DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/2026, particularly with respect to the Korekane reference and the homogeneous nature of the coating as presently amended, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previously stated rejection over Korekane is withdrawn.
For purposes of clarity, it is noted that “homogenous” is not defined in the specification, and Applicant does not point to explicit support in the Remarks. Applicant describes a process of coating involving combining polymer solutions, coating them onto the fertilizer granule, then drying (Specification Para. 0020). As such, with respect to the prior art, at least solution application is considered to be homogenous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanders (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0243010 A1, hereinafter “Sanders”).
Regarding claim 1, Sanders teaches a coated particle (e.g., a coated fertilizer particle) [Para. 0028] comprising:
An inner particle comprising a fertilizer granule [Para. 0028 & 0043, demonstrating coating of particles/granules]; and
A coating disposed on a surface of the inner particle (e.g., the coating forms a film on the fertilizer) [Para. 0009], wherein the coating is a homogeneous coating (e.g., the coating is a solution, which is necessarily homogeneous) [Para. 0009] and comprises:
A first polymer that is water soluble (e.g., the coating may comprise polyvinyl alcohol or PVA as an additional material [Para. 0024], PVA is described as a suitable water soluble polymer in the Specification at Paragraph 0076); and
A second polymer comprising a copolymer (e.g., a variety of monomers, polymers and copolymers may be included in the coating, and combinations thereof) [Para. 0012].
Regarding claim 2, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the first polymer is PVA (e.g., the coating may comprise polyvinyl alcohol or PVA as an additional material) [Para. 0024].
Regarding claim 3, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is one or more of a block chain copolymer, branched polymer, or block copolymer (e.g., the coating may contain copolymers having varying ratios of subunits, such as 10:90, 60:40, etc., produced by varying monomer amounts in the reaction mixture [Para. 0020] which are regarded as reading on block copolymers).
Regarding claim 4, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the fertilizer granule comprises one or more of a nitrogenous fertilizer, phosphate fertilizer, or potassium fertilizer (e.g., the fertilizer particle may be MAP, DAP, or any of a number of well known NPK fertilizer products) [Para. 0028].
Regarding claim 5, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the inner particle further comprises one or more of a pesticide, a fungicide, an herbicide, or a weed killer (e.g., the fertilizer particle may contain micronutrients and chelates of micronutrients, such as zinc sulfate, which is also an herbicide) [Para. 0028].
Regarding claim 9, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the coated particle is a component of a fertilizer composition [Sanders Abstract], and the coating comprises an effective amount of the second polymer to reduce a release of dust when applying the fertilizer composition to the soil (e.g., the coating inhibits the formation of fertilizer dust and is useful as an anti-dusting agent) [Sanders Para. 0032] but does not explicitly state that the fertilizer composition comprises an effective amount of the first polymer to improve water retention of soil. However, the composition of Sanders can contain PVA in the coating as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above [Sanders Para. 0024], the polymer to which Applicant attributes the feature of increasing water retention in soil in the Specification at Paragraph 0036. Example 23 in the Specification at Paragraph 0109 states that this polymer may be included in the coating from about 40 wt. % to about 60 wt. %. At least this percentage range is here regarded as constituting an effective amount to improve water retention of soil. Sanders teaches that the PVA is included in an amount overlapping with this range: the weight ratio of PVA to the other polymer in the coating should be between about 1:100 to 100:1, and more preferably between about 1:10 to 10:1, which overlaps with the claimed range of 40 to 60 wt. % of each polymer, no other components necessary to be included in the balance except for water, which is allowed to dry once the granules are coated, and ammonium phosphate, which is only included between 1-10 wt. % [Para. 0021 & 0025 & Para. 0054]. As such, the total coating comprising the PVA and the second polymer necessarily contains an amount of PVA which overlaps with the effective range. As such, it necessarily follows that the composition of Sanders contains an effective amount of the first polymer and thereby inherently improves water retention of soil as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is attracted to the inner particle by way of one or more of van der Waals forces, London dispersion forces, or quantum attraction (the granular fertilizer of Sanders is coated by spraying or using a fluidized bed [Para. 0011]; this will necessarily result in the coating adhering to the granule in close proximity, this close proximity will necessarily result in inherent van der Waals and London dispersion forces as well as quantum attraction).
