DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 04/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, and 19 have been amended; Claims 1-20 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 7-8 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, the system of Wu/Pilz fails to teach or suggest at least the beam-specific transmit feature in Claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). See MPEP §2111.
See also In re Suitco Surface, Inc., 603 F.3d 1255, 1259, 94 USPQ2d 1640, 1643 (Fed. Cir. 2010); In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it relies on an unduly narrow interpretation of the claimed “radio beam.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the claimed first and second radio beams are not limited to any particular beamforming implementation, beam-management procedure, or expressly labeled “beam” in the reference. Rather, the limitation broadly reads on directional wireless transmissions/radio resources used to transmit the multicast data to different UEs or UE groups.
Pilz’s multicast signals
612
1
and
612
2
in Fig. 6a are interpreted as respective radio beams. As shown in Fig. 6A, multicast signals
612
1
and
612
2
are wireless transmissions from the base station toward different UE groups
608
1
and
608
2
. Pilz further explains that the base station may generate a plurality of multicast signals for a group of apparatuses, and that multicast signal
612
1
and/or
612
2
may be transmitted. Pilz also teaches that the base station adapts transmission characteristics, including MCS, power, beamforming, or the like for the plurality of multicast signals based on connectivity information. Thus, the cited multicast signals are not merely abstract “content” signals; they are radio transmissions to the respective UE groups. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood such separately illustrated and separately transmitted downlink multicast signals from a base station to different UE groups, particularly where Pilz expressly identifies beamforming as an adaptable transmission characteristic, to correspond to respective radio beams.
To the extent Applicant argues that Wu and Pilz do not expressly disclose the claimed “first beam identifier” and “second beam identifier,” Babaei (US 20240306166) is relied upon to teach that aspect of the amended Claim 1. Babaei teaches MBS system information and MBS control/channel information in which parameters associated with one or more MBS services may be beam-specific and may indicate one or more beam identifiers. Thus, Babaei teaches using beam identifiers in connection with MBS service information/control information for reception or transmission of MBS data.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 9 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Pilz fails to teach or suggest at least transmitting the received multicast data to both the first UE and the second UE during the same MBS session in Claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts that although Pilz describes multicast signals
612
1
and
612
2
, Pilz does not specify whether those signals are provided during a single MBS session or during different MBS sessions. However, Pilz’s Fig. 6A and Para. [0056-0059] provide additional context for the multicast signals relied upon in the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 01/20/2026.
In particular, Pilz explains that UEs
606
1
-
606
3
may be grouped into groups
608
1
and/or
608
2
(Para. [0057]), and that base station 602 is configured for generating multicast signals
612
1
and
612
2
based on the same content 604 (Para. [0058]; Fig. 6a).
Pilz further explains that the multicast signals may be different “deductions” or derivatives of content 604, such as different latencies, quality levels, resolutions, bitrates, etc. (Para. [0059]).
Thus, the cited multicast signals
612
1
and
612
2
are not described as unrelated transmissions for separate sessions, but instead as multicast signals generated from the same content 604 and transmitted to different UE groups. Accordingly, when Para. [0056-0059] are read with Fig. 6A and Para. [0060], Pilz supports the reliance on multicast signals
612
1
and
612
2
as transmitting the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE during the MBS session, as claimed.
