DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 12/13/2022, 8/30/2023, 05/17/2024, 11/13/2024 and 03/27/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
12/15/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 13, 20, 22, 26, 28 and 30 remain pending in the application. Claims 23 and 27 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1, 8, 13, 20, 22, 26 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokokawa et al. (US-20230123943-A1), hereinafter “Yokokawa” in view of Ye SI et al. (US-20230038050-A1) hereinafter “Ye SI” and further in view of Mouna-Hajir et al. (US-20220030532) hereinafter “Mouna-Hajir”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Yokokawa discloses, ‘A method for neighboring cell measurement, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, at least two sets of measurement gap configurations sent by a network device, wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement,
and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator,
and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations’,
‘
Fig. 5 illustrates, a terminal device receive measurement configuration from BS and also from neighbor BS [0062-0063]. Fig. 6 illustrates SSB and synchronization time configuration from Cell A and Cell B. FIG. 17 shows an example of Rx beam sweeping using four reception beams. In FIG. 17 , the time length T is the time length for performing measurement with one reception beam. For example, in this time length T, measurement of the serving cell (presence or absence of link quality deterioration and the like) and the measurement of neighbor cells (candidate beam detection, etc.) are performed by measurement with the one reception beam. [0126]. A single measurement period, using multiple reception beams is N times the measurement period T for a single reception beam (including a case where no reception beam is formed), and N is referred to as a scaling factor. Measurement period occurs periodically and the user terminal perform measurement by reception of beam sweeping for each measurement period [0128].
The measurement period, for example, occurs periodically, and the user terminal 20 can perform measurement by reception beam sweeping for each measurement period. Disclosure Claim 1, terminal receive configuration. Fig. 5 illustrates from BS to terminal and also from neighbor BS. This can be done by RRC signaling, SSB, CSI-RS [0062-0065]. includes SMTC window duration and MeasGapConfig (measurement gap configuration). FIG. 6 , the relationship between SSB and SMTC window is described. FIG. 6 shows that at cell A, SSBs are being transmitted at a certain transmission period, and at cell B. Regarding at least two set of measurement gap configuration, disclosures mentioned periodicity (measurement-repetition periodicity) 20, 40, 80, or 160 ms can be configured and gap length per-FR for NR 3, 4, 6 ms (gap-offsets) and for FR2 1.5, 3.5 or 5.5 ms (gap-offsets) [0074-0078]. Fig. 7 illustrates SMTC window and gap configurations. Apparatus Fig-20 have configurations that can have multiple set of configurations, Fig. 17 illustrates terminal a single transmission period configurated not same [0070] and measurement time length different. Measurement interval configuration from BS to terminal can be different based on FR1, FR2 and FR3 [0100-0103]. And, Fig. 11 illustrates, for measurement-gap per FR and time interval in a consecutive SSB to be measured [0147]. And, set of SSBs arranged in variable time interval [0058] and Fig. 4. Regarding, start time offset, disclosure, SSB measurement timing config window can vary based on cell [0071]. Measures different frequencies configured for the user terminal in time interval SSB measurement time config and the measurement-gap [0072-0073]. This is identical as a set of measurement interval configuration and the configurations can be different;
Fig. 6 illustrates transmission period, a start time of measurement interval, a duration of interval, a timing advance in SCS 240/480 KHz, illustrates Fig. 9 [0098]-[0099]. User terminal uses SSB (or CSI-RS) based measurement and includes RSRP, RSRQ and SINR to identify serving cell indicator [0067]. A user terminal perform measurement within a single transmission period and uses multiple reception beams is N times the measurement period T for a single reception beam. Id. Based on measurement scaling factor and RSRP identify measurement on serving and neighboring cell [0128-0131]; the user terminal 20 may perform an operation to autonomously advance the start timing of the measurement gap [0098], [0100-0103];
In FIG. 9 , the user terminal 20 is provided with a function (Measurement gap timing advance) that enables the user terminal 20 to use SSB for measurement without leakage by shifting the start timing of the measurement gap forward [0094].
Fig. 5, a serving cell is measured RLM measurement and user terminal can perform both SSB and CSI-RS based measurement [0065-0066]);
Yet, Didn’t disclose, ‘at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different;’
And Ye SI in the relevant art discloses, measurement interval configuration includes first and second measurement configuration that are different [0006-0009] and disclosure Claim 1.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yokokawa and to include with that of Ye SI to come up with the claim invention;
Yokokawa motive to perform the serving/neighboring cell measurement [0126] based on the measurement configuration SMTC window [0068] in a periodicity [0078]. And, complemented by Ye SI indicated as different measurement configuration.
