DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on February 17, 2026 for the application filed December 13, 2022. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein et al. (US2013/0337771A1) in view of Agulnik et al. (US2016/0192165A1).
Regarding claim 1, Klein teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a first subscriber device, the first subscriber device registered with a communications network, a request from a second subscriber device to join the communications network, the second subscriber device not registered with the communications network, the request received via a wireless communications link (Paragraph [0017]: In an exemplary embodiment, a mobile device collaboration method includes provisioning a first mobile device with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device, detecting a second mobile device responsive to a condition at the first mobile device, communicating the unique user identification to the second mobile device, authenticating the first mobile device through the second mobile device communicating the unique user identification to an external database, and providing access for the first mobile device through the second mobile device if the authenticating is successful. Paragraph [0020]: In the context of the mobile device collaboration system 10, the broadband device 12A is unable to communicate on the network 14 at the scene of an incident. However, the system 10 also includes the devices 12B, 12C, 12D at the incident as well. The devices 12B, 12C, 12D can be referred to as second, third, and fourth mobile devices that are configured to communicate on a network 16. For example, the network 16 can be an LMR system or the like. In an exemplary embodiment, the network 16 can be a private network. Paragraph [0021]: The assumption is the user of device 12A does not have connectivity to the network 14, but requires network connectivity in context of the incident such as, for example, to communicate with a hospital. In an exemplary embodiment, the user of device 12A is an identifiable individual through a database 18, an incident commander 20 connected to a base station 22, or the like. In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. In an exemplary embodiment, the system 10 can also include a PTT server/gateway 25 for PTT hosting. Note, this functionality can also be in the LMR system 16. Paragraph [0022]: Thus, the user of the device 12 wants to be authorized to be part of the system 10 on scene to talk directly with law enforcement or other public safety agents, but is out of coverage or in a poor coverage zone on the network 14 such as due to lack of coverage or natural/man-made disaster, and the user need access to private system resources such as through the devices 12B, 12C, 12D. For example, the user of the device 12A may need access for voice or non-voice applications in conjunction with the incident. Paragraph [0029]: In an exemplary embodiment, the unique user identification can be conveyed between the first device and the second device use PAN techniques, e.g. beacons, etc. Paragraph [0042]: The beacons are used by the second mobile device to alert the first mobile device (and any other devices) of the presence of the second mobile device for collaboration. In an exemplary embodiment, the beacon can be a LMR collaborative link beacon. In another exemplary embodiment, the beacon can be a WLAN beacon.)
sending, by the first subscriber device, a request to the communications network for authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network; receiving, by the first subscriber device, from the communications network an authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network, the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device, over the wireless link, wherein the second subscriber device uses the set of connection parameters to join the communications network (Paragraph [0021]: In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. Paragraph [0023]: In operation of the system 10, the broadband device 12A is configured to connect with one of the devices 12B, 12C, 12D. That is, a public network device such as the device 12A is configured to connect to a public safety based LMR device (or combination LMR/broadband, etc.). This connection is used for authenticating the device 12A and for network access by the device 12A. The connection can be via near field pairing, wireless local area network (WLAN) advertising, or Bluetooth sniffing for special purpose devices. Further, the device 12A and/or the devices 12B, 12C, 12D can include an application that is preloaded thereon. Coordination between the devices 12A and the devices 12B, 12C, 12D can utilize existing protocols, techniques, and methods. The application is merely a special purpose application to support this identification sharing operation, authentication, and ad hoc communication. Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. These system resources can be managed as local operation only, LMR system/talkgroup limited operation, or full operation including data throughput access. If the sharing of resources is more about granting access, the LMR device 12B (or dispatch center via the incident commander 20) can grant limited (time, data throughput, etc) access to the broadband device 12A on a private Public Safety BB system, e.g. the network 16. Paragraph [0027]: Generally, the method 30 enables devices with different users on different networks to establish peer-to-peer connections (e.g., via WLAN, Bluetooth, etc.) allowing the first user to have network access through the second user. The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection. Paragraph [0028]: The unique user identification can include any information that can be used to uniquely identify the user of the first device such as, for example, name, an identification number, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, name and role, etc. This information may be in the database 18 with additional information. For example, the unique user identification can uniquely identify the user and can be used in a database look up to find that user's role and/or skill set. Paragraph [0033]: If the authenticating is successful, access is provided for the first mobile device through the second mobile device (step 35). That is, upon success of the authentication/authorization, the first mobile device can have an active peer-to-peer connection such as via a PAN technique with the second mobile device. Paragraph [0040]: As described herein, the second device includes the application which allows for advertisement. That is, the second device advertises for collaboration at the incident (step 52). The collaboration can include allowing the first mobile device an ad hoc or peer-to-peer connection for providing network connectivity to the first mobile device. The collaboration can also include taking role of the personnel present at the scene of the incident. For example, the second mobile device can request the unique user identification for all proximate in range users (e.g., devices with the appropriate application/configuration). Paragraph [0047]: The broadband user via the broadband device initiates a communication request and the broadband user responds to the LMR device's advertising with an alert and unique user identification information (step 83). The LMR device receives the unique user identification information and context details (i.e., the type associated with the unique user identification) that can be verified for authorization with an external authorization solution (step 84). Specifically, the LMR device parses the alert and/or unique user identification information to obtain the context details. The context details can include what type of user is associated with the unique user identification, where the LMR device should authorize (i.e., which database), etc. )).
