DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 and 21-23 are under examination.
Claims 16-20 are canceled.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed January 20th, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous objection is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a gap between the terminal and an end portion of the first protective layer” as claimed in claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites, “a lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer” in Line 10. The examiner will interpret a lamination direction as put forth in the instant specification in Fig. 5 as a vertical direction such as a stacking direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer.
Claim 21 recites, “a lamination direction of the first protective layer and the second protective layer” in Lines 1-2. The examiner will interpret a lamination direction as put forth in the instant specification as the horizontal direction (i.e., perpendicular to the vertical direction of the lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer as established per antecedent basis in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-12, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2008/0292953 A1), hereinafter Hosaka, in view of Osaki et al. (JP2004095200 A and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Osaki.
Regarding claim 1, Hosaka discloses a solid state battery comprising: a battery element (i.e., at least battery element ref. 21, Fig. 2, [0052]-[0053]) including a positive electrode layer (i.e., at least cathode layer as disclosed in [0017], also see [0006]-[0007], [0018], [0029]-[0030], [0046]), a negative electrode layer (i.e., at least anode layer as disclosed in [0017], also see [0006]-[0007], [0018], [0029], [0031], [0046]), and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (i.e., at least electrolyte layer as disclosed in [0017] such as a solid electrolyte as disclosed in [0065], also see [0006]-[0007], [0018], [0046]);
a composite protective layer covering the battery element, wherein the composite protective layer includes a first protective layer and a second protective layer arranged around the battery element so as to have an overlapping region where the first protective layer and the second protective layer overlap each other (i.e., at least laminate sheet(s) ref. 29 provided as an outer casing to seal the battery element ref. 21 as disclosed in [0052] and shown in Annotated Fig. 2, also see [0055], [0071]);
and a conducting part capable of extracting electricity from the battery element to an outside of the solid state battery, the conducting part extending from the overlapping region to the outside of the solid state battery (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0055] whereby the outermost collector ref. 11a extends to form a cathode plate or terminal ref. 25, which protrudes from the laminate sheet ref. 29, and further, the outermost collector ref. 11b extends to form an anode plate or terminal ref. 27, which protrudes from the laminate sheet ref. 29 as well, also see Annotated Fig. 2).
However, Hosaka is silent as to the conducting part including an end face electrode on at least one end face of the battery element that is parallel to a lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer.
Osaki teaches a stacked battery (Title). Osaki further teaches an end face electrode on at least one end face of the battery element that is parallel to a lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer (See Annotated Fig. 6, also see Figs. 6-7, and [0019]-[0025] with regards to positive/negative electrode layer(s) and solid electrolyte layer, etc.).
Osaki further teaches in [0013] the present invention is outstanding in view of the above-mentioned problems, and its objective is to provide a stacked battery that can achieve high energy density even when miniaturized and is highly reliable without causing short circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hosaka with the teachings of Osaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, positive/negative electrode layer(s), solid electrolyte layer, etc., as disclosed by Hosaka further includes an end face electrode on at least one end face of the battery element that is parallel to a lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer as taught by Osaki so as to provide a stacked battery that can achieve high energy density even when miniaturized and is highly reliable without causing short circuits.
Annotated Figure 2 (Hosaka)
Annotated Figure 6 (Osaki)
Regarding claim 2, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses the conducting part is sandwiched between the first protective layer and the second protective layer in the overlapping region (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses the conducting part and the composite protective layer are located along a contour surface of the battery element (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a contour surface is any surface of the battery element ref. 21 as evidenced by the instant specification in [0079], such that said contour surface is “a surface that defines the shape or appearance of the battery element, etc.”, lacking any further distinction thereof as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses the conducting part includes a bent part that extends to the outside of the solid state battery (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses the conducting part is in contact with each of the first protective layer and the second protective layer in the overlapping region (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses the overlapping region is located along a side surface of the battery element (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Further discloses a thickness of the composite protective layer in the overlapping region is greater than a thickness of the composite protective layer in a part other than the overlapping region (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that the overlapping region (i.e., including first/second composite protective layer(s) such as multiple laminate sheet(s) ref. 29) is at least thicker than a single laminate sheet ref. 29, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses the first protective layer and the second protective layer face each other in the overlapping region (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Hosaka further discloses at least an extended end part of the conducting part is located on at least one of an upper surface side and a lower surface side of the battery element covered with the first protective layer or the second protective layer (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 22, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to the overlapping region is in contact with the end face electrode.
