Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wecke (U.S. Pat. No. 5361925).
With respect to claim 1, Wecke discloses an apparatus connection device for connection of an electromedical apparatus, the apparatus connection device comprising: a first swivel anchor coupling (See modified Figs. 1 and 3 below, first locking bolt 3 with first bore 10) comprising a first swivel anchor (first locking bolt 3) rotatable around a first axis (Fig. 1 first vertical axis through first bores 10 and 4) and a first anchor socket (first bore 10), wherein the first swivel anchor (first locking bolt 3) is configured to be anchored in the first anchor socket (first bore 10); and a second swivel anchor coupling (second locking bolt 3 with second bore 10) comprising a second swivel anchor (second locking bolt 3) rotatable around a second axis (second vertical axis through second bores 10 and 4) and a second anchor socket (second bore 10), wherein the second swivel anchor (second locking bolt) is configured to be anchored in the second anchor socket (second bore 10); wherein the first axis (first vertical axis) and the second axis (second vertical axis) are arranged parallel and with distance to one another, wherein the first swivel anchor (first locking bolt 3) comprises a first locking member (blade 9 of first locking bolt 3) and the second swivel anchor (second locking bolt 3) comprises a second locking member (blade 9 of second locking bolt 3), wherein the first and second locking members (first and second locking bolts 3) each comprise two blades (blade 9 has left and right wing-like portions) that project radially from a hub (shank 7a): and wherein the blades (left and right wing-like portions) of the first locking member (first locking bolt 3) are oriented transversely to the blades (left and right wing-like portions) of the second locking member (second locking bolt 3) when first and second locking members are in a locking position (Fig. 2 shows first and second bore holes are oriented transversely to each other, Col. 3, lines 25-27, “each locking bolt 3 is slightly turned, for example by 90 degrees, so that the blades 9 are moved away from the radial slots 11” therefore the wing-like portions of first and second locking bolts 3 are oriented transversely of each other).
Modified Figs. 1 and 3
With respect to claim 2, Wecke further discloses a mounting device (Fig. 1, mount 18) that is arranged with distance to the first swivel anchor coupling (first locking bolt 3 with first bore 10) and the second swivel anchor coupling (second locking bolt 3 with second bore 10).
With respect to claim 4, Wecke further discloses wherein the first and second swivel anchors (first and second locking bolts 3) are configured to be rotated between a locking position and a release position (Col. 3, lines 25-27, “each locking bolt 3 is slightly turned, for example by 90 degrees, so that the blades 9 are moved away from the radial slots 11” in a locking position. When blades 9 are aligned with slots 11, they are in an release position).
With respect to claim 5, Wecke further discloses wherein the first and second swivel anchors (first and second locking bolts 3) are configured to rotate one-quarter of one rotation to shift between the locking position and the release position thereof (Col. 3, lines 25-27, “each locking bolt 3 is slightly turned, for example by 90 degrees, so that the blades 9 are moved away from the radial slots 11”).
With respect to claim 10, Wecke further discloses wherein the first anchor socket (first bore 10) comprises a first locking member receptacle having a first non-circular opening (slot 11 of first bore 10 is rectangular) and the second anchor socket (second bore 10) comprises a second locking member receptacle having a second non-circular opening (slot 11 of second bore 10 is rectangular).
With respect to claim 11, Wecke further discloses wherein the second non-circular opening is oriented transversely relative to the first non- circular opening (Fig. 2 shows longitudinal axes of first and second bores with slots 11 are oriented transversely to each other, see modified Fig. 2 below).
