DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-24 are pending in the application. Claims 7-9 and 16-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 10, 21, and 22 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeung et al. (US 2019/0321119 A1) (“Yeung”).
Regarding claim 1, Yeung discloses (Figures 1-15D) a robotic device comprising: (a) an elongate body (210); (b) a robotic arm operably coupled to the elongate body, the robotic arm comprising: (i) an upper arm segment (360); (ii) a forearm segment (330) rotatably operably coupled to the upper arm segment at an elbow joint (234; Figure 5C; paragraph 0145); and (iii) at least two actuable components (end effector instrument 239, 342, 344 and wrist assembly 236) associated with the robotic arm; (c) a first cable-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a first actuator (332) disposed within the forearm segment (330, Figure 5J); and (ii) a motive force transfer cable (332a) operably coupled to the first actuator (332) and a first of the at least two actuable components (Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a can comprise a wire and pulley assembly, paragraph 0179); and (d) a first gear-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a second actuator (336) disposed within the forearm segment (Figure 5J); and (ii) at least one gear operably coupled to the second actuator and a second of the at least two actuable components (paragraphs 0174-0175).
Regarding claim 5, Yeung discloses the first of the at least two actuable components comprises actuable end effector grasper arms (239, 342, 344; Figures 5D-5H), and wherein the second of the at least two actuable components comprises a rotatable end effector grasper body (346a).
Regarding claim 6, Yeung discloses (Figures 5A-5J) that the first and second actuators (332, 336) are disposed within the forearm segment (330).
Regarding claim 10, Yeung discloses (Figures 1-15D) a robotic device comprising: (a) an elongate body (210); (b) a robotic arm operably coupled to the elongate body, the robotic arm comprising: (i) an upper arm segment (360); (ii) a forearm segment (330) operably coupled to the upper arm segment (at elbow joint 234; paragraph 0145); and (iii) at least two actuable components (end effector instrument 239, 342, 344 and wrist assembly 236) associated with the robotic arm and operably coupled to the forearm segment (Figures 5A-5J); (c) a first cable-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a first actuator (332) disposed within the forearm segment (330, Figure 5J); and (ii) a first motive force transfer cable (332a) disposed through the forearm segment operably coupled to the first actuator (332) and a first of the at least two actuable components (Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a can comprise a wire and pulley assembly, paragraphs 0179); and (d) a second cable-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a second actuator (336) disposed within the forearm segment (330, Figure 5J); and (ii) a second motive force transfer cable (336a) operably coupled to the second actuator and a second of the at least two actuable components (Yeung discloses that the wrist drive 336a can comprise a wire and pulley assembly, paragraph 0175).
Regarding claim 11, Yeung discloses (Figure 5K) a first gear-driven actuation assembly comprising: (a) a third actuator (339) disposed within the forearm segment (330, Figure 5J); and (b) at least one gear (339a) operably coupled to the third actuator and a third of the at least two actuable components (paragraph 0182).
Regarding claim 14, Yeung discloses the first of the at least two actuable components comprises actuable end effector grasper arms (239, 342, 344; Figures 5D-5H), and wherein the second of the at least two actuable components comprises a rotatable end effector grasper body (346a).
Regarding claim 15, Yeung discloses (Figures 5A-5J) that the first and second actuators (332, 336) are disposed within the forearm segment (330).
Regarding claim 21, Yeung discloses (Figures 1-15D) a robotic device comprising: (a) an elongate body (210); (b) a robotic arm operably coupled to the elongate body, the robotic arm comprising: (i) an upper arm segment (360); (ii) a forearm segment (330) rotatably operably coupled to the upper arm segment at an elbow joint (234; Figure 5C; paragraph 0145); and (iii) an actuable component (239, 342, 344) associated with the robotic arm and operably coupled to the forearm segment (Figures 5D-5H); (c) a cable-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) an actuator (332) disposed within the forearm segment (330; Figure 5J); and (ii) a motive force transfer cable (332a) disposed through the forearm segment (330) operably coupled to the first-actuator (332) and the actuable component (Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a can comprise a wire and pulley assembly, paragraph 0179).
Regarding claim 22, Yeung discloses (Figures 5A-5J) that the cable-driven actuation assembly is a first cable-driven actuation assembly, and further comprising: (d) a first gear-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a second actuator (336) disposed within the forearm; and (ii) at least one gear operably coupled to the second actuator and a second actuable component (paragraphs 0174-0175).