Osaki teaches a stacked battery (Title). Osaki further teaches the overlapping region is in contact with the end face electrode (See Annotated Fig. 6 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 6-7, and [0019]-[0025], etc.), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said overlapping region is at least in contact with the end face electrode so that the power generation element ref. 15 has the first electrode outlet ref. 5 exposed on the short side end face of the rectangular parallelepiped block ref. 11 and the second electrode outlet ref. 6 exposed on the short side of the long side, etc., as disclosed in at least [0022].
Osaki further teaches in [0013] the present invention is outstanding in view of the above-mentioned problems, and its objective is to provide a stacked battery that can achieve high energy density even when miniaturized and is highly reliable without causing short circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hosaka with the teachings of Osaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, positive/negative electrode layer(s), solid electrolyte layer, etc., as disclosed by Hosaka further includes the overlapping region is in contact with the end face electrode as taught by Osaki so as to provide a stacked battery that can achieve high energy density even when miniaturized and is highly reliable without causing short circuits.
Regarding claim 23, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to the conducting part further includes a terminal, the terminal is arranged such that there is a gap between the terminal and an end portion of the first protective layer, and the terminal extends from the overlapping region to the outside of the solid state battery.
Osaki teaches a stacked battery (Title). Osaki further teaches a terminal, the terminal is arranged such that there is a gap between the terminal and an end portion of the first protective layer, and the terminal extends from the overlapping region to the outside of the solid state battery (See Annotated Fig. 6 above in claim 1, also see Figs. 6-7, and [0019]-[0025], etc.), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate first/second electrode outlet(s) (refs. 5-6) at least includes a terminal extending from the overlapping region to the outside of the solid state battery as shown in at least Annotated Fig. 6 and discussed in at least [0022], and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Osaki further teaches in [0013] the present invention is outstanding in view of the above-mentioned problems, and its objective is to provide a stacked battery that can achieve high energy density even when miniaturized and is highly reliable without causing short circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Hosaka with the teachings of Osaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, positive/negative electrode layer(s), solid electrolyte layer, etc., as disclosed by Hosaka further includes a terminal, the terminal is arranged such that there is a gap between the terminal and an end portion of the first protective layer, and the terminal extends from the overlapping region to the outside of the solid state battery as taught by Osaki so as to provide a stacked battery that can achieve high energy density even when miniaturized and is highly reliable without causing short circuits.
Claims 4, 8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka and Osaki as applied to claims 1, 3 and 7 above, and further in view of Imamura et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0358069 A1), hereinafter Imamura.
Regarding claim 4, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 3. However, Hosaka is silent as to the conducting part and the composite protective layer extend in a direction substantially identical with an extending direction of the contour surface of the battery element.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 3. Imamura teaches a sealed battery, assembled battery, and method for manufacturing a sealed battery (Title). Imamura further teaches the conducting part (i.e., at least first conductive plate ref. 9 as taught in [0046]) and the composite protective layer (i.e., at least case(s) ref. 13 as taught in [0046]) extend in a direction substantially identical with an extending direction of the contour surface of the battery element (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9(c), also see [0045], [0051], [0053]-[0054]). Imamura further teaches in [0012] the electrode assembly has the positive-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the positive electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the positive electrode to a positive-electrode external terminal through the positive-electrode extended section, and also, the electrode assembly has the negative-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the negative-electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the negative electrode to a negative-electrode external terminal through the negative-electrode extended section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Imamura, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, battery element, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes the conducting part and the composite protective layer extend in a direction substantially identical with an extending direction of the contour surface of the battery element as taught by Imamura so as to make it easy to electrically connect the positive (negative) electrode to a positive-electrode (negative-electrode) external terminal through the positive-electrode (negative-electrode) extended section.
Annotated Figure 9(c) (Imamura)
Regarding claim 8, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 7. However, Hosaka is silent as to the overlapping region is located along a whole side surface of the battery element.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 7. Imamura teaches a sealed battery, assembled battery, and method for manufacturing a sealed battery (Title). Imamura further teaches the conducting part (i.e., at least first conductive plate ref. 9 as taught in [0046]) and the composite protective layer (i.e., at least case(s) ref. 13 as taught in [0046]) extend in a direction substantially identical with an extending direction of the contour surface of the battery element (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9(c), also see [0045], [0051], [0053]-[0054]), such that the overlapping region is located along a whole side surface of the battery element (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9(c) above in claim 4, also see [0045], [0051], [0053]-[0054]).
