DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This action is responsive to the election filed 04/15/2026. Claims 1-4, 7-12 and 15-20 have been elected with claims 5-6 and 13-14 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 10-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, lines 9-23 describe opening and closing of first-fourth connection ports in response to different states of the pump, however it is unclear if the claim is referring to the first-fourth connection ports of the air distribution valve device or the first-fourth connection ports of the solenoid valve devices. Fig 9A, 9B, 10A and 10B as well as par 0064-0068 and claim 11 suggest the claim is referring to the opening and closing of the ports of the air distribution valve device however claim 2 ln 7-8 state that the first and second switches of the solenoid valve device are configured to perform the opening and closing, suggesting the claim is referring to the first-fourth connection ports of the solenoid valve devices.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the claims describe different responses to “a suspended state of the air pump and to an adjustment of an internal pressure in one or both of the first chamber and the second chamber” and to “a suspended state of the air pump and to a decompression of the first chamber and of the second chamber.” However, “decompression of the first chamber and of the second chamber” is seen to fall within the scope of “an adjustment of an internal pressure in one or both of the first chamber and the second chamber.” Further clarification is needed to differentiate the responses.
Regarding claim 10, the claim introduces a first chamber of the modular devices, and a second chamber of the modular devices. However, further clarification is need to differentiate the components of the modular devices from the components of the distribution valve device throughout the claim. See ln 7, 9 and 10 “the first chamber”, ln 12-13 “the first connection port” and “the second connection port”, ln 15-16, 17 and 19 “the second chamber”, ln 20-21 “the third connection port” and “the fourth connection port”.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the claims call to the modular device of claim 15 having the first-fourth connection ports operating four ai bags/being coupled to the inflatable device. However, claim 15 discloses the second and fourth connection ports as coupling to “an environing air outside the modular device”. It is unclear how the ports couple to both the inflatable device and an environing air. It is suggested to amend claim 15 to call to the ports being capable of coupling to and environing air or another device.
Any claims listed as rejected but not addressed are rejected by dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonnefin (US 2007/0249977 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bonnefin discloses an air pump system comprising: a pump (“pump” fig 6) including a suction port (see “inlet” Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) and a supply port (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) for a gas; a main valve device (V1, V2, V3 fig 6) to transfer the gas to an inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6); and a distribution valve device (see first and second portions in Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) connected between the pump and the main valve device, wherein the distribution valve device includes: a first portion (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) forming a first chamber (internal volume of V5 in fig 6), wherein the first portion includes a first free port (line connecting V5 and the supply port in fig 6) to fluidly couple the first chamber with the supply port of the pump, a first connection port (line connecting V5 and V3 in fig 6) to fluidly couple the first chamber with the main valve device, a second connection port (line connecting V5 and C5/48 in fig 6) to fluidly couple the first chamber with an environing air outside the distribution valve device (par 0041 discloses 48 as a conduit for intaking/outleting air), and a first valve switch (V5 fig 6) configured to selectively open or close the first connection port and to selectively open or close the second connection port (par 0041); and a second portion (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) forming a second chamber (internal volume of V4 in fig 6), wherein the second portion includes a second free port (line connecting V4 and the inlet port in fig 6) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the suction port of the pump, a third connection port (line connecting V5 and V3 in fig 6) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the main valve device, a fourth connection port (line connecting V5 and C5/48 in fig 6) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the environing air (par 0041 discloses 48 as a conduit for intaking/outleting air), and a second valve switch (V4 fig 6) configured to selectively open or close the third connection port and to selectively open or close the fourth connection port (par 0041).
Bonnefin annotated fig 6
Regarding claim 15, Bonnefin discloses a modular device for an air pump system, comprising: a first portion forming a first chamber (V5/V1 fig 6), wherein the first portion includes a first free port (line connecting V5 and the supply port in fig 6 or line connecting V1 to V3 in fig 6) to fluidly couple the first chamber with a gas supply device (“pump” fig 6, connected to V5), a first connection port (line connecting V5 and V3 in fig 6 or line connecting V1 to C1) to fluidly couple the first chamber with a gas consumption device (C1-C4 fig 6), a second connection port (line connecting V5 and C5/48 in fig 6 or line connecting V1 to C2) to fluidly couple the first chamber with an environing air outside the modular device (#48/C5 fig 6, par 0041), and a first valve switch (V5 or V1 fig 6) configured to selectively open or close the first connection port and selectively open or close the second connection port (par 0041); and a second portion forming a second chamber (V4 or V2 fig 6), wherein the second portion includes a second free port (line connecting V4 and the inlet port in fig 6 or line connecting V2 to V3 in fig 6) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the gas supply device (“pump” fig 6, connected to V4), a third connection port (line connecting V4 and V3 in fig 6 or line connecting V2 to C3) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the gas consumption device (C1-C4 fig 6), a fourth connection port (line connecting V5 and C5/48 in fig 6 or line connecting V2 to C4) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the environing air (#48/C5 fig 6, par 0041), a second valve switch (V4 or V2 fig 6) configured to selectively open or close the third connection port and selectively open or close the fourth connection port (par 0041).