Someone would recognize the disclosure of Yokokawa, measurement interval configuration interval at FR1, FR2, and FR3. FIG. 17 shows an example of Rx beam sweeping using four reception beams in different frequency band and timing of measurement in frequency bands can overlap in time length, period and in time resources and terminal perform measurement of cells [0128-0133]. Measurement configuration interval includes interval/gapConfig for FR1, FR2 and FR3 that operates in different frequency band. Partly time and length periodicity overlap to perform in multiple cell location. Further, identify measurement interval configuration as disclosed Ye SI are different and operate in different frequency layers. Also, specifically mentioned, the first/second measurement-gap config preset time interval is an offset between the start time measurement-gap and the reception time of signaling [0137, 0143].
Someone would be motivated to derive claim invention that measurement configuration interval are different. This would provide enhance capability of terminal perform beamforming measurement apply MIMO or Rx beams sweeping link quality measurement in neighboring cells. Synchronized terminal and BS both perform communication by a Carrier Aggregation) in a SCell and a PCell [0047].
Ye SI discloses, ‘wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same’ (Disclosure include: start time measurement gap configuration and start time offset [0135-0146]. And, first measurement gap configuration is different from the second measurement configuration [0006-0011]; other configuration parameters: a gap length, a gap timing advance, a gap length scaling factor, a preset time interval and a pattern identifier are the same for the first and the second measurement configurations [0135-0146]).
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yokokawa and to include with that of Ye SI to come up with the claim invention;
Motive would be identical as disclosed first claim element as the multiple measurement gap configuration periodicity Yokokawa discloses start time of measurement gap configuration and measurement period occurs periodically with beam sweeping. In single measurement period using multiple reception beams is N times the measurement period T with scaling factor Fig. 9 and [0094, 0128]. And, didn’t disclose the set of measurement gap configurations. Someone would be motivated to include multiple configurations as part of periodicity.
This would solve: measurement gap length in a configurations matches the configuration of a positioning signal configuration, which effectively resolves the enablement of PRS measurement to be performed Ye SI [0084].
Yokokawa discloses, ‘And performing, by the terminal device, the neighboring cell measurement in a measurement gap configured by at least one set of measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations’ (The UE receives the measurement gap configuration per FR1/FR2/FR3. And, perform measurement in FR3 neighboring cell [0124, 0130, 0187-0189]; measurement occurs periodically [0128-0129]),
And didn’t disclose, ‘the method further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, first signaling sent by the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for
Ye SI in the relevant art discloses, receive measurement gap configuration and signaling [0133-0134], time interval measurement configuration indicated by signaling is a DCI/MAC CE [0153, 0155] and activated by MAC CE signaling [0101, 0155]. Motive to combine would be identical to the first claim element as this claim element includes only the activation steps as part of measurement-gap configuration. In addition, Yokokawa discloses measurement-gap configuration and periodicity [0078, 0128]. Perform SSB/CSI-RS measurement and determine whether or not a component carrier newly added when performing carrier aggregation based on the configuration [0063-0065, 0068]. And, provide an important motive to use scaling factor for each measurement period [0128]. Ye SI further includes scaling factor to the measurement-gap configuration [0057]. This would lower delay, increase high data transmission rate and perform the measurement more effectively. Motive would be identical as part of the measurement configuration periodicity. Yokokawa includes the configuration measurement-gap [0068] complemented by Ye SI, measurement-gap-config-IE [0086-0090].
Ye SI discloses, ‘and in response to the deactivation of the one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two measurement gap configuration, determining measurement gap configuration, other than the deactivated one or more measurement gap configurations, as a measurement gap configuration’ (preset time interval includes preset time-in-ms, measurement gap configuration, identifier, TA, length/scaling [0147, 0150]; Regarding the determination of currently activate, disclosure, the preset time interval of the configuration further being activated by MAC CE, and one of the activated parts being indicated by DCI signaling that is remaining part are deactivated [0152-0155]; the measurement gap configuration2 scaling is performed based on the first configuration, length and the period [0211]; indicate a first signaling to indicate the terminal to perform measurement of the first configuration or the second configuration, disclosure claim 5; after performing the measurement based on the measurement indicate a second signaling to stop performing signal measurement, disclosure claim 6; after the obtaining the measurement gap configuration information or before the performing signal measurement within the measurement gap, receiving trigger signaling, to trigger an on-demand measurement gap; and on-demand measurement gap, performing signal measurement by using the on-demand measurement gap, disclosure claim 7.),
And to include, ‘for performing the neighboring cell measurement’ (Disclosed above, Yokokawa [0124, 0130, 0187-0189); Motive would be identical as disclosed above.
