DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 12/13/2022, 8/30/2023, 05/17/2024, 11/13/2024 and 03/27/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
12/15/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
4. The amendment filed 12/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 13, 20, 22-23, 26-28 and 30 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-19, 21, 24-25 and 29 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
8. Claims 1, 8, 13, 20, 22, 26 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokokawa et al. (US-20230123943-A1), hereinafter “Yokokawa” in view of Ye SI et al. (US-20230038050-A1) hereinafter “Ye SI”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Yokokawa discloses, ‘A method for neighboring cell measurement, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, at least two sets of measurement gap configurations sent by a network device, wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement,
and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator,
and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations’,
‘
Fig. 5 illustrates, a terminal device receive measurement configuration from BS and also from neighbor BS [0062-0063]. Fig. 6 illustrates SSB and synchronization time configuration from Cell A and Cell B. FIG. 17 shows an example of Rx beam sweeping using four reception beams. In FIG. 17 , the time length T is the time length for performing measurement with one reception beam. For example, in this time length T, measurement of the serving cell (presence or absence of link quality deterioration and the like) and the measurement of neighbor cells (candidate beam detection, etc.) are performed by measurement with the one reception beam. [0126]. A single measurement period, using multiple reception beams is N times the measurement period T for a single reception beam (including a case where no reception beam is formed), and N is referred to as a scaling factor. Measurement period occurs periodically and the user terminal perform measurement by reception of beam sweeping for each measurement period [0128].
The measurement period, for example, occurs periodically, and the user terminal 20 can perform measurement by reception beam sweeping for each measurement period. Disclosure Claim 1, terminal receive configuration. Fig. 5 illustrates from BS to terminal and also from neighbor BS. This can be done by RRC signaling, SSB, CSI-RS [0062-0065]. includes SMTC window duration and MeasGapConfig (measurement gap configuration). FIG. 6 , the relationship between SSB and SMTC window is described. FIG. 6 shows that at cell A, SSBs are being transmitted at a certain transmission period, and at cell B. Regarding at least two set of measurement gap configuration, disclosures mentioned periodicity (measurement-repetition periodicity) 20, 40, 80, or 160 ms can be configured and gap length per-FR for NR 3, 4, 6 ms (gap-offsets) and for FR2 1.5, 3.5 or 5.5 ms (gap-offsets) [0074-0078]. Fig. 7 illustrates SMTC window and gap configurations. Apparatus Fig-20 have configurations that can have multiple set of configurations, Fig. 17 illustrates terminal a single transmission period configurated not same [0070] and measurement time length different. Measurement interval configuration from BS to terminal can be different based on FR1, FR2 and FR3 [0100-0103]. And, Fig. 11 illustrates, for measurement-gap per FR and time interval in a consecutive SSB to be measured [0147]. And, set of SSBs arranged in variable time interval [0058] and Fig. 4. Regarding, start time offset, disclosure, SSB measurement timing config window can vary based on cell [0071]. Measures different frequencies configured for the user terminal in time interval SSB measurement time config and the measurement-gap [0072-0073]. This is identical as a set of measurement interval configuration and the configurations can be different;
Fig. 6 illustrates transmission period, a start time of measurement interval, a duration of interval, a timing advance in SCS 240/480 KHz, illustrates Fig. 9 [0098]-[0099]. User terminal uses SSB (or CSI-RS) based measurement and includes RSRP, RSRQ and SINR to identify serving cell indicator [0067]. A user terminal perform measurement within a single transmission period and uses multiple reception beams is N times the measurement period T for a single reception beam. Id. Based on measurement scaling factor and RSRP identify measurement on serving and neighboring cell [0128-0131]; the user terminal 20 may perform an operation to autonomously advance the start timing of the measurement gap [0098], [0100-0103];
In FIG. 9 , the user terminal 20 is provided with a function (Measurement gap timing advance) that enables the user terminal 20 to use SSB for measurement without leakage by shifting the start timing of the measurement gap forward [0094].
