DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 9 February 2026: claim(s) 1 have been amended, claim(s) 8 has been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-7 and 9-20 are presently pending, with claims 10-20 previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that "in Zhang the medication is added to the patch after application, whereas claim 1 explicitly recites that the medication is sealed between the release liner and the cover, such that the medication is pre-sealed prior to application" on pg. 7 of Remarks, Zhang also discloses pre-sealing the medication prior to application (“An amount of drug-containing composition is dispensed into the open cavity of the cavity patch prior to adhesion of the patch to the skin” [0054]). Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the medication is pre-sealed prior to application) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20060105029 A1) in view of Samour (US 4910020 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses an adhesive bandage system ("cavity patch"; see Abstract), comprising:
a first member ("wall 12" [0033]; FIG. 1), comprising:
an aperture ("open cavity 18" [0033]), and
an adhesive on a first side ("adhesive 14 is typically coated on the wall to effectuate adhesion between the ring structure of the wall and a skin surface" [0033]);
a second member ("absorbent mesh 16" [0034]; FIG. 1) at least partially spanning the aperture of the first member (see FIG. 1) and configured to allow medication to pass therethrough ("mesh material is used so that it does not close the open cavity" [0034]-[0035]);
a third member coupled to the second member ("wall 12" & “absorbent mesh 16” [0033-0035]; FIG. 1),
an aperture aligned with the second member ("open cavity 18" [0033]), the aperture configured to receive a medication therein ("the drug-containing composition is placed into the open cavity" [0033]), contacting the second member ([0035]); and
a cover ("impermeable cover 20" [0033]; FIG. 1) adhered to a top side of the third member ([0033]; FIG. 1), the cover sealing the aperture of the third member ("opening is configured to be closed by an impermeable cover 20" [0033]),
wherein the medication is sealed within the aperture of the first member and the aperture of the third member ("drug-containing composition is at least substantially sealed in the now closed open cavity by the impermeable cover 40, the patch wall 32 and the skin surface" [0037]).
Zhang fails to specify the first member and the third member being separate entities wherein a release liner removably coupled to the first side of the first member; the third member comprising: an adhesive on an underside for removably adhering to a top side of the first member; the medication is sealed between the release liner and the cover. However, Samour teaches a transdermal medication device (see Abstract) wherein the first member and the third member being separate entities (“lower member” & “upper member” col. 1 ln. 51-65; FIG. 1) wherein a release liner (“release sheet 20” col. 2 ln. 65; FIG. 2) removably coupled to the first side of the first member (“release sheet 20 underlies the adhesive coating 18” col. 2 ln. 65; “release sheet has been removed” col. 3 ln. 10; FIG. 2); the third member comprising: an adhesive on an underside for removably adhering to a top side of the first member (“upper member 24 has a reservoir 26 depending from the "Velcro" strip 28 which has filaments 30 cooperative with the filaments 16 to detachably secure the upper member 28 to the lower member 12” col. 3 ln. 1-4); the medication is sealed between the release liner and the cover (see FIG. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhang according to the teachings of Samour to eliminate “the necessity of removal of the lower member from the body and giving rise to the major advantage of providing continuous medication to the same area of the skin while reducing trauma to that skin area” (col. 1 ln. 61-65).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang discloses the second member comprises a transdermal patch comprising medication ("mesh 16" [0035]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang discloses the medication is lidocaine ("lidocaine" [0049]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang fails to specify the cover is removably adhered to the third member. However, the court has held that it would be obvious to make any claimed element separable "if it were considered desirable for any reason”. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Zhang/Samour to improve the reusability and “to facilitate loading of a drug-containing composition into the cavity patch” (Zhang [0033]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Samour and further in view of Stockley et al. (US 20130345649 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang discloses the third member and the first member but fails to specify the third member further comprises a tab extending/that extends beyond the perimeter of the first member. However, Stockley teaches a dermal patch ([0091]; FIG. 1) wherein the third member (“top barrier layer 26” [0123]; FIG. 1) comprises a tab (“pull tab 28” [0123]; FIG. 1) extending/that extends beyond the perimeter of the first member (“bottom barrier layer 12, air regulation layer 24, and top barrier layer 26 are coextensive except for the presence of pull tab 28” [0123]; FIG. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Zhang/Samour as taught by Stockley to provide an easily graspable surface for relative manipulations of the layers ([0123]).
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Samour and further in view of Yeung et al. (US 20190321234 A1).
Regarding Claims 4 & 5, Zhang discloses the first member and the aperture but fails to specify the first member further comprises a wound bandage coupled to the top side of the first member; wherein when the wound bandage is in a first position, the aperture of the first member is unobstructed, and when the wound bandage is in a second position, the aperture is at least partially covered by the wound bandage. However, Yeung teaches “an occlusive device or dressing that includes an access feature” ([0021]; FIG. 5B) wherein the first member 540 further comprises a wound bandage 560 coupled to the top side of the first member ([0043]; FIG. 5B); wherein when the wound bandage is in a first position, the aperture of the first member is unobstructed ([0045]; step 7 in FIG. 7), and when the wound bandage is in a second position, the aperture is at least partially covered by the wound bandage ([0045]; step 8 in FIG. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Zhang/Samour as taught by Yeung to provide a “safe and effective topical application of a composition containing an immunization enhancing pharmaceutical at or near (e.g. surrounding) a vaccine injection site” ([0028]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Samour and further in view of Shantha et al. (US 7883487 B2).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang discloses the first member but fails to specify the first member further comprises a coupler configured to receive an intravenous catheter or needle. However, Shantha teaches “transdermal delivery devices that deliver a local anesthetic to an injection or lancing site” (col. 2 ln. 50-51) wherein the first member 10 further comprises a coupler (“resealable injection port 11” col. 5 ln. 27; FIG. 1) configured to receive an intravenous catheter or needle (“inserting a hypodermic needle into the injection port” col. 5 ln. 64-65; FIG. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Zhang/Samour as taught by Shantha to “maintain a sterile environment during injection and post-injection” (col. 2 ln. 67 – col. 3 ln. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781