Modified Fig. 2
With respect to claim 13, Wecke discloses An apparatus comprising: a bottom (Fig. 1, bottom 17) at which a first swivel anchor (first locking bolt 3) is rotatably connected about a first axis (first vertical axis through first bores 10 and 4), a second swivel anchor (second locking bolt 3) rotatably connected to the bottom (bottom 17) about a second axis (second vertical axis through first bores 10 and 4) that is arranged parallel and with distance to the first axis (first vertical axis) and a hooking-in element or a receptacle element (Fig. 1, mount 18 with hexagon socket 19 for attachment of devices) that is arranged with distance to the first swivel anchor (first locking bolt 3) and the second swivel anchor (second locking bolt 3); wherein the first swivel anchor (first locking bolt 3) comprises a first locking member (Fig. 3, blade 9) and the second swivel anchor (second locking bolt 3) comprises a second locking member (blade 9), wherein the first and second locking members (first and second locking bolt 3) each comprise two blades (blade 9 has left and right wing-like portions) that project radially from a hub (shank 7a): and wherein the blades (left and right wing-like portions) of the first locking member (first locking bolt 3) are oriented transversely to the blades (left and right wing-like portions) of the second locking member (second locking bolt 3) when first and second locking members are in a locking position (Fig. 2 shows first and second bore holes are oriented transversely to each other, Col. 3, lines 25-27, “each locking bolt 3 is slightly turned, for example by 90 degrees, so that the blades 9 are moved away from the radial slots 11” therefore the wing-like portions of first and second locking bolts 3 are oriented transversely of each other).
With respect to claim 14, Wecke further discloses wherein the first and second swivel anchors (first and second locking members) and the hooking-in element or receptacle element (mount 18) are arranged in a triangle (see modified Fig. 2 below).
Modified Fig. 1
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okada (U.S. Pat. No. 4186976).
With respect to claim 15, Okada discloses an apparatus, comprising: a top side (Fig. 2, top board supporting members 21) at which a first anchor socket (first mounting part 24) and a second anchor socket (second mounting part 24) are provided, wherein the first and second anchor sockets (first and second mounting parts 24) are arranged with distance to one another, and one of a hooking-in element (Figs. 6 and 7, head 18) and a receptacle element (mounting aperture 3) provided at the top side (top board supporting members 21) that is arranged with distance to the first anchor socket and the second anchor socket (see modified Fig. 2 below); wherein the one of the hooking-in element (head 18) and the receptacle element (mounting aperture 3) is spaced apart from an imaginary line extending between the first and second anchor sockets (first and second locking pieces are colinear with each other) such that the one of the hooking-in element (head 18) and the receptacle element (mounting aperture 3), and the first and second anchor sockets (first and second mounting parts 24) are configured to form a three-point mounting.
Modified Fig. 2
With respect to claim 17, Okada discloses an apparatus connection device for connection of an electromedical apparatus, the apparatus connection device comprising: a first swivel anchor coupling (Fig. 7, first locking piece 12 with first mounting part 24) comprising a first swivel anchor (first locking piece 12) rotatable around a first axis (Fig. 6, first horizontal axis of pin 13) and a first anchor socket (first mounting part 24), wherein the first swivel anchor (first locking piece 12) is configured to be anchored in the first anchor socket (first mounting part 24); and a second swivel anchor coupling (second locking piece 12 with second mounting part 24) comprising a second swivel anchor (second locking piece 12) rotatable around a second axis (second horizontal axis of pin 13) and a second anchor socket (second mounting part 24), wherein the second swivel anchor (second locking piece 12) is configured to be anchored in the second anchor socket (second mounting part 24); wherein the first axis (first horizontal axis) and the second axis (second horizontal axis) are arranged parallel and with distance to one another (see modified Figs. 2 below); a mounting device (Fig. 7, head 18 with mounting aperture 3 as shown in Fig. 3) that is arranged with distance to the first swivel anchor coupling and the second swivel anchor coupling (see modified Fig. 2 below); wherein the mounting device (head 18 with mounting aperture 3) comprises a hooking-in element (head 18) and a receptacle element (mounting aperture 3), wherein the receptacle element (3) comprises a receptacle slot (insertion-removal hole 5 with engagement hole 6) that is orientated away from an imaginary line extending between the first and second swivel anchor couplings (see modified Fig. 2 below) and wherein the receptacle slot comprises a section having a width that is less than a width of the hooking-in element (engagement hole 6 has a width less than head 18 as shown in Fig. 7); and wherein the mounting device (head 18 with mounting aperture 3) is spaced apart from the imaginary line extending between the first and second swivel anchor couplings (first and second locking pieces are colinear with each other) such that the mounting device (head 18 with mounting aperture 3), the first swivel anchor coupling (first locking piece 12), and the second swivel anchor coupling (second locking piece 12) form a three-point mounting.