In conclusion, the system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei teaches the amended Claim 1. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 10 and 19 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to independent Claim(s) 10 and 19 and the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 12, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2025/0081290, previously presented) in view of Pilz et al. (US 2022/0167245, previously presented), Pilz hereinafter, and Babaei (US 20240306166).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches a system comprising one or more devices configured to (Fig. 1A; Paras. [0035-0048]):
receive information pertaining to a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session (Fig. 3, steps 304, 306, 308, 390; Para. [0061] - Now referring to a scenario 300 illustrated in FIG. 3, UE 102 (e.g., the UE 102A and/or UE 102B) initially operates 302 in an idle state (e.g., RRC_IDLE state) or an inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE state) with RAN 105. In the following description, the RAN 105 can represent base station 104, base station 106, cell 124 of the base station 104 and/or cell 126 of the base station 106). For example, the UE 102 operating in the idle state or the inactive state camps on a cell 124 of base station 104 of the RAN 105. MBS network 170 sends 304 an MBS Session Start message (or called MBS Session Start Request message) to CN 110 (e.g., AMF 164) to requests activation of an MBS session. The MBS network 170 includes an MBS session ID to identifying the MBS session in the MBS Session Start message. In some implementations, the MBS session ID is allocated by the CN 110. In other implementations, the MBS session ID is allocated by the MBS network 170. In some implementations, the MBS session ID can be or include a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). In other implementations, the MBS session ID can be associated with a TMGI; See also Paras. [0062-0068]; Fig. 4A, step 490; Fig. 4B, step 490; Fig. 5A, steps 504, 506, and 508; Fig. 5B, steps 504, 506, and 508);
identify, based on the information, a first User Equipment device (UE) and a second UE that have joined the MBS session (Para. [0134] - Example 2. The method of example 1, wherein the UE is a first one of a plurality of UEs, the method further comprising: identifying a set of UEs of the plurality of UEs to join the MBS session; and generating a message of the one or more messages including the identifier for the MBS session and an identifier for each UE of the set of UEs);
receive multicast data from a network component (Fig. 3, step 312; Para. [0070] - In response to the MBS Session Resource Setup message, the RAN 105 can assign radio resources for transmitting (e.g., broadcasting or multicasting) data of the MBS session and transmit 312 an MBS Resource Setup Response message (e.g., MBS Session Resource Setup Response message) to the CN 110. The radio resources include time resources (e.g., time slots or OFDM symbols) and/or frequency resources (e.g., resource blocks) for one or more control channels and/or one or more data channels. The RAN 105 can broadcast 316 MBS resource configuration(s) to indicate or configure the radio resources, e.g., on the cell 124. The RAN 105 can transmit one or more PDSCH transmissions including MBS data packet(s) in accordance with the MBS resource configuration(s). For example, the MBS resource configuration(s) include a PDCCH configuration, a search space configuration and/or a control resource set (CORESET) configuration. The RAN 105 can send downlink control information (DCI(s)), each with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by an RNTI (e.g., a group RNTI or an MBS RNTI), on a PDCCH to schedule a PDSCH transmission including MBS data packet(s) in accordance with the PDCCH configuration, search space configuration, and/or CORESET configuration. In another example, the MBS resource configuration(s) can include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), repetitions, and/or hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmission scheme for broadcasting data from the MBS session. The RAN 105 can transmit a PDSCH transmission including MBS data packet(s) in accordance with the configured MBS, repetitions, and/or HARQ transmission scheme. In some implementations, the RAN 105 can broadcast 316 system information including the MBS resource configuration(s) on a broadcast control channel (BCCH), e.g., on the cell 124. In other implementations, the RAN 105 can broadcast 316 MBS resource configuration(s) on a multicast control channel (MCCH), e.g., on the cell 124. In some implementations. The RAN 105 can periodically broadcast the MBS resource configuration(s). In some implementations, the RAN 105 can broadcast the MBS resource configuration(s) before or after transmitting 308 the paging message; See also Fig. 3, step 314; Fig. 4A, step 492 and 414; Fig. 4B, step 492 and 414; Fig. 5A, step 592 and 514; Fig. 5B, step 592 and 514);
Yet, Wu does not explicitly teach map at least two modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) the UEs that have joined the MBS session and transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE, over a first radio beam using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam using the second MCS.
However, Pilz teaches
map at least a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a second MCS to the first UE and the second UE that have joined the MBS session (Fig. 6A, Para. [0060] - The multicast signals 612.sub.1 and 612.sub.2 may be prepared group-wise for UEs 606.sub.1, 606.sub.2 and 606.sub.3 respectively contained in the group. That is, a multicast signal 612.sub.1 and/or 612.sub.2 may intentionally be directed to more than one device. To direct a wirelessly transmitted signal to more than one device is to be understood not only in a physical manner as a wireless signal within a cell may commonly be understood as a broadcast signal but as a signal that is intended to be decoded by at least one device. The deductions may also be of a same information level whilst being differently encoded, for example, using different MCS (modulation coding scheme) allowing to consider different overall channels to the respective group 608.sub.1, 608.sub.2, respectively to be considered; See also Fig. 6A, Para. [0055-0063]; Fig. 6B, Para. [0064]; Fig. 7, Para. [0065-0078]; Para. [0044, 0046, 0088, 0094-0108, 0112]);
transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE, over a first radio beam using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam using the second MCS (Fig. 6A, Para. [0088] - A base station according to such embodiments may be configured for operating at least one of a plurality of cells of a wireless communication network. The base station may be configured for generating a plurality of multicast signals for a group of apparatuses based on a deduction from a content. For example, the multicast signal 612.sub.1 and/or 612.sub.2 may be transmitted. Whilst the wireless communication networks 600 and 700 were described as having different groups that are provided with the same content in different deductions, the present embodiments may also be implemented with only one single group or one single deduction of the content. By repeatedly transmitting multicast signals to the group, a plurality of multicast signals may be obtained. The base station is configured for adapting a transmission characteristic such as MCS, power, beamforming or the like, of the plurality of multicast signals based on a statistical distribution function of connectivity information. Each connectivity information being considered in the statistical distribution may indicate a connectivity between the base station and an apparatus of the group of apparatuses. That is, a statistic distribution of the channel quality to single UEs may be used to obtain a common, joint or single parameter or parameter set for transmitting a multicast signal. That is, the single setting is used for the complete group; See also Fig. 6A, Para. [0055-0063]; Fig. 6B, Para. [0064]; Fig. 7, Para. [0065-0078]; Para. [0044, 0046, 0094-0108, 0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS)” (Wu §Abstract) with Pilz’s invention of “approaches to provide for multicast downlink control information” (Pilz Para. [0002]) because Pilz’s invention provides methods such that the same multicast content may be transmitted to different groups of UEs using different radio beams and different MCS levels to accommodate differing link quality conditions while supporting simultaneous multicast reception (Pilz Para. [0062]).
