CTFR 18/065,061 CTFR 100228 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/16/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15, and 17-20 have been amended. Claims 6 and 16 have been canceled. Claim 10 is as previously presented. Claims 21-22 are new. As such, claims 1-22 are pending in the instant application. All objections and rejections pursuant of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18, lines 14-15 and 17-18: “the second sensor” should read “the second sensing element” for clarity and consistency . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campana et al. (US 2017/0266399 A1; hereinafter “Campana”) in view of Dennis et al. (US 2018/0169361 A1; hereinafter “Dennis”) . Regarding claim 1, Campana discloses a medical ventilatory filter (100; Fig. 7) comprising: a filter housing (101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) enclosing filtration media (126; Fig. 13b) for filtering breathing gases flowing through the filter housing ([0200], lines 8-12; [0201]) , the filter housing (101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) defining a first port (103; Fig. 7) , upstream of the filter media (103 is upstream of 126, see Figs. 9a-9b) , and a second port (104; Fig. 7) , downstream of the filter media (see Figs. 9a-9b, where 104 is downstream of 126 positioned under sensor 131) , exposed to the breathing gases ([0170], lines 7-9) ; and a sensor assembly (110, 111, 112; Fig. 7) , the sensor assembly including: a first sensor housing (114; Fig. 9a; [0177], lines 10-20) having a first end and a second end (see Annotated Fig. 9a below) , wherein: the first end of the first sensor housing is coupled to the first port (see Annotated Fig. 9a below where first end of 114 is coupled to 103 via 109) ; and the first sensor housing houses a first sensing element (114 houses 131, see Fig. 9a; [0177], lines 17-19) configured to capture measurement data for a first gas property of the breathing gases flowing through the filter housing (131 configured to capture pressure measurement data due to gas flow at 103; [0176], lines 6-8; [0178], lines 1-9) ; a second sensor housing (123; Fig. 9a; [0177], lines 10-20) having a first end and a second end (see Annotated Fig. 9a below) , wherein: the first end of the second sensor housing is coupled to the second port (see Annotated Fig. 9a below, where first end of 123 is coupled to 104 via 109) ; and the second sensor housing houses a second sensing element (123 houses 132, see Fig. 9a; [0177], lines 17-19) configured to capture measurement data for a second gas property of the breathing gases flowing through the filter housing (132 configured to capture pressure measurement data due to gas flow at 103; [0176], lines 6-8; [0178], lines 1-9) ; and a device housing, separate from the filter housing (113; Fig. 7) , wherein the device housing : encloses a processor (145 within 113, see Fig. 18a) operative to process sensor data received from the first sensing element and the second sensing element ([0214], lines 2-7) ; defines a first physical input interface physically coupling the second end of the first sensor housing to the device housing (109 above a first region 103; Fig. 7; snap arms 109 physically coupled connector 113 to the upper surface of flow conduit 101, where the upper surface of flow conduit 101 which includes the second end of 114, see Annotated Fig. 9a; [0231], lines 13-25) and electrically coupling the first sensing element and the processor (the coupling of 113 and second end of 114 via 109 puts adaptor 112 in electrical communication with 141 and 143, where this connection electrically couples 131 and 145, [0233]) ; and defines a second physical input interface physically coupling the second end of the second sensor housing to the device housing (109 above a second region 104; Fig. 7; snap arms 109 physically coupled connector 113 to the upper surface of flow conduit 101 which includes second end of 123, see Annotated Fig. 9a; [0231], lines 13-25) and electrically coupling the second sensing element and the processor (the physical coupling of 113 and the second end of 123 via 109 puts adaptor 112 in electrical communication with 141 and 143, where this connection electrically couples 132 and 145, [0233]) . Campana further discloses the processor (145) may store and/or transmit signals from the pressure sensors (131,132) to another computing device ([0215]) via a cable (146) positioned within 113 (see Fig. 7), but does not explicitly disclose the transmission of sensor data is wireless, nor does Campana provide communication circuitry for this transmission of sensor data between the computing device and the processor. However, Dennis teaches a central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) that receives data from sensors (4270; Fig. 4c), where the central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) is in communication with a data communication interface (4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) to