Regarding claim 23, Yeung discloses (Figures 5A-5J) the cable-driven actuation assembly is a first cable-driven actuation assembly, and further comprising: (d) a second cable-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a second actuator (334) disposed within the forearm (330, Figure 5J); and (ii) a motive force transfer cable (334a) operably coupled to the second actuator (334) and the actuable component (Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 334a can comprise a wire and pulley assembly, paragraphs 0162-0163).
Regarding claim 24, Yeung discloses (Figures 5A-5J) that the cable-driven actuation assembly is a first cable-driven actuation assembly, and further comprising: (d) a second cable-driven actuation assembly comprising: (i) a second actuator (334) disposed within the forearm (330, Figure 5J); and (ii) a rotary force transfer cable (334a) operably coupled to the second actuator (334) and the actuable component (Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 334a can comprise a wire and pulley assembly, paragraphs 0162-0163).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeung et al. (US 2019/0321119 A1) (“Yeung”) in view of Burbank (US 2010/0016853 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yeung discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Yeung fails to explicitly disclose that the motive force transfer cable is a rotary force transfer cable.
In the same field of endeavor, Burbank teaches (Figure 6) rotary force transfer cables (671, 672, 673, 674) that are wound/wrapped around pulleys and capstans. Burbank teaches that rotating the capstans causes pulling/release of a cable to control a function of an end effector (paragraphs 0055-0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motive force transfer cable disclosed by Yeung to be a rotary force transfer cable, as taught by Burbank. Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a may comprise any mechanical configuration (such as wire and pulley; paragraph 0179). Burbank teaches that a rotary force transfer cable can be utilized in a mechanical configuration to convert rotation of a motor to actuation of an end effector (Burbank, paragraphs 0055-0061).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Yeung discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Yeung fails to explicitly disclose the motive force transfer cable is a lateral force transfer cable, wherein the lateral force transfer cable comprises a single lateral push/pull cable or two lateral pull cables.
In the same field of endeavor, Burbank teaches (Figure 5) lateral force transfer cables (571, 572, 573, 574) that comprise single lateral push/pull cables or two lateral pull cables (paragraphs 0045-0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motive force transfer cable disclosed by Yeung to be a lateral force transfer cable, wherein the lateral force transfer cable comprises a single lateral push/pull cable or two lateral pull cables, as taught by Burbank. Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a may comprise any mechanical configuration (paragraph 0179). Burbank teaches that a lateral force transfer cable can be utilized in a mechanical configuration to convert rotation of a motor to actuation of an end effector (Burbank, paragraphs 0045-0051).
Regarding claim 12, Yeung discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Yeung fails to explicitly disclose that at least one of the first and second motive force transfer cables is a rotary force transfer cable.
In the same field of endeavor, Burbank teaches (Figure 6) rotary force transfer cables (671, 672, 673, 674) that are wound/wrapped around pulleys and capstans. Burbank teaches that rotating the capstans causes pulling/release of a cable to control a function of an end effector (paragraphs 0055-0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of the first and second motive force transfer cables disclosed by Yeung to be a rotary force transfer cable, as taught by Burbank. Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a may comprise any mechanical configuration (such as wire and pulley; paragraph 0179). Burbank teaches that a rotary force transfer cable can be utilized in a mechanical configuration to convert rotation of a motor to actuation of an end effector (Burbank, paragraphs 0055-0061).
Regarding claim 13, Yeung discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Yeung fails to explicitly disclose that at least one of the first and second motive force transfer cables is a lateral force transfer cable.
In the same field of endeavor, Burbank teaches (Figure 5) lateral force transfer cables (571, 572, 573, 574; paragraphs 0045-0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of the first and second motive force transfer cables disclosed by Yeung to be a lateral force transfer cable, as taught by Burbank. Yeung discloses that the instrument drive 332a may comprise any mechanical configuration (paragraph 0179). Burbank teaches that a lateral force transfer cable can be utilized in a mechanical configuration to convert rotation of a motor to actuation of an end effector (Burbank, paragraphs 0045-0051).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 10-15, and 21-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Yeung reference is newly cited.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/DIANE D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771