Fig. 5, a serving cell is measured RLM measurement and user terminal can perform both SSB and CSI-RS based measurement [0065-0066]);
Yet, Didn’t specific mention, ‘at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different;’
And Ye SI in the relevant art discloses, measurement interval configuration includes first and second measurement configuration that are different [0006-0009] and disclosure Claim 1.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yokokawa and to include with that of Ye SI to come up with the claim invention;
Someone would recognize the disclosure of Yokokawa, measurement interval configuration interval at FR1, FR2, and FR3. FIG. 17 shows an example of Rx beam sweeping using four reception beams in different frequency band and timing of measurement in frequency bands can overlap in time length, period and in time resources and terminal perform measurement of cells [0128-0133]. Measurement configuration interval includes interval/gapConfig for FR1, FR2 and FR3 that operates in different frequency band. Partly time and length periodicity overlap to perform in multiple cell location. Further, identify measurement interval configuration as disclosed Ye SI are different and operate in different frequency layers. Also, specifically mentioned, the first/second measurement-gap config preset time interval is an offset between the start time measurement-gap and the reception time of signaling [0137, 0143].
Someone would be motivated to include and able to derive claim invention that measurement configuration interval are different. This would provide enhance capability of terminal perform beamforming measurement apply MIMO or Rx beams sweeping link quality measurement in neighboring cells. Synchronized terminal and BS both perform communication by a Carrier Aggregation) in a SCell and a PCell [0047].
Ye SI discloses, ‘wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same’ (Disclosure include: start time measurement gap configuration and start time offset [0135-0146]. And, first measurement gap configuration is different from the second measurement configuration [0006-0011]; other configuration parameters: a gap length, a gap timing advance, a gap length scaling factor, a preset time interval and a pattern identifier are the same for the first and the second measurement configurations [0135-0146]).
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yokokawa and to include with that of Ye SI to come up with the claim invention;
Motivate to include multiple measurement gap configuration periodicity would be identical as disclosed first claim element. Yokokawa discloses start time of measurement gap configuration and measurement period occurs periodically with beam sweeping. In single measurement period using multiple reception beams is N times the measurement period T with scaling factor Fig. 9 and [0094, 0128]. And, didn’t disclose the set of measurement gap configurations. Someone would be motivated to include multiple configurations as part of periodicity.
This would solve: identification of measurement gap length in a configurations as the gap length of the measurement gap better matches configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the problem that PRS measurement cannot be performed due to a measurement gap not long enough Ye SI [0084].
Yokokawa discloses, ‘And performing, by the terminal device, the neighboring cell measurement in a measurement gap configured by at least one set of measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations’ (The UE receives the measurement gap configuration per FR1/FR2/FR3. And, perform measurement in FR3 neighboring cell [0124, 0130, 0187-0189]; measurement occurs periodically [0128-0129]),
And didn’t disclose, ‘the method further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, first signaling sent by the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations’
Ye SI in the relevant art discloses, receive measurement gap configuration and signaling [0133-0134] and activated by MAC CE signaling [0101, 0155]. Motive to combine would be identical to the first claim element as this claim element includes only the activation steps as part of measurement-gap configuration. In addition, Yokokawa discloses measurement-gap configuration and periodicity [0078, 0128]. Perform SSB/CSI-RS measurement and determine whether or not a component carrier newly added when performing carrier aggregation based on the configuration [0063-0065, 0068]. And, provide an important motive to use scaling factor for each measurement period [0128]. Ye SI further includes scaling factor to the measurement-gap configuration [0057]. This would lower delay, increase high data transmission rate and perform the measurement more effectively.
Ye SI discloses, ‘and taking a currently activated measurement gap configuration as a measurement gap configuration’ ([0155]),
And to include, ‘for performing the neighboring cell measurement’ (Disclosed above, Yokokawa [0124, 0130, 0187-0189);
further to include, ‘wherein the first signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)’ (Ye SI [0101, 0155]).
