DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on December 1, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Non-elected claims have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 13-20, 22, 23 27, 28, 30 and 38-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the at least one second engagement element” in line 2. It is unclear if this is the same or related to “a least one second engagement (no term “element”)” recited in claim 2, line 1, or not.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a first end” of the body in line 5. It is unclear if this is the same “first end of the body” recited in claim 13, line 4, or not.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a second end” of the body in line 6. It is unclear if this is the same “second end of the body” recited in claim 13, line 4, or not.
Claim 27 depends from cancelled claim 25. Thus, claim 27 is indefinite. For purposes of examination, claim 27 is assumed to depend from independent claim 24.
Claim 28 line 5 recites the limitation “the second end of the second body”. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 42 it is unclear if “the first end” and “the second end” at the end of the claim are referring to the first body or the second body. See limitations of claims 24 and 28, upon which claim 42 depends.
Claim 46 depends from claim 28. It is unclear if “a third coupling element” and “a fourth coupling element” of claim 46, lines 1 and 2, are the same “third and fourth coupling elements” of claim 28, or not.
Claim 47 recites the limitations “… a mating female receptacle sized and configured to receive the male protrusion.” Claims 46, 28 and 24, upon which claim 47 depends, indicate that the third and fourth coupling elements are both part of the second body and that the first and second bodies couple to one another. It is unclear how the female receptacle is said to mate with the male receptacle of the same second body, as required by claim 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 10-15, 19, 22-24, 27, 28, 30, 38, 39, 44 and 46-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiley et al. U.S. patent no. 8,715,362 (“Reiley”) in view of Renz European Patent No. EP 3,786,465 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Reiley discloses an apparatus (34), comprising: a body extending from a first end to a second end (see annotated version of figure 4A below), the first end (annotated version of figure 4A below) including a first coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A below), the second end (annotated version of figure 4A below) including a second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A below), the second end of the body including a first engagement element (40).
Reiley is silent regarding the first engagement element extends inwardly into the body and is disposed between a peripheral edge of the body and the second coupling element substantially as claimed.
In a field of endeavor that is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely apparatuses with screw coupling elements capable of high torque from a tool seat (11) and engagements of said tool seat (11) used for a corresponding screwing tool, Renz teaches “The tool seat [11] can, for example, have two opposite parallel surfaces or an external square, external hexagon or generally external polygon for attaching an open end wrench a ring spanner as a turning tool, an internal triangle, internal square, internal hexagon or general internal polygon for attaching an Allen key or an inner star for attaching a star key as a turning tool. The list is exemplary and not exhaustive” (description paragraph 4, second page of English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first engagement 40 of Reiley for an inner star configuration (11) for attaching a star key as a turning tool, as taught and/or suggested by Renz as an art recognized equivalent tool seat configuration known for the same purpose of torquing screw threads with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2144.06 II). Thus, by substituting the first engagement 40 of Reiley for the internal star tool seat 11 of Renz, the first engagement element extends inwardly into the body and is disposed between a peripheral edge of the body and the second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley).
Regarding claim 5, Reiley in view of Renz further teaches the first engagement element (internal star shape of Renz replacing element 40 of Reiley) includes a plurality of individual elements (i.e., individual star points shown in figure 2 of Renz) that surround the second coupling element (annotated version figure 4A above of Reiley; and figure 2 of Renz).
Regarding claim 7, Renz, as applied in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz further teaches each of the plurality of individual elements has a frustum shape (e.g., see at least figure 2 of Renz).
Regarding claim 10, Reiley in view of Renz, as applied above, further teaches the first engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted by 11 of Renz) is configured to be engaged by a tool for applying a torque (figure 4A of Reiley and figure 2 of Renz), and wherein an interface between the first engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted by 11 of Renz) and the tool for applying the torque is configured to transfer torque from the tool to the body up to a predetermined maximum (e.g., see at least figure 2 of Renz).
Regarding claim 11, Reiley further discloses the second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above) includes a threaded hole (figure 4A).
Regarding claim 12, Reiley further discloses the second coupling element includes a tapered hole (e.g., see at least col. 8, lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 13, Reiley discloses a system, comprising: a prosthesis stem (30) (figure 4A) including a plurality of stem components (34), at least one stem component (34) of the plurality of stem components (34) (figure 4A), including: a body (34) extending from a first end to a second end (e.g., see at least annotated version of figure 4A below), a first coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A below) disposed at the first end of the body (annotated version of figure 4A below), a second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A below) disposed at a second end of the body (annotated version of figure 4A below), at least one first engagement element (38) disposed along a length of the body (figure 4A) such that the at least one first engagement element (38) is disposed between the first end and the second end (annotated version of figure 4A below), and a second engagement element (40).