Klein does not explicitly teach the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device.
However, Agulnik teaches the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device (Paragraph [0003]: In such an instance, an Incident Area Network (IAN) may be set up to enable wireless communications among the local responders and to enable the local responders to access local services provided by servers of the local agency…..present at the incident scene. When mutual aid responders arrive at the incident scene, they also may need to join the IAN and access the local services provided by the local agency. Paragraph [0024]: When the visiting agency responders 132-134 arrive at incident scene 150, it may be beneficial to allow the visiting agency responders to access one or more local applications and services 127 available to the local responders 104-106. This can include obtaining security credentials for accessing the local applications and services, collaborating with a workgroup or set of individuals of the local agency, such as local responders 104-106, and/or interoperating with a talkgroup of the local agency, for example, a talkgroup that includes local agency responders 104-106. Paragraph [0025]: The first mutual aid token permits the mobile device to access applications and services of the local agency when the mobile device is in the geographical jurisdiction of the local agency, for example, at incident scene 150, to provide mutual aid. Paragraph [0027]: As part of joining IAN 102, authorized responder 132, and in particular, mobile device 142 of authorized responder 132, is provisioned IAN information, such as one or more of an identifier associated with the IAN, for example, an identifier of AP 122 and any security information, such as a password, required for connecting to AP 122, wireless resource information, such as frequencies, time slots, or resource blocks, used for IAN communications. Paragraph [0029]: authorized responder 132, and in particular mobile device 142 of the authorized responder, transfers (410) a second mutual aid token to second responder 133, which second mutual aid token is derived from the first mutual aid token 206 stored by authorized responder 132. The authorized responder transfers the second mutual aid token, which can be used by the second responder to access network 120 of the local agency. Paragraph [0031]: Based on the IAN information received from authorized responder 132, second responder 133, and in particular mobile device 143 of the second responder, joins (414) IAN 102, for example, connects to access node 122. By joining IAN 102, second responder 133 is now able to access network 120.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device, as taught by Agulnik in the system of Klein, in order to enable the local responders to access local services provided by servers of the local agency (Agulnik: Paragraphs [0003], [0024], [0027], [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising (see rejection for claim 1);
Klein further teaches authenticating the second subscriber device prior to receiving the request to join the communications network from the second subscriber device (Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. Paragraph [0027]: Generally, the method 30 enables devices with different users on different networks to establish peer-to-peer connections (e.g., via WLAN, Bluetooth, etc.) allowing the first user to have network access through the second user. The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection. Paragraph [0028]: The unique user identification can include any information that can be used to uniquely identify the user of the first device such as, for example, name, an identification number, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, name and role, etc. This information may be in the database 18 with additional information. For example, the unique user identification can uniquely identify the user and can be used in a database look up to find that user's role and/or skill set. Paragraph [0032]: In an exemplary embodiment, the second device can utilize a two factor (or greater) authentication to external databases for verification of the user. For example, the verification can include the unique user identification, direct visual verification by a user of the second mobile device, look up information from the unique user identification, etc. In the case of visual verification, the user of the second mobile device would have to affirmatively authorize the first user.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
Klein further teaches wherein authenticating the second subscriber device further comprises: authenticating a user of the second subscriber device (Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. Paragraph [0027]: Generally, the method 30 enables devices with different users on different networks to establish peer-to-peer connections (e.g., via WLAN, Bluetooth, etc.) allowing the first user to have network access through the second user. The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Klein further teaches wherein the request from the second subscriber device to join the communications network includes at least one of a unit ID, a home system ID, and a role of a user of the second subscriber device (Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. Paragraph [0027]: Generally, the method 30 enables devices with different users on different networks to establish peer-to-peer connections (e.g., via WLAN, Bluetooth, etc.) allowing the first user to have