Regarding claim 16, Bonnefin discloses the device of claim 15. Bonnefin further discloses the modular device is configured to form a distribution valve device (V4 and V5 fig 6) that is coupled between a pump (“pump” fig 6) as the gas supply device, and a main valve device (V1 and V2 fig 6) as the gas consumption device to supply an inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6).
Regarding claim 17, Bonnefin discloses the device of claim 15. Bonnefin further discloses the modular device is configured to form a main valve device (V1 and V2 fig 6) that is coupled between a distribution valve device (V4 and V5 fig 6) as the gas supply device and an inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6) as the gas consumption device, and wherein the modular device is configured to operate four airbags (C1-C4 fig 4, 6) of the inflatable device via the first connection port, the second connection port, the third connection port and the fourth connection port, respectively (see fig 6).
Regarding claim 18, Bonnefin discloses a main valve (fig 6) device to operate an inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6), comprising a plurality of modular devices (V1/V2 and V4/V5 fig 6) including the modular device according to claim 17 (see claim 17 above), wherein the first connection port, the second connection port, the third connection port and the fourth connection port of each of the modular devices are configured to be fluidly coupled to the inflatable device (see connection to C1-C4 fig 6).
Regarding claim 19, Bonnefin discloses the device of claim 8. Bonnefin further discloses the main valve device is further configured to be coupled between a distribution valve device (V4/V5 fig 6) and the inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6), and wherein the first free port and the second free port of each of the modular devices are configured to be fluidly coupled to the distribution device (see fig 6 connected through V3).
Regarding claim 20, Bonnefin discloses the device of claim 18. Bonnefin further discloses the plurality of modular devices have an identical structure (see V1/V2 having same structure as V4/V5 fig 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnefin in view of Kloecker (US 2010/0042026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bonnefin discloses an air pump system for an air massager (fig 1/fig 6), comprising: an air pump (“pump” fig 6) including an inlet port (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) and a supply port (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below); a main valve device including valve devices (V1, V2, V3 fig 6); and an air distribution valve device (V4, V5 fig 6) connected between the air pump and the main valve device (see fig 6), wherein the air distribution valve device includes: a first portion (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) including a first free port (line connecting V5 and the supply port in fig 6) connected to the supply port of the air pump, a first connection port (line connecting V5 and V3 in fig 6) connected to the main valve device, a second connection port (line connecting V5 and C5/48 in fig 6) connected to an outside of the air distribution valve device (par 0041 discloses 48 as a conduit for intaking/outleting air), and a first switch (V5 fig 6) configured to control opening and closing the first connection port, and opening and closing the second connection port (par 0041); and a second portion (see Bonnefin annotated fig 6 below) including a second free port (line connecting V4 and the inlet port in fig 6) connected to the inlet port of the air pump, a third connection port (line connecting V5 and V3 in fig 6) connected to the main valve device, a fourth connection port (line connecting V5 and C5/48 in fig 6) connected to the outside of the air distribution valve device (par 0041 discloses 48 as a conduit for intaking/outleting air), and a second switch (V4 fig 6) configured to control opening and closing the third connection port, and opening and closing the fourth connection port (par 0041).
Bonnefin annotated fig 6
Bonnefin is silent to the main valve device including solenoid valve devices.
Kloecker teaches a similar air pump system for an air massager (abstract, fig 11) utilizing solenoid valve devices (SV-1 – SV-8 fig 11, par 0112) for communication with the air massager.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize multiple solenoid valves for the valves of the main valve device of Bonnefin as doing so allows for both outlets of the valves to be open at the same time when desired.
Regarding claim 3, modified Bonnefin discloses the system of claim 1. Bonnefin is silent to the first switch includes a first two-way valve configured to control opening and closing the first connection port and a second two-way valve configured to control opening and closing the second connection port, and wherein the second switch includes a third two-way valve configured to control opening and closing the third connection port and a fourth two-way valve configured to control opening and closing the fourth connection port.
Kloecker teaches a similar air pump system for an air massager (abstract, fig 11) utilizing first and second two way valves configured to control opening and closing of connection ports and environment/vent ports (SV-1 – SV-8 fig 11, par 0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize multiple solenoid valves for the valve switches of Bonnefin as doing so allows for both outlets of the valves to be open at the same time when desired.