send sensor data wirelessly to a remote external device (see 4270, 4230, 4280, 4282, and 4286 is Fig. 4c; [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the cable (146) of Campana with the data communication interface as taught by Dennis, such that Campana as modified teaches communication circuity (Dennis: 4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) , enclosed in the device housing (see Fig. 7) in communication with the processor (Dennis 4280 in communication with Campana 145; Dennis: Fig. 4c; Campana: [0231], lines 5-10) , operative to wirelessly communicate the sensor data to a computing device located remotely from the filter housing (Dennis 4280 receives sensor data from Campana 131, 132 and wirelessly communicates the sensor data to a remote computing device that is located remotely from Campana 101, 110, 111, 112; Dennis: [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]) to improve a patient’s therapy (Dennis: [0025], last sentence). PNG media_image1.png 267 556 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 9a Regarding claim 2, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first sensor housing (114; Fig. 9a) is removable from the filter housing or the device housing (114 can be displaced from 113, hence 114 is removable from 113; [0269], lines 14-17). Regarding claim 3, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first sensor housing (131; Fig. 9a) is permanently embedded into the filter housing (114 is embedded within 101, see Fig. 9a). Regarding claim 4, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the device housing (113; Fig. 7) is removably attached to at least one of the first sensor housing or the second sensor housing (113 is removably attached to at least the second end of 114 and the second end of 123, see claim 1 above; [0269], lines 14-17). Regarding claim 5, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first physical input interface (109 above a first region 103; Fig. 7) allows for removing the first sensor housing from the device housing (109 allows 113 to be connected to and removed from 101 which includes at least the second end of 114, see claim 1 above; [0231]). Regarding claim 7, Campana as modified fails to explicitly teach the first sensing element (131; Fig. 7) is one of a temperature sensing element or a carbon dioxide sensing element . However, Campana does teach the first absolute pressure sensor (131; Fig. 7) can be a temperature sensor or a carbon dioxide concentration sensor ([0217], lines 15-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Campana such that the first sensing element (131; Fig. 7) is explicitly taught as a temperature sensor or a carbon dioxide sensor ([0217], lines 15-22) as the simple substitution of a pressure sensor for a temperature sensor or a carbon dioxide sensor would not affect the function of the medical ventilatory filter (100; Fig. 7), and would obtain predictable results of measuring a temperature or carbon dioxide concentration of the gases flowing through the flow conduit (101; see MPEP §2143). Regarding claim 8, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 7, wherein the first sensing element (131; Fig. 7) is the carbon dioxide sensing element (131 can be a carbon dioxide sensor; [0217], lines 15-22, see claim 7 above). Regarding claim 9, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein a first end of the filter (116; Fig. 6) is configured to connect to a first portion of a breathing circuit of a ventilation system (116 is configured to connect to a ventilator tube or port; second to last sentence of [0172]) and a second end of the filter (124; Fig. 6) is configured to connect to a second portion of the breathing circuit (124 is configured to connect to an interface; second to last sentence of [0172]). Regarding claim 11, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first sensing element (131; Fig. 7) is configured to measure gas properties associated with exhaled breathing gases (gas flowing through 102 can be inspiratory gas or expiratory gas, hence 131 is capable of measuring the pressure associated with exhaled breathing gases; [0172], lines 21-27). Regarding claim 12, Campana discloses a method for providing real-time gas property data of gases flowing through a medical ventilation system (method of providing real-time gas property data of gases flowing through flow conduit 101; [0012]) , the method comprising: initiating, by a data acquisition device (113; Fig. 7) having a device housing (138; Fig. 6) enclosing a controller (145 within 113, see Fig. 6) ; measuring a gas property of breathing gases by a sensing element (131 configured to capture pressure measurement data due to gas flow at 103; [0176], lines 6-8; [0178], lines 1-9) within a sensor housing (131 within 114, see Fig. 9a; [0177], lines 17-19) having a first end physically coupled to the device housing (see first end of 114 in Annotated Fig. 9a below; 109 above a first region 103; Fig. 7; snap arms 