network access through the second user. The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection. Paragraph [0028]: The unique user identification can include any information that can be used to uniquely identify the user of the first device such as, for example, name, an identification number, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, name and role, etc. This information may be in the database 18 with additional information. For example, the unique user identification can uniquely identify the user and can be used in a database look up to find that user's role and/or skill set. Paragraph [0032]: In an exemplary embodiment, the second device can utilize a two factor (or greater) authentication to external databases for verification of the user. For example, the verification can include the unique user identification, direct visual verification by a user of the second mobile device, look up information from the unique user identification, etc. In the case of visual verification, the user of the second mobile device would have to affirmatively authorize the first user. Paragraph [0043]: The second mobile device receives the unique user identification from the first mobile device via one of the PAN or WLAN system (step 61). The second mobile device selects the external database from one or more databases (step 62). Note, as described herein, the second mobile device parses the unique user identification and determines therefrom which database to use. The second mobile device sends the unique user identification to the external database (step 63). Here, the second mobile device can perform a look up. For example, the unique user identification may identify the role and/or skill of the user for the first device. In step 63, the second mobile device is performing a verification that the user is who they say they are.))
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Klein further teaches wherein the set of connection parameters includes a default talkgroup, the default talkgroup based on a role of a user of the second subscribed device (Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. These system resources can be managed as local operation only, LMR system/talkgroup limited operation, or full operation including data throughput access. If the system resources are utilized via an LMR proxy, it can be done as the primary or secondary user of those resources. If using the LMR device 12B as a proxy (perhaps the broadband device 12A is connected to a “donor” radio) the LMR device 12B can share talkgroup details or local tactical channel information to the broadband device 12A device to operate similar to a traditional LMR device. If the sharing of resources is more about granting access, the LMR device 12B (or dispatch center via the incident commander 20) can grant limited (time, data throughput, etc) access to the broadband device 12A on a private Public Safety BB system, e.g. the network 16. This approach allows the user of the device 12A who is not authorized to be on the network 16 to leverage an LMR solution via an ad hoc local network to get access to these limited resources under the supervision/authorization of a local on scene authorized LMR user. Paragraph [0034]: In some exemplary embodiments, it can be assumed the broadband device would not be on the same channel/Talkgroup as LMR device. That is, typically LMR device belong to public safety users and it is assumed the broadband device belongs to non-public safety users. For example, the LMR devices belong to first responders whereas the broadband device belongs to a doctor and the doctor would need to communicate with a hospital or other rescue services and not public safety elements.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Klein further teaches wherein the request to the communications network for authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network indicates to the communications network that the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network (Paragraph [0021]: In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. Paragraph [0033]: If the authenticating is successful, access is provided for the first mobile device through the second mobile device (step 35). That is, upon success of the authentication/authorization, the first mobile device can have an active peer-to-peer connection such as via a PAN technique with the second mobile device.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Klein further teaches wherein the second subscriber device is not registered with any communications network (Paragraph [0020]: In the context of the mobile device collaboration system 10, the broadband device 12A is unable to communicate on the network 14 at the scene of an incident. However, the system 10 also includes the devices 12B, 12C, 12D at the incident as well. The devices 12B, 12C, 12D can be referred to as second, third, and fourth mobile devices that are configured to communicate on a network 16. For example, the network 16 can be an LMR system or the like. In an exemplary embodiment, the network 16 can be a private network. Paragraph [0021]: The assumption is the user of device 12A does not have connectivity to the network 14, but requires network connectivity in context of the incident such as, for example, to communicate with a hospital. In an exemplary embodiment, the user of device 12A is an identifiable individual through a database 18, an incident commander 20 connected to a base station 22, or the like. In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access.)