Yokokawa discloses, ‘wherein the first signaling is a (the configuration includes SMTC window duration and measurement gap configuration [0068] in the periodicity [0078] in Fig. 7 includes cells in Fig. 6. And, receives the signaling from the BS by PDCCH [0156].
And didn’t disclose, ‘and wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell, and a neighboring cell of the terminal device is an NTN cell; or both the serving cell and the neighboring cell of the terminal device are NTN cells’.
Mouna-Hajir in the relevant art discloses, in Fig. 3, a wireless communication system RAN and the user terminal support both terrestrial and non-terrestrial network [0081]. A WTRU connect terrestrially to a DN via NTN RAN includes airborne or space borne STA i.e. satellite that communicates with a NTN-remote radio in Fig. 2. The WTRU communication initiates from the terrestrial or a non-terrestrial node [0081]. The WTRU may be preconfigured with a set of measurement configurations. The deactivation initiated autonomously by the WTRU, when enters to the network (e.g., satellite or terrestrial) dynamically uses DCI/MAC CE [0093] and autonomously activate/deactivate the measurement-configuration to perform measurement includes parameters gap [0085].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Yokokawa and to include with that of Mouna-Hajir to come up with the claim invention;
Yokokawa motive to improve the coverage to perform communication service in the coverage in a 5G and combination of a plurality of systems [0218]. Uses scaling factor in the measurement period [0128], perform switching within the measurement period [0129-0130]. The motive of Yokokawa to extend the coverage complemented by Mouna-Hajir by using the NTN to reinforce the 5G service coverage, reliability, availability and the scalability for 5G deployments [0077].
Yokokawa includes measurement gap timing advance [0092], plurality of time length (0.25ms and 0.125ms) for measurement gap timing advance [0013, 0095-0098] for terrestrial network within a SMTC window [0075]. And preset time interval/offset, TTI and SMTC window interval within the measurement configuration [0069, 0072-0074, 0141]. And config includes RS time difference and gap-TA [0061].
Yokokawa, measurement-gap configuration [0068], timing config [0069], perform measurement multiple cells Fig. 6 and per-FR1/FR2/FR3 [0076, 0083, 0124]. And, motive autonomously advance timing of the measurement-gap [0098].
Propagation delay are more significant to NTN. Someone would include the NTN to 5G core network as part of extending the network coverage capitalize the interoperability capability and extend the network operability from the terrestrial to Non-terrestrial and vice versa. Due to propagation delay or interruption in a serving NTN, the terminal can switch between the TN-NTN cell to extend the network coverage. Mouna-Hajir can extends the motive of autonomously advance time by autonomous activate/deactivate cell measurement configuration [0106]. This would reduce latency and increase throughput.
Regarding Claim 8,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above and network device instead of terminal, ‘A method for neighboring cell measurement, comprising: sending, by a network device, at least two sets of measurement gap configurations to a terminal device (Disclosure Yokokawa Fig. 5, disclosure Claim 3),
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator, and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different, wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same, sending, by the network device, first signaling to the terminal network device, wherein the first signaling is used for
wherein in response to the deactivation of the one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two measurement gap configuration, a currently activated measurement gap configuration, other than the deactivated one or more measurement gap configurations, is determined as a measurement gap configuration for performing the neighboring cell measurement,
wherein the first signaling or the second signaling is a
and wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell, and a neighboring cell of the terminal device is an NTN cell; or both the serving cell and the neighboring cell of the terminal device are NTN cells..’