And motive would be identical disclosed above, the first and the second claim element. In addition, perform more efficiently neighbor cell-measurement frequency bands [0130], measurement time can be reduced within a SSB-based timing configuration window [0131] and better measurement on CSI-RS/RSSP/RSSI/CQI can be achieved [0141].
Regarding Claim 8,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above and network device instead of terminal, ‘A method for neighboring cell measurement, comprising: sending, by a network device, at least two sets of measurement gap configurations to a terminal device (Disclosure Yokokawa Fig. 5),
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator, and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different, wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same, sending, by the network device, first signaling to the terminal network device, wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations, wherein the first signaling or the second signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH).’
Regarding Claim 13,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A terminal device, comprising: a transceiver, configured to receive at least two sets of measurement gap configurations sent by a network device, wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator, and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different; and a processor, configured to perform the neighboring cell measurement in a measurement gap configured by at least one set of measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations, wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive first signaling sent by the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations; and take a currently activated measurement gap configuration as a measurement gap configuration for performing the neighboring cell measurement; wherein the first signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH).’ (Transceiver/terminal, Yokokawa Fig. 20 to 21 )
Regarding Claim 20,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A network device, suitable to perform the method of claim 8, the network device comprising: a transceiver, configured to send at least two sets of measurement gap configurations to a terminal device,’ (Disclosure Yokokawa Fig. 19 and 21),
Identical to part of claim 1 and 8 disclosed above, ‘wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator, and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different, wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: send first signaling to the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations, wherein the first signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH).’.
Regarding Claim 22,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’ (Yokokawa discloses measurement gap configuration through RRC signaling [0099, 0112]).
Regarding Claim 26,
‘The terminal device of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’
Regarding Claim 28,
‘The method of claim 8’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’
Regarding Claim 30,
‘The network device of claim 20’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’
10. Claims 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Yokokawa et al in view of Ye SI et al. and further YERRAMALLI et al. (US-20230362699-A1) hereinafter “YERRAMALLI”.
Regarding Claim 23,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mouna-Hajir discloses, ‘wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a Non Terrestrial Network (NTN) cell, and a neighboring cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell; or the serving cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell, and the neighboring cell of the terminal device is an NTN cell; or both the serving cell and the neighboring cell of the terminal device are NTN cells.’
Fig. 3, a wireless communication system RAN and the user terminal support both terrestrial and non-terrestrial network [0081].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yokokawa, Ye SI and to include with that of Mouna-Hajir to come up with the claim invention;
Yokokawa, measurement-gap configuration [0068], timing config [0069], perform measurement multiple cells Fig. 6 and per-FR1/FR2/FR3 [0076, 0083, 0124]. And, motive autonomously advance timing of the measurement-gap [0098].
Disclosure Yokokawa discloses: plurality of time length (0.25ms and 0.125ms) for measurement gap timing advance [0013, 0095-0098] for terrestrial network within a SMTC window [0075]. And preset time interval/offset, TTI and SMTC window interval within the measurement configuration [0069, 0072-0074, 0141]. And config includes RS time difference and gap-TA [0061].
Propagation delay are more significant to NTN. Someone would include the NTN to 5G core network as part of extending the network coverage capitalize the interoperability capability and extend the network operability from the terrestrial to Non-terrestrial and vice versa. Due to propagation delay or interruption in a serving NTN, the terminal can switch to TN cell and extend the network coverage. Mouna-Hajir can extends the motive of autonomously advance time by autonomous measurement reporting [0101]. This would reduce latency and increase throughput.
Regarding Claim 27,
‘The terminal device of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 23 disclosed above, ‘wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a Non Terrestrial Network (NTN) cell, and a neighboring cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell; or the serving cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell, and the neighboring cell of the terminal device is an NTN cell; or both the serving cell and the neighboring cell of the terminal device are NTN cells.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Examiner Note:
Arguments:
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
By way of this Amendment and Reply, independent Claims 1, 8 and 13 have been amended. To the extent that the Examiner may still apply the rejections to the claims as amended, these rejections are respectfully traversed.
