DETAILED ACTION
Amendments to claims 1, 3, 5-8, and 10, the cancellation of claim 20, and the addition of claim 21, in the response filed April 2, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are currently pending in the above identified application.
Claim 8 has been amended to be directed towards a fiber formed from the composition of claim 7 and therefore is directed towards the non-elected invention. See the restriction mailed July 29, 2025 for additional information, especially with regards to claim 11 directed towards a fiber formed from the composition of claim 10. Claim 8 is grouped with claims 11-19.
Claims 8 and 11-19 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed towards the non-elected invention.
Claim Interpretation
Ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene is interpreted as having a molecular weight of at least about 500,000 g/mol, aligned with para 0004 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2011/0207907 to Simmelink in view of “The physical and chemical properties of plasma treated ultra-high-molecular-weight polyethylene fiber” to Kusano, USPN 3,240,774 to Joyner, and CN 107867984 to Li.
NOTE: The English Machine translation of CN 107867984 is being used for prior art mapping.
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, and 21, Simmelink teaches a ultrahigh molecular polyethylene (UHMWPE) gel used to form fibers comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene with a spinning solvent including aromatic hydrocarbons such as toluene, xylene, and naphthalene, including hydrogenated derivative thereof such as decalin (Simmelink, abstract, para 0008-0014, 0027-0034), reading on a composition comprising a polyethylene, specifically an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (claim 10) and an aromatic hydrocarbon solvent and the composition being a gel (claim 9). Simmelink teaches the slurry containing between 5 and 20% of the UHMWPE (Id., para 0031), reading on the composition comprising at least 1% solvent (claim 9). Simmelink teaches combination of spinning solvents can be used (Id., para 0028), reading on the composition comprising at least one additional liquid solvent (claim 4).
Simmelink does not explicitly teach the aromatic hydrocarbon solvent being trimethylbenzene, specifically 1,2,4-trimethylbenzene (claim 5, 7, 10, 21), alone (claim 21) or in combination with 1,2,3-trimethylbenzene and/or 1,3,5-trimethylbenzene (claim 5).
However, Kusano shows that pure polyethylene surface have a Hansen solubility parameters (HSP) of 18.0, 1.2, and 1.4, which are similar to the HSP of 18, 1, 1, for dispersion, polar, and hydrogen bonds, of trimethylbenzene and toluene (Kusano, abstract, Table 1). Therefore, based on the concept of like dissolving like, absent evidence to the contrary, the polyethylene will be partially soluble if not fully dissoluble in the trimethylbenzene solvent. Kusano teaches there being a distinct region characteristics of PE at higher dissolution parameter and low polarity and hydrogen bonding shown by the strong interaction with aromatic solvents such as toluene and trimethylbenzene (Id., p. 2796), indicating an expected similar performance of toluene and trimethylbenzene. As the isomer is not specified, 1,24-trimethylbenzene, 1,2,3-trimethylbenzene, and 1,3,5-trimethylbenzene would all be expected to act as solvents, absent evidence to contrary. Additionally, Joyner teaches the use of suitable solvents for extraction used in the production of polyethylene includes pseudocumene (1,2,4-trimethylbenzene) (Joyner, abstract, col. 2 line 30-col. 3 line 62), reading on pseudocumene (1,2,4-trimethylbenzene) being suitable trimethylbenzene to use as a polyethylene solvent. Furthermore, Li teaches a chemical process in which unsymmetrical trimethylbenzene solvent is used due to low toxicity and being safe to use (Li, abstract, Advantage). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would appreciate that 1,2,4-trimethylbenzene is unsymmetrical.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form the ultrahigh molecular polyethylene gel of Simmelink, wherein trimethylbenzene, including pseudocumene (1,2,4-trimethylbenzene) alone or in conjunction with other trimethylbenzene isomers, is used as the aromatic hydrocarbon spinning solvent as taught by Kusano and Joyner, motivated by the desire of using conventionally known aromatic solvent having similar solubility parameters as polyethylene and toluene used for polyethylene and considered an equivalent to toluene as taught by Kusano and known to have low toxicity and being safe for chemical processing as taught by Li.
Regarding claims 2-3, the prior art combination teaches the slurry being converted into a solution of the UHMWPE in the spinning solvent (Simmelink, para 0008), reading on the spinning solvent, specifically trimethylbenzene being a liquid solvent and the polyethylene being at least partially dissolve, specifically fully dissolved, in the solvent.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art combination teaches removing the spin solvent and forming a solid UHMWPE fiber (Simmelink, para 0008, 0018-0022, 0034), reading on the composition being capable of forming a dry solid.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art combination teaches a specific ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene having a molecular weight of about 3-5 million (Kusano, p. 2794).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regards to the application of Simmelink in combination with Kusano, Joyner, and Li.
Applicant argues, with regards to the application of Simmelink in combination with Kusano, Joyner, and Li, that Simmelink omits trimethylbenzene, not any isomer thereof, as a spinning solvent, and that none of the references teach or suggest using trimethylbenzene in a UHMWPE gel composition and that trimethylbenzene is not conventionally known as a spinning solvent, resulting in improved processability. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed invention is a composition comprising a mixture of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene and trimethylbenzene. The limitation and scope Applicant is arguing is not commensurate in scope with the claim limitation. The claim encompasses a material containing a combination of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene and trimethylbenzene in any amounts and open to any additional components and any form. Simmelink teaches the use of various aromatic hydrocarbons including toluene and xylene. Xylene is a dimethylbenzene. Simmelink does not overly limit the solvent used. Simmelink also teaches the use of 1,2,4,5-tetramethyl-1,4-cyclohexadiene (Simmelink, para 0027-0028), which would be a sterically hinder solvent and supports the selection of a branched aromatic, such as trimethylbenzene. Kusano teaches solubility parameters for polyethylene as well as trimethylbenzene and toluene. As the solubility parameters are similar, toluene and trimethylbenzene would be expected to dissolve the polyethylene. In support of the well-known concept “like dissolves like”, Examiner highlights “Like Dissolves Like: A Guided Inquiry Experiment for Organic Chemistry” to Montes, which cites the principle of “like dissolves like” principle (Montes, abstract). Additionally, Joyner teaches the suitable of pseudocumene (1,2,4-trimethylbenzene) for polyethylene extraction, supporting the reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, Examiner maintains the rejection detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2019/0070795 to Koelling teaches that in contrast to LDPE and HDPE, UHMW-PE formulation with an average molecular weight above 2,500,000 g/mol can be processed over a wide range of time and temperatures and are valued for properties such as chemical resistance, impact resistance, abrasion resistance, and heat deflection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A GILLETT/Examiner, Art Unit 1789