109 physically coupled 138 to the upper surface of flow conduit 101, where the upper surface of flow conduit 101 which includes the first end of 114, see Annotated Fig. 9a; [0231], lines 13-25) and a second end physically coupled to a filter housing of a filter (see Annotated Fig. 9a below, where first end of 123 is coupled to 104 via 109) enclosing filter media (126; Fig. 13b) for filtering breathing gases flowing through the filter ([0200], lines 8-12; [0201]) ; receiving, by the data acquisition device from the sensing element (113; Fig. 7) , the measurement of the gas property of breathing gases (145 is within 113 and receives measurement data from 131; [0214], lines 2-7) . Campana further discloses a processor to store and/or transmit signals from the pressure sensors (131,132) to another computing device ([0215]) via a cable (146), but fails to explicitly disclose the device housing (138; Fig. 6) enclosing and wireless communication circuitry, a wireless communication session with a remote application , and wirelessly transmitting, by the wireless communication circuitry, the received gas property measurement to the remote application. However, Dennis teaches a central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) that receives data from sensors (4270; Fig. 4c), where the central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) is in communication with a data communication interface (4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) to send sensor data wirelessly to a remove external device (see 4270, 4230, 4280, 4282, and 4286 is Fig. 4c; [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the cable (146) of Campana with the data communication interface as taught by Dennis, such that Campana as modified teaches wireless communication circuitry (Dennis: 4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) that is enclosed in the device housing (see Fig. 7) in communication with the controller (Dennis 4280 in communication with Campana 145; Dennis: Fig. 4c; Campana: [0231], lines 5-10) for wireless communication session with a remote application (a time when Dennis 4280 receives sensor data from Campana 131 and wirelessly communicates the sensor data to a remote computing device; Dennis: [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]), and wirelessly transmits, by the wireless communication circuitry, the received gas property measurement to the remote application (Dennis 4280 receives sensor data from Campana 131, 132 and wirelessly communicates the sensor data to a remote computing device that is located remotely from Campana 100; Dennis: [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]) to improve a patient’s therapy (Dennis: [0025], last sentence). PNG media_image2.png 282 568 media_image2.png Greyscale Annotated Fig. 9a Regarding claim 13, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 12, wherein the sensor housing (114; Fig. 9a) is removably connected to the device housing of the data acquisition device via an input interface of the device housing (138 is removably connected to at least a first end of 114 via 109 above first region 103; Fig. 7; [0231], lines 13-25). Regarding claim 14, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 12, the gas property of the breathing gases comprises a temperature of the breathing gases ([0217], lines 1-6, where the gas flowing through lumen 102 can be exhaled breathing gases, see [0172], lines 21-27). Regarding claim 15, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 14, but fails to explicitly teach the measurement of the gas property of the breathing gases comprises a carbon dioxide level measurement of exhaled breathing gases. However, Campana further teaches the first absolute pressure sensor (131; Fig. 7) can be a carbon dioxide concentration sensor ([0217], lines 15-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Campana such that the first sensor (131; Fig. 7) is explicitly taught as a carbon dioxide sensor ([0217], lines 15-22) as the simple substitution of a pressure sensor for a carbon dioxide sensor would not affect the function of the medical ventilatory filter (100; Fig. 7), and would obtain predictable results of measuring a level of carbon dioxide in the gas flowing through the flow conduit (101), where said gas can be exhaled breathing gases ([0172], lines 21-27) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campana in view of Dennis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ivri (US 2005/0229929 A1) . Regarding claim 10, Campana as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 1, but fails to teach the filter is configured to connect to a breathing circuit of a ventilation system between a patient interface and a wye-fitting. However, Ivri teaches a filter (13; Fig. 1) connected to a breathing circuit (13 is connected to respiratory circuit, R, via 11 and 10; Fig. 1; [0021]) between a patient interface (nasal cannula 4; Fig. 1) and a wye-fitting (5 is a