Reiley is silent regarding the second engagement element extends inwardly into the second end of the body and surrounds the second coupling element such that the second engagement element is disposed between the second coupling element and a peripheral edge of the body substantially as claimed.
In a field of endeavor that is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely apparatuses with screw coupling elements capable of high torque from a tool seat (11) and engagements of said tool seat (11) used for a corresponding screwing tool, Renz teaches “The tool seat [11] can, for example, have two opposite parallel surfaces or an external square, external hexagon or generally external polygon for attaching an open end wrench a ring spanner as a turning tool, an internal triangle, internal square, internal hexagon or general internal polygon for attaching an Allen key or an inner star for attaching a star key as a turning tool. The list is exemplary and not exhaustive” (description paragraph 4, second page of English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the second engagement 40 of Reiley for an inner star configuration (11) for attaching a star key as a turning tool, as taught and/or suggested by Renz as an art recognized equivalent tool seat configuration known for the same purpose of torquing screw threads with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2144.06 II). Thus, by substituting the second engagement 40 of Reiley for the internal star tool seat 11 of Renz, the second engagement element extends inwardly into the second end of the body and surrounds the second coupling element such that the second engagement element is disposed between the second coupling element and a peripheral edge of the body (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley).
Regarding claim 14, Reiley further discloses the first coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above) includes a threaded protrusion (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above), and wherein the second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above) includes a threaded hole (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above).
Regarding claim 15, Reiley further discloses the first coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above) includes a tapered protrusion (col. 8, lines 62-67), and wherein the second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above) includes a tapered hole (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above; and col. 8, line 62-67).
Regarding claim 19, Reiley in view of Renz, as applied above, further teaches the second engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted by 11 of Renz) is configured to be engaged by a tool for applying a torque (figure 4A of Reiley and figure 2 of Renz), and wherein an interface between the second engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted by 11 of Renz) and the tool for applying the torque is configured to transfer torque from the tool to the body up to a predetermined maximum value (e.g., see at least figure 2 of Renz).
Regarding claim 22, Reiley further discloses the system further comprising: a tray (46) configured to be coupled to the prosthesis stem (figures 4B and 6); and an articular surface (22) configured to be coupled to the tray (46) (figures 4B and 6; and col. 23, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Reiley further discloses the at least stem component is fully capable of being formed using an additive manufacturing process (e.g., see at least figures 4A-B). Claim 23 comprises product by process claim limitations. Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps only the structure implied by the steps. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 24, Reiley discloses a system, comprising: a prosthesis stem (30) (figure 4A) including a plurality of stem components (34), a first stem component (34) of the plurality of stem components (34), including: a first body extending from a first end to a second end (e.g., see at least annotated version of figure 4A below), a first coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A below) disposed at the first end of the body (annotated version of figure 4A below), a second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A below) disposed at a second end of the body (annotated version of figure 4A below), a first engagement element (38) accessible via the second end of the first body (annotated version of figure 4A) and disposed between the second coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A) and the first end of the first body (annotated version of figure 4A below), and a second engagement element (40).
Reiley is silent regarding the second engagement element (40) extending inwardly into the second end of the first body, the second engagement element surrounding the second coupling element such that the second engagement element is disposed between the second coupling element and a peripheral edge of the first body substantially as claimed.
In a field of endeavor that is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely apparatuses with screw coupling elements capable of high torque from a tool seat (11) and engagements of said tool seat (11) used for a corresponding screwing tool, Renz teaches “The tool seat [11] can, for example, have two opposite parallel surfaces or an external square, external hexagon or generally external polygon for attaching an open end wrench a ring spanner as a turning tool, an internal triangle, internal square, internal hexagon or general internal polygon for attaching an Allen key or an inner star for attaching a star key as a turning tool. The list is exemplary and not exhaustive” (description paragraph 4, second page of English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the second engagement 40 of Reiley for an inner star configuration (11) for attaching a star key as a turning tool, as taught and/or suggested by Renz as an art recognized equivalent tool seat configuration known for the same purpose of torquing screw threads with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2144.06 II). Thus, by substituting the second engagement 40 of Reiley for the internal star tool seat 11 of Renz, the second engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted with 11 of Renz) extends inwardly into the second end of the first body (annotated version of figure 4A above), the second engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted with 11 of Renz) surrounds the second coupling element such that the second engagement element is disposed between the second coupling element and a peripheral edge of the first body (annotated version of figure 4A above) substantially as claimed.
