may include one or more laser emitters to illuminate a scene as stated generally by Para [0037]));
However, Song1 does not teach receiving, by at least a first receiver path and a second receiver path one detector, beams reflected and/or backscattered from the at least one scanning area, wherein the first receiver path comprises a first detector and at least one damping element, and wherein the second receiver path comprises a second detector and is without a damping element; and
combining a first output of the first receiver path and a second output of the second receiver path to generate a combined output,
wherein the at least one scanning area is scanned by beams having a damped radiant power and[[/or]] by beams having an undamped radiant power in order, wherein a radiant power of the beams reflected and/or backscattered from the at least one scanning area directed at the at least first receiver path is damped by the at least one damping element, and wherein the first receiver path comprising the at least one damping element and the second receiver path without a damping element together [[to]] expand a dynamic range of the LIDAR device.
On the other hand, McGuire teaches a first receiving path with a damping element and a second receiving path without a damping element, detected by a first and second detector respectively that are connected to a control circuit to increase the dynamic range (McGuire, Para [0061], Fig. 3, where the detector 310 with filtered light X' from first optical element 302 are the first receiver path with the damping element. The detector 320 receives light X'' (turning into light X'''), that is primarily reflected by the optical element 302 (second receiver path without damping element). As disclosed in Para [0063] the light detected in connection with control circuit 340 may increase the dynamic range) and a controller receiving both sets of light to determine light intensity (McGuire, Para [0063]-[0064], Fig 3, where the controller 340 receives the first portion of light X' and third portion of light X''' (coming from X") to determine accurate intensity of incoming light and therefore generates a combined output to do so).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of scanning scanning areas using a Lidar device of Song1 in view of McGuire, by using a filter for separating two detection signals to generate improved signal based on the two detection signals, using the combined light output to determine intensity (McGuire Para [0007], [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 18, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches, the method as recited in claim 16, wherein the beams having the damped radiant power and the beams having the undamped radiant power are generated and received in temporal succession and/or the beams having the damped radiant power and the beams having the undamped radiant power are emitted into the scanning area and received from the scanning area spatially separated from one another (Song1, Para [0048], Fig 2, where the light emitting unit 104 is done at different times and intensities. As a further illustrated embodiment of Fig. 1, 104 may include one or more laser emitters as stated generally by Para [0037]. If more than one emitter is used then the different beams will both be separate and temporally spaced).
Regarding claim 19, Song1 teaches a LIDAR device for scanning scanning areas, comprising:
an emitting unit including at least one beam source configured to generate and emit beams into [[the]]at least one scanning area of the scanning areas (Song1, Para [0048], Fig 2, where the light emitting unit 104 which is a further illustrated embodiment of Fig. 1, may include one or more laser emitters as stated generally by Para [0037]).
However, Song1 does not teach a receiving unit including at least a first receiver path and a second receiver path configured to receive beams reflected and/or backscattered from the at least one scanning area, wherein the first receiver path comprises a first detector and at least one damping element, and wherein the second receiver path comprises a second detector and is without a damping element; and
a control unit configured to combine a first output of the first receiver path and a second output of the second receiver path to generate a combined output,
wherein a radiant power of the beams reflected and/or backscattered from the at least one scanning area directed at the at least first receiver path is damped by the at least one damping element, and wherein the first receiver path comprising the at least one damping element and the second receiver path without a damping element are together configured
On the other hand, McGuire teaches a first receiving path with a damping element and a second receiving path without a damping element, detected by a first and second detector respectively that are connected to a control circuit to increase the dynamic range (McGuire, Para [0061], Fig. 3, where the detector 310 with filtered light X' from first optical element 302 are the first receiver path with the damping element. The detector 320 receives light X'' (turning into light X'''), that is primarily reflected by the optical element 302 (second receiver path without damping element). As disclosed in Para [0063] the light detected in connection with control circuit 340 may increase the dynamic range) ) and a controller receiving both sets of light to determine light intensity (McGuire, Para [0063]-[0064], Fig 3, where the controller 340 receives the first portion of light X' and third portion of light X''' (coming from X") to determine accurate intensity of incoming light and therefore generates a combined output to do so).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar device for scanning scanning areas of Song1 in view of McGuire, by using a filter for separating two detection signals to generate improved signal based on the two detection signals (McGuire Para [0007]).
Regarding claim 23, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 19, wherein the radiant power of the beams backscattered and/or reflected from the at least one scanning area directed at the at least first receiver path and the second receiver path is further actively damped by at least one power-regulated beam source, a radiant power of beams generated by the power-regulated beam source being adjustable by the control unit (Song1, Para [0049], Fig 2, where power controller 215 actively indirectly damps the power of beams by emitting low-intensity beam 203 having damped radiant power from high-intensity beam 201 having undamped radiant power. The beams follow the first and second receiver paths to their respective detectors as disclosed in McGuire, Para [0061]).
