DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB-2509933 (GB’933) in view of US Patent Application 2019/0112037 to Meinel Cheesman.
Re: claims 1 and 16. GB’933 shows in figures 1 and 2 a vehicle, including: a wheel W; a brake assembly B having a portion selectively engageable with the wheel to reduce the rate of rotation of the wheel or stop rotation of the wheel; a HVAC unit or cooling system 1 providing an output air flow that is at a different temperature than an ambient air temperature adjacent heated brakes, for example, as broadly recited; an air circuit 3 in which the output air flow is directed, and wherein the air circuit includes a first outlet 7 through which at least a portion of the output air flow is directed toward at least part of the brake assembly B under at least some conditions of vehicle operation including when the vehicle is moving as disclosed on pg. 6 lines 20-23; and a passenger compartment a portion of which shown in the upper righthand corner of figure 1 of the motor vehicle, and wherein the air circuit includes a second outlet 5, but is silent with regard to the second outlet being communicated with the passenger compartment to provide at least part of the output air flow into the passenger compartment under at least some conditions of vehicle operation.
Meinel Cheesman teaches in paragraph [0010] the use of an outlet being communicated with a passenger compartment to provide at least part of an output airflow into the passenger compartment under at least some conditions of vehicle operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the air circuit of GB’933 to have included an outlet communicated with the passenger compartment of the vehicle, in view of the teaching of Meinel Cheesman, in order to provide a means of recycling the cooled air already associated with the vehicle system by using the same cooled air to cool both the brakes and the passenger compartment and preventing the useful cool air from escaping the environment of the vehicle for improved efficiency.
Re: claim 2. GB’933 is silent with regard to the HVAC unit specifically being an air conditioner.
Meinel Cheesman teaches in the first three lines of the abstract the use of an air conditioning system or air conditioner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the HVAC unit of GB’933, as modified, to have specifically been an air conditioner, in view of the teachings of Meinel Cheesman, in order to provide cooled air to cool the brakes to prevent them from overheating and to provide cooled air to the passenger compartment to provide a comfortable environment for passengers.
Re: claim 3. GB’933, as modified, teaches in figures 1 and 2 and on pg. 2 lines 22-35 of GB’933 a valve associated with the air circuit 3, the valve having multiple positions and, when the valve is in at least one of the multiple positions, at least a portion of the output air flow does flow through the first outlet.
Re: claims 6-8, 10, and 16. GB’933, as modified, teaches on pg. 7 lines 23-37 of GB’933 the limitation wherein at least a portion of the output airflow is not directed at the brake assembly in at least one position of the valve. Examiner notes that the combination results in the airflow in the second outlet being provided to the passenger compartment as modified. With regard to claim 10, see pg. 2 lines 22-26 of GB’933.
Re: claim 9. GB’933, as modified, teaches in figures 1-2 the limitation wherein the valve 17 is located between the first outlet 7 and the second outlet 5.
Re: claims 11-14. GB’933, as modified, teaches on pg. 7 lines 16-21 of GB’933 the limitation wherein a controller is coupled to the valve to control when the valve is in the first and second positions. Examiner notes that the reference to measured temperature refers to a temperature sensing means.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB-2509933 (GB’933) in view of US Patent Application 2019/0112037 to Meinel Cheesman as applied above, and further in view of BR-P10722350 (BR’350).
Re: claim 5. GB’933, as modified, discloses on pg. 2 line 10 the use of a brake assembly including a disc brake/caliper, but is silent with specifically describing a rotor and a brake pad and the airflow specifically being directed to the rotor.
BR’350 teaches in figures 1A and 1B wherein the brake assembly 24 includes a rotor 26 and a brake pad 22 that is selectively engageable with the rotor and wherein when the output air flow flows through the first outlet, the output air flow is directed at the rotor 26 as shown in figure 1B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disc brake of GB’933, as modified, to have specifically included a pad and rotor and to have the airflow directed at the rotor, in view of the teachings of BR’350, in order to provide brake system components that result in strong stopping power with excellent heat dissipation and to provide a means of cooling the rotor to help prevent it from warping prematurely.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB’933 in view of Meinel Cheesman as applied above, and further in view of CN-1959160 (CN'160).
GB’933, as modified, is silent with regards to the vehicle including a switch.
CN'160 teaches in paragraph [0010] the use of a switch serving as a valve position switch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the vehicle of GB’933, as modified, to have included a switch serving as a valve position switch, in view of the teachings of CN'160, in order to provide a means of regulating the airflow to cool the brake and/or other components selectively while providing added benefits of safety, redundancy, and fault protection. The combination would result in the switch having multiple states controlling the position of the valve.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant argues that GB’933 fails to show or suggest the limitation of a HVAC unit providing an output air flow that is at a different temperature than an ambient air temperature. Examiner disagrees and notes that GB’933 describes a brake cooling system 1 that comprises a brake cooling duct 7 not an ambient air system as argued. Alternatively, Examiner also notes that claim 1 is not based solely on reference GB’933 but instead on GB’933, as modified by the teachings of Meinel Cheesman (Cheesman). GB’933, as modified, results in conditioned, cooled air.
With regard to claim 2, Examiner relied on Cheesman for teaching an air conditioner providing conditioned, cooled air. Applicant argues; however, that Cheesman includes the use of conditioned, cooled air to cool brakes when the airplane is not in use. In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner reiterates that it is the combination that teaches the recited invention. Cheesman is relied upon particularly for teaching air being cooled by an air conditioner. GB’933 already teaches the use of cooling air while the airplane is in use. Therefore, the combination teaches the use of conditioned, cooled air being used while the airplane is in use.
With regard to claim 16, Applicant argues that GB’933 in view of Cheesman fail to show or suggest the limitation wherein “at least a portion of the output air flow” is directed to “both the first outlet and to the second outlet during use of the brake assembly to reduce the rate of rotation of the wheel.” Examiner first notes that the argument is more specific than the claim language. While the argument is directed to a positive recitation, Examiner notes that the particular limitation in claim 16 is functionally recited, specifically reciting one or more valves configured to direct at least a portion of the output air flow to both the first outlet and to the second outlet during use of the brake assembly to reduce the rate of rotation of the wheel. Examiner maintains that GB’933 includes a control member which GB’933 states can be a valve member (see the paragraph beginning “The control member could equally be a valve member”). Also see the paragraph beginning “The first inlet can remain open when” which describes the one or more valve i.e. the control member that is arranged to open and close the first and second inlets. Examiner maintains that the control member is the “one or more valves” configured to or functionally capable of directing the air flow as functionally and broadly recited. It is emphasized that the limitation is not positively recited. Even if it were positively recited, Examiner further maintains that GB’933 includes cooling air flowing through element 7 over brakes B during brake/airplane use and that GB’933, in view of the teachings of Cheesman, teaches the use of air that is conditioned, cooled as set forth in the remarks above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
mmb
August 13, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616