DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 5/4/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, 14, and 16-22 are pending.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 16 and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 5/4/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13, 14, and 16-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the communication field, applicant argues in substance that:
a. Regarding claim(s) 1 and 20, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 7-11)
“Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as allegedly obvious over Chasman in view of Mixer. Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. The Office Action relies on Chasman's "mid-server" containerized applications as teaching or rendering obvious the claimed converter unit logic and further asserts that the difference between an external mid-server and Applicant's claimed converter unit represents an obvious design choice. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As amended, independent claim 1 now affirmatively recites the physical and architectural placement of the converter unit, specifically requiring that the converter unit is a system on chip (SoC) attached to a motherboard of the computer system, with the main processing unit, the monitoring unit, and the converter unit all attached to the same motherboard and connected by a bus system, and that monitoring data is received at the converter unit via the bus system prior to preprocessing. These limitations are not aspirational or functional, but structural and topological, and are expressly supported by the Specification. See Fig. 5.
The Office Action's mapping of Chasman's mid-server to the claimed converter unit is incompatible with these limitations. As explained in the Office Action, the mid-server in Chasman is a logically and physically separate system, positioned outside the monitored computer system and receiving data over a network connection. By contrast, amended claim 1 requires that preprocessing is performed by an on-board hardware component embedded within the monitored computer system itself, and that data transfer between the monitoring unit and the converter unit occurs internally over a motherboard bus, not via a network. Chasman does not disclose, suggest, or contemplate such an embedded architecture.
The Office Action further relies on Mixer to support the use of containerized applications. Applicant notes that containerization per se is not disputed. Rather, the invention lies in where and how containerized preprocessing is performed. Neither Chasman nor Mixer teaches or suggests executing containerized preprocessing on an embedded SoC attached to the same motherboard and bus as the service processor and hypervisor-hosting main processing unit. The combination proposed by the Office Action therefore does not address, and cannot remedy, the architectural mismatch created by the newly recited limitations.
Importantly, the Office Action does not articulate a reasoned motivation that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to relocate Chasman's externally deployed mid-server containers into an embedded SoC within the monitored system, while preserving Chasman's functionality. Such a relocation would require a fundamental redesign of Chasman's architecture and operational assumptions and thus exceeds the level of routine optimization contemplated by KSR International v Teleflex.
Accordingly, as amended, claim 1 recites a specific embedded hardware configuration
that is neither taught nor suggested by the cited references, either individually or in combination, and which directly addresses the Office Action's prior equivalency rationale. The § 103 rejection of claim 1, and of claims dependent therefrom, should therefore be withdrawn.
Applicant respectfully submits that the claims are now in condition for allowance and invites reconsideration in view of the foregoing amendment and remarks.”
In response to argument [a], Examiners respectfully disagrees.
The mideserver is equivalent to the computer system because Chasman teach "the monitoring, receiving, pre-processing and sending steps in claim 1 are internally performed by the mideserver. Claim 1: the midserver configured to function as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data (see [036]- [037]). Point out that placing known, discrete functional units onto a single integrated circuit (System on Chip) is merely the predictable next step in semiconductor design. See MPEP § 2144.05 (Aggregations and Combinations of Old Elements): Advise that combining known systems into an SoC is generally considered obvious due to the well-known industry desire to increase miniaturization, reduce power consumption, and improve processing efficiency.”.
Examiner notes
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the specification defines " The monitoring unit " as " a service processor such as Integrated Management Module (IMM), System Management Module (SMM) or XClarity Controller (XCC) which is configured to communicate according to a SNMP protocol." (see [0054]). Therefore, the claim not invoke 35 USC § 112 f based on the definition ".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14, 16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chasman (WO 2020232195 A1).in view of Mixer (US 20160241573 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, a method comprising
Chasman teaches monitoring a computer system that includes: a monitoring unit for monitoring operation of the computer system; and (Chasman, [036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [038], containers acting as sensors can monitor and generate data rather than just process data from other sensors or data sources. [examiner notes: programming instructions and containers running in the midserver to perform monitoring operations, therefore the midserver is equivalent to the monitoring unit.])
