DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claims, which are dependent on Claim 1, recites embodiments of the organometallic compound of Formula 1 according to Formulae 1-3 and 1-13. However, Formulae 1-13 and 1-13 lie outside the scope of Formula 1 as at least one of X11 and X12 must be N.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (EP 3 822 280 A1).
Lee et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 29) such that R12-13 = hydrogen, R13 = unsubstituted C1 alkyl group (methyl), T1 = single bond, d2 = 1, R2 = unsubstituted C1 alkyl group (methyl), Y2 = C, ring CY2 = C5 heterocyclic group (pyridine), T2 = O, Y3 = C, d31-32 = 0, ring CY31 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), ring CY32 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), T3 = single bond, Y4 = C, d4 = 0, ring CY4 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), M = platinum (Pt), and A2-4 = single bond of Applicant’s Formula 1-3; X31-36 = X41-44 = CH of Applicant’s Formula 1-13.
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2019/0036042 A1).
Kim et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 10) such that X12 = N, X11 = C(R11) (with R11 = hydrogen), R13 = unsubstituted C1 alkyl group (methyl), a1 = 1, T1 = single bond, d2 = 0, Y2 = C, ring CY2 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), a2 = 1, T2 = B(R2a) (with R2a = substituted C3 heteroaryl group (phenyl-substituted pyrazolyl)), Y3 = C, d31-32 = 0, ring CY31 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), ring CY32 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), a3 = 1, T3 = single bond, Y4 = N, d4 = 0, ring CY4 = C5 heterocyclic group (pyridine), M = platinum (Pt), and A2-4 = single bond of Applicant’s Formula 1; Y21 = C of Applicant’s Formula 2-1; R21-23 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formula CY2-1; R31-36 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formula CY3-1; R41-44 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formula CY4-1; R12 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formula 1-2; X31-36 = X41-44 = CH of Applicant’s Formula 1-12. Kim et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light-emitting device) comprising the following layers: substrate (210), anode (110), organic layer (150), cathode (190), and capping layer (220) (Fig. 4); the organic layer comprises hole-transporting region, light-emitting layer, and electron-transporting region (in this order) ([0150]). Kim et al. discloses that its inventive compounds comprise the light-emitting layer as dopant material (in combination with host material) which in the blue ([0142], [0147]; Table 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Kim et al. (US 2019/0036042 A1), which discloses compounds of the following form:
([0045]) where Ar11 = C1-60 heterocyclic group ([0051]), with b15 number of R15 groups not all being hydrogen at the same time ([0096]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 10). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Kim et al. singly nor in further combination with any other prior art discloses or suggests any of the compounds as recited in the claim, particularly in regards to the nature of the R2a group (of T2) of Applicant’s Formula 1.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786