DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Regarding the previous claim objections, these objections are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), these rejections are withdrawn in light of the amendments, reconsideration by the examiner, and the arguments given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21, 23-27, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen (US 20110244543) (previously cited) in view of Satou (US 20180072978) (previously cited) and Li (US 20150031099) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Larsen discloses a system comprising:
a main exterior body (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 100 “U-loop fermenter” and paragraphs [0073] and [0080]) comprising:
a return section at a bottom of the main exterior body (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 103 “U-bend” and paragraphs [0073]-[0074] and [0080]);
a gas disengagement section at a top of the main exterior body (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 104 “top part” and paragraph [0076]);
a riser section positioned between the return section and the gas disengagement section (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 102 “up-flow leg” and paragraph [0073]); and
a downcomer section positioned between the gas disengagement section and the return section (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 101 “down-flow leg” and paragraph [0073]); and,
one or more first spargers (paragraphs [0038] and [0086]) positioned in a portion of the riser section of the main exterior body, and wherein the one or more first spargers are configured to supply a compressed gas to the riser section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086] “The gaseous substances may be added anywhere along the legs 101,102 or the lower connecting part 103 of the fermenter”);
one or more second spargers (paragraphs [0038] and [0086]) positioned in a portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body adjacent to the return section, and wherein the one or more second spargers are configured to supply a compressed gas to the downcomer section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086] “The gaseous substances may be added anywhere along the legs 101,102 or the lower connecting part 103 of the fermenter”).
Larsen, Annotated Figs. 2 and 3
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose “compressed gas”, Li discloses a compressed gas (paragraph [0148]).
In the analogous art of microorganism culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Larsen with the compressed gases of Li in order to facilitate delivery of the streams to particular stages, for example, to provide gases to a bioreactor with different efficiencies of the fermentation reaction performed therein because of the compressed gases (Li, paragraph [0148]).
Larsen does not disclose:
one or more first spargers each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein each of the one or more first spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in a lower portion of the riser section; and
one or more second spargers each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein each of the one or more second spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in a lower portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body adjacent to the return section.
Satou discloses one or more first spargers (paragraphs [0048] and [0061]; and, Fig. 1, element 22 “diffuser tube”) each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 1, element 22 “diffuser tube”), wherein each of the one or more first spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in a lower portion of the riser section (paragraphs [0048] and [0061]; and, Fig. 1, element 22 “diffuser tube”).
In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Satou, Fig. 1
Regarding the limitation “one or more second spargers each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein each of the one or more second spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in a lower portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body adjacent to the return section”, this limitation is both obvious under duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts. Regarding the limitation, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Additionally, regarding the limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 2, Larsen discloses wherein the system comprises an external-loop system, and wherein the main exterior body comprises a closed loop (Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, Larsen discloses wherein each of the return section (paragraphs [0073]-[0074]), the gas disengagement section (paragraph [0076]), the riser section (paragraphs [0073]-[0074]), and the downcomer section have a round cross-section (paragraphs [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Larsen discloses wherein a diameter of the return section is less than a diameter of the gas disengagement section (paragraph [0038] “the top part having a diameter which is substantially larger than the diameter of U-part”).
Regarding claim 5, Larsen discloses wherein the riser section includes a first portion having a first diameter (paragraph [0085] the inherent narrow portion of “a narrowing of the diameter of/cross-section of the leg 102”), a second portion having a second diameter that is greater than the first diameter (paragraph [0085] the inherent wider portion of “a narrowing of the diameter/cross-section of the leg 102”); and, a third portion having a variable diameter (paragraph [0076]; and, Figs. 2-5, element 114 “conical connection parts”).
Larsen does not disclose a third portion having a variable diameter connecting the first portion to the second portion.
Regarding this limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the conical connection part of Larsen to connect the first portion to the second portion in order to better adjust the flow of medium through the riser section without as many eddies and turbulent behavior.
Regarding claim 6, Larsen does not disclose wherein the second portion of the riser section has a greater length that the first portion of the riser section.
However, the claim limitation is obvious under MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), which states that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions … [and the claimed device] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second portion of the riser section of Larsen to have greater length than the first portion of the riser section of Larsen in order to have a larger volume of the riser to increase the total volume of the reactor.
Regarding claim 7, Larsen discloses wherein the first diameter of the first portion of the riser section (Fig. 2, lower portion of the riser section) is equal to a diameter of the return section (paragraph [0038] “the diameter of U-part”, inherently indicating that the U-part has one diameter; Fig. 2, return section).