a converter unit that is configured to communicate with the monitoring unit and the main processing unit, (Chasman, [008], a method for ingestion of data into a cloud-based service from an external network is disclosed, comprising the steps of: installing a midserver as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, the midserver comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor: receiving data from a plurality of computing devices on the external network; running one or more containerized services to process the received data; and securely transmitting the processed data to a cloud- based service. [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [038], containers acting as sensors can monitor and generate data rather than just process data from other sensors or data sources. [examiner notes: containers running on the midserver’s processor are acting as one or more monitoring units to monitor data. The containers are equivalent to the monitoring unit. The processor is equivalent to the convert unit. The container are communicating/running on the processor.])
wherein the converter unit being a system on chip (SoC) attached to a motherboard of the computer system, (Chasman, [071], It should be further appreciated that CPU 12 may be one of a variety of system-on-a-chip (SOC) type hardware that may include additional hardware such as memory or graphics processing chips, such as a QUALCOMM. [007]-[009], the midserver comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor: receiving data from a plurality of computing devices on the external network; running one or more containerized services to process the received data; The containerized services include one or more of the following types of containerized services: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [examiner notes: programming instructions and containerized services executing on the processor and the memory of the midserver to perform same functions as the converter unit, the convert unit and the monitoring unit. Therefore, the processor, the memory and midserver are equivalent to the converter unit, the convert unit and the monitoring unit.])
the main processing unit and the monitoring unit being attached to the motherboard, wherein a bus system connects the units on the motherboard, and (Chasman, [071], It should be further appreciated that CPU 12 may be one of a variety of system-on-a-chip (SOC) type hardware that may include additional hardware such as memory or graphics processing chips, such as a QUALCOMM. [007]-[009], the midserver comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor: receiving data from a plurality of computing devices on the external network; running one or more containerized services to process the received data; The containerized services include one or more of the following types of containerized services: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [examiner notes: programming instructions and containerized services executing on the processor and the memory of the midserver to perform same functions as the converter unit, the convert unit and the monitoring unit. Therefore, the processor, the memory and midserver are equivalent to the converter unit, the convert unit and the monitoring unit.])
wherein a bus system connects the main processing unit, the monitoring unit, and the converter unit, and wherein the computer system is monitored by: (Chasman, the mideserver is equivalent to the computer system because Chasman teach "the monitoring, receiving, pre-processing and sending steps in claim 1 are internally performed by the mideserver. Claim 1: the midserver configured to function as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data (see [036]- [037]). Point out that placing known, discrete functional units onto a single integrated circuit (System on Chip) is merely the predictable next step in semiconductor design. See MPEP § 2144.05 (Aggregations and Combinations of Old Elements): Advise that combining known systems into an SoC is generally considered obvious due to the well-known industry desire to increase miniaturization, reduce power consumption, and improve processing efficiency.”.)
pre-processing the received monitoring data at the converter unit; (Chasman, [007] According to a preferred embodiment, a system for ingestion of data into a cloud- based service from an external network is disclosed, comprising: a midserver configured to function as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor: receive data from a plurality of computing devices on the external network; run one or more containerized services to process the received data; and securely transmit the processed data to a cloud-based service. [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers.)
sending resulting pre-processed data by the converter unit to at least one remote management system, (Chasman, [031], one method of data collection from large business enterprises for cloud-based computing is through agent based monitoring. In agent-based monitoring, software “agents” are installed on each computing device to collect data and then forward the data to the cloud- based service. Using agent-based monitoring, it may be necessary to install hundreds or thousands of agents on an external network to collect the required data. [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [007], a system for ingestion of data into a cloud- based service from an external network is disclosed, comprising: a midserver configured to function as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor: receive data from a plurality of computing devices on the external network; run one or more containerized services to process the received data; and securely transmit the processed data to a cloud-based service. [examiner notes: containers/midserver is/are equivalent to the convert unit.])
wherein the converter unit comprises an application comprising instructions that, when executed, perform at least one of the pre-processing and the sending, the application being containerized in a container, (Chasman, [008], a method for ingestion of data into a cloud-based service from an external network is disclosed, comprising the steps of: installing a midserver as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, the midserver comprising at least a processor, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operating on the processor: receiving data from a plurality of computing devices on the external network; running one or more containerized services to process the received data; and securely transmitting the processed data to a cloud- based service. "[036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [examiner notes: containerized services are applications packaged with all their dependencies (like libraries and frameworks) into isolated units called containers, allowing them to run consistently across any environment. containerized service run by the midserver are equivalent to the converter unit.])
and wherein the container runs the application in isolation by bundling related configuration files, libraries, and dependencies; (Chasman, [036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [examiner notes: containerized services are applications packaged with all their dependencies (like libraries and frameworks) into isolated units called containers, allowing them to run consistently across any environment.])
and analyzing the pre-processed monitoring data, by one or more mining tools, to determine whether a service action at the computer system is needed. (Chasman, [036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [examiner notes: the service action including collect, aggregate, analyze, transform pre-processed data and securely transmit processed data.])