Yet, Wu nor Pilz expressly teach transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS.
However, Babaei teaches
transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS (Para. [0178] - In some examples, the base station may comprise a centralized unit (CU) and one or more distributed units (DUs). In some examples, the first cell may be associated with a plurality of beams. In some examples, the first system information (e.g., received via MIB or SIB1 or RMSI) and/or the first SIB, associated with the one or more MBS services, and/or the information indicated by the MBS control channel may be used for transmission of first parameters that are beam-specific or distributed unit (DU)-specific. For example, one or more parameters in the first system information (e.g., received via MIB or SIB1 or RMSI) and/or the first SIB, associated with the one or more MBS services, and/or the information indicated by the MBS control channel may indicate that the first parameters are beam-specific or distributed unit (DU)-specific. For example, the one or more parameters may indicate one or more DU identifiers and/or one or more beam identifiers. In some examples, the absence of the one or more parameters in the first system information (e.g., received via MIB or SIB1 or RMSI) and/or the first SIB, associated with the one or more MBS services, and/or the information indicated by the MBS control channel may indicate that the first parameters are not beam-specific or DU-specific and/or that the first parameters are applicable to all beams of the first cell and/or all DUs of the base station; See Also: Fig. 16, Para. [0114-0122]; Fig. 17, Para. [0123-0149]; Fig. 18, Para. [0150-151]; Fig. 19, Para. [0152-0160]; Fig. 20, Para. [0161-0170]; Fig. 21, Para. [0171-0174]; Fig. 22, Para. [0175-0182]; Fig. 23, Para. [0183]; Fig, 24, Para. [0184-0186]; Fig. 25, Para. [0187-0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS” as taught by Babaei, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz, so that it would provide “procedures to enable more flexible scheduling of MBS data” via methods which “may enhance the existing system information and corresponding procedures to enable more flexible scheduling of MBS data” (Babaei Para. [0174]) .
Regarding Claim 10, Wu teaches a method comprising (Fig. 3; Paras. [0061-0075]):
receiving information pertaining to a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session (Fig. 3, steps 304, 306, 308, 390; Para. [0061]; See also Paras. [0062-0068]; Fig. 4A, step 490; Fig. 4B, step 490; Fig. 5A, steps 504, 506, and 508; Fig. 5B, steps 504, 506, and 508;);
identifying, based on the information, a first User Equipment device (UE) and a second UE that have joined the MBS session (Para. [0134]);
receiving multicast data from a network component (Fig. 3, step 312; Para. [0070]; See also Fig. 3, step 314; Fig. 4A, step 492 and 414; Fig. 4B, step 492 and 414; Fig. 5A, step 592 and 514; Fig. 5B, step 592 and 514);
Yet, Wu does not explicitly teach mapping at least two modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) the UEs that have joined the MBS session and transmitting, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE, over a first radio beam using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam using the second MCS.