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose “wherein the first diameter of the first portion of the riser section is equal to a diameter of the return section”, the limitation is obvious under changes in the size, proportion, and/or shapes of parts: the claim limitation is obvious under MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), which states that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions … [and the claimed device] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In addition, the claim limitation is obvious, as the configuration of the claimed shape is a matter of choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the connection between riser section and the return section of Larsen to connect the first portion to the return section with an equal diameter in order to better adjust the flow of medium through the riser section without as many eddies and turbulent behavior.
Regarding claim 8, Larsen does not disclose wherein the second diameter of the second portion of the riser section is equal to a diameter of the gas disengagement section.
However, the limitation is obvious under changes in the size, proportion, and/or shapes of parts: the claim limitation is obvious under MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), which states that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions … [and the claimed device] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In addition, the claim limitation is obvious, as the configuration of the claimed shape is a matter of choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the connection between riser section and the gas disengagement section of Larsen to connect the second portion to the gas disengagement section with an equal diameter in order to better adjust the flow of medium through the riser section without as many eddies and turbulent behavior.
Regarding claim 9, Larsen discloses wherein the one or more first spargers are positioned in the riser section (paragraphs [0038] and [0086]); and, the first portion of the riser section (paragraph [0085] the inherent narrow portion of “a narrowing of the diameter of/cross-section of the leg 102”).
Larsen does not disclose “one or more first spargers are positioned in the first portion of the riser section”.
However, regarding this limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the location of the one or more first spargers of Larsen to be in the first portion of the riser section in order to create an airlift effect to keep the culture medium moving upwards through the riser section.
Regarding claim 10, Larsen discloses wherein the downcomer section (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 101 “down-flow leg” and paragraph [0073]) includes a first portion having a first diameter (inherent to annotated Figs. 2-5, element 101 “down-flow leg” and paragraph [0073]) and a second portion having a variable diameter (paragraph [0076]; and, Figs. 2-5, element 114 “conical connection parts”) connecting the first portion to the gas disengagement section (annotated Figs. 2-5, element 104 “top part” and paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Larsen discloses wherein the first portion of the downcomer section (inherent to annotated Figs. 2-5, element 101 “down-flow leg” and paragraph [0073]) has a greater length (see drawings with a length of Figs. 2-5, element 101 “down-flow leg”) than the second portion of the downcomer section (paragraph [0076]; and, Figs. 2-5, element 114 “conical connection parts”).
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose the limitation “a greater length”, it would have been obvious to modify the size or proportion of the ratio of the length of the first portion of the downcomer section to the second portion of the downcomer section. In addition, the claim limitation is obvious under MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), which states that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions … [and the claimed device] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the length of the first portion of the downcomer section to the second portion of the downcomer section in order to increase the total length of the downcomer to hold more volume in the system.
Regarding claim 12, Larsen discloses wherein the first diameter of the first portion of the downcomer section (inherent to annotated Figs. 2-5, element 101 “down-flow leg” and paragraph [0073]) is equal in a diameter of the return section (paragraph [0038] “the diameter of U-part”, inherently indicating that the U-part has one diameter; Fig. 2, return section).
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose “wherein the first diameter of the first portion of the downcomer section is equal in a diameter of the return section”, the limitation is obvious under changes in the size, proportion, and/or shapes of parts: the claim limitation is obvious under MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), which states that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions … [and the claimed device] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. In addition, the claim limitation is obvious, as the configuration of the claimed shape is a matter of choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the connection between downcomer section and the return section of Larsen to connect the first portion to the return section with an equal diameter in order to better adjust the flow of medium through the downcomer section without as many eddies and turbulent behavior.
Regarding claim 13, Larsen discloses wherein the one or more second spargers are positioned in the first portion of the downcomer section (paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Larsen does not disclose wherein the one or more first spargers comprises a plurality of spargers equally spaced around the riser section such that a longitudinal axis of each of the one or more first spargers intersect at a center of the riser section.
However, this limitation is obvious under both duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts. Regarding the limitation, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Additionally, regarding the limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spargers of Larsen to be a plurality of spargers at the spacing given above in order to create a larger bubbling effect of the sparger so that more gases move the culture medium more effectively through the riser section of the reactor.
Regarding claim 15, Larsen does not disclose wherein the one or more first spargers comprises six spargers.
However, this limitation is obvious under duplication of parts. Regarding the limitation, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spargers of Larsen to be six spargers in order to create a larger bubbling effect of the sparger so that more gases move the culture medium more effectively through the riser section of the reactor.
Regarding claim 16, Larsen does not disclose wherein the one or more second spargers comprises two spargers.
