DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 2, 4 and 18, in the paper of 6/12/2026, is acknowledged. Applicants' arguments filed on 6/12/2026, have been fully considered and are deemed to be persuasive to overcome some of the rejections previously applied. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-19 are still at issue and are present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of the invention of Group 1, claims 1-14, 16 and 17, to a fabric and home care composition comprising a surfactant and a protease, in the paper of 8/5/2025, is acknowledged. Applicant's election without traverse of the
following species : Species Group 1: S039E, S099R, S126A, D127E, and F128G, Species Group 2: M122L, Species Group 3: Each SEQ ID NO: 1, Species Group 4: S039E-N074D-S099R-M122L-S126A-D127E-F128G-N198A-M211Q-N212Q, Species Group 5: alpha amylase and Species Group 6: BspAmy24, in the paper of 8/5/2025, is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation in claim 1 “and optionally further comprises” is objected to on the basis that it does not add anything to the claim and its placement within the claim is awkward as to the focus of what is optional and what is not. It is noted that claim 1 is interpreted such that the recitation “wherein the subtilisin variant comprises the substitutions: N198A-M211Q-N212Q” is NOT optional.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 was previously indefinite in that it recites “wherein the positions correspond to the positions of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 or 2”, wherein claim 1 from which claim 2 depends recites that “the positions correspond to the positions of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1.” The different reference sequence in claim 2 is indefinite. Applicants correctly pointed out that claim 2 does not depend from claim 1. It is noted that while claim 2 does not depend from claim 1, the recitation remains indefinite on the basis that the reference to two different sequences as a reference is unclear and confusing. For example, None of the positions S039, S099, S126, F128 exist in SEQ ID NO:2. In the interest of advancing prosecution each of the substitution position are referenced to SEQ ID NO:1.
Appropriate correction and/or comment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 1-13, 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Babe et al. (WO 2018/118950; Published June 28, 2018; equivalent docs: US 2019/0330610; US 11,946,081) is withdrawn based upon applicants amendment of the claims and applicants arguments presented in the paper of 11/25/2025. Specifically while Babe et al. (WO 2018/118950) disclose fabric and home care compositions comprising a surfactant and a subtilisin protease variant comprising S039E, S099R, S126A, D127E, F128G and, M122L, wherein the subtilisin variant has greater than 95% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see claim 7 and supporting text), they do not teach said subtilisin protease variant comprising N198A-M211Q-N212Q.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-7, 9-13 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Souter et al. (US 11,492,571, US 2021/0122997) is withdrawn based upon applicants filing of a Declaration under 37 CFR 1.130 by Philip Frank Souter that US 11,492,571 is not by another.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by ALEKSEYEV et al. (US 20220220419, equivalent WO 2020/242858).
ALEKSEYEV et al. (US 20220220419, equivalent WO 2020/242858) disclose detergent compositions (automatic dishwashing compositions) comprising a surfactant (paragraph [0150]) and a B. gibsonii subtilisin variant comprising a N198A, M211Q, N212Q wherein the variant has greater than 95% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see claim 1 and supporting text) and has improved properties relative to the parent subtilisin. ALEKSEYEV et al. disclose these variants having additional substitutions, including S039E, S099R and S126A. ALEKSEYEV et al. disclose these variants having additional substitutions, including S039E-N074D-S099R-M122L-S126A-D127E-F128G-N198A-M211Q-N212Q (paragraph [0069]). ALEKSEYEV et al. further teach the use of these detergent compositions in fabric cleaning methods with additional components including enzymes. ALEKSEYEV et al. disclose that the subtilisin variant is derived from a parent which has greater than 60% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and has improved property such as cleaning performance in detergent and improved stability relative to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and instant SEQ ID NO:2. ALEKSEYEV et al. disclose that the composition may be used as an automatic dishwashing composition and comprising a bleaching system, such as Manganese 1,4,7-Triazacyclononane and an amylase.
Thus claim(s) 1-7, 9-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by ALEKSEYEV et al. (US 20220220419, equivalent WO 2020/242858).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-13 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No.11,492,571). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No.11,492,571) drawn to a phosphate-free automatic dishwashing cleaning composition comprising a protein comprising a protease wherein the protease has at least about 85% identity with the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, and wherein the protease comprises the amino acid substitutions S039E-N074D-S099R-S126A-D127E-F128G-N198A-M211Q-N212Q anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-7, 9-13 and 16 drawn to a fabric and home care composition comprising: a surfactant; and a protease, wherein the protease comprises a subtilisin variant having at least about 88% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the subtilisin variant comprises substitutions selected from the group consisting of N74D, T114L, M122L, N198A, M211Q, N212Q, and N242D, wherein the positions correspond to the positions of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the subtilisin variant comprises the substitutions: N198A-M211Q-N212Q.
