Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 23, 26, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan US 20210226820 in view of Farag US 20230123718.
Regarding claims 1, 23, Khoshnevisan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication,
comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication of a control resource set (CORESET) configuration that indicates a transmission control indicator (TCI) state to use for communication in;
monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET (As such, the multi-TCI state configuration 301 may define a same or similar mapping between TCI states 320 and resources of the CORESET 305-b for each subset 310 of the CORESET 305-b, [0150], The UE 115-a may be configured with a number (e.g., 10) of search space sets (SSSs) associated with the operating BWP of the UE 115-a and the UE 115-a may monitor for downlink control channel candidates based on monitoring one or more SSSs. In some cases, each SSS may be associated with a CORESET 215 and a number of monitoring occasions for downlink control channel candidates associated with the CORESET 215, [0135]).
Khoshnevisan is silent on a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception.
Farag teaches a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception (CORESET C is associated with both UE-dedicated and non-UE-dedicated reception on PDCCH, [0203]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Khoshnevisan by a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception, as shown by Farag. This modification would benefit the system by since Coreset C is a common type of coreset employed in many communication systems.
Regarding claims 5 and 26, monitor, in a monitoring occasion of the CORESET, one or more search spaces of the at least one search space, wherein the one or more search spaces comprise at least one of a UE-dedicated search space or a non-UE-dedicated search space (Farag: UE dedicated .. search space, [0145]).
Regarding claim 31, receive an indication of the TCI state sharing configuration (Khoshnevisan: TCI state, abstract).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan and Farag as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang US 20240155690.
The combination is silent on the TCI state comprises the indicated TCI state based at least in part on the TCI configuration.
Kwon teaches the TCI state comprises the indicated TCI state based at least in part on the TCI configuration (claims 3, 13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the TCI state comprises the indicated TCI state based at least in part on the TCI configuration, as shown by Kwon. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring that the TCI state is relevant based upon the configuration information.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan and Farag as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon US 20190141691.
The combination is silent on to receive the indication of the TCI configuration, are configured to receive a radio resource control message that includes the indication of the TCI configuration.
Kwon teaches to receive the indication of the TCI configuration, are configured to receive a radio resource control message that includes the indication of the TCI configuration ([0062] A UE is configured using radio resource
control (RRC) messaging with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states at least
for the purposes of sharing QCL information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by receive the indication of the TCI configuration, are configured to receive a radio resource control message that includes the indication of the TCI configuration, as shown by Kwon. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for receiving the TCI configuration.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan and Farag as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Bhamri US 20240154664.
The combination is silent on receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the TCI state sharing configuration.
Bhamri teaches receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the TCI state sharing configuration ([0059]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an indication of the TCI state sharing configuration, as shown by Bhamri. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for the UE to receive TCI state sharing configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-22, 28-30, 34, and 35 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6, 27, 32, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476