Chasman does not teach a main processing unit comprising a hypervisor supporting virtual machines, wherein the hypervisor is configured to provide virtualized hardware elements for each virtual machine;
Mixer however in the same field of computer networking teaches a main processing unit comprising a hypervisor supporting virtual machines, wherein the hypervisor is configured to provide virtualized hardware elements for each virtual machine; (Mixer, [0029], FIG. 2 illustrates an example system 200 to detect security events on virtual machines 202 with process control applications 204. In the illustrated example, the system 200 executes on a host 206 (e.g., the workstation 110, the server 112, the controller 108, the I/O devices 108 of FIG. 1, etc.). The host 206 includes physical hardware 208 (e.g., processor(s), memory, storage, peripheral devices, network access, etc.) and a hypervisor 210. The example hypervisor 210 manages the physical hardware 208 and creates virtualized hardware (e.g., virtualized processor(s), virtualized memory, virtualized storage, etc.) that allows multiple virtual machines 202 to execute on the host 206. The example hypervisor 210 segregates the example virtual machine(s) 202 and controls access to the example physical hardware 208. In such a manner, if a security event is detected that compromises a guest OS 212 (e.g., Windows®, Linux, UNIX, etc.) executing on a virtual machine 202, the other virtual machines and/or the physical resources 208 are protected.))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chasman by incorporating the teachings of Mixer. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detect potential security event, and initiating a security action based on the assigned severity level (Mixer, [0011]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach the computer system comprising a bus system connecting the main processing unit, the monitoring unit, and the converter unit, wherein the converter unit receives the monitoring data via the bus system. (Chasman, [036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors,management services, and utilities. [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [038], containers acting as sensors can monitor and generate data rather than just process data from other sensors or data sources. [examiner notes: containers are equivalent to main processor unit, the monitoring unit and the convert unit.])
Regarding claim(s) 3, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach further comprising: receiving by the converter unit further monitoring data from an operating system of the main processing unit, wherein the pre-processing is performed using the further received monitoring data. (Chasman, [036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors,management services, and utilities. [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [038], containers acting as sensors can monitor and generate data rather than just process data from other sensors or data sources. [examiner notes: containers are equivalent to main processor unit, the monitoring unit and the convert unit.])
Regarding claim(s) 5, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach the converter unit comprising multiple applications comprising instructions that, when executed, perform at least one of the pre-processing and the sending, each application of the multiple applications being containerized in a respective container. (Chasman, [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [038] Containers acting as sensors can monitor and generate data rather than just process data from other sensors or data sources.)
Regarding claim(s) 7, the method of claim 5,
Chasman-Mixer teach the pre-processing comprising: performing a first type analysis by executing a first container of the multiple containers, resulting in first pre-processed data; and (Chasman, [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [052] “Midserver” as used herein means a server that functions as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, and which runs one or more containerized services that perform one or more of: collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data. A midserver may also be configured as a bastion host.)
performing a second type analysis by executing a second container of the multiple containers, resulting in second pre-processed data, (Chasman, [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [052] “Midserver” as used herein means a server that functions as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, and which runs one or more containerized services that perform one or more of: collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data. A midserver may also be configured as a bastion host.)
wherein the first pre-processed data is sent to the at least one remote management system associated with the first container and the second pre-processed data is sent to another remote management system associated with the second container. (Chasman, [037], containers acting as traffic processors are primarily used to receive forwarded traffic from a customer network, transform the traffic if necessary, and then forward the traffic upstream over the primary connection. Several examples of traffic processing containerized services are: reverse proxy containers, system log containers, and messaging containers. [052] “Midserver” as used herein means a server that functions as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, and which runs one or more containerized services that perform one or more of: collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data. A midserver may also be configured as a bastion host.)