Regarding claim 14, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein a thickness of the coating is optimized such that the coated particle comprises an effective amount of the coating to protect the inner particle from environmental exposure and loss (e.g., the coating may prevent, eliminate, or reduce ammonia volatilization, which is a type of environmental loss) Sanders Para. 0011].
Regarding claim 15, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the coating degrades upon exposure to water (e.g., is substantially water soluble) [Sanders Para. 0034-36]. Sanders does not explicitly state that the degraded coating remains in soil; however, the main materials included in the coating (PVA and other polymers) are generally not taken up by plants and so would necessarily remain in the soil; as such, Sanders is also regarded as reading on this limitation.
Regarding claim 20, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the coated particle comprises form about 0.1 to about 4 wt. % of the coating (e.g., the coating is typically applied to the fertilizer particles at a level of from about 0.0001-4% by weight, and more preferably from about 0.01-1.0% by weight, and most preferably 0.25-0.5% by weight based upon the weight of the fertilizer taken as 100%) [Para. 0029].
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-11, 14, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmid (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0157018 A1, hereinafter “Schmid”).
Regarding claim 1, Schmid teaches a coated particle (e.g., a composition for use as a coating material for nitrogen-containing fertilizers) [Schmid Para. 0001 & 0223] comprising:
An inner particle comprising a fertilizer granule (e.g., a nitrogen-containing fertilizer granule) [Schmid Para. 0223]; and
A coating disposed on a surface of the inner particle (e.g., a composition coated onto the nitrogen-containing fertilizer granule) [Para. 0034], wherein the coating is a homogeneous coating (e.g., the granule is homogeneously coated) [Para. 0356] (the individual components of the composition are mixed together) [Para. 0261 & 0268] and comprises:
A first polymer that is water soluble (e.g., the composition may contain a tackifier or binder such as polyvinyl alcohols) [Para. 0257] (PVA is described as a suitable water soluble polymer in the Specification at Paragraph 0076); and
A second polymer comprising a copolymer (e.g., the composition includes a polymeric polyamine, such as, for example, a polyethyleneimine according to general formula V, wherein R1 to R6 are each independently, among other options, polyoxyalkylene, hydroxyaryl, arylamino radicals, which are optionally further substituted) [Para.0029 & 0058].
Regarding claim 2, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the first polymer is PVA (e.g., the composition may contain a tackifier or binder such as polyvinyl alcohols) [Para. 0257].
Regarding claim 3, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is one or more of a block chain copolymer, branched polymer or block copolymer (e.g., the composition includes a polymeric polyamine, such as, for example, a polyethyleneimine according to general formula V, wherein R1 to R6 are each independently, among other options, polyoxyalkylene, hydroxyaryl, arylamino radicals, which are optionally further substituted) [Para.0029 & 0058].
Regarding claim 4, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the fertilizer granule comprises one or more of a nitrogenous fertilizer, a phosphate fertilizer, or a potassium fertilizer (e.g., a nitrogen-containing fertilizer granule) [Schmid Para. 0223],
Regarding claim 10, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is attracted to the inner particle by way of one or more of van der Waals forces, London dispersion forces, or quantum attraction (the granular fertilizer of Schmid is coated by spraying [Para. 0356]; this will necessarily result in the coating adhering to the granule in close proximity, this close proximity will necessarily result in inherent van der Waals and London dispersion forces as well as quantum attraction).
Regarding claim 11, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is a polyoxyalkylene copolymer (e.g., the composition includes a polymeric polyamine, such as, for example, a polyethyleneimine according to general formula V, wherein R1 to R6 are each independently, among other options, polyoxyalkylene, hydroxyaryl, arylamino radicals, which are optionally further substituted) [Schmid Para. 0029 & 0058].