Imamura further teaches in [0012] the electrode assembly has the positive-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the positive electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the positive electrode to a positive-electrode external terminal through the positive-electrode extended section, and also, the electrode assembly has the negative-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the negative-electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the negative electrode to a negative-electrode external terminal through the negative-electrode extended section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Imamura, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, battery element, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes the overlapping region is located along a whole side surface of the battery element as taught by Imamura so as to make it easy to electrically connect the positive (negative) electrode to a positive-electrode (negative-electrode) external terminal through the positive-electrode (negative-electrode) extended section.
Regarding claim 21, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to a lamination direction of the first protective layer and the second protective layer in the overlapping region is perpendicular to the lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Imamura teaches a sealed battery, assembled battery, and method for manufacturing a sealed battery (Title). Imamura further teaches a lamination direction of the first protective layer and the second protective layer in the overlapping region is perpendicular to the lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the electrolyte layer, (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9(c) above in claim 4, also see [0045], [0051], [0053]-[0054]).
Imamura further teaches in [0012] the electrode assembly has the positive-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the positive electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the positive electrode to a positive-electrode external terminal through the positive-electrode extended section, and also, the electrode assembly has the negative-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the negative-electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the negative electrode to a negative-electrode external terminal through the negative-electrode extended section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Imamura, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, battery element, positive/negative electrode layer(s), solid electrolyte layer, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes a lamination direction of the first protective layer and the second protective layer in the overlapping region is perpendicular to the lamination direction of the positive electrode layer, the negative electrode layer, and the electrolyte layer as taught by Imamura so as to make it easy to electrically connect the positive (negative) electrode to a positive-electrode (negative-electrode) external terminal through the positive-electrode (negative-electrode) extended section.
Claims 10, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka and Osaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2004/0029001 A1), hereinafter Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 10, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to a sealant disposed in the conducting part in the overlapping region.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Yamazaki teaches a battery case forming sheet and battery packet (Title). Yamazaki further teaches in [0046]-[0047] the battery case forming sheets are superposed with the heat-adhesive resin layers in contact with each other, side edge parts and end edges parts of the sheets are bonded together by heat-sealing to from a battery case ref. 51, etc., whereby the heat-adhesive resin layers of the edge parts of the sheets and the tabs ref. 59 and 60 are bonded together by heat-sealing, and the heat-adhesive resin layers of the sheets are formed of a heat-adhesive resin adhesive not only to itself, but also to the tabs ref. 59 and 60 formed of a conductive material, etc. Yamazaki further teaches in [0345] referring to Fig. 17, a battery case forming sheet ref. 10 is formed by sequentially laminating a first base film layer ref. 1a, i.e., the outermost layer, an adhesive layer ref. 5a, a metal foil layer ref. 2, an adhesive layer ref. 5b and a sealant layer ref. 3, etc.. Yamazaki further teaches in [0859] the battery ref. 50a is inserted in the case ref. 51, and a part of the case ref. 51 corresponding to the boundary line ref. M shown in Fig. 57(a) or 57(b) is sealed, and preferably, the part of the case ref. 51 is sealed by a heat-sealing method so that the sealant layer ref. 3 serving as the innermost layer of the laminated sheet ref. 10 forming the case ref. 51 is bonded to the insulating films ref. 92 partly coating the tabs ref. 59 and 60, etc., which at least provides a sealant disposed in the conducting part in the overlapping region, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said heat-adhesive resin layers, sealant layer(s), insulating film(s), etc., are at least sealant(s) disposed in the conducting part in the overlapping region as shown in Annotated Fig. 55(c) so as to be sealed, (also see [0307], [0326], [0690], [0700], [0724], [0733], [0747], [0750], [0847], [0850], [0851], [0852], [0857]-[0858], [0859]), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Yamazaki further teaches in [0004] The present invention has been made in view of an object of the present invention to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Yamazaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, battery element, overlapping region, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes a sealant disposed in the conducting part in the overlapping region as taught by Yamazaki so as to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Annotated Figure 55(c) (Yamazaki)
