CTFR 18/065,402 CTFR 100178 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The Amendment filed on 2/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 13 and 14 are cancelled and claims 21 and 22 are added. Claims 1-12 and 15-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 11/18/2025. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of openings included in the sheet of insulating tape recited in instant claim 7 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered. 06-22 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 7 and dependent claims 8-12 and 19-22, claim 9 and dependent claims 10-11, and claim 20 , are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first electrode sheet" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 7 previously only recited a “first negative electrode sheet” and not a “first electrode sheet”. Claims 8-12 and 19-22 are rejected due to their dependence upon a rejected base claim. Claim 9 recites the limitation “the continuous sheet of insulating tape” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 7 previously only recited a “sheet of insulating tape” and not a “ continuous sheet of insulating tape”. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected due to their dependence upon a rejected base claim. Claim 20 recites the limitation “placing a first negative electrode on a first surface of a positive electrode” in line 2. Claim 7, upon which claim 20 depends, recites “a plurality of negative electrodes” in line 7. It is unclear whether the “first negative electrode” recited in claim 20 is the same as one of the “plurality of negative electrodes” recited in claim 7, or if the “first negative electrode” of claim 20 recites to a new and structurally different element. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoda et al. (US 2023/0344083, hereinafter “Omoda”) in view of Jeong et al. (WO 2021015459, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter “Jeong”) and Mizuno et al. (JP 2014038784, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter “Mizuno”) . Regarding claim 7 , Omoda teaches a method of manufacturing an all-solid-state battery including a stacked body (“unit cell”) [0008, “The method for manufacturing an all-solid-state rechargeable battery includes manufacturing a stacked body”]. Omoda teaches providing a negative electrode layer (“first negative electrode”) in the rechargeable battery [0020, “The all-solid-state rechargeable battery includes a first electrode layer that is either a positive electrode layer or a negative electrode layer”]. Omoda does not specifically teach adhering a sheet of insulating tape to a first negative electrode sheet, or cutting the first negative electrode sheet into a plurality of the first negative electrodes. Jeong teaches analogous art of a method of manufacturing an electrode assembly comprising a negative electrode for a secondary battery [0001; entire disclosure relied upon]. Jeong teaches that the negative electrode (120, 130) may have an insulating member (124, 134) (“sheet of insulating tape”) applied to the negative electrode to form a positive electrode receiving portion (S) (“opening”) [Jeong Fig. 3, 0063, “The positive electrode receiving portion (S) can be provided by applying an insulating member (124, 134) to either one or both sides of the negative electrode (120, 130)”]. Fig. 3 of Jeong shows that the insulating member may be disposed around the circumference of the negative electrode in order to form the positive electrode receiving portion. Fig. 5 of Jeong shows that the method of manufacturing the negative electrodes includes providing a long strip of negative electrodes (“first negative electrode sheet”) and adhering the insulating member to this strip. Jeong teaches that by forming the negative electrode in such a way where an insulating member is adhered to the negative electrode to provide a positive electrode receiving space, the risk of an internal short circuit is prevented and energy density and output in the battery are improved [0037]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Omoda to include adhering an insulating member with a positive electrode receiving portion to the negative electrode as taught by Lee, in order to prevent the risk of an internal short circuit and improve energy density and output in the battery. Mizuno teaches analogous art of a method of manufacturing a battery element such as a secondary battery including a negative electrode sheet [0002]. Mizuno teaches that a protective tape (“insulating tape”) may be applied to the negative electrode sheet at positions where the electrode sheet is meant to be cut to form a plurality of negative electrodes (“first negative electrodes”) [0024, “by applying protective tape in advance to the positions where the break lines are to be formed on the electrode sheet”]. Mizuno further teaches that a break line (“cut line”) is formed on the protective tape where the negative electrode sheet is to be cut [0026, “a break line is formed in the portion where both protective tapes are bonded to each other. Then, each time a predetermined length of the electrode sheet is wound up, the sheet is cut at the break line position of the protective tape”]. Mizuno teaches that when a break line, or perforation, is formed in advance on the protective tape, when the negative electrode sheet is cut at that perforation, no burrs or edges are produced at the cut portion which reduces the amount of metal or active material caught in the battery element, which improves the quality of the battery element [0118]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Omoda to include forming cut lines in advance on an insulating tape adhered to the negative electrode sheet and then cutting the negative electrode sheet into individual negative electrodes as taught by Mizuno, in order to prevent the formation of burrs or edges at the cutting location and reduce metal or active material found at the cutting location, thereby improving the quality of the negative electrodes . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoda (US 2023/0344083) in view of Jeong (WO 2021015459) and Mizuno (JP 2014038784) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2020006967, referring to previously provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Yang") . Regarding claim 8 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7. Omoda further teaches that two negative electrode layers (20) may be provided in the all-solid-state battery [Fig. 1, 0045, “an all-solid-state rechargeable battery 1 according to the present embodiment includes a positive electrode layer 10, a negative electrode layer 20 … the negative electrode layer 20 formed on the outer surface of each solid electrolyte layer, respectively”]. Omoda teaches that the negative electrode layers may be single-sided negative electrode layers comprising a current collector (21) forming the outermost layer of the battery, and a negative electrode active material layer (22) formed on the inside of the negative electrode current collector [Fig. 3, negative electrode active material layer 22 is formed only on one side of the negative electrode current collector 21]. Omoda does not specifically teach that one of the negative electrode layers comprises no negative electrode terminal. Yang teaches analogous art of manufacturing a tabless solid-state lithium battery [0001]. Yang teaches that the solid-state lithium battery comprises a negative electrode including a negative electrode carrier and a negative electrode coating layer [0005, “the negative electrode includes a negative electrode carrier and a negative electrode coating layer”]. The negative electrode carrier comprises a foil layer, which replaces battery tab design (“negative electrode terminal”) [0012]. Yang teaches that since the foil layer can replace the tabs, issues caused by the thickness of the tabs can be reduced and an ultra-thin battery may be enabled [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by modified Omoda to have one of the single-sided negative electrode layers taught by Omoda be without a negative electrode terminal as taught by Yang, in order to reduce the thickness of the battery . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoda (US 2023/0344083) in view of Jeong (WO 2021015459), Mizuno (JP 2014038784), and Yang (WO 2020006967) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 20020182490, hereinafter "Cho") . Regarding claim 9 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 8, as described in the rejection of instant claim 8. Modified Omoda is silent regarding the insulating member, or sheet of insulating tape, comprising subsidiary parts configured to extend further outwardly than the negative electrode. Cho teaches analogous art of a manufacturing method for a pocketed electrode plate [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Cho teaches that the pocketed electrode plate may comprise an insulating polymer film (“sheet of insulating tape”) comprising a plurality of perforated spaces (“openings”) which are configured to contain a cathode plate [0050, Cho Fig. 2A]. Fig. 2C of Cho shows that the insulating polymer film may be cut along a dotted line (S) in order to obtain each pocketed electrode inside, leaving extra insulating polymer film (“subsidiary parts”) extending further outwardly than the electrodes [0054]. Cho teaches that when the pocketed electrode plate is manufactured in this way, mass production of the pocketed electrode plate is possible [0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by modified Omoda to include subsidiary parts in the insulating member configured to extend further outwardly than the long strip of negative electrodes as taught by Cho, in order to make mass production of the negative electrodes possible. Furthermore, Both Cho and Jeong teach a method for manufacturing an electrode by providing an insulating member around the periphery of an electrode, in order for an electrode to be pocketed by the insulating member. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine method taught by Omoda as modified by Jeong, Mizuno, and Yang with the known method taught by Cho of providing an insulating polymer film with subsidiary parts extending further outwardly than the negative electrodes to yield the predictable result of a pocketing negative electrode comprising a positive electrode receiving portion [see MPEP2143(I)(B)]. Regarding claim 10 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 9, as described in the rejection of instant claim 9. As described previously, Mizuno teaches that a break line is formed on the protective tape where the negative electrode sheet is to be cut, prior to the negative electrode sheet being cut [0026]. Mizuno teaches that when a break line, or perforation, is formed in advance on the protective tape, when the negative electrode sheet is cut at that perforation, no burrs or edges are produced at the cut portion which reduces the amount of metal or active material caught in the battery element, which improves the quality of the battery element [0118]. Furthermore, in order to slit the subsidiary parts, there is finite number of identifiable and predictable alternatives for when that would occur in relation to the cutting of the negative electrode sheet. The slitting of the subsidiary parts may happen before, simultaneously with, or after the cutting of the negative electrode sheet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by modified Omoda to include slitting the subsidiary parts as taught by Mizuno, in order to prevent the formation of burrs or edges at the cutting location and reduce metal or active material found at the cutting location, thereby improving the quality of the negative electrodes. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try cutting the negative electrode sheet after slitting the subsidiary parts out of the finite number of identifiable and predictable alternatives for when the cutting of the negative electrode sheet occurs [see MPEP 2143 I E] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoda (US 2023/0344083) in view of Jeong (WO 2021015459), Mizuno (JP 2014038784), Yang (WO 2020006967), and Cho (US 2002/0182490) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yanagawa et al. (US 2004/0191634, hereinafter "Yanagawa") . Regarding claim 11 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 10, as described in the rejection of instant claim 10. Modified Omoda does not specifically teach winding the slit excess tape into a form of a roll. Yanagawa teaches analogous art of a method of manufacturing an electrode plate [0002, “ More specifically, the invention relates to (1) an electrode plate with an insulating jointed to the plate effectively and accurately in a predetermined position to prevent short circuits, (2) a method of manufacturing the same, and the like”]. Yanagawa teaches that the electrode plate may comprise adhering an insulating sheet to an electrode plate [0028, “ the insulating sheet can be securely made to adhere to a part of the electrode plate”]. Yanagawa teaches that the insulating sheet is die-cut into insulating sheets to be applied to the electrode plate, and the remaining insulating sheet (“subsidiary parts”) is wound around a waste reel [0060, “the remaining insulating sheet 10 is rewound around a waste reel roll 44”]. Yanagawa teaches discusses methods for reducing waste of the insulating sheet [0066, “This method can lessen the amount of waste produced”]. The use of a waste reel could allow for recuperation of the excess insulating sheet, and could possibly be reused, which would also cut down on waste. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by modified Omoda to include winding the excess insulating tape in the form of a roll around a waste reel as taught by Yanagawa, in order to recuperate the excess material and lessen the waste produced . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoda (US 2023/0344083) in view of Jeong (WO 2021015459) and Mizuno (JP 2014038784) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yanagawa (US 2004/0191634) . Regarding claim 12 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7. Modified Omoda does not specifically teach the negative electrode sheet and insulating tape being continuously fed. Yanagawa teaches analogous art of a method of manufacturing an electrode plate [0002, “ More specifically, the invention relates to (1) an electrode plate with an insulating jointed to the plate effectively and accurately in a predetermined position to prevent short circuits, (2) a method of manufacturing the same, and the like”]. Yanagawa teaches that the electrode plate may comprise adhering an insulating sheet to an electrode plate [0028, “ the insulating sheet can be securely made to adhere to a part of the electrode plate”]. Yanagawa teaches that the insulating tape and electrode sheet are continuously provided [Fig. 3, 0060, “a raw material roll 41 with the insulating sheet 10 wound is installed in advance”, 0061, “During this running route, the electrode sheet 20 “]. Yanagawa teaches that by feeding the insulating sheet and electrode sheet in this way, a plurality of electrode plates can be formed and processed at the same time, which increases the productivity of the process [0064, “a plurality of electrode plates can be formed and processed at the same time, thereby permitting increased productivity”]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by modified Omoda to include continuously feeding the negative electrode sheet and the insulating tape as taught by Yanagawa, in order to increase the productivity of the process . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoda (US 2023/0344083) in view of Jeong (WO 2021015459) and Mizuno (JP 2014038784) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (CN 114069055, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Zhao") . Regarding claim 19 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7. Omoda further teaches that two negative electrode layers (20) may be provided in the all-solid-state battery [Fig. 1, 0045, “an all-solid-state rechargeable battery 1 according to the present embodiment includes a positive electrode layer 10, a negative electrode layer 20 … the negative electrode layer 20 formed on the outer surface of each solid electrolyte layer, respectively”]. Omoda further teaches that a negative electrode current collecting portion (211) (“negative electrode terminal”) may be formed on the negative electrode layer [Fig. 3, 0090, “a negative electrode current-collecting portion 211 electrically connecting the negative electrode current collector 21 connected to an external wire”]. Omoda does not specifically teach feeding a second negative electrode sheet and cutting the second negative electrode sheet with the negative electrode terminal into a plurality of second negative electrodes. Zhao teaches analogous art of battery cell stacking units comprising a first stacking unit including a first negative electrode stacked portion, and a second stacking unit including a second negative electrode stack [0006, “The first stacked unit includes a first positive electrode stacked portion, a first positive electrode separator stacked portion, a first negative electrode stacked portion”, 0007, “The second stacked unit includes a second positive electrode stack, a second positive electrode separator stack, a second negative electrode stack”]. Zhao also teaches that the second negative electrode sheet is cut into multiple second negative electrode sheets [0041, “the second negative electrode material tape cutting device is used to cut the second negative electrode material tape into the second negative electrode sheet”]. Zhao teaches that the method of stacking the stacking units can stack multiple units at the same time [0014]. Zhao teaches that the method of stacking multiple sheets at the same time is highly efficient [0015]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by modified Ogawa wherein the second negative electrode comprises a negative electrode terminal to include feeding a second negative electrode sheet and cutting the second negative electrode sheet into a plurality of second negative electrodes at the same time that the first negative electrode sheet is processed as taught by Zhao, in order to make the process more efficient. Further regarding claim 20 , Omoda teaches that two negative electrode layers (20) may be provided in the all-solid-state battery on either side of a positive electrode [Fig. 1, 0045, “the all-solid lithium rechargeable battery 1 includes one of the positive electrode layer 10 and the negative electrode layer 20 (hereinafter, the first electrode layer), the solid electrolyte layer 30 stacked on both surfaces of the first electrode layer, and the other of the positive electrode layer 10 and the negative electrode layer 20 formed on the outer surface of each solid electrolyte layer”]. Regarding claim 21 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 19, as described in the rejection of instant claim 19. Omoda further teaches that the negative electrode layers may both be single-sided negative electrode layers comprising a current collector (21) forming the outermost layer of the battery, and a negative electrode active material layer (22) formed on the inside of the negative electrode current collector [Fig. 3, negative electrode active material layer 22 is formed only on one side of the negative electrode current collector 21]. Regarding claim 22 , modified Omoda teaches the method of claim 21, as described in the rejection of instant claim 21. As described in the rejection of instant claim 19, Omoda teaches that a negative electrode current collecting portion (211) (“negative electrode terminal”) may be formed on the single-sided negative electrode layer [Fig. 3, 0090]. Modified Omoda does not specifically teach at what point in the method of manufacturing the negative electrode current collecting portion is processed. However, since the negative electrode current collecting portion is present on the single-sided negative electrode layer, the negative electrode current collecting portion must have been processed at some point during (“simultaneously with”) the cutting of the second negative electrode sheet or, before or after (“at a different time from”) cutting the second negative electrode sheet. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARIA F OROZCO whose telephone number is (571)272-0172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-6. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ula Ruddock can be reached at (571)272-1481. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729 /ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 2 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 3 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 4 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 5 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 6 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 7 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 8 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 9 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 10 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 11 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 12 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 13 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 14 Art Unit: 1729 Application/Control Number: 18/065,402 Page 15 Art Unit: 1729