Regarding claim 24, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 23, wherein the control unit is configured to decrease the radiant power of the power-regulated beam source in response to detecting a the case of a crosstalk of the at least first detector and the second detector one detector ascertained based on received measured data of at least one of the first detector and the second detector (Song1, Para [0047]-[0048], Fig 2, where saturation detector 219 will cause power controller 215 to reduce the radiant power of laser emitting unit if a macro-pixel is saturated which is an indication of crosstalk. The beams follow the first and second receiver paths to their respective detectors as disclosed in McGuire, Para [0061])
Regarding claim 25, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim [[20]],19 wherein the at least one beam source includes a first beam source and a second beam source, the second beam source configured to generate beams having a lower radiant power compared to the generated beams of the first beam source (Song1, Para [0048], Fig 2, where the light emitting unit 104 which is a further illustrated embodiment of Fig. 1, may include one or more laser emitters as stated generally by Para [0037]. One emitter emitting a higher intensity beam 201, and a second emitter emitting a lower intensity beam 203).
Regarding claim 26, Song1 in view of McGuire teach (McGuire, Para [0061], Fig. 3, where the detector 310 with filtered light X' from first optical element 302 are the first receiver path with the damping element (neutral density filter). The detector 320 receives light X'' (turning into light X'''), that is primarily reflected by the optical element 302 (second receiver path without damping element). The neutral density filter guides the first and second light source to their respective detectors by filtering light through reflectivity of the light sources).
Regarding claim 28, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 25, wherein the beams generated by the first beam source are guidable as backscattered and/or reflected beams from the at least one scanning area onto the first detector and the second detector, and/or the beams generated by the second beam source are guidable as backscattered and/or reflected beams from the at least one scanning area onto the first detector and onto the second detector, wherein the first beam source or the second beam source is adaptively activated and/or blocked by the control unit (Song1, Para [0049], Fig 2, where power controller 215 only activates the source of the low intensity beam when saturation is detected. Para [0056] discloses a first beam source with high illumination due to high intensity beam emission, where in Fig 3A, the photodetector 117 is illuminated in multiple regions of the detecting array for both low and high reflectivity objects. This would be indicative of the first beam source emitting a high intensity beam that when backscattered/reflected would illuminate multiple detectors).
Regarding claim 32, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the method as recited in claim 16, wherein the emitting unit includes a first beam source and a second beam source, the second beam source generating beams having a lower radiant power than beams generated by the first beam source (Song1, Para [0049], Fig 2, where low-intensity beam 203 is the second beam source with lower damped radiant power and high- intensity beam 201 is the first beam source has undamped radiant power), wherein beams generated by the first beam source are received as backscattered and/or reflected beams from the at least one scanning area by the second receiver path, and beams generated by the second beam source are received as backscattered and/or reflected beams from the at least one scanning area by the first receiver path, such that the first receiver path receives beams of lower radiant power and the second receiver path receives beams of higher radiant power (McGuire, Para [0061], Fig. 3, where the detector 310 with filtered light X' from first optical element 302 are the first receiver path with the damping element. The detector 320 receives light X'' (turning into light X'''), that is primarily reflected by the optical element 302 (second receiver path without damping element)).
Claims 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song1 in view of McGuire, and Song (US 20190331775 A1, “Song2”).
Regarding claim 17, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the method as recited in claim 16, wherein the beams having damped radiant power are generated by at least one beam source with reduced power (Song1, Para [0049], Fig 2, where low-intensity beam 203 has damped radiant power), and/or the beams reflected and/or backscattered from the at least one scanning area are damped by the at least onepassive damping element with respect to the radiant power to form beams having the damped radiant power (McGuire, Para [0061], Fig. 3, where the detector 310 with filtered light X' from first optical element 302 are the first receiver path with the damping element (neutral density filter). The detector 320 receives light X'' (turning into light X'''), that is primarily reflected by the optical element 302 (second receiver path without damping element).
However, Song1 in view of McGuire does not teach the method as recited in claim 16, wherein the beams having damped radiant power are generated by at least one beam source with reduced power (Song1, Para [0049], Fig 2, where low-intensity beam 203 has damped radiant power), and/or the beams reflected and/or backscattered from the at least one scanning area are damped by the at least one active or
On the other hand, Song2 teaches the use of an active LCD filter for damping light by allowing a certain direction of light through the filter (Song2, Para [0081]-[0082], Fig 3A and 3B, where spatial filter 301 is an active damping LCD spatial filter that can be turned on to allow beams of a certain direction through the filter to be received by the detector. This one filter may take the place of the neutral density filter as disclosed in McGuire Para [0061]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the method of scanning scanning areas using a Lidar device of Song1 in view of McGuire, and Song2 by replacing the neutral density filter with the LCD filter to actively damp the lower intensity beam through steering the direction of light to reduce noise (Song2, Para [0076]).