Regarding claim 27, Reiley further discloses the first coupling element (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above) includes a threaded protrusion (annotated version of figure 4A above of Reiley above).
Regarding claim 28, Reiley further discloses a second stem component (34) of the plurality of stem components (34) (figure 4A), includes: a second body (34), a third coupling element disposed at a first end of the second body (figure 4A), a fourth coupling element disposed at the second end of the second body (figure 4A), and a third engagement element at the second end of the second body (figure 4A).
Reiley is silent regarding the third engagement element extending inwardly into the second end of the second body, the third engagement element surrounding the fourth coupling element such that the third engagement element is disposed between the fourth coupling element and a peripheral edge of the second body.
In a field of endeavor that is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely apparatuses with screw coupling elements capable of high torque from a tool seat (11) and engagements of said tool seat (11) used for a corresponding screwing tool, Renz teaches “The tool seat [11] can, for example, have two opposite parallel surfaces or an external square, external hexagon or generally external polygon for attaching an open end wrench a ring spanner as a turning tool, an internal triangle, internal square, internal hexagon or general internal polygon for attaching an Allen key or an inner star for attaching a star key as a turning tool. The list is exemplary and not exhaustive” (description paragraph 4, second page of English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the third engagement element (equivalent to 40 of Reiley for the second body) for an inner star configuration (11) for attaching a star key as a turning tool, as taught and/or suggested by Renz as an art recognized equivalent tool seat configuration known for the same purpose of torquing screw threads with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2144.06 II). Thus, by substituting the third engagement (equivalent to 40 of Reiley for the second body) for the internal star tool seat 11 of Renz, the third engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted with 11 of Renz) extends inwardly into the second end of the second body (annotated version of figure 4A above), the third engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted with 11 of Renz) surrounds the fourth coupling element such that the third engagement element is disposed between the fourth coupling element and a peripheral edge of the second body (annotated version of figure 4A above) substantially as claimed.
Regarding claim 30, Reiley further discloses the system further comprising: a tray (46, seq. figure 4B) (figures 4B), the tray (46, seq. figure 4B) including a tapered protrusion extending from an upper surface (figure 4B), the tapered protrusion sized and configured to be received in the second coupling element of the first body [e.g., first body is bottom component 36 in figure 4B] (figures 4A-B; and col. 8, line 46, through col. 9, line 30).
Regarding claim 38, Renz, as applied in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz further teaches the second engagement element (11 of Renz) comprises a plurality of frustum-shaped depressions arranged circumferentially about the second coupling element (figure 4A of Reiley) (e.g., see at least figures 4 of Reiley and figure 2 of Renz).
Regarding claim 39, Renz, as applied in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz further teaches each frustum-shaped depression includes a planar inner bottom surface (i.e., surface formed by wall of body abutting 40 in figure 4A- see annotated version of figure 4A below) and sidewalls (formed by 11 of Renz replacing 40 of Reiley) extending substantially perpendicularly from the planar inner bottom surface (see annotated version of figure 4A below).
Regarding claim 44, Reiley in view of Renz, as applied above, further teaches an interface between the second engagement element (40 of Reiley substituted by 11 of Renz) and a torquing tool is configured to transfer torque to the body (34 of Reiley) up to a predetermined maximum torque value (e.g., see at least figure 4A of Reiley and figure 2 of Renz).
Regarding claim 46, Reiley further discloses the second body (34) includes a third coupling element and a fourth coupling element configured to reliably couple the second body to the first body (34) (e.g., see at least figure 4A).
Regarding claim 47, Reiley further discloses the third coupling element comprises a male protrusion and the fourth coupling element comprises a mating female receptacle sized and configured to receive the male protrusion (e.g., see at least figure 4A).
Regarding claim 48, Reiley further discloses a tray (12, seq. – figures 4B and 6) configured to be coupled to the first body (34) and an articular surface (22) configured to be coupled to the tray (12) (figure 6).
Claims 2-4, 16-18, 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiley et al. U.S. patent no. 8,715,362 (“Reiley”) in view of Renz European Patent No. EP 3,786,465 A1, as applied above, and further in view of Anapliotis German Patent Document No. DE 33 19 916 A1.
