Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padera (U.S. Pub. No. 20230413463) in view of Pedersen (U.S. Pub. No. 20180339850).
With respect to claim 13, Padera discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3, enclosure 302), comprising: a bottom surface (Fig. 3, bottom surface that comprises latch receptacle 304, 306); a first swivel anchor (Fig. 1, latch 104) rotatably and directly connected to the bottom surface to extend therefrom and to rotate about a first axis (Figs. 4A-4B and 6A-7 show latch 104 extends through latch receptacle 304 and is rotatably, directly connected to the bottom surface of enclosure 302 to rotate about a first axis, see annotate Fig. 7 below), a second swivel anchor (Fig. 1, latch 106) rotatably and directly connected to the bottom surface to extend therefrom and to rotate about a second axis (latch 106 extends through latch receptacle 306 and is rotatably, directly connected to the bottom surface of enclosure 302 to rotate about a second axis) that is arranged parallel and with distance to the first axis (Figs. 1-3 show the first axis would be parallel to the second axis); and a hooking-in element or a receptacle element (Fig. 3, electrical receptacle 310) directly connected to the bottom surface to extend therefrom (Fig. 3, electrical receptacle 310 extends upwards from the bottom surface of enclosure 302 to receive upwardly-extending electrical connector 110 of enclosure 102 of Fig. 1) that is arranged with distance to the first swivel anchor (104) and the second swivel anchor (106); wherein the first swivel anchor (104) comprises a first locking member (Fig. 4A-4B, widest portion 404) and the second swivel anchor (106) comprises a second locking member (widest portion 404), wherein the first and second locking members each comprise two blades that project radially from a hub (left and right projecting portions of widest part 404 project radially outward from a central column portion of latches 104, 106).
Annotated Fig. 7
Padera fails to disclose wherein the blades of the first locking member are oriented transversely to the blades of the second locking member when the first and second locking members are in a locking position.
Pedersen discloses a first locking member (Fig. 1, first coupler 30) including blades (holding component 32) and a second locking member (Paragraph 0013, “the system 20 may include a coupler 30 for each set of receivers 22 and 24 shown” therefore a second coupler 30 is included on the receivers of corner 40) including blades (holding component 32), wherein blades of the first locking member are oriented transversely to blades of the second locking member when the first and second locking members are in a locking position (Figs. 1-2 shows holding component 32 of the first coupler 30 is oriented perpendicular to the elongated hole 52 of receiver 22 in a locked position along the direction indicated by arrow 36a, 36b in order to provide resistant to movement in the 36a-36b direction. Paragraph 0017 describes the second coupler 30 engages the receiver 22 of corner 40, which is oriented 90 degrees from the orientation of the first coupler/receiver at corner 20 in order to provide resistance to movement in the 36c-36d direction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Padera such that the latch receptacles and projection portions of the latches are oriented 90 degrees to each other, such as taught by Pedersen, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide greater resistance to movement in multiple directions (Pedersen, Paragraph 0017) and to further prevent accidental or unwanted unlocking/disconnection of the upper and lower enclosures.
With respect to claim 14, Padera in view of Pedersen discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Padera) further discloses wherein the first and second swivel anchors (latches 104, 106) and the hooking-in element or receptacle element (electrical receptacle 310) are arranged in a triangle (see annotated Fig. 3 below, latches 104, 106 are located within latch receptacles 304, 306 which form a triangle with electrical receptacle 310).
Annotated Fig. 3
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 3-7, 10-11, 16, and 19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding the amended claim 17, the closest prior art is Okada (U.S. Pat. No. 4186976) and Huang (U.S. Pat. No. 6741460). Okada discloses limitation of claim 17, except the receptacle element comprising a receptacle slot having an open end that is oriented away from an imaginary line extending between the first and second swivel anchor couplings. While Okada does disclose a receptacle element (Figs. 3 and 7, mounting aperture 3) having a receptacle slot (insertion-removal holes 5 and 6), Okada fails to disclose the slot has an open end. Huang discloses a raised retaining unit 32 having a slot 321 with an open end. However, the open end of slot 321 functions to receive a mounting post 28 with top and bottom annular flanges that are wider than the slot. The retaining unit 32 of Huang must be raised away from the flat panel 26 in order to receive the mounting post 28. However, it would not be obvious to modify any portion of the insertion-removal holes 5/6 to have an open end since the head part 18 already fits into hole 5 and is slid into the narrow hole 6 for securing the tabletop to the desk body. Further, the raised unit of Huang would not allow the table to sit flush on the desk body. Based on the configuration, it would be improper hindsight to modify Okada to include these features.
Claims 3-7, 10-11, 16, and 19 are allowed for depending from claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 13-14, previously rejected over Wecke (U.S. Pat. No. 5361925), have now been rejected over Padera (U.S. Pub. No. 20230413463) in view of Pedersen (U.S. Pub. No. 20180339850) as mapped in the rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637