Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 23, 26, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng US 1271343 in view of Farag US 20230123718.
Regarding claims 1, 23, Cheng teaches
a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication of a control resource set (CORESET) configuration that indicates a transmission control indicator (TCI) state to use for communication in (abstract);
monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET, wherein the TCI state sharing configuration indicates a quasi-colocation between a demodulation reference signal of the CORESET and a reference signal of the TCI state (monitoring, by the UE based on a resource index of the first reference signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) over a search space on a first control resource set (CORESET), a spatial quasi-colocation (QCL) field in a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of the first CORESET being set to the resource index of the first reference signal, the monitoring the PDCCH comprising: monitoring, by the UE, the PDCCH over the search space on the first CORESET, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PDCCH being quasi-co-located with respect to receive (RX) spatial parameters of the first reference signal, claim 1, claim 13, claim 18).
Cheng is silent on a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception.
Farag teaches a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception (CORESET C is associated with both UE-dedicated and non-UE-dedicated reception on PDCCH, [0203]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Cheng by a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception, as shown by Farag. This modification would benefit the system by since Coreset C is a common type of coreset employed in many communication systems.
Regarding claims 5 and 26, monitor, in a monitoring occasion of the CORESET, one or more search spaces of the at least one search space, wherein the one or more search spaces comprise at least one of a UE-dedicated search space or a non-UE-dedicated search space (Farag: UE dedicated .. search space, [0145]).
Regarding claim 31, receive an indication of the TCI state sharing configuration (Cheng: Optionally, in any of the preceding embodiments, an embodiment further includes detecting, by the UE, a DCI message in the PDCCH over the search space on the first CORESET, the DCI message instructing the UE to receive a PDSCH, a DMRS of the PDSCH being quasi-co-located (QCL), col. 1 line 63 – col. 2 line 3).
Regarding claim 33, receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the CORESET based at least in part on the TCI state and the TCI state sharing configuration (Cheng: PDCCH, claim 1, claim 13, claim 18).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 23, 26, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan US 20210226820 in view of Farag US 20230123718, and Cheng US 12713436.
Regarding claims 1, 23, Khoshnevisan teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication,
comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication of a control resource set (CORESET) configuration that indicates a transmission control indicator (TCI) state to use for communication in;
monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET (As such, the multi-TCI state configuration 301 may define a same or similar mapping between TCI states 320 and resources of the CORESET 305-b for each subset 310 of the CORESET 305-b, [0150], The UE 115-a may be configured with a number (e.g., 10) of search space sets (SSSs) associated with the operating BWP of the UE 115-a and the UE 115-a may monitor for downlink control channel candidates based on monitoring one or more SSSs. In some cases, each SSS may be associated with a CORESET 215 and a number of monitoring occasions for downlink control channel candidates associated with the CORESET 215, [0135]).
Khoshnevisan is silent on a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception.
Farag teaches a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception (CORESET C is associated with both UE-dedicated and non-UE-dedicated reception on PDCCH, [0203]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Khoshnevisan by a CORESET, wherein the CORESET is associated with UE-dedicated control channel reception and non-UE-dedicated control channel reception, as shown by Farag. This modification would benefit the system by since Coreset C is a common type of coreset employed in many communication systems.
Although Khoshnevisan teaches monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET, the combination is silent on monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET, wherein the TCI state sharing configuration indicates a
quasi-colocation between a demodulation reference signal of the CORESET and a reference signal of the TCI state.
Cheng teaches monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET, wherein the TCI state sharing configuration indicates a quasi-colocation between a demodulation reference signal of the CORESET and a reference signal of the TCI state (monitoring, by the UE based on a resource index of the first reference signal, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) over a search space on a first control resource set (CORESET), a spatial quasi-colocation (QCL) field in a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state of the first CORESET being set to the resource index of the first reference signal, the monitoring the PDCCH comprising: monitoring, by the UE, the PDCCH over the search space on the first CORESET, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PDCCH being quasi-co-located with respect to receive (RX) spatial parameters of the first reference signal, claim 1, claim 13, claim 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by monitor at least one search space associated with the CORESET based at least in part on the CORESET configuration and based at least in part on a TCI state sharing configuration of the CORESET, wherein the TCI state sharing configuration indicates a quasi-colocation between a demodulation reference signal of the CORESET and a reference signal of the TCI state, as shown by Cheng. This modification would benefit the system by providing an optimal search space for the CORESET.
Regarding claims 5 and 26, monitor, in a monitoring occasion of the CORESET, one or more search spaces of the at least one search space, wherein the one or more search spaces comprise at least one of a UE-dedicated search space or a non-UE-dedicated search space (Farag: UE dedicated .. search space, [0145]).
Regarding claim 31, receive an indication of the TCI state sharing configuration (Khoshnevisan: TCI state, abstract).
Regarding claim 33, receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the CORESET based at least in part on the TCI state and the TCI state sharing configuration (Cheng: PDCCH, claim 1, claim 13, claim 18).
Claim(s) 6 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan, Farag, and Cheng as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, and further in view of HAMIDI-SEPEHR US 20210306867.
The combination is silent on monitor the at least one search space based at least in part on a per-CORESET
determination of a monitoring TCI state.
HAMIDI-SEPEHR teaches monitor the at least one search space based at least in part on a per-CORESET determination of a monitoring TCI state ([0072]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by monitor the at least one search space based at least in part on a per-CORESET determination of a monitoring TCI state, as shown by HAMIDI-SEPEHR. This modification would benefit the system by providing an optimal search space for the CORESET.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan, Farag, and Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang US 20240155690.
The combination is silent on the TCI state comprises the indicated TCI state based at least in part on the TCI configuration.
Kwon teaches the TCI state comprises the indicated TCI state based at least in part on the TCI configuration (claims 3, 13).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the TCI state comprises the indicated TCI state based at least in part on the TCI configuration, as shown by Kwon. This modification would benefit the system by ensuring that the TCI state is relevant based upon the configuration information.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan and Farag as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon US 20190141691.
The combination is silent on to receive the indication of the TCI configuration, are configured to receive a radio resource control message that includes the indication of the TCI configuration.
Kwon teaches to receive the indication of the TCI configuration, are configured to receive a radio resource control message that includes the indication of the TCI configuration ([0062] A UE is configured using radio resource
control (RRC) messaging with a list of up to M candidate transmission configuration indication (TCI) states at least
for the purposes of sharing QCL information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by receive the indication of the TCI configuration, are configured to receive a radio resource control message that includes the indication of the TCI configuration, as shown by Kwon. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for receiving the TCI configuration.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Khoshnevisan, Farag, and Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nory US 20130044692.
The combination is silent on the DMRS signal is associated with an antenna port.
Nory teaches the DMRS signal is associated with an antenna port ([0043]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the DMRS signal is associated with an antenna port, as shown by Nory. This modification would benefit the system by making demodulation easier since the DMRS signal is associated with an antenna port.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-22, 28-30, 34, and 35 are allowed.
Claims 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476