Regarding claim 2, as described supra, Reiley in view of Renz teaches the invention substantially as claimed, and wherein the body (34 of Reiley) defines at least one second engagement element (38), the at least one second engagement element (38) disposed along a length of the body (e.g., see at least figure 4A).
However, Reiley in view of Renz is silent regarding the second engagement element extends inwardly into the body between the first end and the second end substantially as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, namely apparatuses with screw threads and engagement elements for a corresponding screwing tool, Anapliotis teaches flat sides of a hexagonal shape (of element 7) and recesses (16) for a functional equivalent element (7’) are functional equivalent means for engagement with a screwing tool. In particular, Anapliotis teaches engagements for a wrench or face spanner wrench are known equivalents for the same purpose of selecting the proper screw engagement element that engages with a corresponding desired tool for a particular screwing application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the internal hexagonal shape 38 of Reiley for the recesses (16) on an outer surface, as taught and/or suggested by Anapliotis in order to provide for an appropriate tool engagement means for a face spanner wrench as the selected desired wrench for the invention of Reiley and because face spanner wrenches provide for additional grabbing engagement between the screwed element and tool with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Reiley in view of Renz in view of Anapliotis, as applied above, teaches the at least one second engagement element (16 of Anapliotis) applied to the body (34 of Reiley) includes a plurality of second engagement elements ( figure 5 of Anapliotis), each second engagement element (16 of Anapliotis applied to the invention of Reiley) of the plurality of second engagement elements being disposed at a respective location around the body (figure 5 of Anapliotis).
Regarding claim 4, Reiley in view of Renz in view of Anapliotis, as applied above, teaches the body (34 of Reiley) is cylindrically shaped (figure 4A of Reiley), and wherein the plurality of second engagement elements (16 of Anapliotis) are equidistantly located about a circumference of the body (figure 5 of Anapliotis).
Regarding claim 16, as described supra, Reiley in view of Renz teaches the invention substantially as claimed.
However, Reiley in view of Renz is silent regarding the first engagement element includes a plurality of first engagement elements substantially as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, namely apparatuses with screw threads and engagement elements for a corresponding screwing tool, Anapliotis teaches flat sides of a hexagonal shape (of element 7) and recesses (16) for a functional equivalent element (7’) are functional equivalent means for engagement with a screwing tool. In particular, Anapliotis teaches engagements for a wrench or face spanner wrench are known equivalents for the same purpose of selecting the proper screw engagement element that engages with a corresponding desired tool for a particular screwing application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the internal hexagonal shape 38 of Reiley for the recesses (16) on an outer surface, as taught and/or suggested by Anapliotis in order to provide for an appropriate tool engagement means for a face spanner wrench as the selected desired wrench for the invention of Reiley and because face spanner wrenches provide for additional grabbing engagement between the screwed element and tool with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, with the substitution of the first engagement element 38 of Reiley in view of Renz for the recesses 16 of Anapliotis on the outer surface of the body of Reiley in view of Renz, the first engagement element includes a plurality of first engagement elements substantially as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Reiley in view of Renz in view of Anapliotis, as applied above, teaches the body (34 of Reiley) has a cylindrical shape (figure 4A of Reiley), and wherein each of the first engagement elements (16 of Anapliotis) is disposed at different locations about a circumference of the body (figure 5 of Anapliotis).
Regarding claim 18, Reiley in view of Renz in view of Anapliotis, as applied above, teaches the first engagement element (16 of Anapliotis) of the plurality of first engagement elements includes a hole (16 of Anapliotis- see figure 5), and wherein the plurality of first engagement elements (16 of Anapliotis) are equidistantly spaced about the circumference of the body (figure 5 of Anapliotis).
Regarding claim 42, as described supra, Reiley in view of Renz teaches the invention substantially as claimed, and wherein the first body (34 of Reiley) is cylindrical (figure 4A of Reiley) and includes the first engagement element (38) between the first end and the second end of the first body (figure 4A of Reiley).