Regarding claim 21, Song1 in view of McGuire teach the LIDAR device as recited in claim [[20]],19 wherein: (i) the at least one damping element comprises at least one filter upstream from the first detector [[is]] situated in the first receiver path of the receiving unit and/or at least one filter downstream from the at least one beam source is situated in the emitting unit, configured to passively damp the radiant power (McGuire, Para [0061], Fig. 3, where the detector 310 with filtered light X' from first optical element 302 are the first receiver path with the damping element (neutral density filter). The detector 320 receives light X'' (turning into light X'''), that is primarily reflected by the optical element 302 (second receiver path without damping element))
However, Song1 in view of McGuire does not teach the at least one damping element comprises at least one LCD array upstream from the first detector [[is]] situated in the first receiver path of the receiving unit configured to actively damp the radiant power.
On the other hand, Song2 teaches the use of an active LCD filter for damping light by allowing a certain direction of light through the filter (Song2, Para [0081]-[0082], Fig 3A and 3B, where spatial filter 301 is an active damping LCD spatial filter that can be turned on to allow beams of a certain direction through the filter to be received by the detector. This one filter may take the place of the neutral density filter as disclosed in McGuire Para [0061]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the Lidar device for scanning scanning areas of Song1 in view of McGuire, and Song2 by replacing the neutral density filter with the LCD filter to actively damp the lower intensity beam through steering the direction of light to reduce noise (Song2, Para [0076]).
Regarding claim 22, Song1 in view of McGuire, and Song2 teach the LIDAR device as recited in claim 21, wherein the LCD array is activatable pixelwise by the control unit to damp an entire detection surface or at least a section of the detection surface of the first detector with respect to incoming radiant power (Song2, Para [0081] lin. 3-10 and Para [0082] lin. 3-13, Fig 3A and 3B, where Aperture A 307 and Aperture B 321 are selectively used to damp the detection surface SPAD array depending on the direction of light being received).
Claims 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song1 in view of McGuire, Song2, and Yeun (KR 102297399 B1, “Yeun”).
Regarding claim 27, Song1 in view of McGuire, and Song2 teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 26.
However, Song1 in view of McGuire, and Song2 does not teach wherein the first beam source and the second beam source are situated at an angle next to one another in order to illuminate different detectors
On the other hand, Yeun teaches two detectors situated next to each other emitting different wavelengths (Yeun, Fig 1, where light source 110 can be either one intensity light source and 130 is another intensity source and can illuminate different detectors by:
1) emitting light at angles such as Song2 Fig 3A and 3B Horizontal A/B degree,
2) reflecting off/going through Yeun, Fig 1 MEMS mirror 120 and Dichroic mirror 140,
3) and activating Song2 Fig 3A and 3B LCD Spatial filter 301 to illuminate different detectors on SPAD Array 213).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the Lidar device for scanning scanning areas of Song1 in view of McGuire, , Song2 and Yeun by using two emitters of different wavelengths and short and long ranges to reduce the power consumption and size of the Lidar device (Yeun, Para [0033]).
Claims 29-31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song1 in view of McGuire, and Yeun
Regarding claim 29, Song1 in view of McGuire teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 28.
However, Song1 in view of McGuire does not teach wherein the generated beams of the first beam source are emitted via a deflection mirror and through a semi- transparent mirror into the at least one scanning area, the generated beams of the second beam source being emitted via the semi-transparent mirror into the at least one scanning area.
On the other hand, Yeun teaches both a dichroic and deflection mirror for transmitting the multiple wavelengths of a first and second beam (Yeun, Para [0045] Fig 1, where dichroic mirror 140 is the semi-transparent mirror and scan mirror 120 is a MEMS deflection mirror as disclosed by Para [0040]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the Lidar device for scanning scanning areas of Song1 in view of McGuire, and Yeun by using dichroic and MEMS mirrors for transmitting different wavelengths and short and long ranges to reduce the power consumption and size of the Lidar device (Yeun, Para [0033]).
Regarding claim 30, Song1 in view of McGuire, , and Yeun teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 29, wherein the semi- transparent mirror is a polarizing, semi-transparent mirror or a dichroic mirror (Yeun Para [0045], Fig 1, where dichroic mirror 140 is the semi-transparent mirror).
Regarding claim 31, Song1 in view of McGuire, , and Yeun the LIDAR device as recited in claim 30, wherein the semi- transparent mirror is a dichroic mirror, and wherein the first beam source emits generated beams, which have a wavelength different from the generated beams of the second beam source (Yeun Para [0045], Fig 1, where dichroic mirror 140 is the semi-transparent mirror , Para [0121]-[0123] discloses a first light source of a first wavelength a second light source with a second wavelength 5-10 nm apart).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645