Regarding claim(s) 8, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach further comprising: establishing a connection between the converter unit and the at least one remote management system, for exclusive communication of data between the converter unit and the at least one remote management system; and (Chasman, [0053], Fig.1; on-site servers 150 may include a midserver 151 for collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data data transfers and interactions with a cloud service 130, typically co-located with the enterprise domain controller (or Active Directory (AD) server) 152 for exploration of network-enabled directories and to control access to and authenticate security requests on the network for other connected servers 150. [0054], data from these sources is sent to a midserver 220 which may be on-site or connected to via a Virtual Private Network (VPN), before the data is sent to through an organizations firewall 230 to a proxy server 240, to be forwarded to a cloud service’s data ingestion pipeline 250. [0060], then, the playbook then begins configurating the midserver 611 via an ssh connection tunnel, establishing a primary backhaul virtual private network (VPN) connection to the cloud-based service. [examiner notes: in computer networking, "exclusive communication" typically refers to a network or communication channel that is restricted to a specific group or individual, ensuring a secure and private connection. This is often achieved through technologies like Local Area Networks (LANs), Enterprise Private Networks (EPNs), or Virtual Private Networks (VPNs), which provide dedicated and controlled access to shared resources.)
sending the pre-processed data to the at least one remote management system through the established connection. (Chasman, [0053], Fig.1; on-site servers 150 may include a midserver 151 for collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data data transfers and interactions with a cloud service 130, typically co-located with the enterprise domain controller (or Active Directory (AD) server) 152 for exploration of network-enabled directories and to control access to and authenticate security requests on the network for other connected servers 150.[examiner notes: mideserver interprets to be the converter unit.])
Regarding claim(s) 9, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach the converter unit being configured to communicate with the monitoring unit and the main processing unit via a secure communication protocol. (Chasman, [031], by aggregating data at midservers multiple connections can be presented over the network as a single secure connection to enterprise cloud-based systems (wlog using standard VPN or similar encryption-based network transport technologies).)
Regarding claim(s) 10, the method of claim 9,
Chasman-Mixer teach the secure communication protocol requiring at least one of encryption of transmitted data and/or read only requests from the converter unit. (Chasman, [031], by aggregating data at midservers multiple connections can be presented over the network as a single secure connection to enterprise cloud-based systems (wlog using standard VPN or similar encryption-based network transport technologies).)
Regarding claim(s) 14, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach the pre-processing comprising at least one of the following: filtering the received monitoring data using one or more filters; (Chasman, [052] “Midserver” as used herein means a server that functions as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, and which runs one or more containerized services that perform one or more of: collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data. A midserver may also be configured as a bastion host.)
analysing the received data and providing one or more instructions based on the analysis analyzed received data; or (Chasman, [052] “Midserver” as used herein means a server that functions as an interface between an external network and a cloud-based service, and which runs one or more containerized services that perform one or more of: collecting, aggregating, analyzing, filtering, transforming, and securely transmitting data. A midserver may also be configured as a bastion host.)
formatting the filtered data according to a defined format. (Chasman, [033], midservers can optimize the ingestion of data into the cloud-based service by transforming the data prior to forwarding upstream. It is possible to process the data on the external network computers using an agent or additional software, but this adds complexity to the agent or requires more software installed on customer site. A midserver can act as a local processing station (often called“pre-processing”) for data transformations such as compression, protocol wrapping, port bending, and many others.[examiner notes: data transformation involves converting data from one format to another.] )
Regarding claim(s) 16, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach wherein the at least one remote management system is a database management system or a web server. (Chasman, [080], Fig.14; clients 33 or servers 32 (or both) may make use of one or more specialized services or appliances that may be deployed locally or remotely across one or more networks 31. For example, one or more databases 34 may be used or referred to by one or more embodiments of the invention. It should be understood by one having ordinary skill in the art that databases 34 may be arranged in a wide variety of architectures and using a wide variety of data access and manipulation means.)