However, Reiley in view of Renz is silent regarding the first engagement element includes a plurality of first engagement elements disposed around a circumference of the first body substantially as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, namely apparatuses with screw threads and engagement elements for a corresponding screwing tool, Anapliotis teaches flat sides of a hexagonal shape (of element 7) and recesses (16) for a functional equivalent element (7’) are functional equivalent means for engagement with a screwing tool. In particular, Anapliotis teaches engagements for a wrench or face spanner wrench are known equivalents for the same purpose of selecting the proper screw engagement element that engages with a corresponding desired tool for a particular screwing application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the internal hexagonal shape 38 of Reiley for the recesses (16) on an outer surface, as taught and/or suggested by Anapliotis in order to provide for an appropriate tool engagement means for a face spanner wrench as the selected desired wrench for the invention of Reiley and because face spanner wrenches provide for additional grabbing engagement between the screwed element and tool with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz in view of Anapliotis, regarding the first engagement element (16 of Anapliotis substituted for 38 of Reiley) includes a plurality of first engagement elements (16) disposed around a circumference of the first body (34 of Reiley).
Regarding claim 43, Anapliotis in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz in view of Anapliotis further teaches the plurality of first engagement elements (16 of Anapliotis) comprise holes that are substantially equidistantly spaced about the circumference of the first body (e.g., see at least figure 5 of Anapliotis).
Claims 8, 9, 20, 40, 41 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiley et al. U.S. patent no. 8,715,362 (“Reiley”) in view of Renz European Patent No. EP 3,786,465 A1, as applied above, and further in view of Doroslovac U.S. publication no. 2015/0314429 A1.
Regarding claim 8, as described supra, Reiley in view of Renz teaches the invention substantially as claimed, and wherein the body (34 of Reiley) includes a second engagement element (38), the second engagement element (38) disposed in communication with the second coupling element (internal threads, see annotated version of figure 4A of Reiley above).
Reiley in view of Renz is silent regarding the second coupling element (38) includes at least one ridge substantially as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor and/or reasonably pertinent to the problem to be solved by Applicant, namely apparatus for screwing and/or preventing slipping between apparatus and torquing tool, Doroslovac teaches a second coupling element (1) including at least one ridge (3) in order to transfer torque between apparatus and tool by preventing slippage (e.g., see at least figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance the second engagement element (38) of Reiley in view of Renz to further include at least one ridge, as taught and/or suggested by Doroslovac, in order to better transfer torque between apparatus and tool by preventing slippage with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Doroslovac in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz in view of Doroslovac, as described supra, further teaches the at least one ridge (3) includes a plurality of ridges (3- figures 1-4) concentrically arranged about a longitudinal axis defined by the second coupling element (e.g., see at least figure 4A of Reiley wherein 38 is modified to include ridges 3 shown in figures 1-4 of Doroslovac).
Regarding claims 20 and 40, as described supra, Reiley in view of Renz teaches the invention substantially as claimed.
Reiley in view of Renz is silent regarding the body includes a third engagement element disposed in communication with the second coupling element, the third engagement element including a plurality of ridges concentrically arranged about a longitudinal axis defined by the body or second coupling element substantially as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor and/or reasonably pertinent to the problem to be solved by Applicant, namely apparatus for screwing and/or preventing slipping between apparatus and torquing tool, Doroslovac teaches including a coupling element (1) that is a plurality of ridges (3) included in order to transfer torque between apparatus and tool by preventing slippage (e.g., see at least figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include the third engagement element (3 of Doroslovac) that is formed as a plurality of ridges concentrically around about a longitudinal axis defined by a body (see figures 1-4 of Doroslovac) about element 38 of Reiley in order to better transfer torque between apparatus and tool by preventing slippage with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz in view of Doroslovac the body (34 of Reiley) includes a third engagement element (3 of Doroslovac attached to the first engagement element 38 of Reiley) disposed in communication with the second coupling element (i.e., internal threads of body in Reiley- see annotated version of figure 4A above), the third engagement element (3 of Doroslovac) including a plurality of ridges concentrically arranged about a longitudinal axis defined by the body or second coupling element (e.g., see at least figure 4A of Reiley and figures 1-4 of Doroslovac) substantially as claimed.
Regarding claim 41, Doroslovac in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz in view of Doroslovac further teaches the plurality of ridges (3 of Doroslovac) are angled toward the first end of the first body to resist disengagement of a removal tool inserted therethrough (e.g., see at least figures 1 and 9 of Doroslovac) (e.g., see at least paragraphs [0021] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 45, Doroslovac in the invention of Reiley in view of Renz in view of Doroslovac further teaches the third engagement element (3 of Doroslovac) is accessible via the second coupling element (internal threading of Reiley- see annotated version of figure 4A above) and is at least partially disposed between a superior-most portion of the second coupling element and the first end of the first body (e.g., see at least figures 4 and Reiley).
Conclusion
/MARCIA L WATKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774