However, Pilz teaches
mapping at least a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a second MCS to the first UE and the second UE that have joined the MBS session (Fig. 6A, Para. [0060]; See also Fig. 6A, Para. [0055-0063]; Fig. 6B, Para. [0064]; Fig. 7, Para. [0065-0078]; Para. [0044, 0046, 0088, 0094-0108, 0112]);
transmitting, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE, over a first radio beam using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam using the second MCS (Fig. 6A, Para. [0088]; See also Fig. 6A, Para. [0055-0063]; Fig. 6B, Para. [0064]; Fig. 7, Para. [0065-0078]; Para. [0044, 0046, 0094-0108, 0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS)” (Wu §Abstract) with Pilz’s invention of “approaches to provide for multicast downlink control information” (Pilz Para. [0002]) because Pilz’s invention provides methods such that the same multicast content may be transmitted to different groups of UEs using different radio beams and different MCS levels to accommodate differing link quality conditions while supporting simultaneous multicast reception (Pilz Para. [0062]).
Yet, Wu nor Pilz expressly teach transmitting, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS.
However, Babaei teaches
transmitting, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS (Para. [0178]; See Also: Fig. 16, Para. [0114-0122]; Fig. 17, Para. [0123-0149]; Fig. 18, Para. [0150-151]; Fig. 19, Para. [0152-0160]; Fig. 20, Para. [0161-0170]; Fig. 21, Para. [0171-0174]; Fig. 22, Para. [0175-0182]; Fig. 23, Para. [0183]; Fig, 24, Para. [0184-0186]; Fig. 25, Para. [0187-0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmitting, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS” as taught by Babaei, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz, so that it would provide “procedures to enable more flexible scheduling of MBS data” via methods which “may enhance the existing system information and corresponding procedures to enable more flexible scheduling of MBS data” (Babaei Para. [0174]) .
Regarding Claim 19, Wu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising one or more processor- executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (Paras. [0040-0041, 0049, 0050])
receive information pertaining to a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session (Fig. 3, steps 304, 306, 308, 390; Para. [0061]; See also Paras. [0062-0068]; Fig. 4A, step 490; Fig. 4B, step 490; Fig. 5A, steps 504, 506, and 508; Fig. 5B, steps 504, 506, and 508;);
identify, based on the information, a first User Equipment device (UE) and a second UE that have joined the MBS session (Para. [0134]);
receive multicast data from a network component (Fig. 3, step 312; Para. [0070]; See also Fig. 3, step 314; Fig. 4A, step 492 and 414; Fig. 4B, step 492 and 414; Fig. 5A, step 592 and 514; Fig. 5B, step 592 and 514);
Yet, Wu does not explicitly teach map at least two modulation and coding schemes (MCSs) the UEs that have joined the MBS session and transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE, over a first radio beam using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam using the second MCS.
However, Pilz teaches
map at least a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a second MCS to the first UE and the second UE that have joined the MBS session (Fig. 6A, Para. [0060]; See also Fig. 6A, Para. [0055-0063]; Fig. 6B, Para. [0064]; Fig. 7, Para. [0065-0078]; Para. [0044, 0046, 0088, 0094-0108, 0112]);
transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE, over a first radio beam using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam using the second MCS (Fig. 6A, Para. [0088]; See also Fig. 6A, Para. [0055-0063]; Fig. 6B, Para. [0064]; Fig. 7, Para. [0065-0078]; Para. [0044, 0046, 0094-0108, 0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu’s invention of “a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS)” (Wu §Abstract) with Pilz’s invention of “approaches to provide for multicast downlink control information” (Pilz Para. [0002]) because Pilz’s invention provides methods such that the same multicast content may be transmitted to different groups of UEs using different radio beams and different MCS levels to accommodate differing link quality conditions while supporting simultaneous multicast reception (Pilz Para. [0062]).
Yet, Wu nor Pilz expressly teach transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS.
However, Babaei teaches
transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS (Para. [0178]; See Also: Fig. 16, Para. [0114-0122]; Fig. 17, Para. [0123-0149]; Fig. 18, Para. [0150-151]; Fig. 19, Para. [0152-0160]; Fig. 20, Para. [0161-0170]; Fig. 21, Para. [0171-0174]; Fig. 22, Para. [0175-0182]; Fig. 23, Para. [0183]; Fig, 24, Para. [0184-0186]; Fig. 25, Para. [0187-0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit, during the MBS session, the received multicast data to the first UE over a first radio beam having a first beam identifier and using the first MCS and to the second UE over a second radio beam having a second beam identifier and using the second MCS” as taught by Babaei, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz, so that it would provide “procedures to enable more flexible scheduling of MBS data” via methods which “may enhance the existing system information and corresponding procedures to enable more flexible scheduling of MBS data” (Babaei Para. [0174]) .
