DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedady Moghadam Nanehkaran (“VMN”) (US 2020/0389054) in view of Will IV et al. (“Will”) (US 2020/0169125).
In regard to claim 1: (Currently Amended)
VMN discloses a method of wireless communication (Fig. 1 Items 100, 200, 300a-c & Par. [0032]) performed by a first network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), the method comprising: receiving, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. a sensor network) from a second network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033] i.e. Tx), an indication that the second network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) supports wireless energy transfer (Fig. 1 Items 204, 200, 206a-c, 60 and Pars. [0004] and [0035]); transmitting, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 300a-c & Pars. [0032-0033]) to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 200, and 204), a request for wireless energy transfer based on receipt of the indication that the second network node supports wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200); .
However, VMN does not explicitly disclose wherein the request for wireless energy transfer comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy as well as transmitting, by the first network node to the second network node, an indication that the requested amount of energy has been received.
Will teaches a wireless energy transfer method comprising a vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node), and a power transmission/blockchain platform (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), were the vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node) transmits to the second network node (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), a request (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056]) for wireless energy transfer that also comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056] i.e. a total amount of energy desired) as well as an indication that a requested amount of energy has been received (Fig. 4 Item 455 & Par. [0061] i.e. confirmation of receipt of the energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have combined the known wireless energy transfer method of Will with the known wireless power transmission system of VMN as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of allowing for improved efficiency when powering of a plurality of reception Apparatuses.
In regard to claim 2: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c) from the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 200, and 204), a wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, and 204 & Par. [0008] and claim 5 i.e. channel training initiation signal sent by TX); determining, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c), one or more wireless energy transfer parameters based on receipt of the wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 300a- c & Par. [0020] and claim 5 i.e. a drop in charging rate); and transmitting, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c) to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 200, and 204), the one or more wireless energy transfer parameters (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 300a- c & Par. [0020] i.e. training initiation signal sent to transmitter).
In regard to claim 3: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 2, wherein receiving the wireless energy transfer training transmission comprises at least one of: receiving, from the second network node (Figs. 1, 2 & 6 Items 200, 218, 600 and Par. [0079]), an indication of one or more training parameters; or receiving, from the second network node, one or more energy transmission signals (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Par. [0079]).
In regard to claim 4: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein receiving the indication of one or more training parameters comprises receiving at least one of: an indication of a length of a training session; or an indication of one or more feedback resources of the training session (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Pars. [0016] and [0079]).
In regard to claim 5: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein receiving one or more energy transmission signals comprises receiving at least one of: a plurality of energy transmission signals transmitted on different channels in a first band (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600, Par. [0079] and Par [0032]); a plurality of energy transmission signals transmitted using different antennas; or a plurality of energy transmission signals transmitted using different beam-forming, precoding, or waveform parameters (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200 and Pars [0032] & [0076]).
In regard to claim 6: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication that the second network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) supports wireless energy transfer comprises at least one of: an indication of a maximum deliverable energy supported by the second network node; an indication of a transmit energy of the second network node; an indication of one or more frequency bands for wireless energy transfer supported by the second network node; or an indication of one or more channels for wireless energy transfer supported by the second network node (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Item 200 & Pars. [0032], [0041], & [0079]).
In regard to claim 7: (Currently Amended)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200) comprises at least one of: an indication of an identifier of the first network node;
In regard to claim 8: (Previously Presented)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication (Will: (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056]) that the second network node (VMN: Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033] i.e. Tx, and Will: Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node) supports wireless energy transfer comprises an indication of a plurality of frequency bands for wireless energy transfer supported by the second network node (VMN: Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033] i.e. Tx, frequency bands supported and Will: Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node).
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedady Moghadam Nanehkaran (“VMN”) (US 2020/0389054) in view of Will IV et al. (“Will”) (US 2020/0169125).
In regard to claim 9: (Currently Amended)
VMN discloses a first network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network) comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0060] i.e. processor and memory not shown), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a second network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]), an indication that the second network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) supports wireless energy transfer (Fig. 1 Items 204, 200, 206a-c and Pars. [0004] and [0035]); transmit, to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 200, and 204), a request for wireless energy transfer based on receipt of the indication that the second network node supports wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200); .
However, VMN does not explicitly disclose wherein the request for wireless energy transfer comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy as well as transmitting, by the first network node to the second network node, an indication that the requested amount of energy has been received.
Will teaches a wireless energy transfer method comprising a vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node), and a power transmission/blockchain platform (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), were the vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node) transmits to the second network node (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), a request (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056]) for wireless energy transfer that also comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056] i.e. a total amount of energy desired) as well as an indication that a requested amount of energy has been received (Fig. 4 Item 455 & Par. [0061] i.e. confirmation of receipt of the energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have combined the known wireless energy transfer method of Will with the known wireless power transmission system of VMN as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of allowing for improved efficiency when powering of a plurality of reception Apparatuses.