Regarding claim 14, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein a thickness of the coating is optimized such that the coated particle comprises an effective amount of the coating to protect the inner particle from environmental exposure and loss (e.g., the coating of Schmid decreases ammonia volatilization losses) [Schmid Para. 0362-0364].
Regarding claim 21, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the coating further comprises a desiccating agent (e.g., the composition can further comprise solid carriers or fillers including silicates, silica gels, talc, kaolins, diatomaceous earth, etc., which are desiccating agents) [Schmid Para. 0242].
Regarding claim 22, Schmid teaches the coated particle wherein the first polymer is PVA (e.g., the composition may contain a tackifier or binder such as polyvinyl alcohols) [Para. 0257] and wherein the second polymer is a block copolymer comprising polymerizations of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, and 1,2-butylene oxide (e.g., the composition includes a polymeric polyamine, such as, for example, a polyethyleneimine according to general formula V, wherein R1 to R6 are each independently, among other options, polyoxyalkylene, hydroxyaryl, arylamino radicals, which are optionally further substituted) [Schmid Para. 0029 & 0058]. Polyoxyalkylene is described as an appropriate block copolymer made from sequential block polymerizations of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, and 1,2-butylene oxide in the Specification at Paragraph 0037; as such the presence of any amount of polyoxyalkylene in the copolymer is regarded as reading on the required block copolymer comprising polymerizations of ethylene, propylene, and 1,2-butylene oxide.
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 15, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banks (International Patent Pub. No. 2016/186526 A1, hereinafter “Banks”).
Regarding claim 1, Banks teaches a coated particle (e.g., a fertilizer composition comprising coated granules) [Banks Abstract] comprising:
An inner particle comprising a fertilizer granule (e.g., a fertilizer granule) [Banks Abstract]; and
A coating disposed on a surface of the inner particle (e.g., a coating of polymeric binders and a plant hormone) [Banks Abstract], wherein the coating is a homogeneous coating (e.g., a homogeneous coating) [Banks Para. 0055 & Claim 8] and comprises:
A first polymer that is water soluble (e.g., the coating composition may contain a polyhydroxyl compound such as polyvinyl alcohol) [Banks Para. 0033] (PVA is described as a suitable water soluble polymer in the Specification at Paragraph 0076); and
A second polymer comprising a copolymer (e.g., the coating composition may contain a mixture of polymers including the polyhydroxyl compound, as well as a polymer or copolymer of a C1-C6 substiututed alkyl) [Banks Para. 0030].
Regarding claim 2, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the first polymer is PVA (e.g., the coating composition may contain a polyhydroxyl compound such as polyvinyl alcohol) [Banks Para. 0033].
Regarding claim 3, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is one or more of a block chain copolymer, branched polymer or block copolymer (e.g., the coating composition may contain a mixture of polymers including the polyhydroxyl compound, as well as a polymer or copolymer of a C1-C6 substiututed alkyl, such as lactams, a latex, or a starch) [Banks Para. 0030].
Regarding claim 4, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the fertilizer granule comprises one or more of a nitrogenous fertilizer, a phosphate fertilizer, or a potassium fertilizer (e.g., the granular fertilizer can be urea, urea phosphate, urea sulphur, urea potash, or a mixture thereof) [Banks Para. 0074].
Regarding claim 5, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the inner particle further comprises one or more of a pesticide, a fungicide, an herbicide, or a weed killer (e.g., the granules are in various embodiments formulated with, and in other embodiments used in combination with one or more other agricultural agents, including pesticides, insecticides, acaracides, additional fungicides, bactericides, herbicides, antibiotics, etc.) [Banks Para. 0141].
Regarding claim 10, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the second polymer is attracted to the inner particle by way of one or more of van der Waals forces, London dispersion forces, or quantum attraction (the granular fertilizer of Banks is coated by spraying [Para. 0156]; this will necessarily result in the coating adhering to the granule in close proximity, this close proximity will necessarily result in inherent van der Waals and London dispersion forces as well as quantum attraction).