Regarding Claim 13,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A terminal device, comprising: a transceiver, configured to receive at least two sets of measurement gap configurations sent by a network device, wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator, and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different; and a processor, configured to perform the neighboring cell measurement in a measurement gap configured by at least one set of measurement gap configurations of the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations, wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive first signaling sent by the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for
and in response to the deactivation of the one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two measurement gap configurations, determine[[take]] a currently activated measurement gap configuration, other than the deactivated one or more measurement gap configurations,
as a measurement gap configuration for performing the neighboring cell measurement; wherein the first signaling is
and wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell, and a neighboring cell of the terminal device is an NTN cell; or both the serving cell and the neighboring cell of the terminal device are NTN cells.’ (Transceiver/terminal, Yokokawa Fig. 20 to 21 )
Regarding Claim 20,
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A network device, suitable to perform the method of claim 8, the network device comprising: a transceiver, configured to send at least two sets of measurement gap configurations to a terminal device,’ (Disclosure Yokokawa Fig. 19 and 21),
Identical to part of claim 1 and 8 disclosed above, ‘wherein each set of measurement gap configurations is used for configuring a measurement gap for the terminal device to perform neighboring cell measurement and comprises at least one of the following parameters: a period of the measurement gap configured using each set of measurement gap configuration, a starting time offset of the measurement gap in one period, a duration of the measurement gap, a timing advance of the measurement gap, or a reference serving cell indicator, and configuration parameters comprised in any two sets of measurement gap configurations in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are at least partially different, wherein starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are different; and other configuration parameters in addition to the starting time offsets in the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are the same, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: send first signaling to the network device, wherein the first signaling is used for
wherein in response to the deactivation of the one or more measurement gap configurations of the at least two measurement gap configuration, a currently activated measurement gap configuration, other than the deactivated one or more measurement gap configurations, is determined as a measurement gap configuration for performing the neighboring cell measurement,
wherein the first signaling is a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH),
and wherein a serving cell of the terminal device is a terrestrial network cell, and a neighboring cell of the terminal device is an NTN cell; or both the serving cell and the neighboring cell of the terminal device are NTN cells.’
Regarding Claim 22,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above), ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’ (Yokokawa discloses measurement gap configuration through RRC signaling [0099, 0112]).
Regarding Claim 26,
‘The terminal device of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’
Regarding Claim 28,
‘The method of claim 8’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’
Regarding Claim 30,
‘The network device of claim 20’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 22 disclosed above, ‘wherein the at least two sets of measurement gap configurations are configured through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant Arguments the trigger signaling and activation/deactivation, Examiner respectfully request the applicant to see the relevant disclosures of “Yokokawa”, “Ye SI”, and “Mouna-Hajir” examiner present above to this OA from page 4 to 12. Also, extend the coverage between the terrestrial and non-terrestrial network.
Claim subject matter and claim invention includes the claim limitations: measurement-gap-config [Wingdings font/0xE0] set of measurements-gap-config [Wingdings font/0xE0]
performed neighboring cell measurement [Wingdings font/0xE0] at least one of the parameters:
period of the measurement gap config, starting time offset, a duration, TA [0092], ref-serving cell indicator and configuration parameter of two sets of measurement-gap-config includes SSB-based measurement configuration-SMTC [0068-0071] in Fig. 5 includes periodicity [0078], disclosed by Yokokawa in Fig. 6 to 8. Autonomous advance the start timing of the measurement gap by the RF-retuning time for the configured measurement-gap [0098] includes parameters [0102]. Important scaling factor [0128]
Examiner presented prior art, Yokokawa discloses regarding the two sets of measurement configuration includes at least partially different, disclosure claim 1 and complements the scaling factor in the measurement configuration.
Yokokawa motive to extend the coverage of 5G communication service that is complemented by Mouna-Hajir uses the non-terrestrial networks to reinforce 5G service reliability, ensure service availability and provide scalability for 5G deployments [0077] and autonomously TA measurement gap configuration of Yokokawa complemented by Mouna-Hajir deactivate autonomously the measurement-gap-config [0106, 0107].
Examiner thanks to applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
3GPP TR-38.821 V16.0.0 2019-12; 3GPP; Tech Spec RAN; Solutions for NR to support non-terrestrial networks Rel-16. Service continuity between the non-terrestrial/terrestrial network satellite access, page-31. Yokokawa includes NR 5G.
Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA); Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 36.331 version 14.14.0 Release 14); Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (Year: 2020) Measurement-IE: measurement config, measurement-gap config parameters: gap-offset, measurement-object, cell-indexpage-487 to 500 relevant to the prior art presented Yokokawa.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466