wye-fitting, [0028]; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Campana by replacing the filter (13; Fig. 1) taught by Ivri with the filter (100; Fig. 7) taught by Campana as modified, such that the filter (100; Fig. 7) is configured to connect to a breathing circuit (Campana 100 connects to breathing circuit of Ivri via Campana 106 and Campana 107) of a ventilation system (Ivri: Fig. 1; [0026]) between a patient interface and a wye-fitting (Campana 100 is between Ivri 4 and Ivri 5, see Ivri Fig. 1, where Ivri 13 is now Campana 100) as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute one known element, such as a filter, for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP §2143) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimm et al. (US 5660171 A; hereinafter “Kimm”), in view of Campana (US 2017/0266399 A1), and in further view of Dennis (US 2018/0169361 A1) . Regarding claim 17, Kimm discloses a ventilation system (Fig. 1c) comprising: a pneumatic system (dashed line box, see Fig. 1c) having an inhalation port (where 26 connects to dashed line box, see Annotated Fig. 1c below) and an exhalation port (where 34 connects to dashed line box, see Annotated Fig. 1c below) ; an inhalation limb (26; Fig. 1c) connected to the inhalation port (26 connects to pneumatic system at the dashed line box, hence 26 is connected to the inhalation port, see Annotated Fig. 1c below) ; an exhalation limb (34; Fig. 1c) connected to the exhalation port (34 connects to pneumatic system at the dashed line box, hence 34 is connected to the exhalation port, see Annotated Fig. 1c below) ; a wye-fitting (27; Fig. 1c) connected to the inhalation limb and the exhalation limb (27 connected to 26 and 34; Fig. 1c) ; and a patient interface (30; Fig. 1c). Kimm fails to disclose a first filter positioned between a patient and the wye-fitting . However, Kimm does teach a flow sensor (32; Fig. 1c) positioned between a patient and the wye-fitting (32 positioned between 27 and 30, see Fig. 1c). In addition, Campana teaches a flow sensor (flow sensor assembly, see Fig. 7) with a filter (100; Fig. 7) and a processor (145) to store and/or transmit signals from at least one sensor (131) to an external computing device ([0215]) via a cable (146), where the at least one sensor (131) is positioned within a housing (114; Fig. 9a) having a first end and a second end (see Annotated Campana Fig. 9a below), and the at least one sensor (131) is removable from a housing (113; Fig. 7) enclosing the processor (113 encloses 145, and 131 is removable from 113; Fig. 7; [0269], lines 14-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the flow sensor (32; Fig. 1c) disclose by Kimm with the flow sensor assembly (Campana: Fig. 7) taught by Campana, such that Kimm as modified teaches a first filter ( Campana: Fig. 7) positioned between a patient and the wye- fitting (Campana flow sensor assembly positioned between Kimm 27 and Kimm 30), the first filter (Campana: Fig. 7) comprising: a first filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) enclosing filtration media (Campana: 126; Fig. 13b) for filtering breathing gases flowing through the filter (Campana: [0200], lines 8-12; [0201]) , the first filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) defining a first port (Campana: 103; Fig. 7) exposed to the breathing gases flowing through the first filter housing (Campana: [0170], lines 7-9) ; a first sensor housing (Campana 114; Campana Fig. 9a) having a first end and a second end (see Annotated Campana Fig. 9a below) , wherein: the first end of the first sensor housing is coupled to the first port (see Annotated Campana Fig. 9a below where first end of Campana 114 is coupled to Campana 103 via Campana 109) ; and the first sensor housing houses a first sensing element (Campana: 131 within 114; Fig. 9a) configured to capture measurement data for a first gas property of breathing gases flowing through the first filter (Campana: 131 configured to capture pressure measurement data of gases flowing through 100; [0176], lines 6-8; [0178], lines 1-9) ; and a first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 113; Fig. 7) including: a first processor (Campana: 145; Fig. 18a) , enclosed within the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 145 within 113, see Fig. 18a) , operative to process sensor data received from the first sensing element (Campana: [0214], lines 2-7) ; and a first physical input interface physically coupling second end of the first sensor housing to the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 109 above a first region 103; Fig. 7; snap arms 109 physically coupled connector 113 to the upper surface of flow conduit 101, where the upper surface of flow conduit 101 which includes the second end of 114, see Annotated Campana Fig. 9a; [0231], lines 13-25) and electrically coupling the first sensing element and the first processor (Campana: the physical coupling of 113 and the second end of 114 via 109 puts adaptor 112 in electrical