However, this limitation is obvious under duplication of parts. Regarding the limitation, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spargers of Larsen to be two spargers in order to create a larger bubbling effect of the sparger to oxygenate the culture medium more effectively through the downcomer section of the reactor.
Regarding claim 17, Larsen does not disclose wherein the one or more second spargers are positioned such that a longitudinal axis of each of the one or more second spargers are parallel to one another.
However, this limitation is obvious under both duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts. Regarding the limitation, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Additionally, regarding the limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spargers of Larsen to be one or more second spargers at the location(s) above as well as orientated as given above in order to create a larger bubbling effect of the sparger to oxygenate the culture medium more effectively through the downcomer section of the reactor.
Regarding claim 18, Larsen discloses further comprising:
one or more spargers (paragraph [0079] “addition of pressurized gas, e.g. air or an inert gas”), wherein each of the one or more spargers are positioned in a portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0079]).
Larsen does not disclose:
one or more third spargers each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end
wherein each of the one or more third spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in a second portion of the downcomer
Regarding feature 1, Satou discloses one or more spargers (paragraphs [0048] and [0061]; and, Fig. 1, element 22 “diffuser tube”) each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 1, element 22 “diffuser tube”).
In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding feature 2, Satou discloses wherein each of the one or more spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in a lower portion of the riser section (paragraphs [0048] and [0061]; and, Fig. 1, element 22 “diffuser tube”).
In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding the limitation “downcomer section”, Larsen already discloses a downcomer section with a sparger (Larsen, paragraph [0079]). In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the downcomer section of Larsen with the sparger with the technical specifications of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding the limitation “one or more third spargers each having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein each of the one or more third spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body and the second end is positioned in one of (i) the gas disengagement section of the main exterior body or (ii) a second portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body”, this limitation is both obvious under duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts. Regarding the limitation, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B). Additionally, regarding the limitation, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding the limitation “one of (i) the gas disengagement section of the main exterior body or (ii) a second portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body”, the limitation is phrased in the alternative. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time.
Regarding claim 19, Larsen discloses wherein the one or more third spargers comprise a single sparger (paragraph [0079] “a first pressure controlling device … addition of a pressurized gas”).
Regarding claim 20, Larsen discloses wherein the single sparger of the one or more third spargers (paragraph [0079] “a first pressure controlling device … addition of a pressurized gas”) is positioned closer to the downcomer section than the riser section (paragraph [0079]).
Regarding the limitation “is positioned closer to the downcomer section than the riser section”, Larsen already discloses a downcomer section with a sparger (Larsen, paragraph [0079]). In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the downcomer section of Larsen with the sparger with the technical specifications of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding this limitation “is positioned closer to the downcomer section than the riser section”, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the downcomer section of Larsen with the sparger with the technical specifications of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Regarding the limitation “is positioned closer to the downcomer section than the riser section”, regarding dependent claim 20, if it is deemed that the limitation pertains to the location of the sparger within the gas disengagement section, the limitation is presented in the alternative in parent claim 18; therefore, said limitations are not needed to satisfy the claim. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time. A further limiting limitation of “is positioned closer to the downcomer section than the riser section” in dependent claim 20 is similarly interpreted to be presented in the alternative as well and is not needed to satisfy the limitations of the claim. As such, dependent claim 20 does not provide a positive recitation of a patentable distinction over modified Larsen (in view of Satou), and is therefore met by said references.
Regarding claim 21, Larsen discloses wherein the single sparger of the one or more third spargers (paragraph [0079] “a first pressure controlling device … addition of a pressurized gas”).
Larsen does not disclose is positioned on a bottom half of the gas disengagement section.
Regarding the limitation “is positioned on a bottom half of the gas disengagement section”, regarding dependent claim 21, the limitation is presented in the alternative in parent claim 18; therefore, said limitations are not needed to satisfy the claim. Because at least one of the limitations is rejected above, no further rejections are required at this time. A further limiting limitation of “is positioned on a bottom half of the gas disengagement section” in dependent claim 21 is similarly interpreted to be presented in the alternative as well and is not needed to satisfy the limitations of the claim. As such, dependent claim 21 does not provide a positive recitation of a patentable distinction over modified Larsen (in view of Satou), and is therefore met by said references.
Regarding claim 23, Larsen discloses wherein the riser section is positioned between the return section and the gas disengagement section on a first side of the main exterior body, and wherein the downcomer section is positioned between the gas disengagement section and the return section on a second side of the main exterior body (Figs. 2-5 and Annotated Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 24, Larsen does not disclose wherein each of the one or more first spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body, and wherein each of the one or more second spargers are positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body.