Regarding claim 8, Klein teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a communications network, a request from a first subscriber device to provide a set of connection parameters to be utilized by a second subscriber device to join the communications network; determining if the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network; sending the set of connection parameters to the first subscriber device when it is determined that the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network, wherein the second subscriber device utilizes the set of connection parameters to join the communications network (Paragraph [0017]: In an exemplary embodiment, a mobile device collaboration method includes provisioning a first mobile device with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device, detecting a second mobile device responsive to a condition at the first mobile device, communicating the unique user identification to the second mobile device, authenticating the first mobile device through the second mobile device communicating the unique user identification to an external database, and providing access for the first mobile device through the second mobile device if the authenticating is successful. Paragraph [0020]: In the context of the mobile device collaboration system 10, the broadband device 12A is unable to communicate on the network 14 at the scene of an incident. However, the system 10 also includes the devices 12B, 12C, 12D at the incident as well. The devices 12B, 12C, 12D can be referred to as second, third, and fourth mobile devices that are configured to communicate on a network 16. For example, the network 16 can be an LMR system or the like. In an exemplary embodiment, the network 16 can be a private network. Paragraph [0021]: The assumption is the user of device 12A does not have connectivity to the network 14, but requires network connectivity in context of the incident such as, for example, to communicate with a hospital. In an exemplary embodiment, the user of device 12A is an identifiable individual through a database 18, an incident commander 20 connected to a base station 22, or the like. In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. In an exemplary embodiment, the system 10 can also include a PTT server/gateway 25 for PTT hosting. Note, this functionality can also be in the LMR system 16. Paragraph [0022]: Thus, the user of the device 12 wants to be authorized to be part of the system 10 on scene to talk directly with law enforcement or other public safety agents, but is out of coverage or in a poor coverage zone on the network 14 such as due to lack of coverage or natural/man-made disaster, and the user need access to private system resources such as through the devices 12B, 12C, 12D. For example, the user of the device 12A may need access for voice or non-voice applications in conjunction with the incident. Paragraph [0023]: In operation of the system 10, the broadband device 12A is configured to connect with one of the devices 12B, 12C, 12D. That is, a public network device such as the device 12A is configured to connect to a public safety based LMR device (or combination LMR/broadband, etc.). This connection is used for authenticating the device 12A and for network access by the device 12A. The connection can be via near field pairing, wireless local area network (WLAN) advertising, or Bluetooth sniffing for special purpose devices. Further, the device 12A and/or the devices 12B, 12C, 12D can include an application that is preloaded thereon. Coordination between the devices 12A and the devices 12B, 12C, 12D can utilize existing protocols, techniques, and methods. The application is merely a special purpose application to support this identification sharing operation, authentication, and ad hoc communication. Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. Paragraph [0027]: Generally, the method 30 enables devices with different users on different networks to establish peer-to-peer connections (e.g., via WLAN, Bluetooth, etc.) allowing the first user to have network access through the second user. The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection. Paragraph [0028]: The unique user identification can include any information that can be used to uniquely identify the user of the first device such as, for example, name, an identification number, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, name and role, etc. This information may be in the database 18 with additional information. For example, the unique user identification can uniquely identify the user and can be used in a database look up to find that user's role and/or skill set. Paragraph [0033]: If the authenticating is successful, access is provided for the first mobile device through the second mobile device (step 35). That is, upon success of the authentication/authorization, the first mobile device can have an active peer-to-peer connection such as via a PAN technique with the second mobile device. Paragraph [0040]: As described herein, the second device includes the application which allows for advertisement. That is, the second device advertises for collaboration at the incident (step 52). The collaboration can include allowing the first mobile device an ad hoc or peer-to-peer connection for providing network connectivity to the first mobile device. The collaboration can also include taking role of the personnel present at the scene of the incident. For example, the second mobile device can request the unique user identification for all proximate in range users (e.g., devices with the appropriate application/configuration). Paragraph [0047]: The broadband user via the broadband device initiates a communication request and the broadband user responds to the LMR device's advertising with an alert and unique user identification information (step 83). The LMR device receives the unique user identification information and context details (i.e., the type associated with the unique user identification) that can be verified for authorization with an external authorization solution (step 84). Specifically, the LMR device parses the alert and/or unique user identification information to obtain the context details. The context details can include what type of user is associated with the unique user identification, where the LMR device should authorize (i.e., which database), etc.))
Klein does not explicitly teach sending the set of connection parameters to the first subscriber device; wherein the second subscriber device utilizes the set of connection parameters to join the communications network.
