Election/Restrictions
The rejections of record have been maintained below.
Applicant’s election without traverse of NU7441, talazoparib, BRCA2, and pancreatic cancer in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
The elected species reads on claims 1, 3, 7, 10-12, and 17.
Claims 8, 13-16, and 18-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/12/2025.
Priority
This application is a continuation in part of US application 17/303,457, which claims priority to US provisional application 63/032,653. There is also a divisional of ‘457 (application 18/901,200). There is also a PCT application in the patent family.
The instant application finds support from the provisional application. Therefore, the effective filing date is 5/31/2020.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ claim amendments and Remarks of 6/11/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed or modified below is herein withdrawn.
In regard to the obviousness rejection, this rejection is maintained. Applicants’ Remarks with Examiner’s Reply are summarized below:
Applicants submit that VORMOOR teaches PARP inhibitors and DNA-PKcs inhibitors are both sensitizers, and therefore an artisan would not have been motivated to combinate two sensitizers.
Applicants submit that VORMOOR teaches no benefit to and examples of using two drugs from claimed classes in conjunction with radiation.
Examiner disagrees. It would be obvious to combine these compounds to be used for the same purpose; the idea to combine flows from In re Kerkhoven.
Applicants submit that HAO teaches NU7441 as a sensitizer for pancreatic cancer cells.
Applicants submit that Zhu teaches talazoparib in pancreatic cancer.
Applicants submit that the instantly claimed combination has synergy. Applicants point out Figure 15.
Examiner has reviewed Figure 15, which shows the percent survival of wild type cells and BRCA2 mutant pancreatic cancer cells to DNA-PK and PARP inhibition in combination with radiation. Figure 15 only describes testing a single dosage (i.e. 1.5GY with 1uM NU7441 and 10 nM talazoparib).
The scope of the unexpected results (1.5GY with 1uM NU7441 and 10 nM talazoparib) given are not commensurate with the scope of the instant claims (base claim 1 is a method for treating or preventing any cancer in a subject with two or more compounds from limitation (a). Claim 1 is not limited by a dosage amount).
Furthermore, Applicants have added the limitation, which seemly says that the dosage should be lowered if the compounds are administered together than the dosage if either compound were administered alone. Figure 15 does not lower the combined dosage compared to the compounds administered alone (for example, talazoparib is administered at 10 nM no matter if administered alone or together with other agents).
MPEP 716.02 states that unexpected results a) are greater than expected results, b) show superiority of a property shared with the prior art, c) exhibit the presence of an unexpected property, and/or d) exhibit the absence of an expected property. MPEP 716.02 additionally states that unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention and provide a comparison with the closest prior art.
What Figure 15 shows not commensurate in scope with the claims, and as such, it is not persuasive to show unexpected results.
Applicants submit that the inventor has discovered a molecular pathway (at the top of page 7).
The claims as currently written, however, do not reflect the mechanism of action Applicants has detailed.
In regard to the double patenting rejection, rejections cannot be held in abeyance.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vormoor (Vormoor et al., “Sensitizing Ewing sarcoma to chemo- and radiotherapy by inhibition of the DNA-repair enzymes DNA protein kinase (DNA-PK) and poly-ADP-ribose polymerase (PARP) ½”, Oncotarget, September 2017), in view of HAO (Hao et al., “DNA-PKcs is important for Akt activation and gemcitabine resistance in PANC-1 pancreatic cancer cells”, Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, August 2014), and in view of ZHU (Zhu et al., “PARP inhibitors in pancreatic cancer: molecular mechanisms and clinical applications”, Molecular Cancer, May 2020).
Vormoor teaches that DNA-PK and PARP inhibitors sensitize cancer cells to chemo- and radiotherapy (abstract). This helps teach step b of claim 1.
Vormoor teaches rucaparib (PARP inhibitor) and NU7441 (elected species of DNA-PKs inhibitor) separately sensitize Ewing sarcoma cell lines to chemo- and radiation therapy (table 1 on page 113422). This helps teach NU-7441 of claim 11 and rucaparib of claim 12.
Vormoor teaches that “NU7441 potentiated the effects of ionizing radiation in both cell lines, causing a 3-fold reduction in cell survival” (page 114323).
Vormoor does not teach pancreatic cancer or talazoparib. Vormoor does not administer a DNA-PK and PARP inhibitor together.
HAO teaches that NU-7441 (elected species of DNA-PKcs inhibitor) enhanced gemcitabine-induced cytotoxicity and apoptosis in PANC-1 pancreatic cancer cells (abstract). This helps teach pancreatic cancer of claim 10, and NU-7441 of claims 1, 11, and 17.
HAO also teaches that DNA-PKcs inhibitors were shown to enhance the cytotoxicity induced by radiation and a number of chemo-drugs (i.e., etoposide and doxorubicin) in vivo and in vitro (Introduction).
HOA does not teach talazoparib.
ZHU teaches that four of the 13 patients with pancreatic cancer showed clinical benefit using talazoparib (Talazoparib). This helps teach talazoparib of claims 1, 12, and 17.
ZHU teaches that a family history of pancreatic cancer is an essential risk factor, and germline BRCA2 mutations comprise the highest proportion of known reasons for inherited pancreatic cancer (page 2). This helps teach claims 7 and 10.
The artisan would have found it obvious to combine NU-7441 (DNA-PKcs inhibitor) and talazoparib (PARP inhibitor). HAO teaches that NU-7441 enhanced gemcitabine-induced cytotoxicity and apoptosis in PANC-1 pancreatic cancer cells (abstract). ZHU teaches that talazoparib is useful in treating pancreatic cancer (Talazoparib). It is prima facie obvious to combine one cancer treatment (NU-7441) with another (talazoparib) in order to form a composition to be used for the very same purpose (treating pancreatic cancer). This teaches claim 1 step a.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06(I).
The artisan would have been motivated to administer radiation therapy to the subject sometime before/during/after administering claim 1’s step b. Vormoor teaches that “NU7441 potentiated the effects of ionizing radiation in both cell lines, causing a 3-fold reduction in cell survival” (page 114323). The artisan would expect that NU-7441 to maintain its effectiveness for treating pancreatic cancer. The artisan would be motivated to use NU-7441 to sensitive cancer cells to radiation therapy (Vormoor abstract). This teaches claim 1 and claim 10 (pancreatic cancer). This also teaches claims 11-12 and 17.
The artisan would have expected to administer NU-7441 and talazoparib either sequentially or concurrently from the natural conclusion that there are physically only two ways to administer two compounds, together at the same time or one after another. This teaches claim 3.
The artisan would be motivated and expected to treat a cancer with a BRCA2 mutation because for people with family history of pancreatic cancer, this is the most common mutation (ZHU page 2). This teaches claim 7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 10 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/901,200 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
Ref. claims 1 and 3 anticipate instant claims 1, 3, and 12. AG120 is an IDH inhibitor and Olaparib is PARP inhibitor.
Ref claim 1 anticipates diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma , which is a cancer of instant claim 10.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 10 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 17/303,457 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical since the instant application (“instant”) is drawn to a method of use of the compound of the reference patent (“reference”), they are not patentably distinct from each other because both instant and reference are drawn to the same underlying compound. Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd. vs. Eli Lilly and Company, 611 F.3d 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
Ref. claim 20 teaches instant claims 1, 3, and 12. AG120 is an IDH inhibitor and Olaparib is PARP inhibitor.
Ref claim 1 teaches that the ref composition is useful in treating diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma (ref specification page 23 “Section e”), which is a cancer of instant claim 10.
It would have been obvious to use the reference composition in a method of treating diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625