Satou discloses wherein a sparger is positioned such that the first end is outside of the main exterior body (Fig. 1).
In the analogous art of microorganism culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Larsen with the sparger position of Satou in order to supply spargers with an external source of gases.
Regarding claim 25, Larsen discloses wherein a pressure of the compressed gas supplied by the one or more first spargers to the riser section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086]); and wherein a pressure of the compressed gas supplied by the one or more second spargers to the downcomer section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086]).
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose “compressed gas”, Li discloses a compressed gas (paragraph [0148]).
In the analogous art of microorganism culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Larsen with the compressed gases of Li in order to facilitate delivery of the streams to particular stages, for example, to provide gases to a bioreactor with different efficiencies of the fermentation reaction performed therein because of the compressed gases (Li, paragraph [0148]).
Larsen does not disclose “is adjustable”.
However, according to MPEP § 2144.04(V)(D), adjustability of a part is not a patentable advance. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressures of the gases of Larsen to be adjustable in order to facilitate delivery of the streams to particular stages, for example, to provide gases to a bioreactor with different efficiencies of the fermentation reaction performed therein because of the compressed gases (Li, paragraph [0148]).
In addition, regarding the limitation “a pressure … is adjustable” the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Larsen would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the pump of Larsen (Larsen, paragraph [0086], Fig. 2-5, element 111 “pump”).
Regarding claim 26, Larsen discloses wherein a pressure of the gas supplied by the one or more first spargers to the riser section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086]); and, a pressure of the gas supplied by the one or more second spargers to the downcomer section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086]).
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose “compressed gas”, Li discloses a compressed gas (paragraph [0148]).
In the analogous art of microorganism culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Larsen with the compressed gases of Li in order to facilitate delivery of the streams to particular stages, for example, to provide gases to a bioreactor with different efficiencies of the fermentation reaction performed therein because of the compressed gases (Li, paragraph [0148]).
Larsen does not disclose wherein a pressure of the compressed gas supplied by the one or more first spargers to the riser section of the main exterior body is greater than a pressure of the compressed gas supplied by the one or more second spargers to the downcomer section of the main exterior body.
However, regarding the limitation, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Larsen would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the pump of Larsen (Larsen, paragraph [0086], Fig. 2-5, element 111 “pump”).
Regarding claim 27, Larsen discloses wherein a pressure of the gas supplied by the one or more first spargers to the riser section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086]); and, a pressure of the gas supplied by the one or more second spargers to the downcomer section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086]).
If it is deemed that Larsen does not disclose “compressed gas”, Li discloses a compressed gas (paragraph [0148]).
In the analogous art of microorganism culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Larsen with the compressed gases of Li in order to facilitate delivery of the streams to particular stages, for example, to provide gases to a bioreactor with different efficiencies of the fermentation reaction performed therein because of the compressed gases (Li, paragraph [0148]).
Larsen does not disclose wherein a pressure of the compressed gas supplied by the one or more first spargers to the riser section of the main exterior body is less than a pressure of the compressed gas supplied by the one or more second spargers to the downcomer section of the main exterior body.
However, regarding the limitation, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Larsen would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the pump of Larsen (Larsen, paragraph [0086], Fig. 2-5, element 111 “pump”).
Regarding claim 33, Larsen discloses wherein the system is configured to be operated such that a circular liquid motion is induced by the compressed gas from the one or more first spargers and/or the one or more second spargers (paragraph [0044]).
In addition, regarding the limitation, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device(s) of modified Larsen would be fully capable of operating in this manner given its loop reactor and spargers.
Regarding claim 34, Larsen discloses wherein the system includes one or more impellers to aid in mixing (paragraphs [0019] and [0039] “propeller pump”).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen (US 20110244543) (previously cited) in view of Satou (US 20180072978) (previously cited) and Li (US 20150031099) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Fukuda (US 4,282,328) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, Larsen discloses wherein each of the one or more first spargers (paragraphs [0038] and [0086]).
Larsen does not disclose wherein each of the one or more first spargers include a porous section at the second end, and wherein each of the one or more second spargers include a porous section at the second end.
Fukuda discloses a sparger that includes a porous section at an end (col. 3, lines 10-17; “a fused metal”).
In the analogous art of apparatuses having spargers, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sparger of Larsen with the porous sparger of Fukuda in order to increase partial pressure of oxygen supplied (Fukuda, col. 3, lines 10-17).
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Birch (US 4748123) (newly cited) – This invention is a continuous fermentation device.