Regarding claim 15, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the coating degrades upon exposure to water (e.g., the coating can contain water soluble polymers such as PVA and other water soluble carriers and solvents and as such appears to necessarily degrade upon exposure to water) [Banks Para. 0033 & 0137-0138]. Banks does not explicitly state that the degraded coating remains in soil; however, the main materials included in the coating (PVA and other polymers) are generally not taken up by plants and so would necessarily remain in the soil; as such, Banks is also regarded as reading on this limitation.
Regarding claim 24, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the inner particle comprises a structural particle selected from the provide group (e.g., the granule core can contain a clay granule, a silicate mineral, an aluminosilicate mineral, for example, zeolite, diatomaceous earth or perlite, vermiculite, a fertiliser granule, or a combination of any two or more thereof) [Banks Para. 0101].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders.
Regarding claim 23, Sanders teaches the coated particle wherein the coating comprises equal parts by weight of the first polymer and the second polymer within a margin of error of about ten percent (e.g., the weight ratio of PVA to the other polymer should be between about 1:100 to 100:1, and more preferably between about 1:10 to 10:1, which overlaps with the claimed range of approximately 1:1 with a 10% margin of error) [Para. 0025]. Overlapping ranges create a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 25, Sanders teaches a coated particle (e.g., a coated fertilizer particle) [Para. 0028] comprising:
An inner particle comprising a fertilizer granule [Para. 0028 & 0043, demonstrating coating of particles/granules]; and
A coating disposed on a surface of the inner particle (e.g., the coating forms a film on the fertilizer) [Para. 0009], wherein the coating is a homogeneous coating (e.g., the coating is a solution, which is necessarily homogeneous) [Para. 0009] and comprises:
A first polymer that is water soluble (e.g., the coating may comprise polyvinyl alcohol or PVA as an additional material [Para. 0024], PVA is described as a suitable water soluble polymer in the Specification at Paragraph 0076); and
A second polymer comprising a copolymer (e.g., a variety of monomers, polymers and copolymers may be included in the coating, and combinations thereof) [Para. 0012];
Wherein the coating comprises from about 40 wt. % to 60 wt. % of the first polymer and 40 wt. % to 60 wt. % of the second polymer (e.g., the weight ratio of PVA to the other polymer should be between about 1:100 to 100:1, and more preferably between about 1:10 to 10:1, which overlaps with the claimed range of 40 to 60 wt. % of each polymer, no other components necessary to be included in the balance except for water, which is allowed to dry once the granules are coated, and ammonium phosphate, which is only included between 1-10 wt. %) [Para. 0021 & 0025 & Para. 0054]. Overlapping ranges create a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Layered Agglomeration of Urea Granules,” Yanjie Chen, Purdue University Department of Engineering Technology, December 2018 (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 12, Sanders teaches the coated particle being constructed including particles and pores [Sanders Para. 005], which will necessarily have pore diameters, but does not explicitly state that the coated particle is a mesoporous particle comprising pore diameters from about 20 microns to about 80 microns. However, Chen teaches that coated fertilizer porosity and pore volume [Chen Page 11, Abstract] is a result effective variable which depends on the specific fertilizer material included in the granule (e.g., Environmentally Smart Nitrogen has a higher internal pore space and higher total pore volume than pure urea, while NPK combination fertilizers have smaller pores) [Chen Page 11, Abstract] as well as the manufacturing method and applied coatings [Chen Page 11, Abstract]. Further, Chen teaches that it is known to optimize granule porosity as a fertilizer parameter to alter the dissolution behavior [Chen Page 47]. Reduced pore space/smaller pores negatively correlate with dissolution and fracture pressure [Chen Page 59 and Fig. 4.4]. Further, this parameter can be adjusted by changing the number and time of revolutions during granule manufacture [Chen Pages 59-60]. As such, in making the fertilizer granule of Sanders, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Chen and readily appreciate that the pore sizes of the particles in the granules can be optimized, thereby arriving at mesoporous pore diameters between 20 microns and 80 microns. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pore diameters of the fertilizer granule of Sanders to within the claimed range as taught by Chen.
Claim(s) 7 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banks as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Bunderson (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0213004 A1, hereinafter “Bunderson”).