communication with 141 and 143, where this connection electrically couples 131 and 145, [0233]) as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a simple substitution of one flow sensor for another flow sensor to obtain predictable results . Kimm as modified above fails to teach wireless transmission of sensor data, nor does Kimm as modified provide communication circuitry for this transmission of sensor data between the computing device and the processor. However, Dennis teaches a central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) that receives data from sensors (4270; Fig. 4c), where the central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) is in communication with a data communication interface (4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) to send sensor data wirelessly to a remove external device (see 4270, 4230, 4280, 4282, and 4286 is Fig. 4c; [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the cable (146) of Kimm as modified with the data communication interface as taught by Dennis, such that Kimm as modified teaches the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 113; Fig. 7) further comprising: first communication circuity (Dennis: 4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) , in communication with the first processor (Dennis 4280 in communication with Campana 145; Dennis: Fig. 4c; Campana: [0231], lines 5-10) , operative to wirelessly communicate the sensor data from the first sensing element to a computing device located remotely from the ventilation system (Dennis 4280 receives sensor data from Campana 131, 132 and wirelessly communicates the sensor data to a remote computing device that is located remotely from Campana 100; Dennis: [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]) to improve a patient’s therapy (Dennis: [0025], last sentence). PNG media_image1.png 267 556 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Campana Fig. 9a PNG media_image3.png 517 559 media_image3.png Greyscale Annotated Kimm Fig. 1c Regarding claim 18, Kimm as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 17. Kimm as modified further teaches a flow sensor (42; Fig. 1c) positioned on the exhalation limb (34; Fig. 1c) between the wye-fitting and the pneumatic system (34 positioned between 27 and the dashed line box, see Fig. 1c), but does not teach a second filter positioned on the exhalation limb between the wye-fitting and the pneumatic system. However, Campana teaches a flow sensor (flow sensor assembly, see Fig. 7) with a filter (100; Fig. 7) and a processor (145) to store and/or transmit signals from sensors (131,132) to an external computing device ([0215]) via a cable (146) as described above (see claim 17 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the flow sensor (42; Fig. 1c) taught by Kimm as modified with the flow sensor assembly (Campana: Fig. 7) as taught by Campana, such that Kimm as modified teaches a second filter (Campana: Fig. 7) positioned on the exhalation limb between the wye-fitting and the pneumatic system (Campana flow sensor assembly positioned on Kimm 34 between Kimm 27 and the dashed box illustrated in Fig. 1c of Kimm) , wherein the second filter comprises (Campana: Fig. 7) : a second filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) enclosing filtration media (Campana: 126; Fig. 13b) for filtering breathing gases flowing through the filter (Campana: [0200], lines 8-12; [0201]) , the second filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) defining a second port (Campana: 103; Fig. 7) exposed to the breathing gases flowing through the second filter housing (Campana: [0170], lines 7-9) ; a second sensor housing (Campana: 123; Fig. 9a) coupled to the second port (see Annotated Campana Fig. 9a above, where first end of Campana 123 is coupled to Campana 104 via Campana 109) , the second sensor housing enclosing a second sensing element (Campana: 132 within 123; Fig. 9a) configured to capture measurement data for a second gas property of breathing gases flowing through the second filter (Campana: 131 configured to capture pressure measurement data of exhalation gases flowing through 100; [0176], lines 6-8; [0178], lines 1-9) ; and a second data-acquisition housing (Campana: 113; Fig. 7) including: a second processor (Campana: 145; Fig. 18a) , enclosed within the second data-acquisition housing (Campana: 145 within 113, see Fig. 18a) , operative to process sensor data received from the second sensing element (Campana: [0214], lines 2-7) ; and a second physical input interface physically coupling the second sensor housing to the second data-acquisition housing (Campana: 109 above a first region 103; Fig. 7; snap arms 109 physically coupled connector 113 to the upper surface of flow conduit 101, where the upper surface of flow conduit 101 includes the second end of 123, hence 109 physically couples the second end of 123 to 113, see Annotated Campana Fig. 9a above; [0231], lines 13-25) and electrically coupling the second