DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claims 1-31, in general, the claims are replete with terms which lack antecedent basis. Terms must be properly introduced before they are referenced. Applicants’ cooperation is requested in ensuring all terms have antecedent basis.
In re claims 1 and 17, the claims recite, inter alia, “gas becomes partially saturated with the liquid”. Both the gas and the liquid are the materials worked upon by the structure being claimed. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2115, which recites, inter alia, “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.”. Additionally, applicant is directed to MPEP 2173.05(p), which recites, inter alia, “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph”. Here, the gas and the liquid are not positively recited elements of the system, but rather materials worked upon by the system in its intended use. Therefore, the recitation quoted above is indefinite because it is not clear when infringement occurs. The limitation of “a gas is compressed in the compression vessel…” in claim 17 is also unclear for similar reasoning.
In re claims 3, 10, 12, 14, 22, 25, 26, 27, and 29, these claims also recite methods within the system claim and are indefinite for similar reasons discussed in the preceding paragraph.
In re claim 1, “the liquid” and “the stored gas” lack antecedent basis (LAB).
In re claims 2, 8, 18, 23, “the high-pressure gas” LAB.
In re claim 3, “the storage pressure” and “the gas pressure” LAB.
In re claim 7, “the gas” LAB.
In re claim 11, “sump tank” is unclear. Is this the same sump tank of claim 1 or a new one?
In re claim 12, “the sump tank” is unclear because it is not clear if this is the one form claim 11 or claim 1.
In re claim 17, “the liquid” LAB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11-15, 17-19, 22-23, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fjalestad (2012/0130549).
In re claim(s) 1, Fjalestad discloses a high-pressure gas storage system (fig.1) comprising:
a storage vessel (1);
a liquid sump tank (3); and
a separation system (21, para.41),
wherein the pressure in the storage vessel is controlled by partially filling or draining the storage vessel with the liquid (has all the structure required to meet the claim, and in fact functions as claimed, see paras. 22 and 31-39),
wherein the stored gas becomes partially saturated with the liquid (not germane to patentability, regardless Fjelstad inherently functions as claimed), and
wherein the separation system reduces the saturation (para.41, a drier inherently reduces saturation).
In re claim(s) 17, Fjalestad discloses a high-pressure gas compression system (fig.1) comprising:
a storage vessel (1);
a compression vessel (2);
a liquid sump tank (3); and
a separation system (21, para.41),
wherein a gas is compressed in the compression vessel by partially filling the compression vessel with the liquid (has all the structure required to meet the claim, and in fact functions as claimed, see paras. 22 and 31-39),
wherein the compressed gas is transferred from the compression vessel to the storage vessel, gas pressure in the storage vessel being controlled by partially filling or draining the storage vessel with the liquid (has all the structure required to meet the claim, and in fact functions as claimed, see paras. 22 and 31-39),
wherein the compressed gas becomes partially saturated with the liquid (not germane to patentability, regardless Fjelstad inherently functions as claimed), and
wherein the separation system reduces the saturation (para.41, a drier inherently reduces saturation).
In re claim(s) 2 and 18, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, where the high-pressure gas is hydrogen (para.22).
In re claim(s) 3, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, where the storage pressure maintains the gas pressure above 750 bar absolute (paras.22 and 26).
In re claim(s) 4 and 19, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, where the liquid includes water (para.22).
In re claim(s) 7 and 22, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, where the gas in the storage vessel/compression vessel becomes saturated above 75% with the liquid (Fjalestad has all of the structure required to meet the claim).
In re claim(s) 8 and 23, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, where the liquid saturation of the high-pressure gas is removed by the separation system (Fjalestad has all of the strucutrre required to meet the claim, i.e. a drier, see para.41).
In re claim(s) 11 and 26, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, where the liquid when not in the storage vessel is held in sump tank (para.22).
In re claim(s) 12 and 27, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 11/26, where the sump tank is covered with an inert gas blanket (this limitation is unclear, an inert gas blanketing system is not positively recited, but rather claimed as a function of the system in its intended use. Limitations directed to the material worked upon by a structure being claimed is not germane to the patentability of the structure, see MPEP 2115).
In re claim(s) 13 and 28, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 12/27, where the inert blanket gas has a nitrogen concentration of over 95% purity (this limitation is unclear, an inert gas blanketing system is not positively recited, but rather claimed as a function of the system in its intended use. Limitations directed to the material worked upon by a structure being claimed is not germane to the patentability of the structure, see MPEP 2115).
In re claim(s) 14 and 29, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 12, where the sump tank is maintained at an overpressure (paras. 26, 32, 35).
In re claim(s) 15 and 30, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 14, where the sump tank over pressure is at least 1 bar gauge (para. 26, “pressure values for the … buffer tank… are typically… 1-30 bar”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjalestad.
In re claim(s) 5-6 and 20-21, while Fjalestad discloses the use of water, it fails to explieclty recite the specific purity level of the water. The Excmainer takes Official notice that these purity levels of water are well known.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to select type II or III water, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07
Claim(s) 9-10 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjalestad in view of Vanzandt (2016/0001215).
In re claim(s) 9-10 and 24-25, Fjalestad fails to explicitly recite the specific type of drier used.
Vanzandt teaches another hydorgen gas storage system having discloses the system of Claim 8/23, where the separation system is a desiccant system, wherein the desiccant system is regenerated using pressure swing adsorption technology (para.8, dryer 150, as described, is inherently a desiccant system despite the lack of the term, i.e. PSA required a desiccant).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Vanzandt in Fjalestad for the purpose of selecting a drier that allows for continuous drying.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjalestad in view of Prakash (NPL – Slide Deck entitled “Low Cost Hydrogen Storage at 875 Bar Using Steel Liner and Steel Wire Wrap).
In re claim(s) 16, Fjalestad discloses the system of Claim 1, however, it faisl to explicitly recite the construction of the vessel.
Prakash discloses a hydrogen storage vessel where the storage vessel is composed of SA372 Gr J CL 70XXX material (first bullet point on slide 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Prakash in Fjalestad for the purpose of low cost of construction of the vessel. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to make the vessel of a specific material, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjalestad in view of Adler (9,162,410).
In re claim(s) 31, Fjalestad fails to explicitly disclose but Adler teaches a hydrogen storage system comprising a hybrid compression system (V1) with a low-pressure hydrogen gas compressor is configured to compress the gas to an intermediate pressure, and wherein the compression vessel is configured to compress the gas from the intermediate pressure to a high-pressure value (Fjalestad once modified).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Adler in Fjalestad for the purpose of using less expensive separation devices thereby reducing cost and increasing profit as taught by Adler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753