Art Rejection
2. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bock, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2009/0113248, in view of Engel, U.S. Pat. No. 7,287,192.
Per claim 1, Bock discloses a computer implemented method of automating troubleshooting for a network problem, the method comprising:
a) calling a group of functions, i.e., invoking a monitoring and troubleshooting program (see par 0019, 0022);
b) executing the group of functions to collect troubleshooting data over the network (see par 0040);
c) parsing the collected troubleshooting data to extract relevant information (see par 0041);
d) analyzing the extracted relevant information to identify a root cause of the network problem (see par 0041); and
e) providing, via a graphical user interface (GUI), solutions based on the identified root cause, wherein the solutions are executable by a user through interaction with the GUI, e.g., selecting solutions by the user, the solutions comprise one or more executable procedures, i.e., corrective actions, for implementing the solutions for the identified root cause of the network problem (see par 0042);
f) wherein the one or more executable procedures comprise a plurality of independently executable actions with respect to the network that implement the solutions for the identified root cause of the network problem (see par 0043).
Bock does not explicitly teach collecting troubleshooting data by executing the called group of functions to elicit a response from each of at least two distinct devices on the network. However, Engel discloses a method of collecting troubleshooting data by executing a group of functions to elicit a response from each of at least two distinct devices on the network, i.e., sending polling commands to get responses from target and neighbor devices (see Engel, col 3, ln 46-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize method of polling in Bock because it would have enabled to obtain troubleshooting data from network devices.
Per claim 2, Bock teaches creating one or more procedures to automate troubleshooting the network problem, i.e., Fault Tree Analysis (see par 0024).
Per claim 3, Bock teaches executing the procedures to address the identified root cause of the network problem (see par 0042).
Per claim 4, Bock teaches that user executes the procedures to address the identified root cause of the network problem (see par 0043).
Per claims 5-6, Bock teaches displaying the extracted relevant information including the identified root cause of the network problem (see par 0043).
Per claim 7, Bock teaches that the group of instructions are built-in, e.g., part of operating system (see par 0019).
Per claim 8, Bock teaches executing the functions on a device and collecting data based on executing over the device, e.g., executing monitoring agent (see par 0022, 0040).
Per claim 9, Bock teaches analyzing is performed by a threshold trigger, e.g., a max connection exceeded (see par 0034).
Per claim 10, Bock teaches that parsing is performed on the collected data using a filter parser, i.e., to identify and extract FTA metadata (see par 0041).
Claims 11-19 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-10 and hence are rejected for the same rationale set forth for claims 1-10.
Response to Amendment
3. Applicant’s arguments filed December 3, 2025 with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are deemed moot in view of new ground of rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See M.P.E.P. § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
A SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE TO THIS FINAL ACTION IS SET TO EXPIRE THREE MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS ACTION. IN THE EVENT A FIRST RESPONSE IS FILED WITHIN TWO MONTHS OF THE MAILING DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION AND THE ADVISORY ACTION IS NOT MAILED UNTIL AFTER THE END OF THE THREE-MONTH SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD, THEN THE SHORTENED STATUTORY PERIOD WILL EXPIRE ON THE DATE THE ADVISORY ACTION IS MAILED, AND ANY EXTENSION FEE PURSUANT TO 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a) WILL BE CALCULATED FROM THE MAILING DATE OF THE ADVISORY ACTION. IN NO EVENT WILL THE STATUTORY PERIOD FOR RESPONSE EXPIRE LATER THAN SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS FINAL ACTION.
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
7/17/26