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teaches Claims 1 and 10.
Wu also teaches
wherein the network component includes a Multicast Broadcast (MB)-User Plane Function (UPF) (Fig. 1A, element 162; Para. [0044] - Among other components, the EPC 111 can include a Serving Gateway (SGW) 112, a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 114, and a Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW) 116. The SGW 112 is generally configured to transfer user-plane packets related to audio calls, video calls, Internet traffic, etc., and the MME 114 is configured to manage authentication, registration, paging, and other related functions. The PGW 116 provides connectivity from the UE to one or more external packet data networks, e.g., an Internet network and/or an Internet Protocol (IP) Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) network. The 5GC 160 includes a User Plane Function (UPF) 162 and an Access and Mobility Management (AMF) 164, and/or Session Management Function (SMF) 166. The UPF 162 is generally configured to transfer user-plane packets related to audio calls, video calls, Internet traffic, etc., the AMF 164 is configured to manage authentication, registration, paging, and other related functions, and the SMF 166 is configured to manage PDU sessions. The UPF 162, AMF 164 and/or the SMF 166 can be configured to support MBS. For example, the SMF 166 can be configured to manage or control MBS transport, configure the UPF 162 and/or RAN 105 for MBS flows, and/or manage or configure MBS session(s) or PDU Session(s) for MBS for UE 102. The UPF 162 is configured to transfer MBS data packets to audio, video, Internet traffic, etc. to the RAN 105. The UPF 162 and/or SMF 166 can be configured for both unicast service and MBS, or for MBS only.).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teaches Claims 1 and 10.
Wu also teaches
wherein the first UE and the second UE have the same Temporary Mobile Group identity (TMGI) (Para. [0061] - Now referring to a scenario 300 illustrated in FIG. 3, UE 102 (e.g., the UE 102A and/or UE 102B) initially operates 302 in an idle state (e.g., RRC_IDLE state) or an inactive state (e.g., RRC_INACTIVE state) with RAN 105. In the following description, the RAN 105 can represent base station 104, base station 106, cell 124 of the base station 104 and/or cell 126 of the base station 106). For example, the UE 102 operating in the idle state or the inactive state camps on a cell 124 of base station 104 of the RAN 105. MBS network 170 sends 304 an MBS Session Start message (or called MBS Session Start Request message) to CN 110 (e.g., AMF 164) to requests activation of an MBS session. The MBS network 170 includes an MBS session ID to identifying the MBS session in the MBS Session Start message. In some implementations, the MBS session ID is allocated by the CN 110. In other implementations, the MBS session ID is allocated by the MBS network 170. In some implementations, the MBS session ID can be or include a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI). In other implementations, the MBS session ID can be associated with a TMGI; See also Fig. 5A, step 504; Para. [0094]).
Claim(s) 2, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei as applied to Claims 1, 10, and 19 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2024/0121025, previously presented), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 2, 11, and 20, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teaches Claims 1, 10, and 19.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach wherein each of the first MCS and the second MCS specifies a modulation scheme that includes one of: 8 Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (16QAM); 64QAM; 256QAM; or 1024QAM.
However, Zhang teaches
wherein each of the first MCS and the second MCS specifies a modulation scheme that includes one of: 8 Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (16QAM); 64QAM; 256QAM; or 1024QAM (Para. [0099] - At block 402, the network device may determine that a terminal device supports a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and a second MCS. The first MCS may be any suitable MCS such as Pi/2 BPSK (Binary Phase Shift Keying), QPSK (Quadrature (Quaternary) Phase Shift Keying), 16 QAM, 64 QAM, 256 QAM, etc. The second MCS may be any suitable MCS such as Pi/2 BPSK, QPSK, 16 QAM, 64 QAM, 256 QAM, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein each of the first MCS and the second MCS specifies a modulation scheme that includes one of: 8 Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (16QAM); 64QAM; 256QAM; or 1024QAM” as taught by Zhang, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide solutions for performance loss due to reduction of larger power in larger modulation orders (Zhang Para. [0017]).
Claim(s) 5-9 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2025/0008534, previously presented), Wu534 hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teach Claims 1 and 10.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach wherein the one or more devices are further configured to: replicate the multicast data on the one or more devices.