However, Agulnik teaches sending the set of connection parameters to the first subscriber device; wherein the second subscriber device utilizes the set of connection parameters to join the communications network (Paragraph [0022]: One or more of the visiting agency responders 132-134, such as responder 132, is an authorized visiting responder, that is, a visiting responder who has been authorized by the local agency or the local agency authorized user to access the applications and services, such as application 127, of the local agency when providing mutual aid. Mobile device 142 of authorized visiting responder 132 includes a mutual aid token 206 that is stored in the at least one memory device 204 of the mobile device. Mutual aid token 206, and mutual aid tokens derived from mutual aid token 206, permits, that is, authorizes, a mobile device possessing the token, such as mobile device 142, to access the local agency's network 120 when visiting the local agency to provide mutual aid. More particularly, when authorized responder 132 arrives at incident scene 150, the responder's mobile device 142 can present mutual aid token 206 to server 126, and in particular to registrar 128. Based on the received mutual aid token, local registrar 128 authenticates mobile device 142 and conveys to the mobile device an application token that authorizes the mobile device to access one or more local applications and services 127. Paragraph [0025]: Mobile device 142 may be pre-configured with the first mutual aid token, or the mobile device may be provisioned the first mutual aid token by the local agency upon arriving at incident scene 150. The first mutual aid token permits the mobile device to access applications and services of the local agency when the mobile device is in the geographical jurisdiction of the local agency, for example, at incident scene 150, to provide mutual aid. Also see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending the set of connection parameters to the first subscriber device; wherein the second subscriber device utilizes the set of connection parameters to join the communications network, as taught by Agulnik in the system of Klein, in order to enable the local responders to access local services provided by servers of the local agency (Agulnik: Paragraphs [0003], [0022]-[0025], [0027], [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 8 wherein determining if the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network further comprises (see rejection for claim 8);
Klein further teaches sending an approval request to a third subscriber device, the third subscriber device associated with a user having a supervisory role; and receiving a response from the third subscriber device, the response indicating if the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network (Paragraph [0021]: In an exemplary embodiment, the user of device 12A is an identifiable individual through a database 18, an incident commander 20 connected to a base station 22, or the like. In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. Paragraph [0022]: The broadband device 12A can be preconfigured by the user, an administrator, etc. to contain identification data associated with the user's role. Further, this information can be contained in the database, with the incident commander 20, etc. For example, the user could be a doctor, paramedic, firefighter, a National Guard member, a member of the military, or other Federal/State/local public safety member. Generally, the user of the device 12A can be anyone that 1) is identifiable through the database 18, the incident commander 20, etc., 2) is not configured to communicate on the network 16, 3) is configured to communicate via ad hoc connections, and 4) needs but does not have network connectivity at the incident. Thus, the user of the device 12 wants to be authorized to be part of the system 10. Paragraph [0024]: If the sharing of resources is more about granting access, the LMR device 12B (or dispatch center via the incident commander 20) can grant limited (time, data throughput, etc) access to the broadband device 12A on a private Public Safety BB system, e.g. the network 16. This approach allows the user of the device 12A who is not authorized to be on the network 16 to leverage an LMR solution via an ad hoc local network to get access to these limited resources under the supervision/authorization of a local on scene authorized LMR user.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 8 wherein determining if the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network further comprises (see rejection for claim 8);
Klein further teaches determining if the first subscriber device is associated with a user that is authorized to approve subscriber devices joining the communications network; and authorizing the second subscriber device to join the communications network when it is determined that the user associated with the first subscriber device is authorized to approve subscriber devices joining the communications network (Paragraph [0021]: Generally, the mobile device collaboration system 10 contemplates users of the devices 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, etc. from different networks sharing resources via ad hoc linking there between. As described herein, one context of the system 10 can be on scene of an incident with the users being public safety members. For example, assume the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are associated with public safety users, and assume the network 16 is a mission critical network. In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. Paragraph [0025]: In an exemplary embodiment, the system 10 includes the application on the device 12A and/or the devices 12B, 12C, 12D. On the device 12A, the application is configured for common smart phone platforms to share credentials that allow the users of the devices 12B, 12C, 12D working the incident to verify the user of the device 12A's credentials. Paragraph [0027]: The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection. Paragraph [0031]: The first mobile device is authenticated through the second mobile device communicating the unique user identification to an external database (step 34). This is performed upon the second mobile device receiving the unique user identification. The second mobile device can also include an application or other configuration details enabling the second mobile device to understand the unique user