Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species without traverse in the reply filed on 1/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 9-11, 13, and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/6/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a Markush group for X1 worded according to the format A, B, optionally C, and mixtures thereof. It is generally unclear what is meant or implied by the inclusion of “optionally” with respect to the list of species. A Markush group is a closed list of alternatives and thus, the selection of only one or a mixture from the list is already being required (i.e. in a Markush listing, all listed species are “optional” so long as one is present). It is unclear if the recitation of “optionally” is simply redundant or if it is meant to indicate X1 in formula (I) itself is not required. For instance, if one chooses “optionally C” from the list, does this mean X1 is no longer a required feature of formula (I)? The term “optionally” within the listing of potential alternatives gives rise to ambiguity as to its intended scope. See MPEP 2173.05(h)(II).
Claim 1 recites “wherein Y1- or Y2- or both are R50-C(O)-O-”. The scope of the claim is indefinite as the claim fails to define what the other Y is if only one of Y1 or Y2 is R50-C(O)-O-. Accordingly, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim 1 includes the structure
. The image is distorted to the extent that it is uncertain whether a R2-C=CH2 is being required or if the bottom portion corresponds to two fused benzene rings. Therefore, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
As claims 4, 5, 8, 12, and 15-20 depend from claim 1, they are rejected for the same issues discussed above.
Claim 8 recites a Markush group for X1’ worded according to the format A, B, optionally C, and mixtures thereof. It is generally unclear what is meant or implied by the inclusion of “optionally” with respect to the list of species. A Markush group is a closed list of alternatives and thus, the selection of only one or a mixture from the list is already being required (i.e. in a Markush listing, all listed species are “optional” so long as one of them is present). It is unclear if the recitation of “optionally” is simply redundant or if it is meant to indicate X1’ itself is not required. For instance, if one chooses “optionally C” from the list, does this mean X1’ is no longer a required feature? The term “optionally” within the listing of potential alternatives gives rise to ambiguity as to its intended scope. See MPEP 2173.05(h)(II).
Claim 8 includes the structure
. The image is distorted to the extent that it is uncertain whether a R2-C=CH2 is being required or if the bottom portion corresponds to two fused benzene rings. Therefore, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
As claim 12 depends from claim 8, claim 12 is rejected for the same issues discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN111303360A). As the cited CN publication is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 12, the following two rationales are presented in the alternative.
RATIONALE 1: Wang teaches anion exchange polymers of the structure:
(Example 4), consistent with Applicant’s election of species. The above polymer is created via polycondensation of phenanthrene, terphenyl, and N-methyl-4-piperidinone in an acidic media comprising trifluoroacetic acid, neutralizing the resulting polymer salt with potassium carbonate, isolating tertiary amine containing polymer, quaternizing with methyl iodide, and then exchanging iodide anions for hydroxide. The initial salt intermediate prior to K2CO3 neutralization would comprise repeating residues of phenanthrenylene, triphenylene, and X1 residues of
where R30 = alkyl (methyl), R31 is hydrogen, and Y1- is CF3-C(O)-O- owing to the acidic medium used. Therefore, the instantly claimed polymers are anticipated by Wang.
RATIONALE 2: Wang teaches anion exchange polymers of the structure:
(Example 4), consistent with Applicant’s election of species. The above polymer comprises repeating residues of phenanthrenylene, triphenylene, and X1 residues of
where R30 and R31 = alkyl (methyl). The examiner selects the claimed option that only Y2- is R50-C(O)-O-, of which it does not appear claim 1 requires Y1- is any particular anion should such a selection be made. Therefore, the instantly claimed polymers are anticipated by Wang.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses an anion exchange membrane comprising anion exchange polymer such as those relied upon in RATIONALE 2 (film formation and ion exchange of Example 1; Page 10 penultimate paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches the anion exchange membranes can be used in fuel cells (Page 3).
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, Wang describes thin-film composite membranes (e.g. 5-500 microns) comprising a porous substrate material impregnated or coated with the anion exchange polymer (Page 5, Paragraphs 5-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN111303360A) in view of Yan (US 2019/0036143 A1).
