DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10 March 2026. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karabinis et al. (hereinafter Karabinis) (US 2005/0136836 A1) in view of further support by Piirainen et al. (hereinafter Piirainen) (US 2011/0105184 A1), Raje et al. (hereinafter Raje) (US 2018/0167796 A1) and Ramakrishman et al. (hereinafter Ramakrishman) (US 12,414,009 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Karab,inis discloses a, method of reducing fronthaul data load and beam management realization in a cellular non-terrestrial network using a satellite network system, comprising:
providing a plurality of cells of a cellular service based on satellite systems (e.g., 100) in a satellite constellation (e.g., 100) to be used in a pre-defined pattern when being translated into beams, wherein a given cell covers more than a single geographic area in a non-adjacent manner { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell };
providing a single cell identifier for the given cell based on a reuse pattern of the cell identifier { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern };
wherein the reuse pattern of the cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area avoids two cell identifiers covering an overlapping geographic area { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern }; and
wherein the reuse pattern of the cell identifier also avoids neighbor cells having the same identifier { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern }. Karabinis inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) providing a single cell identifier for the given cell based on a reuse pattern of the cell identifier. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) providing a single cell identifier for the given cell based on a reuse pattern of the cell identifier was well known in the art, as taught by Piirainen.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Piirainen discloses the feature(s) providing a single cell identifier for the given cell based on a reuse pattern of the cell identifier { (see pg. 3, [0040, lines 5-9]; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides reuse of cell identifiers in which two neighboring base stations cannot apply identical cell identifiers (see pg. 3, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karabinis as further alternatively supported by Piirainen to have the feature(s) providing a single cell identifier for the given cell based on a reuse pattern of the cell identifier, in order to provide a methods that enable dynamic configurations, as taught by Piirainen (see pg. 1, [0005]).
Karabinis inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area was well known in the art, as taught by Raje.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Raje discloses the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area { (see pg. 4, [0031, lines 13-15]; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a mesh backhaul (see pg. 4, [0030, lines 19-22; pg. 4, [0031, lines 10-13]), and the system provides frequency reuse (see pg. 11, [0076, lines 10-3]) }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karabinis and Piirainen as further alternatively supported by Raje to have the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area, in order to provide a method and system for a dynamic public warning system, as taught by Raje (see pg. 1, [0006]).
Karabinis inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area was well known in the art, as taught by Ramakrishman.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Ramakrishman discloses the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area { (see col. 7, lines 21-25; Figs. 1A-B), where the system provides a RU (106) that transmits the same cell-ID for each cell based on the frequency reuse };
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karabinis, Piirainen, and Raje as further alternatively supported by Ramakrishman to have the feature(s) reuse pattern of a cell identifier for the more than the single geographic area, in order to provide a RU to dynamically discover a radio controller, as taught by Ramakrishman (see col. 1, lines 19-20,31-36).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising creating the given cell that covers more than the single geographic are in the non-adjacent manner for cellular coverage { (see pg. 4, [0036, lines 10-14; 0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5) }.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cells are provided by orbital base stations in the satellite constellation { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5) }.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein baseband processing is performed at orbital base stations in the satellite constellation { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5) }.