As noted above, independent claim 1 incorporates all elements of claim 4, recited as:
"the method further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, first signaling
sent by the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of
measurement gap configurations; and
taking a currently activated measurement gap configuration as a measurement
gap configuration for performing the neighboring cell measurement;
wherein the first signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element
(CE) or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)".
Amended independent Claims 8 and 13, though having a different scope, recite similar features. Support for the amendments can also be found, for example, in paragraphs [0104]- [0105], [0107] and [0145]-[0147] of the published application.
On Pages 10-11 of the Final Office Action, it was indicated that claim 4 was disclosed by paragraph [0154] of Ye SI and paragraphs [0141], [0145]-[0146] of Yokokawa. Applicant respectfully disagrees and has the flowing remarks.
Ye SI, in the cited paragraph [0154] and related paragraphs, recites: [0151-0154]
As can be seen, Ye SI discloses using MAC CE to activate part of measurement configuration parameters in one of measurement gap configurations (e.g., first measurement gap configuration information and second measurement gap configuration information). That is, under the condition of one measurement gap configuration, one or more measurement parameters therein are activated using MAC CE, which differs from the activating one set of measurement gap configurations as defined by claim 1 of the present application.
Thus, Ye SI fails to disclose "wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations.... wherein the first signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)" of claim 1.
Yokokawa, in paragraphs [0141], [0145]-[0146], recites
As described above, Yokokawa reveals which time-domain resources cannot be used for data transmission within the SMTC window, for example, in which specific SSB symbols PDCCH is not received. Yokokawa does not mention activation or deactivation operations, even in the remaining paragraphs not cited in the Office Action. Thus, Yokokawa does not disclose or suggest activating or deactivating MG configurations via PDCCH as defined by claim 1.
In view of the above, the combination of Yokokawa and Ye SI would not disclose the solution of activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations, specifically the deactivation operation, in claim 1 of the present application.
Therefore, Yokokawa and Ye SI, alone or in combination, fail to disclose "wherein the first signaling is used for activating or deactivating one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations.... wherein the first signaling is a Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)"
of claim 1.
In the Advisory Action, it was indicated by the Examiner that paragraphs [0077]-[0079] and [0096]-[0098] of Yokokawa in combination with Ye SI (disclosing "multiple set of measurement gap configurations") discloses the "wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters are the9
same" of claim 1. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, in Yokokawa, paragraphs [I00'77]-[I0079] disclose setting different gap length (MGL) values and repetition period (MGRP) values for different frequency ranges (FR1/FR2/FR3), and paragraphs [0096]-[10098] disclose configuring MGTA for a single measurement gap.
Specifically, in Yokokawa, MGTA is introduced to compensate for RF retuning time, and a function of Measurement gap timing advance is provided to enable the user terminal to use SSB for measurement without leakage by shifting the start timing of the measurement gap forward (see paragraph [0094]). Yokokawa advances a start time point ofthe entire measurement window
by MGTA (e.g., by 0.25 ms), and the start time point is determined by gapOffset; that is, MGTA represents a secondary adjustment or fine-tuning based on the start time point determined by gapOffset. Moreover, MGTA of Yokokawa and the gapOffset of the present application are two entirely different parameters. For instance, in communication standards (e.g., the communication protocol provided in paragraphs [0088]-[0089] of Ye SI), one measurement gap configuration includes both MGTA and gapOffset.
Furthermore, regarding the RF retuning time in Yokokawa, it refers to the physical switching duration of the terminal's RF circuitry, a hardware constraint, and is not a configurable scheduling parameter. The MGTA in Yokokawa serves as a secondary adjustment or fine-tuning applied to the start time point determined by gapOffset, aimed at compensating for this fixed hardware duration.