identification for purposes of a peer-to-peer collaboration session. The second mobile device uses an external authorization process taking the unique user identification and processing it against stored methods for that particular type of identification data. For example, the second mobile device is configured to receive a plurality of different types of unique user identification such as names, identification numbers, roles, departments, MAC addresses, etc. Paragraph [0032]: In an exemplary embodiment, the second device can utilize a two factor (or greater) authentication to external databases for verification of the user. For example, the verification can include the unique user identification, direct visual verification by a user of the second mobile device, look up information from the unique user identification, etc. In the case of visual verification, the user of the second mobile device would have to affirmatively authorize the first user. For example, the second user, via the application, could be presented with a audible and/or vibration plus an on-screen notification. The look up of information can come from any number of databases that the second device can access for confirmation. Paragraph [0036]: For the second mobile device, the application is configured to enable the second mobile device to advertise its presence or to communicate with a location server, to receive the unique user identification, to authorize/authenticate the unique user identification with the external database, etc. Paragraph [0047]: The broadband user via the broadband device initiates a communication request and the broadband user responds to the LMR device's advertising with an alert and unique user identification information (step 83). The LMR device receives the unique user identification information and context details (i.e., the type associated with the unique user identification) that can be verified for authorization with an external authorization solution (step 84). Specifically, the LMR device parses the alert and/or unique user identification information to obtain the context details. The context details can include what type of user is associated with the unique user identification, where the LMR device should authorize (i.e., which database), etc. In an exemplary embodiment, the external authorization solution can be the database 18. Also, the external authorization solution can include a two or more factor authentication for searching, so the LMR user may have to engage prior to identification. The external authorization solution can be a third-party external data source accessible by the LMR device and with a multi-factor authentication method.)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 8 wherein determining if the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network further comprises (see rejection for claim 8);
Klein further teaches sending an approval request to a third party authorization entity; and receiving a response from the third party authorization entity, the response indicating if the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network (Paragraph [0021]: In an exemplary embodiment, the user of device 12A is an identifiable individual through a database 18, an incident commander 20 connected to a base station 22, or the like. In the system 10, the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to implement a sharing procedure with the device 12A and to use information to identify the user of the device 12A, such as through the database, the incident commander 20, etc., and to provide network access. Paragraph [0022]: The broadband device 12A can be preconfigured by the user, an administrator, etc. to contain identification data associated with the user's role. Further, this information can be contained in the database, with the incident commander 20, etc. For example, the user could be a doctor, paramedic, firefighter, a National Guard member, a member of the military, or other Federal/State/local public safety member. Generally, the user of the device 12A can be anyone that 1) is identifiable through the database 18, the incident commander 20, etc., 2) is not configured to communicate on the network 16, 3) is configured to communicate via ad hoc connections, and 4) needs but does not have network connectivity at the incident. Thus, the user of the device 12 wants to be authorized to be part of the system 10. Paragraph [0024]: If the sharing of resources is more about granting access, the LMR device 12B (or dispatch center via the incident commander 20) can grant limited (time, data throughput, etc) access to the broadband device 12A on a private Public Safety BB system, e.g. the network 16. This approach allows the user of the device 12A who is not authorized to be on the network 16 to leverage an LMR solution via an ad hoc local network to get access to these limited resources under the supervision/authorization of a local on scene authorized LMR user. Paragraph [0047]: Specifically, the LMR device parses the alert and/or unique user identification information to obtain the context details. The context details can include what type of user is associated with the unique user identification, where the LMR device should authorize (i.e., which database), etc. In an exemplary embodiment, the external authorization solution can be the database 18. Also, the external authorization solution can include a two or more factor authentication for searching, so the LMR user may have to engage prior to identification. The external authorization solution can be a third-party external data source accessible by the LMR device and with a multi-factor authentication method.)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 8 wherein the request from first subscriber device to provide the set of connection parameters to be utilized by a second subscriber device to join the communications network further comprises (see rejection for claim 8);