Regarding claim 5, Karabinis discloses the method of claim 4, wherein a network is used as backhaul for orbital base stations { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5) }. Karabinis inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) mesh network. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) mesh network was well known in the art, as taught by Raje.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Raje discloses the feature(s) mesh network { (see pg. 3, [0026]; Figs. 1-3), where the system provides a mesh backhaul }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karabinis and Piirainen as further alternatively supported by Raje to have the feature(s) mesh network, in order to provide a method and system for a dynamic public warning system, as taught by Raje (see pg. 1, [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 6), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the orbital radio satellite uses narrow beamwidth beams to deliver service to ground stations { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 8, Karabinis discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the orbital radio satellite broadcasts an EUTRAN cell global identifier (eCGI) to a plurality of ground-based user equipments (UEs) in a non-contiguous area { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5) }. Karabinis inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) EUTRAN cell global identifier (eCGI). However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) mesh network was well known in the art, as taught by Raje.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Raje discloses the feature(s) EUTRAN cell global identifier (eCGI) { (see pg. 4, [0030,002]; Figs. 1-3), where the system provides a global identifier }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karabinis and Piirainen as further alternatively supported by Raje to have the feature(s) EUTRAN cell global identifier (eCGI), in order to provide a method and system for a dynamic public warning system, as taught by Raje (see pg. 1, [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Karabinis discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the single cell identifiers is at least one of an EUTRAN cell global identifier (ECGI), a cell global identifier (CGD), a service area identifier (SAI), a routing area identifier (RAI), a tracking area identifier (TAD), a location area identifier (LAI) { (see pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5) }. Karabinis inexplicitly discloses having the feature(s) at least one of an EUTRAN cell global identifier (ECGI), a cell global identifier (CGD), a service area identifier (SAI), a routing area identifier (RAI), a tracking area identifier (TAD), a location area identifier (LAI). However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) at least one of an EUTRAN cell global identifier (ECGI), a cell global identifier (CGD), a service area identifier (SAI), a routing area identifier (RAI), a tracking area identifier (TAD), a location area identifier (LAI) was well known in the art, as taught by Raje.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Raje discloses the feature(s) at least one of an EUTRAN cell global identifier (ECGI), a cell global identifier (CGD), a service area identifier (SAI), a routing area identifier (RAI), a tracking area identifier (TAD), a location area identifier (LAI) { (see pg. 4, [0030,002]; Figs. 1-3), where the system provides a global identifier }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Karabinis and Piirainen as further alternatively supported by Raje to have the feature(s) at least one of an EUTRAN cell global identifier (ECGI), a cell global identifier (CGD), a service area identifier (SAI), a routing area identifier (RAI), a tracking area identifier (TAD), or a location area identifier (LAI), in order to provide a method and system for a dynamic public warning system, as taught by Raje (see pg. 1, [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the baseband processing system is enabled to be scalable by adding additional users without adding additional cell identifiers { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising creating discontinuous geographical coverage regions using a single cell identifier { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern }. As a note, the Raje at the least further discloses creating discontinuous geographical coverage regions using a single cell identifier { (see pg. 4, [0031, lines 13-15]; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a mesh backhaul (see pg. 4, [0030, lines 19-22; pg. 4, [0031, lines 10-13]), and the system provides frequency reuse (see pg. 11, [0076, lines 10-3]) }. As a note, the Ramakrishman at the least further discloses creating discontinuous geographical coverage regions using a single cell identifier { (see col. 7, lines 21-25; Figs. 1A-B), where the system provides a RU (106) that transmits the same cell-ID for each cell based on the frequency reuse }.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising reassigning a beam used for providing a first cell having a first cellular identifier to be used for providing a second cell having a second cellular identifier { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising broadcasting, by a single orbital satellite of the satellite network system, multiple cell identifiers corresponding to multiple non- contiguous geographic areas { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern }.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising broadcasting, by multiple orbital satellites of the satellite network system, individual cell identifiers in a non-contiguous fashion so as to cover a large region using narrow beams in coordination with each other { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising combining multiple satellite beams to provide a first cell having a first cell identifier { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern }. As a note, the Raje at the least further discloses cell identifier { (see pg. 4, [0031, lines 13-15]; Figs. 1-4), where the system provides a mesh backhaul (see pg. 4, [0030, lines 19-22; pg. 4, [0031, lines 10-13]), and the system provides frequency reuse (see pg. 11, [0076, lines 10-3]) }. As a note, the Ramakrishman at the least further discloses cell identifier { (see col. 7, lines 21-25; Figs. 1A-B), where the system provides a RU (106) that transmits the same cell-ID for each cell based on the frequency reuse }.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 6), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the orbital satellite is further configured to reassign a beam used for providing a first cell having a first cellular identifier to be used for providing a second cell having a second cellular identifier { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 6), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the orbital satellite is further configured to broadcast multiple cell identifiers corresponding to multiple discontiguous geographic areas { (see pp. 3-4, [0030]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides satellite communication that has a frequency reuse pattern }.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 6), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the orbital satellite is further configured to combine multiple satellite beams to provide a first cell having the first cell identifier { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, further comprising: a second orbital satellite; wherein the orbital satellite and second orbital satellite broadcast individual cell identifiers in a non-contiguous fashion so as to cover a large region using narrow beams in coordination with each other { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Karabinis, Piirainen, Raje, and Ramakrishman discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 6), in addition Karabinis further discloses the non-terrestrial cellular network of claim 6, wherein the orbital satellite is further configured to save power by turning off one or more beams that are not in use { (see pg. 4, [0030, 0032]; pg. 5, [0041, 0040]; Figs. 1-2 & 4-5), where the system provides beam that cover cell }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chmiel et al. (US 2011/0129008 A1) discloses methods, apparatuses, system and related computer program product for cell type detection.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
20 March 2026