Modified Fig. 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royon (FR 3079063) in view of Wecke (U.S. Pat. No. 5361925).
With respect to claim 1, Royon discloses an apparatus connection device comprising: a first swivel anchor coupling (Fig. 1, left assembly key 4 coupling assembly walls 7 together) comprising a first swivel anchor (left assembly key 4) rotatable around a first axis (see modified Fig. 1 below) and a first anchor socket (left hole 17), wherein the first swivel anchor (left assembly key 4) is configured to be anchored in the first anchor socket (Figs. 5-7, assembly key 4 anchored into hole 17), and a second swivel anchor coupling (Fig. 1, right assembly key 4 coupling assembly walls 7 together) comprising a second swivel anchor (right assembly key 4) rotatable around a second axis (see modified Fig. 1 below) and a second anchor socket (right hole 17), wherein the second swivel anchor (right assembly key 4) is configured to be anchored in the second anchor socket (Figs. 5-7, assembly key 4 anchored into hole 17), wherein the first axis and the second axis are arranged parallel and with distance to one another (see modified Fig. 1 below); wherein the first swivel anchor (left assembly key 4) comprises a first locking member (Fig. 4, locking portion 4c) and the second swivel anchor (right assembly key 4) comprises a second locking member (Fig. 4, locking portion 4c), wherein the first and second locking members (locking portion 4c) each comprise two blades (Fig. 4, left and right locking portions 4c) that project radially from a hub (body 4a).
Modified Fig. 1
Royon fails to disclose wherein the blades of the first locking member are oriented transversely to the blades of the second locking member when first and second locking members are in a locking position.
Wecke discloses wherein the blades (left and right wing-like portions) of a first locking member (first locking bolt 3) are oriented transversely to the blades (left and right wing-like portions) of a second locking member (second locking bolt 3) when first and second locking members are in a locking position (Fig. 2 shows first and second bore holes are oriented transversely to each other, Col. 3, lines 25-27, “each locking bolt 3 is slightly turned, for example by 90 degrees, so that the blades 9 are moved away from the radial slots 11” therefore the wing-like portions of first and second locking bolts 3 are oriented transversely of each other).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the holes of Royon to be oriented transverse such as taught by Wecke, so that the blades are oriented transversely to each other since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C).
With respect to claim 2, Royon in view of Wecke discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Royon) further discloses a mounting device (Fig. 3, female and male sockets 15 and 16) that is arranged with distance to the first swivel anchor coupling (Fig. 1, left assembly key 4 coupling assembly walls 7 together) and the second swivel anchor coupling (Fig. 1, right assembly key 4 coupling assembly walls 7 together).
With respect to claim 3, Royon in view of Wecke discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Royon) further discloses the first swivel anchor (left assembly key 4) is connected with a first swivel lever (Fig. 4, operating portion 4d) comprising a first handle (end of operating portion 4d) for manual rotation of the first swivel anchor (left assembly key 4) and wherein the second swivel anchor (right assembly key 4) is connected with a second swivel lever (Fig. 4, operating portion 4d) comprising a second handle (end of operating portion 4d) for manual rotation of the second swivel anchor (right assembly key 4).
With respect to claim 6, Royon in view of Wecke discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein the first and second swivel levers (Royon, operating portion 4d of assembly keys 4) are oriented at the respective first and second swivel anchors (Royon, left and right assembly keys 4) so that the first and second swivel levers (Royon, operating portion 4d of assembly keys 4) have sections oriented parallel or antiparallel to one another in a release position (holes 17 of Royon as modified by Wecke are oriented transversely of each other, therefore operating portions 4d of left and right assembly keys 4 would also be oriented perpendicular to each other after being turned 90 degrees to a locking position).