Regarding claim 7, modified Bonnefin discloses an air massager comprising: the air pump system according to claim 1 (see modified Bonnefin of claim 1 above); and a massage device (C1-C4 fig 4 and 6) connected to the main valve device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Bonnefin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arthurs (US 2020/0390641 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bonnefin discloses the system of claim 1. Modified Bonnefin further discloses the solenoid valve device has a same configuration as the air distribution valve device (see V1/V2 having same structure as V4/V5 fig 6).
Bonnefin is silent to multiple solenoid valve devices with this same configuration.
Arthurs discloses a similar air massage device (abstract) with multiple valve devices (#34a-34c fig 23) for communication with the air massage components (630d/634 fig 23, par 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize multiple valve device as taught by Arthurs for the solenoid valve devices of modified Bonnefin as doing so allows the device to service more than four inflatable cells/bladders.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnefin as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Arthurs.
Regarding claim 9, Bonnefin discloses the system of claim 8. Bonnefin further discloses the main valve device includes a modular device (V1/V2 fig 6), and wherein each of the modular devices of the main valve device has a configuration identical to the distribution valve device (see V1/V2 having same structure as V4/V5 fig 6).
Bonnefin is silent to a plurality of modular device with this identical configuration.
Arthurs discloses a similar air massage device (abstract) with multiple valve devices (#34a-34c fig 23) for communication with the air massage components (630d/634 fig 23, par 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize multiple valve device as taught by Arthurs for the modular devices of the main valve device of Bonnefin as doing so allows the device to service more than four inflatable cells/bladders.
Regarding claim 10, Bonnefin discloses the system of claim 8. Bonnefin further discloses the main valve device includes a modular device (V1/V2 fig 6), wherein the modular device of the main valve device have an identical configuration (see V1/V2 having same structure as V4/V5 fig 6), and wherein each of the modular devices includes: a first portion forming a first chamber (internal volume of V1 fig 6), wherein the first portion includes: a first free port (line between V1 and V3 fig 6) to fluidly couple the first chamber with the first connection port of the distribution valve device (coupled through V3 fig 6); a first connection port (line between V1 and C1) to fluidly couple the first chamber with the inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6); a second connection port (line between V1 and C2) to fluidly couple the first chamber with the inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6); and a first valve switch (V1 fig 6) to selectively open or close the first connection port and to selectively open or close the second connection port (par 0041); and a second portion forming a second chamber (internal volume of V2 fig 6), wherein the second portion includes: a second free port (line between V2 and V3) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the second connection port of the distribution valve device (coupled through V3 fig 6); a third connection port (line between V2 and C3) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6); a fourth connection port (line between V2 and C4) to fluidly couple the second chamber with the inflatable device (C1-C4 fig 4, 6); and a second valve switch (V2 fig 6) to selectively open or close the third connection port and to selectively open or close the fourth connection port (par 0041).
Bonnefin is silent to a plurality of modular device with this identical configuration.
Arthurs discloses a similar air massage device (abstract) with multiple valve devices (#34a-34c fig 23) for communication with the air massage components (630d/634 fig 23, par 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize multiple valve device as taught by Arthurs for the modular devices of the main valve device of Bonnefin as doing so allows the device to service more than four inflatable cells/bladders.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnefin as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kloecker.
Regarding claim 12, Bonnefin discloses the system of claim 8. Bonnefin is silent to the first switch includes a first two-way valve configured to selectively open or close the first connection port, and a second two-way valve configured to selectively open or close the second connection port, and wherein the second switch includes a third two-way valve configured to selectively open or close the third connection port, and a fourth two-way valve configured to selectively open or close the fourth connection port.
Kloecker teaches a similar air pump system for an air massager (abstract, fig 11) utilizing first and second two way valves configured to control opening and closing of connection ports and environment/vent ports (SV-1 – SV-8 fig 11, par 0112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize multiple solenoid valves for the valve switches of Bonnefin as doing so allows for both outlets of the valves to be open at the same time when desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 2 and 11 call to various open and closed states of the first through fourth connection ports in response to different states of the pump. While it may have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rely on Kloecker to modify the switches of Bonnefin such that the claimed open and closed states could be achieved, absent teaching one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to configure the device to coordinate these opening and closing states in response to the various pump states claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hasty US 4013069 A discloses a modular valve setup (see fig 5)
Heaton US 20130072836 A1 discloses a liquid pump and valve set up
Yeung WO 2016120689 A1 discloses an inflatable pillow with a pump and valve arrangement
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799