Based on the above, nothing in Yokokawa teaches or suggests configuring a measurement gap configuration that differ only in gapOffset.
Ye SI aims at addressing the issue of long PRS measurements. Specifically, Ye SI provides two measurement gap pattern configurations (first and second gap pattern configurations), and extends the measurement gap by configuring different MGL/MGRP values across the two measurement gap pattern configurations (e.g., the second measurement gap pattern configuration may have longer MGL/MGRP than the first measurement gap pattern configuration to accommodate long PRS measurement).
Combining Yokokawa (which discloses 'MGTA for compensating hardware RF retuning time') with Ye SI (which discloses 'multiple measurement gap pattern configurations for extending the length of measurement gap') does not suggest or motivate a person skilled in the art to arrive at the technical solution of configuring multiple sets of gap configurations that differ only in gapOffset while having identical other parameters". The technical problems addressed and the technical means employed in Yokokawa and Ye SI are entirely different.
Therefore, the Applicant respectfully submits that Yokokawa and Ye SI, alone or in combination, fail to disclose, teach or suggest the configuration of "starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same" of claim 1.
Nor do Bo-Fan and Zhe-Fu give any disclosure or suggestion on the above distinguishing features of claims 1, 8 and 13.
Accordingly, the applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 1, 8 and 13 are inventive over the cited references.
Further, dependent claims 20, 22-23, 26-28 and 30 are also inventive at least based on their dependencies.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests considering allowance of the current pending claims 1, 8, 13, 20, 22-23, 26-28 and 30.
Applicant believes that this Amendment and Reply is fully responsive to all outstanding issues and places the present application in condition for allowance.
Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further amended claims and
provided required corrections in the office actions with disclosures from the closest prior
art that covers the subject matters. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s
argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Yokokawa”, “Ye SI”, and “Mouna-Hajir”.
Regarding applicant arguments, examiner respectfully disagree on following:
‘first signaling is used for activating/deactivating one or more measurement-gap configurations of at least two sets of measurement gap configuration;
And taking currently activated measurement…;
Wherein first signaling is a MAC CE or PDCCH’.
Claim subject matter and claim-limitations: measurement-gap-config [Wingdings font/0xE0] set of measurements-gap-config [Wingdings font/0xE0]
perform neighboring cell measurement [Wingdings font/0xE0] at least one of the parameters:
period of the measurement gap config, starting time offset, a duration, TA, ref-serving cell indicator and configuration parameter of two sets of measurement-gap-config.
Examiner presented prior art, Yokokawa provides exemplary disclosures includes these limitations and parameters with greater tech terms/details and examples.
Measurement-gap-config for NR per UE and per FR SSB-based RRM Measurement Timing Configuration window [0069-0071]. Fig. 4 includes SCS/SSB and Fig. 6 includes SSB configured per frequency (applicant spec [0057]). And, user terminal perform measurement in a time interval and in SMTC window [0072-0073] that can vary time granularity [0074-0075]. Fig. 8 includes actual measurement and SMTC window. And Fig. 11 per FR configuration variation. Fig. 14 includes sync configuration variation in different cells. Discloses, control-signals DCI by PDCCH [0156] and active BWP [0262]. Ye SI specifically discloses, the activation/signaling MAC CE [0155]. Regarding the claim element activation can be performed by the protocol-stacks and L2/L3.
Regarding the start time offset, Ye SI provides clarity preset time interval is an offset of start time between the measurement-gap and the reception time point of signaling of the first and the second measurement-gap-config [0137, 0143].
Examiner thanks to applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA); Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 36.331 version 14.14.0 Release 14); Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (Year: 2020) Measurement-IE: measurement config, measurement-gap config parameters: gap-offset, measurement-object, cell-indexpage-487 to 500 relevant to the prior art presented Yokokawa.
examiner should be directed to SYED AHMED whose telephone number is (703)756-
5308. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday 9AM-5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466