Klein further teaches a role of a user associated with the second subscriber device; and the set of connection parameters further comprises a default talkgroup for the user associated with the second subscriber device, the default talkgroup based on the role of the user associated with the second subscriber device (Paragraph [0024]: For example, assume the device 12A is going to collaborate with an LMR subscriber using the device 12B. The LMR subscriber with the device 12B and the device 12A arbitrate the connection and the device 12B accesses identification details of the user of the device 12A. Once this arbitration is complete, the device 12B can validate and authenticate the credentials/identity of the user of the device 12A with a nation/state/local database (e.g., NPR doctor ID national database for example). Once validated and the device 12B accepts the credentials, the broadband device 12A can have access to appropriate system resources. These system resources can be managed as local operation only, LMR system/talkgroup limited operation, or full operation including data throughput access. If the system resources are utilized via an LMR proxy, it can be done as the primary or secondary user of those resources. If using the LMR device 12B as a proxy (perhaps the broadband device 12A is connected to a “donor” radio) the LMR device 12B can share talkgroup details or local tactical channel information to the broadband device 12A device to operate similar to a traditional LMR device. If the sharing of resources is more about granting access, the LMR device 12B (or dispatch center via the incident commander 20) can grant limited (time, data throughput, etc) access to the broadband device 12A on a private Public Safety BB system, e.g. the network 16. This approach allows the user of the device 12A who is not authorized to be on the network 16 to leverage an LMR solution via an ad hoc local network to get access to these limited resources under the supervision/authorization of a local on scene authorized LMR user. Paragraph [0027]: Generally, the method 30 enables devices with different users on different networks to establish peer-to-peer connections (e.g., via WLAN, Bluetooth, etc.) allowing the first user to have network access through the second user. The first mobile device is provisioned with unique user identification related to a role and skill set of an associated user of the first mobile device (step 31). The unique user identification can serve two purposes, for example, including authentication/authorization and on-scene notification. First, disparate devices can share the unique user identification for authentication/authorization to verify who the first user is and that the first user needs connectivity via a peer-to-peer connection. Paragraph [0028]: The unique user identification can include any information that can be used to uniquely identify the user of the first device such as, for example, name, an identification number, a Media Access Control (MAC) address, name and role, etc. This information may be in the database 18 with additional information. For example, the unique user identification can uniquely identify the user and can be used in a database look up to find that user's role and/or skill set. Paragraph [0032]: In an exemplary embodiment, the second device can utilize a two factor (or greater) authentication to external databases for verification of the user. For example, the verification can include the unique user identification, direct visual verification by a user of the second mobile device, look up information from the unique user identification, etc. In the case of visual verification, the user of the second mobile device would have to affirmatively authorize the first user. Paragraph [0034]: In some exemplary embodiments, it can be assumed the broadband device would not be on the same channel/Talkgroup as LMR device. That is, typically LMR device belong to public safety users and it is assumed the broadband device belongs to non-public safety users. For example, the LMR devices belong to first responders whereas the broadband device belongs to a doctor and the doctor would need to communicate with a hospital or other rescue services and not public safety elements. Paragraph [0043]: The second mobile device receives the unique user identification from the first mobile device via one of the PAN or WLAN system (step 61). The second mobile device selects the external database from one or more databases (step 62). Note, as described herein, the second mobile device parses the unique user identification and determines therefrom which database to use. The second mobile device sends the unique user identification to the external database (step 63). Here, the second mobile device can perform a look up. For example, the unique user identification may identify the role and/or skill of the user for the first device. In step 63, the second mobile device is performing a verification that the user is who they say they are.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the method of claim 8 wherein the set of connection parameters further comprises (see rejection for claim 8);
Klein further teaches a subscriber ID associated with the communications network that is to be used by the second subscriber device when joining the communications network (Paragraph [0024]: If using the LMR device 12B as a proxy (perhaps the broadband device 12A is connected to a “donor” radio) the LMR device 12B can share talkgroup details or local tactical channel information to the broadband device 12A device to operate similar to a traditional LMR device. If the sharing of resources is more about granting access, the LMR device 12B (or dispatch center via the incident commander 20) can grant limited (time, data throughput, etc) access to the broadband device 12A on a private Public Safety BB system, e.g. the network 16. This approach allows the user of the device 12A who is not authorized to be on the network 16 to leverage an LMR solution via an ad hoc local network to get access to these limited resources under the supervision/authorization of a local on scene authorized LMR user. Paragraph [0033]: If the authenticating is successful, access is provided for the first mobile device through the second mobile device (step 35). Once authorized, the devices can exchange application access level policy from the second mobile device's viewpoint. Paragraph [0048]: If the LMR verification is successful (step 87), the LMR device establishes a connection with the broadband device (step 89). The radio of the LMR device communicates priority level/method of request brokerage to the broadband device (step 90). The broadband device and the LMR device arbitrate the connection and each understands levels of access and priority (step 91). Paragraph [0051]: Upon successful verification, the devices can arbitrate a connection and roles/policy sharing there between (step 114). The device 12A processes the arbitrated access level and configured itself for the connection (step 115).)
