Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/13/2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monroe (US 2002/0052641 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Monroe discloses a delivery system for an implant (88, catheter assembly, fig. 5), the delivery system comprising:
an elongate shaft (82, inner tube, fig. 5) having a distal end (see annotated fig. 5, below) and a proximal end (see annotated fig. 5, below)and including an implant retention area for retaining the implant (66, annular space, figs, 1-2);
a nose cone (86, distal tip, fig. 5); and
one or more angled projections configured to couple the nose cone to the distal end of the elongate shaft (84, barbs, fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monroe in view of Capes (US 2002/0007147 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Monroe fails to teach a retention ring. However, Capes discloses two tubular components connected together that includes a retention ring coupled to the elongate shaft (53, projection, fig. 5, ¶ [0038] states the projection can extend 360 degrees around the hub), and wherein the one or more angled projections (34, locking tabs, fig. 5) are configured to engage the retention ring to couple the nose cone to the distal end of the elongate shaft (fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Monroe to include a retention ring as taught by Capes since is it a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, Monroe fails to teach one or more angled projections extend inward from the inner surface of the nose cone. However, Capes further discloses the one or more angled projections extend inward from an inner surface of the nose cone (fig. 5) and are angled toward a distal end of the nose cone (see annotated fig. 5), the one or more angled projections each having a tip (see annotated fig. 5) configured to engage a proximal end of the retention ring to couple the nose cone to the distal end of the elongate shaft (fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Monroe to include the one or more angled projection extend inward from the inner surface of the nose cone as taught by Capes since is it a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monroe in view of Trocki (US 2001/0047153 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Monroe fails to teach a retention ring and a gap. However, Trocki discloses a connection between two tubular members that includes
a retention ring coupled to the elongate shaft (see annotated fig. 18, below) and having a distal end (see annotated fig. 18, below), a proximal end (see annotated fig. 18, below), and an outer surface (see annotated fig. 18, below),
wherein the one or more angled projections extend outward from the outer surface of the retention ring (30, tabs, fig. 18) and are angled toward the proximal end of the retention ring (fig. 18), and
wherein the nose cone further comprises a gap located along an inner surface of the nose cone (see annotated fig. 18, below) and configured to be engaged by the one or more angled projections to couple the nose cone to the distal end of the elongate shaft (fig. 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Monroe to include a retention ring and a gap as taught by Trocki since is it a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monroe in view of Trocki as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chiang (US 5,899,890 A).
Regarding claim 5, Monroe in view of Trocki fails to teach a support ring with an outer surface configured to contact the inner surface of the nose cone. However, Chiang discloses a tubular delivery device that includes a support ring located within a lumen of the nose cone (32, ring fig. 2) and having a proximal end (see annotated fig. 2, below), a distal end (see annotated fig. 2, below), and an outer surface configured to contact the inner surface of the nose cone (see annotated fig. 2, below), the distal end of the support ring forming a surface of the gap of the nose cone (see annotated fig. 18, below, Trocki). It would be obvious to place the marker ring at any location that would be expedient for the purpose of indicated a position of the device to the operator, including a position where the nose cone contacts the elongate shaft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Monroe and Trocki to include a support ring as taught by Chiang since it reduces the chance that the marker will be lost from the catheter (col 7 lines 16-36, Chiang) and it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable result, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monroe in view of Hannon (US 2015/0352321 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Monroe fails to teach a retention sleeve. However, Hannon discloses a connection between two tubular members that includes the one or more angled projections are coupled to a retention sleeve (620, insert, fig. 28) configured to be positioned between the nose cone and the elongate shaft (fig. 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Monroe to include a retention sleeve as taught by Hannon in order to prevent the catheter from being retracted or withdrawn from the tip (¶ [0110], Hannon).
Regarding claim 7, Monroe fails to teach angled projection extending from the inner and outer surfaces of the retention sleeve. However, Hannon further discloses the retention sleeve includes an outer surface (see annotated fig. 29, below) and an inner surface (see annotated fig. 29, below), and the one or more angled projections include one or more angled projections extending from the outer surface of the retention sleeve (see annotated fig. 29, below) and one or more angled projections extending from the inner surface of the retention sleeve (630, projection, fig. 29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Monroe to include angled projection extending from the inner and outer surfaces of the retention sleeve as taught by Hannon in order to prevent the catheter from being retracted or withdrawn from the tip (¶ [0110], Hannon).
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774