However, Wu534 teaches
wherein the one or more devices are further configured to: replicate the multicast data on the one or more devices (Fig. 3, elements 312A, 312B, 314A-1 – 314A-N, 314B-1 – 314B-N; Para. [0067] - As illustrated in FIG. 3, the base station 104/106 maps traffic in the tunnel 312A to N radio bearers 314A-1, 314A-2, . . . 314A-N, which may be configured as MBS radio bearers or MRBs, where N≥1. Each MRB can correspond to a respective logical channel. As discussed above, the PDCP sublayer provides support for radio bearers such as SRBs, DRBs, and MRBs, and a EUTRA or NR MAC sublayer provides logical channels to a EUTRA or NR RLC sublayer. Each of the MRBs 314A for example can correspond to a respective MBS Traffic Channel (MTCH). The base station 104/106 and the CN 110 can also maintain another MBS session 302B, which similarly can include a tunnel 312B corresponding to MRBs 314B-1, 314B-2, . . . 314B-N, where N≥1. Each of the MRBs 314B can correspond to a respective logical channel; See also Paras. [0068,0069]; See Paras. [0064-0066] for description of the multicast data as an MBS session/MBS traffic; See Para. [0011] where MRB is defined as MBS radio bearer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the one or more devices are further configured to: replicate the multicast data on the one or more devices” as taught by Wu534, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide improvements of distributed base station reception of MBS data packets from the core network and base station transmission of MBS packets to one or more UEs (Wu534 Para. [0008]) .
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teach Claims 1 and 10.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach wherein the one or more devices are further configured to: map each of the first MCS and the second MCS to a queue; distribute the multicast data to the queues; and prepare the distributed multicast data in the queues for transmission.
However, Wu534 teaches
wherein the one or more devices are further configured to: map each of the first MCS and the second MCS to a queue (Fig. 3, elements 312B and 316A-L; Para. [0068] - The MBS traffic can include one or multiple quality-of-service (QOS) flows, for each of the tunnels 312A, 312B, etc. For example, the MBS traffic on the tunnel 312B can include a set of flows 316 including QoS flows 316A, 316B, . . . 316L, where L>1. Further, a logical channel of an MRB can support a single QoS flow or multiple QoS flows. In the example configuration of FIG. 3, the base station 104/106 maps the QoS flows 316A and 316B to the MTCH of the MRB 314B-1, and the QoS flow 316L to the MTCH of the MRB 314B-N; Paras. [0109-0110, 0115, 0126] - [0109] In some implementations, the configuration parameters for receiving MBS data of the first MBS session include one or more logical channel (LC) IDs to configure one or more logical channels. In some implementations, the logical channel(s) can be DTCH(s). In other implementations, the logical channel(s) can be MTCH(s). [0110] In some implementations, the configuration parameters can include dynamic scheduling multicast configuration parameter(s) for the UE 102 to receive multicast transmissions each including MBS data or a particular portion of MBS data. In some implementations, the dynamic scheduling multicast configuration parameter(s) can include at least one of the following configuration parameters: [0115] Modulation and coding scheme (MCS) [0126] Modulation and coding scheme (MCS) configuration, which indicates a MCS table that the DU 174 uses to transmit dynamic scheduling multicast transmissions and the UE 102 uses to receive dynamic scheduling multicast transmissions. For example, the MCS table can be a MCS table defined in 3GPP specification 38.214 (e.g., a low-SE 64QAM table indicated in Table 5.1.3.1-3 of 3GPP TS 38.214 or a new table specific for multicast transmission). In some implementations, if DU 174 does not include the MCS configuration in the DU configuration, the UE 102 and DU 174 can apply a MCS table predefined in 3GPP specification 38.214. For example, the predefined MCS table can be a 256QAM table or a 64QAM table, e.g., indicated in Table 5.1.3.1-2 or non-low-SE 64QAM table indicated in Table 5.1.3.1-1 of the specification 38.214, respectively. In cases where the DU 174 does not include the MCS configuration in the DU configuration, the UE 102 and DU 174 can apply a MCS table for unicast transmission to receive dynamic scheduling multicast transmissions from the DU 174. In some implementations, the DU 174 can include, in the DU configuration, a PDSCH configuration (e.g., PDSCH-Config) configuring the MCS table for unicast transmissions. In other implementations, the DU 174 can transmit to the UE 102 another DU configuration including the PDSCH configuration, similar to events 516, 518, and 520; See also Paras. [0128-0129, 0134, 0149]; Step 590 of Figs. 5A and 5B; Para. [0098]);