Regarding claim 7, Banks teaches the coated particle having a carrier or filler in the core of the fertilizer granule (e.g., fillers and carriers such as clay, talc, silicates, zeolites, etc. can be combined with appropriate fertilizers which include urea, superphosphate, MAP, DAP, SSP, TSP, CAN, MOP) [Banks Para. 0136 & 0101], but does not explicitly disclose the particle size of these as being in nanoparticulate form. However, Bunderson teaches that it is advantageous to include these fillers and carriers in nanoparticulate sizes because then they can pass through plant’s cell walls and be absorbed by the plant [Bunderson Para. 0043 & 0048 & 0060 & 0087]. As such, in implementing the same fillers and carriers including clays and zeolites [Bunderson Para. 055], one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Bunderson and readily appreciate the advantages of implementing nanoparticulate sizes thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in making the coated particle of Banks to include nanoparticles therein as taught by Bunderson.
Banks as modified by Bunderson above teaches the coated particle having nanoparticles comprising a structural particle comprising an ion exchange site site (e.g., the filler or carrier can be a clay [Banks Para. 0101 & 0136], described as an appropriate structural particle in the Specification at Paragraph 0052; and clay necessarily contains ion exchange sites). Banks as modified by Bunderson above does not explicitly state that the fertilizer granule is in a charged state or that the ion exchange site of the structural particle is filled with the fertilizer granule in the charged state. However, Bunderson teaches that it is known when making fertilizer granules comprising clay or other minerals as a structural particle [Bunderson Para. 0043 & Abstract] to include charged fertilizer ions [Bunderson Para. 0016] from a variety of N-P-K fertilizers [Para. 0068] such that the fertilizer ions exchange with the structural particle’s ion exchange sites [Bunderson Para. 0044]. This fertilizer structure is uniquely suited to pass through plant cells and be efficiently absorbed by plants [Bunderson Para. 0016]. Further, the structure is made by adding energy when mixing the structural particle and the fertilizer, resulting in ion exchange [Bunderson Para. 0050]. As such, in making a fertilizer granule comprising a structural particle such as clay along with an N-P-K fertilizer as taught by Banks, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Bunderson and readily appreciate the advantages of implementing a charged fertilizer granule and an ion exchanged structure, and further would know how to do so via the teaching of Bunderson to add energy when mixing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in making the fertilizer granule of Banks to use a fertilizer granule in a charged state and to fill the ion exchange site of the structural particle with said fertilizer as taught by Bunderson.
Regarding claim 17, Banks teaches the coated particle wherein the inner particle comprises fillers and carriers such as clay, talc, silicates, zeolites, etc. [Banks Para. 0136 & 0101], but does not explicitly disclose the particle size of these as being in nanoparticulate form. However, Bunderson teaches that it is advantageous to include these particular fillers and carriers in nanoparticulate sizes because then they can pass through plant’s cell walls and be absorbed by the plant [Bunderson Para. 0043 & 0048 & 0060 & 0087]. As such, in implementing the same fillers and carriers including clays and zeolites [Bunderson Para. 055], one of ordinary skill in the art would look to Bunderson and readily appreciate the advantages of implementing nanoparticulate sizes thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in making the coated particle of Banks to include nanoparticles therein as taught by Bunderson.
Regarding claim 18, Banks as modified by Bunderson detaches the coated particle having nanoparticles, but does not explicitly state that the nanoparticles are delayed release or are configured to delay release of the plurality of different fertilizer ions into soil for uptake by the plant root. However, the presence of the one or more nanoparticles comprising the plurality of fertilizer ions would appear to inherently delay release of the fertilizer. The Specification at Paragraph 0063 states that "the structure of the nanoparticle 200 enables delayed release of the selected ions 304 over time to improve plant outcomes." As such, it would appear that Applicant attributes the delayed-release quality of the nanoparticles to the structure of the nanoparticle. Banks as modified by Bunderson as cited meets the structure of the nanoparticle. As such, Banks as modified by Bunderson is regarded as reading on this limitation.
Conclusion
/H.E.R./ /JENNIFER A SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 1731 Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731