Applicants have asked that this rejection be held in abeyance until otherwise allowable subject matter is identified.
Claims 1-7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7-20 of copending Application No. 18/065,643 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-5, 7-20 of copending Application No. 18/065,643 (reference application) drawn to a home care composition comprising a surfactant and amylase, wherein the amylase comprises a recombinant, non-naturally-occurring variant of a parent alpha-amylase, the variant alpha-amylase having at least about 80% identity to SEQ ID NO: 5 and having amino acid substitutions at positions 125, 415 and/or 51 with respect to SEQ ID NO:5, wherein the one or more enzymes comprises a protease, wherein the protease is a subtilisin variant comprising three, four, or five amino acid substitutions selected from the group consisting of S039E, S099R, S126A, D127E, and F128G and further comprises one or more additional substitutions selected from the group consisting of N74D, T114L, M122L, N198A, N198G, M211E, M21IQ, N212Q, and N242D, and wherein the variant has at least 80% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6 anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 19 drawn to a fabric and home care composition comprising: a surfactant; and a protease, wherein the protease comprises a subtilisin variant having at least about 88% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the subtilisin variant comprises .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicants have asked that this rejection be held in abeyance until otherwise allowable subject matter is identified.
Claims 1-7, 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US Patent No. 12,595,441. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-17 of US Patent No. 12,595,441. drawn to an automatic dishwashing composition comprising a surfactant and a protease, wherein the automatic dishwashing composition is in the form of a water-soluble unit-dose pouch comprising a compartment, wherein the compartment comprises both a powder component and a gel component, wherein the protease comprises a subtilisin variant that comprises: (i) a mutation at position 122; and (ii) one or more mutations at positions 126, 127, 128, 211 and 212, with reference to SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the variant has at least about 80% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the variant comprises (i) the mutation at position M122L; and (ii) one or more mutations at positions 126, 127, 128, 211 and 212 anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-7, 9-13, drawn to a fabric and home care composition comprising: a surfactant; and a protease, wherein the protease comprises a subtilisin variant having at least about 88% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the subtilisin variant comprises three, four, or five amino acid substitutions selected from the group consisting of S039E, S099R, S126A, D127E, and F128G and further comprises one or more additional substitutions selected from the group consisting of N74D, T114L, M122L, N198A, M211Q, N212Q, and N242D, wherein the positions correspond to the positions of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the subtilisin variant comprises the substitutions: N198A-M211Q-N212Q.
Applicants have asked that this rejection be held in abeyance until otherwise allowable subject matter is identified.
Claims 1-7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-13 of copending Application No. 18/065,641 (reference application, now allowed). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-13 of copending Application No. 18/065,641 (reference application, now allowed) drawn to home care composition comprising a surfactant and amylase, wherein the amylase comprises a recombinant, non-naturally-occurring variant of a parent alpha- amylase, the variant alpha-amylase comprising an amino acid sequence having at least about 80% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5 and having amino acid substitutions at positions T51V and S125R with respect to SEQ ID NO: 5; further comprising a protease, wherein the protease is a subtilisin variant comprising three, four, or five amino acid substitutions selected from the group consisting of S039E, S099R, S126A, D127E, and F128G and further comprises one or more additional substitutions selected from the group consisting of N74D, T114L, M122L, N198A, N198G, M211E, M211Q, N212Q, and N242D, wherein amino acid numbering is relative to SEQ ID NO: 6, and wherein the variant comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 80% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6 anticipate/make obvious instant claims 1-7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 19, drawn to a fabric and home care composition comprising: a surfactant; and a protease, wherein the protease comprises a subtilisin variant having at least about 88% identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the subtilisin variant comprises three, four, or five amino acid substitutions selected from the group consisting of S039E, S099R, S126A, D127E, and F128G and further comprises one or more additional substitutions selected from the group consisting of N74D, T114L, M122L, N198A, M211Q, N212Q, and N242D, wherein the positions correspond to the positions of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, and wherein the subtilisin variant comprises the substitutions: N198A-M211Q-N212Q.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicants have asked that this rejection be held in abeyance until otherwise allowable subject matter is identified.
Remarks
No claim is allowed.
rgh
8/11/2026
/RICHARD G HUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652