With respect to claim 7, Royon in view of Wecke discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein the first and second swivel levers (Royon, operating portion 4d of left and right assembly keys 4) are oriented at the respective first and second swivel anchors (Royon, left and right assembly keys 4) so that the first and second swivel levers (Royon, operating portion 4d of left and right assembly keys 4) have sections oriented parallel or antiparallel to one another in a locking position (holes 17 of Royon as modified by Wecke are oriented transversely of each other, therefore operating portions 4d of left and right assembly keys 4 would also be oriented perpendicular to each other after being turned 90 degrees to a locking position).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royon (FR 3079063) in view of Wecke (U.S. Pat. No. 5361925) in further view of Cysewski (U.S. Pat. No. 11773585).
With respect to claim 12, Royon in view of Wecke discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the mounting device comprises a hooking-in element and a receptacle element, wherein the receptacle element comprises a receptacle slot that is orientated away from an imaginary line extending between the first and second swivel anchor couplings and wherein the receptacle slot comprises a section having a width that is less than a width of the hooking-in element.
Cysewski discloses wherein a mounting device (Fig. 3, system 104 with slot case 106) comprises a hooking-in element (assembly of cover 128 with first and second latches 124 and 126) and a receptacle element (slot case 106) wherein the receptacle element (106) comprises a receptacle slot (Fig. 2, channel on lateral wall 150); wherein the receptacle slot (channel on lateral wall 150) comprises a section having a width that is less than a width of the hooking-in element (Fig. 2 shows the narrowest portion of the channel on lateral wall 150 has a width less than the width of the assembly of cover 128 and first and second latches 124 and 126).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mounting device of Royon to include latches and a channel such as taught by Cysewski in order to securely insert the projecting socket to the receiving socket before inserting the assembly key fasteners.
The combination further discloses the receptacle slot (Cysewski, channel on lateral wall 150) is orientated away from an imaginary line extending between the first and second swivel anchor couplings (see modified Fig. 3 below).
Modified Fig. 3
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Royon (FR 3079063) in view Cysewski (U.S. Pub. No. 20200217342).
With respect to claim 15, Royon discloses an apparatus, comprising: a top side (Fig. 1, top of assembly wall 7 of housing 2b) at which a first anchor socket (Fig. 3, left hole 17) and a second anchor socket (right hole 17) are provided, wherein the first and second anchor sockets (left and right holes 17) are arranged with distance to one another, and projecting and receiving sockets (male socket 16 of housing 2b with female socket 16 of housing 2a) provided at the top side (top of assembly wall 7 of housing 2b) that is arranged with distance to the first anchor socket and the second anchor socket (left and right holes 17).
Royon fails to disclose wherein the projecting and receiving sockets comprises a hooking in element and a receptacle element; wherein the one of the hooking-in element and the receptacle element is spaced apart from an imaginary line extending between the first and second anchor sockets such that the one of the hooking-in element and the receptacle element, and the first and second anchor sockets are configured to form a three-point mounting.
Cysewski discloses wherein projecting and receiving parts (Fig. 3A, tab 138 and case 128) comprises a hooking-in element (Fig. 4A-4C, tab 138 with pin members 166) and a receptacle element (Fig. 4A-4C, case 128 with channels 162).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the projecting and receiving sockets of Royon to include pin members and channels such as taught by Cysewski in order to securely insert the projecting socket to the receiving socket before inserting the assembly key fasteners.
The combination further discloses wherein the one of the hooking-in element (Cysewski, tab 138 with pin members 166) and the receptacle element (Cysewski, case 128 with channels 162) is spaced apart from an imaginary line extending between the first and second anchor sockets (Royon, left and right holes 17) such that the one of the hooking-in element (Cysewski, tab 138 with pin members 166) and the receptacle element (), and the first and second anchor sockets (Cysewski, case 128 with channels 162) are configured to form a three-point mounting (See modified Fig. 3 below).
Modified Fig. 3
Response to Arguments
While independent claim 1 has been amended to include subject matter that was previously determined by the examiner as allowable, further search and consideration has produced a reference that discloses the limitations of the amended claim. Therefore, a second action non-final rejection has been made above.
Conclusion
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637