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Wang teaches anion exchange polymers of the structure:
(Example 4), consistent with Applicant’s election of species. The above polymer comprises repeating residues of phenanthrenylene, triphenylene, and X1 residues of
where R30 and R31 = alkyl (methyl). The examiner selects the claimed option that only Y2- is R50-C(O)-O-, of which it does not appear claim 1 requires Y1- is any particular anion should such a selection be made.
Wang discloses an anion exchange membrane comprising anion exchange polymer. Wang teaches the anion exchange membranes can be used in fuel cells (Page 3). Wang differs from the subject matter claimed with respect to the particulars of electrode assembly of claims 19 and 20.
Yan also pertains to the use of aryl piperidone materials in fuel cell assemblies (Abstract; Examples). Yan teaches membrane electrode assemblies (“10” in Figure 1; ¶ 82) comprising anion exchange polymer, anode (“12” of Figure 1) comprising anode catalyst (“26” of Figure 1) on a first surface of the membrane; cathode (“14’ of Figure 1) comprising cathode catalyst (“28” of Figure 1) on a second surface of the anion exchange membrane (“16” of Figure 1). Yan further describes anode transport layer (gas diffusion layer; “18” of Figure 1; ¶ 82) adjacent to anode (“12” of Figure 1) and a cathode porous transport layer (gas diffusion layer “20” of Figure 1; ¶ 82) adjacent to the cathode (“14” in Figure 1).
Wang teaches the exchange polymers possess high ionic conductivity, good mechanical properties, and good chemical stability (Page 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the anion exchange polymers of Wang in assemblies such as those taught by Yan because such polymers possess high ionic conductivity, good mechanical properties, and good chemical stability as taught by Wang.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 8, 12, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Pat. No. 11,980,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, claim 1 of ‘879 pertains to anion exchange polymers of the formula [(Ar1-X1)n-(Ar2-X1)m- whereby Ar1 is directed toward instantly claimed species and X1 can be of any of the listed formulae for X1 in the instant claims. X1 of ‘879 and of instant claims are not patentably distinct as both can be
or alternatively, X1 can be of
whereby only Y2- is one of the listed anions. Therefore, ‘879 anticipates the present claims. The remaining limitations of the claims are found within the claims of ‘879.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 12, and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/823,975. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, claim 1 of ‘975 pertains to anion exchange polymers of the formula [(Ar1-X1)n-(Ar2-X1)m- whereby Ar1/Ar2 is directed toward instantly claimed species and X1 can be of any of the listed formulae for X1 in the instant claims. X1 of ‘975 and of instant claims are not patentably distinct as X1 can be of
whereby only Y2- is one of the listed anions. Therefore, ‘975 anticipates the present claims. The remaining limitations of the claims are found within the claims of ‘975.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 12, and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/438,762. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, claim 3 of ‘762 pertains to anion exchange polymers of the formula [(Ar1-X1)n-(Ar2-X1)m- whereby Ar1 is directed toward instantly claimed species and X1 can be
. Therefore, ‘762 anticipates the present claims. The remaining limitations of the claims are found within the claims of ‘762.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 12, and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/532,047. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, claim 1 of ‘047 pertains to anion exchange polymers of the formula [(Ar1-X1)n-(Ar2-X2)m- whereby Ar1 is directed toward instantly claimed species and X1 can be of any of the listed formulae for X1 in the instant claims. The anion of X1 can be those instantly claimed (Claims 5 and 14). The remaining limitations of the claims are found within the claims of ‘047.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 12, and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/775,222. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, claim 1 of ‘222 pertains to anion exchange polymers of the formula [(Ar1-X1)n-(Ar2-X2)m- whereby Ar1 is directed toward instantly claimed species and X1 can be of any of the listed formulae for X1 in the instant claims. The anion of X1 can be those instantly claimed (Claims 8 and 20). The remaining limitations of the claims are found within the claims of ‘222.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759