Huang (US 20240174963) (newly cited) – This invention can be an external loop airlift bioreactor (see Fig. 14A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding pg. 7 of 13, the objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Regarding pg. 7 of 13, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) to claim 18 is withdrawn in light of the persuasive Applicant remarks and reconsideration by the examiner.
Regarding pgs. 8-9 of 13, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 to claim 1 under Larsen in view of Satou and Li is considered by the Applicant. The Action is summarized for the rejection to claim 1. As described in detail by the Applicant remarks, which cite the KSR decision, there must be an articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness. This statement is given from the Office Action, reiterated below:
In the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
This rational underpinning supports the legal case for obviousness set forth by the rejection under 103, using the references cited above as well as MPEP §§ 2144.04(VI)(B) and 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding pg. 9 of 13, Larsen in view of Satou teaches a second sparger in the lower portion of Larsen’s downcomer. As taught in the previous Office Action, in the analogous art of microorganismal culture methods and culture apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the U-shape fermenter of Larsen with the sparger of Satou in order to diffuse and dissolve gases into the culture medium for microorganismal growth (Satou, abstract and paragraph [0061]).
Notably, the amount of sparging supplied to the downcomer is a form of intended use or manner of operation of the invention. Regarding the limitation “the one or more second spargers are configured to supply a compressed gas to the downcomer section of the main exterior body” [italics added] the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of modified Larsen would be fully capable of operating in this manner given the structure of the Larsen reactor and the sparger of modified Larsen (in view of Satou). Satou’s sparger could modify the downcomer section of Larsen to sparge a compressed gas at a certain rate that would still allow the section of the main exterior body to act as a downcomer while being aerated.
Applicants arguments are unsubstantiated in light of the intended use or manner of operation of the invention as described above. The sparger could have a range of effectiveness based upon how much air is being sparged through the sparger over a unit of time. A substantial amount of this sparging could result in a bubble column as described in the Applicant’s remarks, however, it is also possible that an unsubstantial amount of sparging could result in less gas flow resulting in no counter-current flow, but would still aerate the fluid.
Regarding pg. 10 of 13, the concept of a dual bubble column, wherein one column is in one leg of a loop reactor and the second column is in the other leg of the same loop reactor has not yet been claimed. Further search and consideration may be merited if this feature were to be claimed; however, this feature may also be considered an intended use of the same modified prior art structure. In summary, the feature of a dual bubble column as an unexpected result is not yet part of the examination of the currently claimed structure, as the rejection fulfills the currently claimed structure.
Regarding the physical combinability of Larsen in view of Satou, in response to applicant’s argument that the sparger of Satou is not physically combinable with the reactor of Larsen’s downcomer, Larsen’s principle operation or intended purpose would not necessarily be destroyed by the incorporation of Satou’s sparger for the reasons stated above.
Applicant’s arguments are also unpersuasive due to Larsen’s disclosure alone, not just the combination of references for the reasons set forth below (and previously noted in the prior Office Action):
one or more second spargers (paragraphs [0038] and [0086]) positioned in a portion of the downcomer section of the main exterior body adjacent to the return section, and wherein the one or more second spargers are configured to supply a compressed gas to the downcomer section of the main exterior body (paragraph [0086] “The gaseous substances may be added anywhere along the legs 101,102 or the lower connecting part 103 of the fermenter”).
Larsen already discloses a sparger that can be added anywhere along the legs, including the leg that contains the downcomer section, or even the lower connecting part of the fermenter.
Regarding pg. 12 of 13, Applicant has provided an unpersuasive argument for the teaching away of gas-driven circulation of the Larsen reactor.
Larsen admits that gas-driven circulation is a technique that is conventional and known in the prior art (Larsen, paragraph [0019] “In principle, the U-shape reactor is also a loop reactor. However, contrary to conventional loop reactors, the liquid circulation is effected by means of an in-line pump. The pump may be of the propeller pump type, wherein the propeller blades are designed for pumping a mixture of liquid and gas. Using pumps instead of injected compressed air or gases to create liquid circulation reduces the overall energy consumption during fermentation.”). However, Larsen also discloses that this gas-driven circulation is an alternative form of circulation that the reactor can use (Larsen, paragraph [0079] “Other suitable means for increasing the pressure and creating liquid circulation in the fermenter are e.g. addition of a pressurized gas, e.g. air or an inert gas in combination with a liquid circulating device, which may be a pump.” [italics added]). In view of this, the reference does not constitute teaching away because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed.
Regarding pg. 12 of 13, Li additionally discloses compressed air, as shown in the rejection above.
Regarding pg. 13 of 13, regarding the dependent claims, these claims are rejected as the independent claim is still rejected and no further arguments were made regarding the dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799