Regarding claim(s) 18, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach wherein the receiving, the pre-processing and the sending is repeatedly performed by the converter unit. (Chasman, [033], midservers can optimize the ingestion of data into the cloud-based service by transforming the data prior to forwarding upstream. It is possible to process the data on the external network computers using an agent or additional software, but this adds complexity to the agent or requires more software installed on customer site. A midserver can act as a local processing station (often called“pre-processing”) for data transformations such as compression, protocol wrapping, port bending, and many others. [035] The midserver architecture may be designed to operate as a bastion host that runs a collection of containerized services. [036], the midserver runs a plurality of containerized services that serve to collect, aggregate, analyze, transform, and securely transmit data. The containerized service run by the midserver can be roughly categorized in four ways: traffic processors, sensors, management services, and utilities. [examiner notes: data transformation involves converting data from one format to another. If the collection of containerized services are running, the receiving, the pre-processing and the sending is repeatedly performed by the midservers.]
Regarding claim(s) 19, Chasman-Mixer teach a computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code embodied therewith, the computer-readable program code configured to implement the method of claim 1. (Chasman, [076], because such information and program instructions may be employed to implement one or more systems or methods described herein, at least some network device embodiments may include nontransitory machine-readable storage media, which, for example, may be configured or designed to store program instructions, state information, and the like for performing various operations described herein. Examples of such nontransitory machine- readable storage media include, but are not limited to, magnetic media such as hard disks, floppy disks, and magnetic tape; optical media such as CD- ROM disks;)
Regarding claim(s) 21, the method of claim 20,
Chasman-Mixer teach wherein the processor is a system on chip (SoC). (Chasman, [082], It should be appreciated that some or all components illustrated may be combined, such as in various integrated applications, for example Qualcomm or Samsung system-on-a-chip (SOC) devices, or whenever it may be appropriate to combine multiple capabilities or functions into a single hardware device (for instance, in mobile devices such as smartphones, video game consoles, in-vehicle computer systems such as navigation or multimedia systems in automobiles, or other integrated hardware devices).)
2. Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chasman in view of Mixer further in view of Sugaya (US 20190138286 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6, the method of claim 5,
Chasman-Mixer do not teach further comprising: receiving, by the converter unit container images from users; storing the container images in the converter unit; and creating multiple containers using the respective container images.
Sugaya however in the same field of computer networking teaches further comprising: receiving, by the converter unit container images from users; (Sugaya, FIG.3; [0041], the developer creates a container to contain a program group to be the execution environment corresponding to the developed application. The container image creation module 150 of the developer terminal 100 encapsulates two or more created containers in one container image. [0042], FIG.4; the container image registration module 250 of the container image distribution computer 200 receives the container image transmitted from the developer terminal 100 and registers the received container image (Step S01). If the container image is created by the container image distribution computer 200, the container image registration module 250 merely registers the created container image.
[0048], the container image distribution module 280 of the container image distribution computer 200 receives the selected platform (Step S04) and distributes the container image to this platform (Step S05).)
storing the container images in the converter unit; and (Sugaya, FIG.5 shows one or more platform (PAAS) comprise one or more computers and computers are inherently including memories/storages. [examiner notes: it is inherent that program files such as the container images have to download to the selected platform before containized/installed/created containers in the selected platform.)
creating the multiple containers using the respective container images. (Sugaya, [0048]
The container image distribution module 280 of the container image distribution computer 200 receives the selected platform (Step S04) and distributes the container image to this platform (Step S05). [0049], the platform is computer hardware that distributes the container image and containerizes containers. For example, the platform may be a computer (or a plurality of computers) that provides Platform as a Service (referred to as “PaaS”), a terminal computer or a computer device that is referred to as an edge (fog) computer, or a computer (schedule computer for edge) to schedule the operation of a microcomputer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chasman by incorporating the teachings of Sugaya. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to distributing a container image that do not need to previously prepare the execution environment for individual terminals and external systems on the execution of a predetermined application on these terminals and external systems (Sugaya, [0007]).
3. Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chasman in view of Mixer further in view of Steinmacher (US 20180150419 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, the method of claim 9,
Chasman-Mixer teach and the main processing unit via an application programming interface whose agents are installed in the monitoring and main processing units. (Chasman, [031] One method of data collection from large business enterprises for cloud-based computing is through agent based monitoring. In agent-based monitoring, software“agents” are installed on each computing device to collect data and then forward the data to the cloud- based service.[0060], a ZeroTier network application programming interface (API) acts as an adhoc Ansible inventory and a single source of truth for which systems have previously connected to the P2P network.)