Regarding claim 14, Klein teaches a non-transitory processor readable medium containing a set of instructions thereon that when executed by a processor cause the processor to (Paragraph [0053]: The processor 302 is a hardware device for executing software instructions. The processor 302 can be any custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with the server 25, a semiconductor-based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chip set), or generally any device for executing software instructions. When the server 5 is in operation, the processor 302 is configured to execute software stored within the memory 310. Paragraph [0065]: Moreover, an embodiment can be implemented as a computer-readable storage medium having computer readable code stored thereon for programming a computer (e.g., comprising a processor) to perform a method as described and claimed herein. Examples of such computer-readable storage mediums include, but are not limited to, a hard disk.)
receive, at a first subscriber device, the first subscriber device registered with a communications network, a request from a second subscriber device to join the communications network, the second subscriber device not registered with the communications network, the request received via a wireless communications link; send, by the first subscriber device, a request to the communications network for authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network; receive, by the first subscriber device, from the communications network an authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network, the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and send, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device, over the wireless link, wherein the second subscriber device uses the set of connection parameters to join the communications network (see rejection for claim 1).
Klein does not explicitly teach the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and send, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device.
However, Agulnik teaches the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and send, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and send, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device, as taught by Agulnik in the system of Klein, in order to enable the local responders to access local services provided by servers of the local agency (Agulnik: Paragraphs [0003], [0024], [0027], [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the medium of claim 14 further comprising instructions to (see rejection for claim 14);
Klein further teaches authenticate the second subscriber device prior to receiving the request to join the communications network from the second subscriber device (see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the medium of claim 15 wherein authenticating the second subscriber device further comprises instructions to (see rejection for claim 15);
Klein further teaches to authenticate a user of the second subscriber device (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the medium of claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
Klein further teaches wherein the request from the second subscriber device to join the communications network includes at least one of a unit ID, a home system ID, and a role of a user of the second subscriber device (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the medium of claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
Klein further teaches wherein the set of connection parameters includes a default talkgroup, the default talkgroup based on a role of a user of the second subscribed device (see rejection for claim 5).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the medium of claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
Klein further teaches wherein the request to the communications network for authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network indicates to the communications network that the second subscriber device is authorized to join the communications network (see rejection for claim 6);
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches the medium of claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
Klein further teaches wherein the second subscriber device is not registered with any communications network (see rejection for claim 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026 with respect to claims 1-20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein et al. (US2013/0337771A1) in view of Agulnik et al. (US2016/0192165A1), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the combination of Klein and Agulnik does not teach all the limitations of claim 1 which recites in part, “receiving, by the first subscriber device, from the communications network an authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network, the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network”. Applicant submits that Agulnik does not explicitly teach the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device. Agulnik teaches that the authorized responder receives the mutual aid token from the home agency of the incident scene, which provides security credentials for accessing the local applications and services, collaborating with a workgroup or set of individuals of the local agency, such as local responders, and interoperating with a talkgroup of the local agency that includes local agency responders. Agulnik teaches that as part of joining the incident area network (IAN), mobile device 142 of authorized responder 132, is provisioned IAN information, such as an identifier associated with the IAN, such as an identifier of access node, and any security information, such as a password, required for connecting to the access node, wireless resource information, such as frequencies, time slots, or resource blocks, used for IAN communications. The first mutual aid token permits the mobile device to access applications and services of the local agency when the mobile device is in the incident scene in the geographical jurisdiction of the local agency, to provide mutual aid. The authorized responder 132, particularly the mobile device 142 of the authorized responder, transfers a second mutual aid token derived from the first mutual aid token and stored by authorized responder 132, to second responder 133. Based on the IAN information received from the authorized responder 132, second responder 133 (the mobile device 143 of the second responder), joins the IAN (connects to the access node). By joining the IAN, second responder 133 is now able to access the network. Thus, Agulnik teaches the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device. Klein teaches that the devices 12B, 12C, 12D are configured to use information to identify the user of device 12A, and to provide network access to device 12A. Klein teaches that the device 12B validates and authenticates the credentials of the user of device 12B, and once validated the device 12A can have access to the system resources. Thus, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches “receiving, by the first subscriber device, from the communications network an authorization for the second subscriber device to join the communications network, the authorization including a set of connection parameters for joining the communications network; and sending, by the first subscriber device, the set of parameters for joining the communications network to the second subscriber device.”
Thus, the combination of Klein and Agulnik teaches claim 1 and claim 14, and also claim 8 which recite similar features. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-13, 15-20 are also taught by the combination of Klein and Agulnik.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461