In regard to claim 10: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 200, and 204),, a wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, and 204 & Par. [0008] and claim 5 i.e. channel training initiation signal sent by TX); determine one or more wireless energy transfer parameters based on receipt of the wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 300a- c & Par. [0020] and claim 5 i.e. a drop in charging rate); and transmit, to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 200, and 204), the one or more wireless energy transfer parameters (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 300a- c & Par. [0020] i.e. training initiation signal sent to transmitter).
In regard to claim 11: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 10, wherein to receive the wireless energy transfer training transmission the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 3 Items 300a-c) is configured to at least one of: receive, from the second network node (Figs. 1, 2 & 6 Items 200, 218, 600 and Par. [0079]), an indication of one or more training parameters; or receive, from the second network node, one or more energy transmission signals (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Par. [0079]).
In regard to claim 12: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 11, wherein to receive the indication of one or more training parameters the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 3 Items 300a-c) is further configured to receive at least one of: an indication of a length of a training session; or an indication of one or more feedback resources of the training session (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Pars. [0016] and [0079]).
In regard to claim 13: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 11, wherein to receive one or more energy transmission signals the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 3 Items 300a-c) is further configured to receive at least one of: a plurality of energy transmission signals transmitted on different channels in a first band (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600, Par. [0079] and Par [0032]); a plurality of energy transmission signals transmitted using different antennas; or a plurality of energy transmission signals transmitted using different beam-forming, precoding, or waveform parameters (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200 and Pars [0032] & [0076]).
In regard to claim 14: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 9, wherein the indication that the second network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) supports wireless energy transfer comprises at least one of: an indication of a maximum deliverable energy supported by the second network node; an indication of a transmit energy of the second network node; an indication of one or more frequency bands for wireless energy transfer supported by the second network node; or an indication of one or more channels for wireless energy transfer supported by the second network node (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Item 200 & Pars. [0041], & [0079]).
In regard to claim 15: (Currently Amended)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 9, wherein the request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200) comprises at least one of: an indication of an identifier of the first network node;
In regard to claim 16: (Previously Presented)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 9, wherein the indication (Will: (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056]) that the second network node (VMN: Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033] i.e. Tx, and Will: Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node) supports wireless energy transfer comprises an indication of a plurality of frequency bands for wireless energy transfer supported by the second network node (VMN: Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033] i.e. Tx, frequency bands supported and Will: Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node).
Claim(s) 17-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedady Moghadam Nanehkaran (“VMN”) (US 2020/0389054) in view of Will IV et al. (“Will”) (US 2020/0169125).
In regard to claim 17: (Currently Amended)
VMN discloses a method of wireless communication (Fig. 1 Items 100, 200, 300a-c & Par. [0032]) performed by a first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]), the method comprising: transmitting, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]) to a second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), an indication that the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]) supports wireless energy transfer (Fig. 1 Items 204, 200, 206a-c and Pars. [0004] and [0035]); receiving, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) from the second network node (Fig. 1 Item 300a-c & Pars. [0032-0033]), a request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200); and transmitting, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c), energy for one or more components of the second network node after transmitting the request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 206a-c, 208a-c, and 300a-c and Pars. [0032] and [0034]).
However, VMN does not explicitly disclose wherein the request for wireless energy transfer comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy as well as transmitting, by the first network node to the second network node, an indication that the requested amount of energy has been received.
Will teaches a wireless energy transfer method comprising a vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node), and a power transmission/blockchain platform (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), were the vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node) transmits to the second network node (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), a request (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056]) for wireless energy transfer that also comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056] i.e. a total amount of energy desired) as well as an indication that a requested amount of energy has been received (Fig. 4 Item 455 & Par. [0061] i.e. confirmation of receipt of the energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have combined the known wireless energy transfer method of Will with the known wireless power transmission system of VMN as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of allowing for improved efficiency when powering of a plurality of reception Apparatuses.
In regard to claim 18: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: transmitting, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]) to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), a wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, and 204 & Par. [0008] and claim 5 i.e. channel training initiation signal sent by TX); and receiving, by the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]) from the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), one or more wireless energy transfer parameters in response to the wireless energy transfer training transmission(Figs. 1 & 6 Items 300a- c & Par. [0020] i.e. training initiation signal sent to transmitter).
In regard to claim 19: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the wireless energy transfer training transmission comprises at least one of: transmitting, to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), an indication of one or more training parameters; or transmitting, to the second network node, one or more energy transmission signals (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Par. [0079]).
In regard to claim 20: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein transmitting the indication of one or more training parameters comprises transmitting at least one of: an indication of a length of a training session; or an indication of one or more feedback resources of the training session parameters (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Pars. [0016] and [0079]).
In regard to claim 21: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein transmitting one or more energy transmission signals comprises transmitting at least one of: a plurality of energy transmission signals on different channels in a first band (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600, Par. [0079] and Par [0032]); a plurality of energy transmission signals using different antennas; or a plurality of energy transmission signals using different beam-forming, precoding, or waveform (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200 and Pars [0032] & [0076]).