distribute the multicast data to the queues (Fig. 3, elements 312B and 316A-L; Paras. [0068-0069] - The MBS traffic can include one or multiple quality-of-service (QOS) flows, for each of the tunnels 312A, 312B, etc. For example, the MBS traffic on the tunnel 312B can include a set of flows 316 including QoS flows 316A, 316B, . . . 316L, where L>1. Further, a logical channel of an MRB can support a single QoS flow or multiple QoS flows. In the example configuration of FIG. 3, the base station 104/106 maps the QoS flows 316A and 316B to the MTCH of the MRB 314B-1, and the QoS flow 316L to the MTCH of the MRB 314B-N. [0069] In various scenarios, the CN 110 can assign different types of MBS traffic to different QoS flows. A flow with a relatively high QoS value can correspond to audio packets, and a flow with a relatively low QoS value can correspond to video packets, for example. As another example, a flow with a relatively high QoS value can correspond to I-frames or complete images used in video compression, and a flow with a relatively low QoS value can correspond to P-frames or predicted pictures that include only changes to I-frames; See also Step 590 of Figs. 5A and 5B);
and prepare the distributed multicast data in the queues for transmission (Fig. 3, elements 314A-1 – 314A-N, 314B-1 – 314B-2; Paras. [0067] - As illustrated in FIG. 3, the base station 104/106 maps traffic in the tunnel 312A to N radio bearers 314A-1, 314A-2, . . . 314A-N, which may be configured as MBS radio bearers or MRBs, where N≥1. Each MRB can correspond to a respective logical channel. As discussed above, the PDCP sublayer provides support for radio bearers such as SRBs, DRBs, and MRBs, and a EUTRA or NR MAC sublayer provides logical channels to a EUTRA or NR RLC sublayer. Each of the MRBs 314A for example can correspond to a respective MBS Traffic Channel (MTCH). The base station 104/106 and the CN 110 can also maintain another MBS session 302B, which similarly can include a tunnel 312B corresponding to MRBs 314B-1, 314B-2, . . . 314B-N, where N≥1. Each of the MRBs 314B can correspond to a respective logical channel; See also Fig. 4, elements 402A, 402B, 422, and 423; Paras. [0071-0075]; Step 590 of Figs. 5A and 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the one or more devices are further configured to: map each of the identified MCSs to a queue; distribute the multicast data to the queues; and prepare the distributed multicast data in the queues for transmission” as taught by Wu534, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide improvements of distributed base station reception of MBS data packets from the core network and base station transmission of MBS packets to one or more UEs (Wu534 Para. [0008]) .
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei and Wu534 teach Claims 6 and 15.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach wherein sequence/sequencing the multicast data to compensate for different rates, of data depletion at the queues.
However, Wu534 teaches
sequence/sequencing the multicast data to compensate for different rates, of data depletion at the queues (Paras. [0068, 0109-0110, 0115, 0126], Para. [0069] - In various scenarios, the CN 110 can assign different types of MBS traffic to different QoS flows. A flow with a relatively high QoS value can correspond to audio packets, and a flow with a relatively low QoS value can correspond to video packets, for example. As another example, a flow with a relatively high QoS value can correspond to I-frames or complete images used in video compression, and a flow with a relatively low QoS value can correspond to P-frames or predicted pictures that include only changes to I-frames).
The examiner interprets “different QoS flows” relative to the type of MBS traffic as compensation for different rates of data depletion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “sequence/sequencing the multicast data to compensate for different rates, of data depletion at the queues” as taught by Wu534, into the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide improvements of distributed base station reception of MBS data packets from the core network and base station transmission of MBS packets to one or more UEs (Wu534 Para. [0008]).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach transmit, via a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmit system, the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE.
However, Wu534 teaches
transmit, via a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmit system, the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE (Fig. 3, elements 104/106; 314A-1 – 314A-N, 314B-1 – 314B-2; Paras. [0067] - As illustrated in FIG. 3, the base station 104/106 maps traffic in the tunnel 312A to N radio bearers 314A-1, 314A-2, . . . 314A-N, which may be configured as MBS radio bearers or MRBs, where N≥1. Each MRB can correspond to a respective logical channel. As discussed above, the PDCP sublayer provides support for radio bearers such as SRBs, DRBs, and MRBs, and a EUTRA or NR MAC sublayer provides logical channels to a EUTRA or NR RLC sublayer. Each of the MRBs 314A for example can correspond to a respective MBS Traffic Channel (MTCH). The base station 104/106 and the CN 110 can also maintain another MBS session 302B, which similarly can include a tunnel 312B corresponding to MRBs 314B-1, 314B-2, . . . 314B-N, where N≥1. Each of the MRBs 314B can correspond to a respective logical channel; See also Fig. 4, elements 172/174, 402A, 402B, 422, and 423; Paras. [0071-0075]; Steps 528 and 542 of Figs. 5A and 5B).