Chasman-Mixer do not teach the converter unit being configured to communicate with the monitoring unit
Steinmacher however in the same field of computer networking teaches the converter unit being configured to communicate with the monitoring unit (Steinmacher, [0067], FIG.3; the resulting serial data signal may be transferred via one of the serial communication connections 220 to one of the memory buffer chips 214. Further, each processor chip may comprise a serial-to-parallel converter SIPO 238 which is configured for converting a serial data signal provided by one of the memory buffer chips 214 via one of the serial point-to-point communication connections 220 to a parallel data signal being further transferred via a wide connection 242.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chasman by incorporating the teachings of Steinmacher. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to speed up the execution of a single large program in time-critical applications (Steinmacher, [0017]).
4. Claim(s) 13 and17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chasman in view of Mixer further in view of Higginson (US 20230205664 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 13, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer teach the monitoring unit comprising a service processor, (Chasman, [071], CPU 12 may include one or more processors 13 such as, for example, a processor from one of the Intel, ARM, Qualcomm, and AMD families of microprocessors.) the main processing unit comprising a base operating system (OS), (Chasman, [0075], Program instructions may control execution of or comprise an operating system and/ or one or more applications, for example. Memory 16 or memories 11, 16 may also be configured to store data structures, configuration data, encryption data, historical system operations information, or any other specific or generic non-program information described herein.)
Chasman-Mixer do not teach the base OS being configured acquire data descriptive of software components of the computer system, the service processor being configured to acquire data descriptive of hardware components of the computer system, wherein the monitoring data comprises the acquired data.
Higginson however in the same field of computer networking teaches the base OS being configured acquire data descriptive of software components of the computer system, the service processor being configured to acquire data descriptive of hardware components of the computer system, wherein the monitoring data comprises the acquired data. (Higginson, [0036], as illustrated in FIG. 1B, the resource management system 130 includes a monitoring module 131 with the functionality to monitor and/or manage the utilization or consumption of resources on the computing system 110. For example, the monitoring module 131 may collect and/or monitor metrics related to utilization and/or workloads on processors, memory, storage, network, I/O, thread pools, and/or other types of hardware and/or software resources. [0142], based on generating the indication of a predicted anomaly in the monitored system, the system may further recommend or initiate a remediation action (Operation 612). For example, the system may recommend reconfiguring a node cluster, such as by adding, removing, or upgrading nodes based on predicted utilization rates of the nodes in the node cluster exceeding threshold rates.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chasman by incorporating the teachings of Higginson. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detecting anomalies in forecasted time-series predictions for a monitored computing system (Higginson, [0005]).
Regarding claim(s) 17, the method of claim 1,
Chasman-Mixer do not teach further comprising: in response to sending the pre-processed data, receiving at the computer system a control signal for controlling operation of the computer system.
Higginson however in the same field of computer networking teaches further comprising: in response to sending the pre-processed data, receiving at the computer system a control signal for controlling operation of the computer system. (Higginson, [0036], as illustrated in FIG. 1B, the resource management system 130 includes a monitoring module 131 with the functionality to monitor and/or manage the utilization or consumption of resources on the computing system 110. For example, the monitoring module 131 may collect and/or monitor metrics related to utilization and/or workloads on processors, memory, storage, network, I/O, thread pools, and/or other types of hardware and/or software resources. [0142], based on generating the indication of a predicted anomaly in the monitored system, the system may further recommend or initiate a remediation action (Operation 612). For example, the system may recommend reconfiguring a node cluster, such as by adding, removing, or upgrading nodes based on predicted utilization rates of the nodes in the node cluster exceeding threshold rates.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 13 applies here.
5. Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chasman in view of Mixer further in view of Shifer (US 20190042425 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 22, the method of claim 21,
Chasman-Mixer do not teach wherein the SoC is attached to a motherboard of the computer system. (Shifer, [0047] The example in FIG. 2A illustrates two diagrams: one diagram 202 shows domains defined relative to local memory and another diagram 204 shows the same domains defined relative to remote memory. The terms local and remote memory typically refer to memory in multi-socketed systems (e.g., in a data center or cloud, or on a motherboard, there can be multiple SoCs or chips in sockets that are communicating with one another), and in the context of accelerators coherency, remote memory may refer to memory that is attached to discrete accelerator.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chasman by incorporating the teachings of Shifer. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to coherency of shared memory and multi-level memory management for systems including an accelerator (Shifer, [0001]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449