In regard to claim 22: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the indication that the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) supports wireless energy transfer comprises at least one of: an indication of a maximum deliverable energy supported by the first network node; an indication of a transmit energy of the first network node; an indication of one or more frequency bands for wireless energy transfer supported by the first network node; or an indication of one or more channels for wireless energy transfer supported by the first network node (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Item 200 & Pars. [0041], & [0079]).
In regard to claim 23: (Currently Amended)
Modified VMN further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200) comprises at least one of: an indication of an identifier of the first network node.
Claim(s) 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedady Moghadam Nanehkaran (“VMN”) (US 2020/0389054) in view of Will IV et al. (“Will”) (US 2020/0169125).
In regard to claim 24: (Currently Amended )
VMN discloses a first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]) comprising: a memory (Figs. 1 & 8 Items 200, 222, 820, 830 & Par. [0089] i.e. non-volatile memory); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Figs. 1 & 8 Items 200, 222, 830 & Par. [0089]), wherein the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 8 Items 200, 222, 830 & Par. [0089]) is configured to: transmit, to a second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), an indication that the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200, 204 & Pars. [0032-0033]) supports wireless energy transfer (Fig. 1 Items 204, 200, 206a-c and Pars. [0004] and [0035]); receive, from the second network node (Fig. 1 Item 300a-c & Pars. [0032-0033]), a request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200); and transmit, to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c), energy for one or more components of the second network node after receiving the request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 206a-c, 208a-c, and 300a-c and Pars. [0032] and [0034]).
However, VMN does not explicitly disclose wherein the request for wireless energy transfer comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy as well as transmitting, by the first network node to the second network node, an indication that the requested amount of energy has been received.
Will teaches a wireless energy transfer method comprising a vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node), and a power transmission/blockchain platform (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), were the vehicle system (Fig. 4 Item 410 i.e. 1st node) transmits to the second network node (Fig. 4 Item 430 i.e. 2nd node), a request (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056]) for wireless energy transfer that also comprises an indication of a requested amount of energy (Fig. 4 Item 413 & Par. [0056] i.e. a total amount of energy desired) as well as an indication that a requested amount of energy has been received (Fig. 4 Item 455 & Par. [0061] i.e. confirmation of receipt of the energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have combined the known wireless energy transfer method of Will with the known wireless power transmission system of VMN as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of allowing for improved efficiency when powering of a plurality of reception Apparatuses.
In regard to claim 25: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) of claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit, to the second network node (Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), a wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, and 204 & Par. [0008] and claim 5 i.e. channel training initiation signal sent by TX); and receive, from the second network node(Fig. 1 Items 300a-c & Par. [0033] i.e. RX and a sensor network), one or more wireless energy transfer parameters in response to the wireless energy transfer training transmission (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 300a- c & Par. [0020] i.e. training initiation signal sent to transmitter).
In regard to claim 26: (Previously Presented)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) of claim 25, wherein to transmit the wireless energy transfer training transmission the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 8 Items 200, 222, 830 & Par. [0089]) is configured to at least one of: transit, to the second network node, an indication of one or more training parameters; or transmit, to the second network node, one or more energy transmission signals (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Par. [0079]).
In regard to claim 27: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 25, wherein to transmit the indication of one or more training parameters the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 8 Items 200, 222, 830 & Par. [0089]) is further configured to transmit at least one of: an indication of a length of a training session; or an indication of one or more feedback resources of the training session (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600 and Pars. [0016] and [0079]).
In regard to claim 28: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 25, wherein to transmit one or more energy transmission signals the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 8 Items 200, 222, 830 & Par. [0089]) is further configured to transmit at least one of: a plurality of energy transmission signals on different channels in a first band (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200, 218, 400 600, Par. [0079] and Par [0032]); a plurality of energy transmission signals using different antennas; or a plurality of energy transmission signals using different beam-forming, precoding, or waveform parameters (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Items 200 and Pars [0032] & [0076]).
In regard to claim 29: (Original)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 24, wherein the indication that the first network node (Fig. 1 Item 200) supports wireless energy transfer comprises at least one of: an indication of a maximum deliverable energy supported by the first network node; an indication of a transmit energy of the first network node; an indication of one or more frequency bands for wireless energy transfer supported by the first network node; or an indication of one or more channels for wireless energy transfer supported by the first network node (Figs. 1, 2, 4 & 6 Item 200 & Pars. [0041], & [0079]).
In regard to claim 30: (Currently Amended)
Modified VMN further teaches the first network node of claim 24, wherein the request for wireless energy transfer (Figs. 1 & 6 Items 200, 204, 300a-c, 614 & Par. [0079] i.e. request validated by transmitter 200) comprises at least one of: an indication of an identifier of the second network node; .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
MW
4/29/2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836