The examiner interprets the gNB/ng-eNB in elements 104/106 in Fig. 3, the CU/DU in elements 172/174 in Fig. 4, and the BS 104 in Figs. 5A and 5B as MIMO transmit systems.
The examiner interprets a radio bearer as an antenna beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit, via a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmit system, the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE” as taught by Wu534, in the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide improvements of distributed base station reception of MBS data packets from the core network and base station transmission of MBS packets to one or more UEs (Wu534 Para. [0008]).
Regarding Claim 17, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei teaches Claim 10.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach wherein transmitting the received multicast data comprises: transmitting, via a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmit system, the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE.
However, Wu534 teaches
wherein transmitting the received multicast data comprises: transmitting, via a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmit system, the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE (Fig. 3, elements 104/106; 314A-1 – 314A-N, 314B-1 – 314B-2; Paras. [0067]; See also Fig. 4, elements 172/174, 402A, 402B, 422, and 423; Paras. [0071-0075]; Steps 528 and 542 of Figs. 5A and 5B).
The examiner interprets the gNB/ng-eNB in elements 104/106 in Fig. 3, the CU/DU in elements 172/174 in Fig. 4, and the BS 104 in Figs. 5A and 5B as MIMO transmit systems.
The examiner interprets a radio bearer as an antenna beam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein transmitting the received multicast data comprises: transmitting, via a Multiple-Input Multiple-Output (MIMO) transmit system, the received multicast data to the first UE and the second UE” as taught by Wu534, in the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide improvements of distributed base station reception of MBS data packets from the core network and base station transmission of MBS packets to one or more UEs (Wu534 Para. [0008]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Wu in view of Pilz and Babaei and Wu534 teach Claims 8 and 17.
Yet, Wu, Pilz, nor Babaei expressly teach map/mapping each of the first radio beam and the second radio beam to one or more queues; distribute/distributing the multicast data to the one or more queues; and prepare/preparing the distributed multicast data in the one or more queues for transmission.
However, Wu534 teaches
map/mapping each of the first radio beam and the second radio beam to one or more queues (Fig. 3, elements 104/106; 314A-1 – 314A-N, 314B-1 – 314B-2; Paras. [0067]; See also Fig. 4, elements 172/174, 402A, 402B, 422, and 423; Paras. [0071-0075]);
distribute/distributing the multicast data to the one or more queues (Fig. 3, elements 312B and 316A-L; Paras. [0068-0069]; See also Step 590 of Figs. 5A and 5B);
and prepare/preparing the distributed multicast data in the one or more queues for transmission (Fig. 3, elements 314A-1 – 314A-N, 314B-1 – 314B-2; Paras. [0067] - As illustrated in FIG. 3, the base station 104/106 maps traffic in the tunnel 312A to N radio bearers 314A-1, 314A-2, . . . 314A-N, which may be configured as MBS radio bearers or MRBs, where N≥1. Each MRB can correspond to a respective logical channel. As discussed above, the PDCP sublayer provides support for radio bearers such as SRBs, DRBs, and MRBs, and a EUTRA or NR MAC sublayer provides logical channels to a EUTRA or NR RLC sublayer. Each of the MRBs 314A for example can correspond to a respective MBS Traffic Channel (MTCH). The base station 104/106 and the CN 110 can also maintain another MBS session 302B, which similarly can include a tunnel 312B corresponding to MRBs 314B-1, 314B-2, . . . 314B-N, where N≥1. Each of the MRBs 314B can correspond to a respective logical channel; See also Fig. 4, elements 402A, 402B, 422, and 423; Paras. [0071-0075]; Step 590 of Figs. 5A and 5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “map/mapping each of the first radio beam and the second radio beam to one or more queues; distribute/distributing the multicast data to the one or more queues; and prepare/preparing the distributed multicast data in the one or more queues for transmission” as taught by Wu534, in the combined system of Wu/Pilz/Babaei, so that it would provide improvements of distributed base station reception of MBS data packets from the core network and base station transmission of MBS packets to one or more UEs (Wu534 Para. [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468