Regarding claim 13, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to at least an extended end part of the conducting part is bonded to the first protective layer or the second protective layer with an adhesive.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Yamazaki teaches a battery case forming sheet and battery packet (Title). Yamazaki further teaches in [0046]-[0047] the battery case forming sheets are superposed with the heat-adhesive resin layers in contact with each other, side edge parts and end edges parts of the sheets are bonded together by heat-sealing to from a battery case ref. 51, etc., whereby the heat-adhesive resin layers of the edge parts of the sheets and the tabs ref. 59 and 60 are bonded together by heat-sealing, and the heat-adhesive resin layers of the sheets are formed of a heat-adhesive resin adhesive not only to itself, but also to the tabs ref. 59 and 60 formed of a conductive material, etc. Yamazaki further teaches in [0345] referring to Fig. 17, a battery case forming sheet ref. 10 is formed by sequentially laminating a first base film layer ref. 1a, i.e., the outermost layer, an adhesive layer ref. 5a, a metal foil layer ref. 2, an adhesive layer ref. 5b and a sealant layer ref. 3, etc. Yamazaki further teaches in [0859] the battery ref. 50a is inserted in the case ref. 51, and a part of the case ref. 51 corresponding to the boundary line ref. M shown in Fig. 57(a) or 57(b) is sealed, and preferably, the part of the case ref. 51 is sealed by a heat-sealing method so that the sealant layer ref. 3 serving as the innermost layer of the laminated sheet ref. 10 forming the case ref. 51 is bonded to the insulating films ref. 92 partly coating the tabs ref. 59 and 60, etc., which at least provides an extended end part of the conducting part is bonded to the first protective layer or the second protective layer with an adhesive, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said heat-adhesive resin layers, sealant layer(s), insulating film(s), etc., are at least sealant(s) disposed in the conducting part in the overlapping region as shown in Annotated Fig. 55(c) above in claim 10 so as to be bonded together by heat-sealing, and not only to itself, but also to the tabs formed of a conductive material, (also see [0307], [0326], [0690], [0700], [0724], [0733], [0747], [0750], [0847], [0850], [0851], [0852], [0857]-[0858], [0859]), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said extended end part, conducting part, first protective layer and/or second protective layer.
Yamazaki further teaches in [0004] The present invention has been made in view of an object of the present invention to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Yamazaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, first/second protective layer(s), battery element, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes an extended end part of the conducting part is bonded to the first protective layer or the second protective layer with an adhesive as taught by Yamazaki so as to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Regarding claim 15, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to the first protective and the second protective layer are laminate films that include a metal intermediate layer, a first resin layer covering a first surface of the metal intermediate layer, and a second resin layer covering a second surface of the metal intermediate layer.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Yamazaki teaches a battery case forming sheet and battery packet (Title). Yamazaki further teaches in [0345] referring to Fig. 17, a battery case forming sheet ref. 10 is formed by sequentially laminating a first base film layer ref. 1a, i.e., the outermost layer, an adhesive layer ref. 5a, a metal foil layer ref. 2, an adhesive layer ref. 5b and a sealant layer ref. 3, etc. Yamazaki further teaches in [0445] a battery case forming sheet ref. 10 shown in Fig. 23 corresponds to the laminated sheet ref. 3 and is formed by sequentially laminating a first base film layer ref. 1a, i.e., the outermost layer, a polyolefin resin layer ref. 6a, a metal foil layer ref. 2, a polyolefin resin layer ref. 6b, a third base film layer ref. 1c and an adhesive layer ref. 3, etc., which at least provides the first protective and the second protective layer are laminate films that include a metal intermediate layer, a first resin layer covering a first surface of the metal intermediate layer, and a second resin layer covering a second surface of the metal intermediate layer (also see [0040]-[0045] and [0048]-[0060], also see Figs. 34-35, 44a, 74-76, 78a-d, etc.)
Yamazaki further teaches in [0004] the present invention has been made in view of an object of the present invention to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Yamazaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, first/second protective layer(s), battery element, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes the first protective and the second protective layer are laminate films that include a metal intermediate layer, a first resin layer covering a first surface of the metal intermediate layer, and a second resin layer covering a second surface of the metal intermediate layer as taught by Yamazaki so as to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka and Osaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Imamura et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0358069 A1), hereinafter Imamura, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2004/0029001 A1), hereinafter Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 14, Hosaka discloses the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Hosaka is silent as to the first protective layer directly covers the battery element, and the solid state battery further comprises an insulating material on an end face of the first protective layer that electrically insulates the first protective layer and the battery element.
The combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki disclose the solid state battery as discussed above in claim 1. Imamura teaches a sealed battery, assembled battery, and method for manufacturing a sealed battery (Title). Imamura further teaches the first protective layer directly covers the battery element (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9(c) above in claim 4). Imamura further teaches in [0012] the electrode assembly has the positive-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the positive electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the positive electrode to a positive-electrode external terminal through the positive-electrode extended section, and also, the electrode assembly has the negative-electrode extended section which is the layered portion of the negative-electrode current collection sheet and extends from the multilayered structure, whereby this makes it easy to electrically connect the negative electrode to a negative-electrode external terminal through the negative-electrode extended section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki with the teachings of Imamura, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, battery element, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki further includes the first protective layer directly covers the battery element as taught by Imamura so as to make it easy to electrically connect the positive (negative) electrode to a positive-electrode (negative-electrode) external terminal through the positive-electrode (negative-electrode) extended section.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki and Imamura are silent as to the solid state battery further comprises an insulating material on an end face of the first protective layer that electrically insulates the first protective layer and the battery element.
Yamazaki teaches a battery case forming sheet and battery packet (Title). Yamazaki further teaches in in [0046]-[0047] the battery case forming sheets are superposed with the heat-adhesive resin layers in contact with each other, side edge parts and end edges parts of the sheets are bonded together by heat-sealing to from a battery case ref. 51, etc., whereby the heat-adhesive resin layers of the edge parts of the sheets and the tabs ref. 59 and 60 are bonded together by heat-sealing, and the heat-adhesive resin layers of the sheets are formed of a heat-adhesive resin adhesive not only to itself, but also to the tabs ref. 59 and 60 formed of a conductive material, etc. Yamazaki further teaches in [0859] the battery ref. 50a is inserted in the case ref. 51, and a part of the case ref. 51 corresponding to the boundary line ref. M shown in Fig. 57(a) or 57(b) is sealed, and preferably, the part of the case ref. 51 is sealed by a heat-sealing method so that the sealant layer ref. 3 serving as the innermost layer of the laminated sheet ref. 10 forming the case ref. 51 is bonded to the insulating films ref. 92 partly coating the tabs ref. 59 and 60, etc., which at least provides an insulating material on an end face of the first protective layer that electrically insulates the first protective layer and the battery element, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that as shown in Annotated Fig. 55(c) above in claim 10 that said insulating film ref. 92 is at least on an end face such as a face of the first protective layer (refs. 1a, 2, 3, etc., of the laminated sheet ref. 10) so as to face the second protective layer, etc., and such that since said insulating material is provided the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least insulates the tabs (refs. 59, 60) which are electrically connected to the polymer battery (i.e., at least battery element ref. 50a) from the first/second protective layer(s), etc., lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0031], [0690], [0693], [0697], [0700], [0733], [0747], [0750], [0847]).
Yamazaki further teaches in [0004] the present invention has been made in view of an object of the present invention to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki and Imamura with the teachings of Yamazaki, whereby the solid state battery including the conducting part, the composite protective layer, first/second protective layer(s), battery element, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Hosaka and Osaki and Imamura further includes an insulating material on an end face of the first protective layer that electrically insulates the first protective layer and the battery element as taught by Yamazaki so as to provide a light, thin sheet for lightweight, thin battery cases, having excellent properties in strength, durability, moisture and gas impermeability, sealing and adhesion to electrodes and terminals, and capable of being easily processed, and to provide a battery packet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Hosaka have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection in view of Hosaka and Osaki for claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-12, and 22-23 is made. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harada et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2009/0186270 A1) discloses in [0097] the adhesive films ref. 3a and ref. 3b respectively formed on the positive electrode terminal ref. 2a and negative electrode terminal ref. 2b are individually composed of a resin material having good adhesive properties with a metal material constituting the positive electrode terminal 2a and the negative electrode terminal ref. 2b, whereby examples of such resin materials include modified polymers, such as acid-modified polypropylene (PP).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727