sensor and the second processor (Campana: the physical coupling of 113 and the second end of 123 via 109 puts adaptor 112 in electrical communication with 141 and 143, where this connection electrically couples 131 and 145, [0233]) as it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a simple substitution of one flow sensor for another flow sensor to obtain predictable results . Kimm as modified fails to teach second communication circuitry, in communication with the second processor, operative to wirelessly communicate the sensor data from the second sensor to a computing device located remotely from the ventilation system. However, Dennis teaches a central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) that receives data from sensors (4270; Fig. 4c), where the central controller (4230; Fig. 4c) is in communication with a data communication interface (4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) to send sensor data wirelessly to a remove external device (see 4270, 4230, 4280, 4282, and 4286 is Fig. 4c; [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the cable (146) of Kimm as modified with the data communication interface as taught by Dennis, such that Kimm as modified teaches the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 113; Fig. 7) further comprising: second communication circuity (Dennis: 4280; Fig. 4c; [0109], first sentence) , in communication with the second processor (Dennis 4280 in communication with Campana 145; Dennis: Fig. 4c; Campana: [0231], lines 5-10) , operative to wirelessly communicate the sensor data from the second sensor to a computing device located remotely from the ventilation system (Dennis 4280 receives sensor data from Campana 131, 132 and wirelessly communicates the sensor data to a remote computing device that is located remotely from Campana 100; Dennis: [0108]; [0110]; [0112]-[0113]; [0120]-[0121]) to improve a patient’s therapy (Dennis: [0025], last sentence). Regarding claim 19, Kimm as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 17, but Kimm as modified does not explicitly teach the first sensor housing (Campana 114; Fig. 9a) being removable from the first filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7). However, Campana further teaches the first sensor housing (Campana: 114; Fig. 9a) is removable from the first data-acquisition housing (131 is removable from 113; [0269], lines 14-17; see claim 17 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kimm such that the first sensor (Campana: 131; Fig. 9a) is removable from the first filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) as the first sensor is capable of being removable (Campana: [0269], lines 14-17) and said removability of the first sensor from the first filter housing would ease maintenance and replacement of both the first sensor and the first filter as a whole (see MPEP §2144.04). Regarding claim 20, Kimm as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 19, wherein the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 113; Fig. 7) is removable from the first sensor housing (Campana: 113 is removable from at least the second end of 114; [0269], lines 14-17). Regarding claim 21, Kimm as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 17, wherein the first sensor housing (Campana 114; Campana Fig. 9a) is removable from the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 114 can be displaced from 113, hence 114 is removable from 113; Campana [0269], lines 14-17) . Kimm as modified fails to explicitly disclose the first sensor housing is further removable from the first filter housing such that the first sensor housing can be replaced with a second sensor housing having a second sensing element for sensing a second gas property of the breathing gases. However, Campana teaches chamber inserts (600; Figs. 59a-59b) disposed in recesses (650; Fig. 58) within a flow conduit (101, see Fig. 58), where pressure sensors (131, 132; Fig. 9a) are positioned within a corresponding chamber (610; Fig. 59a) of the chamber inserts ([0277], lines 1-6). While Campana does not explicitly teach the chamber inserts (600) are removable from the flow conduit (101), it would be well-understood by one in the art that the chamber inserts (600) are capable of being removed from the flow conduit (100; see [0277]-[0278] and [0281]-[0282]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kimm with the above teachings of Campana such that the first sensor housing (Campana: 600; Figs. 59a-59b) are removable from both the first filter housing (Campana: 101, 110, 111, 112; Figs. 6 and 7) and the first data-acquisition housing (Campana: 114 can be displaced from 113, hence 114 is removable from 113; Campana [0269], lines 14-17) such that the first sensor housing (Campana: 600; Figs. 59a-59b) can be replaced with a second sensor housing (a second of Campana 600, see Campana Fig. 57 where there are two 600’s) having a second sensing element (Campana: 132, see [0277], lines 1-6) for sensing a second gas property of the breathing gases (Campana: 132 configured to capture pressure measurement data due to gas flow at 103; [0176], lines 6-8; [0178], lines 1-9) to personalize the sensor configuration to be a desired sensor configuration (Campana [0217], lines 15-22), increasing the functional versatility of the system. Regarding claim 22, Kimm as modified teaches the invention as set forth in claim 17, but fails to disclose wherein the first sensor housing is an elongate housing having a length, between the first end and the second end, that is substantially greater than its diameter. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the shape of the first sensor housing (Campana 114) in the ventilation system taught by Kimm, as modified in claim 17 above, because Applicant has not disclosed that the shape of the first sensor housing having a length that is substantially greater than its diameter provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Specifically, Applicant’s specification recites “each of the sensors 107 include an elongate housing having a length that is substantially greater than its width or diameter” ([0056]). One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the first sensor housing (Campana 114) taught by Kimm as modified, and Applicant’s first sensor housing, to perform equally well because both mechanisms perform the same function of facilitating a connection with a sensor between a data-acquisition housing and a filter housing. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify Kimm to obtain the invention as specified in claim 22 because such a modification is considered to be well within the skill level of the ordinary artisan in order to achieve the desired length of the first sensor housing in relation to a diameter of the first sensor housing, and thus fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Kimm as modified above . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 12, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the claim amendments (filed on 03/16/2026) necessitate new ground(s) of rejection. On pages 9-10 of the Remarks (filed on 03/16/2026), Applicant argues the references cited in the non-final Office Action (mailed 12/17/2025) fails to disclose any sensor housing, with a sensor element, that has a first end that is received in a filter housing and second end that is received in a device housing. Independent claims 1, 12, and 17 were amended to include limitations disclosing such subject matter (see amended claims 1, 12, and 17); hence, new ground(s) of rejection are necessitated by the amendments to independent claims 1, 12, and 17, and Applicant’s argument is moot. Campana is provided to teach at least one sensor housing, with a sensor element, that has a first end that is received in a filter housing and second end that is received in a device housing (see rejection of claims 1, 12, and 17 under 103 above). Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Sparks & Najafi (US 20060211981 A1): Regarding a medical treatment system including a sensor housing with a first end and a second end. Deighan et al. (US 9241655 B2): Regarding a measuring device to measure physiological parameters, having a sensor housing with a first end and a second end. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABIGAYLE DALE whose telephone number is (571)272-1080. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 8:45am to 5:45pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brandy Lee can be reached at (571) 270-7410. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ABIGAYLE DALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3785 /BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 2 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 3 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 4 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 5 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 6 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 7 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 8 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 9 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 10 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 11 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 12 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 13 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 14 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 15 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 16 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 17 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 18 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 19 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 20 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 21 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 22 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 23 Art Unit: 3785 Application/Control Number: 18/065,061 Page 24 Art Unit: 3785